DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The use of the terms ‘Wi-Fi’ and ‘WiMAX’ along with others, which is a trade name or a mark used in commerce, has been noted in this application. The term should be accompanied by the generic terminology; furthermore the term should be capitalized wherever it appears or, where appropriate, include a proper symbol indicating use in commerce such as ™, SM , or ® following the term.
Although the use of trade names and marks used in commerce (i.e., trademarks, service marks, certification marks, and collective marks) are permissible in patent applications, the proprietary nature of the marks should be respected and every effort made to prevent their use in any manner which might adversely affect their validity as commercial marks.
Any other instances of trade names appearing improperly in the Specification should also be corrected.
Claim Objections
Claim 13 is objected to because of the following informalities (appropriate correction is required):
Claim 13 recites “transmitting, to the second device, first sidelink control information (SCI) for scheduling of a physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH) and second SCI through a physical sidelink control channel (PSCCH), based on the SL grant; and transmitting, to the second device, the second SCI through the PSSCH, based on the SL grant”, which mentions the second SCI being transmitted two times. Examiner requests that Applicant please correct this issue.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7, 10, 13, and 21-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kung et al (US 20210227622 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Kung discloses
A method for performing wireless communication by a first device, the method comprising ([Fig. 6]-[Fig. 9] Tx UE (first device) performing wireless communication):
obtaining a sidelink (SL) discontinuous reception (DRX) configuration including information related to a timer for an active time and information related to SL DRX cycle, wherein the timer for the active time includes at least one of an onduration timer, an inactivity timer, or a retransmission timer ([0391], [0424]-[0427], and [Fig. 10] first device/Tx UE is configured with a SL DRX configuration, which comprises a configuration of the timer which may be an inactivity timer, an onduration timer, or a retransmission timer for SL DRX); and
receiving, from a base station, a SL grant and information linked with the SL grant ([0391]-[0395] Tx UE (first device) is configured by base station with a configured grant for sidelink that is associated with SCI indicating a new transmission (information linked with the SL grant), as both the configured grant and the SCI are associated with the RRC configuration from the base station),
wherein the SL grant is a dynamic grant (DG) allocated through downlink control information (DCI) from the base station, or a configured grant (CG) allocated through DCI or a radio resource control (RRC) message from the base station ([0391], and [0394] base station configures Tx UE with a sidelink configured grant that may be associated with an RRC configuration (allocated through RRC message from base station)),
wherein the first device is allowed to use the SL grant for transmission for a second device related to the information linked with the SL grant ([0391]-[0394] and [Fig. 6]-[Fig. 9] Tx UE (first device) applies the SL DRX configuration and performs sidelink transmissions via SL resources according to the configured grant for SL (allowed to use the SL grant for transmission), where the Rx UE (second device) receives the SCI from the Tx UE),
wherein the SL grant is allocated within the active time of the second device ([0392], [0394] Rx UE (second device) receives the SCI indicating a new transmission/sidelink grant from the Tx UE (first device) during the active time), and
wherein the active time includes a time while at least one of the onduration timer, the inactivity timer, or the retransmission timer is running ([0391] active time includes time when on duration time is on; [0424]-[0427] timer may be an inactivity timer, an onduration timer, or a retransmission timer for SL DRX).
Regarding claim 2, Kung discloses
The method of claim 1, wherein, based on the information linked with the SL grant including a destination identifier (ID), the first device is allowed to use the SL grant for transmission related to the destination ID ([0274] and [0293] destination ID is included in the SCI; [0391]-[0394] and [Fig. 6]-[Fig. 9] Tx UE (first device) applies the SL DRX configuration and performs sidelink transmissions via SL resources according to the configured grant for SL (allowed to use the SL grant for transmission), where the Rx UE (second device) receives the SCI from the Tx UE).
Regarding claim 3, Kung discloses
The method of claim 1, wherein, based on the information linked with the SL grant including a destination ID and a quality of service (QoS) profile, the first device is allowed to use the SL grant for transmission related to the QoS profile and the destination ID ([0274] and [0293] destination ID is included in the SCI; [0240] associated QoS information is included in transmitted SCI; [0391]-[0394] and [Fig. 6]-[Fig. 9] Tx UE (first device) applies the SL DRX configuration and performs sidelink transmissions via SL resources according to the configured grant for SL (allowed to use the SL grant for transmission), where the Rx UE (second device) receives the SCI from the Tx UE).
Regarding claim 4, Kung discloses
The method of claim 1, wherein, based on the information linked with the SL grant including information related to a logical channel and a destination ID, the first device is allowed to use the SL grant for transmission related to the logical channel and the destination ID ([0274] and [0293] destination ID is included in the SCI; [0240] information including value of priority for the logical channels is included in transmitted SCI; [0391]-[0394] and [Fig. 6]-[Fig. 9] Tx UE (first device) applies the SL DRX configuration and performs sidelink transmissions via SL resources according to the configured grant for SL (allowed to use the SL grant for transmission), where the Rx UE (second device) receives the SCI from the Tx UE).
Regarding claim 5, Kung discloses
The method of claim 1, wherein, based on the information linked with the SL grant including information related to a priority and a destination ID, the first device is allowed to use the SL grant for transmission related to the priority and the destination ID ([0274] and [0293] destination ID is included in the SCI; [0240] information including value of priority for the logical channels is included in transmitted SCI; [0391]-[0394] and [Fig. 6]-[Fig. 9] Tx UE (first device) applies the SL DRX configuration and performs sidelink transmissions via SL resources according to the configured grant for SL (allowed to use the SL grant for transmission), where the Rx UE (second device) receives the SCI from the Tx UE).
Regarding claim 6, Kung discloses
The method of claim 1, wherein, based on the information linked with the SL grant including information related to a pair of a destination ID and a source ID, the first device is allowed to use the SL grant for transmission related to the pair of the destination ID and the source ID ([0274] and [0293] destination ID and source ID is included in the SCI; [0391]-[0394] and [Fig. 6]-[Fig. 9] Tx UE (first device) applies the SL DRX configuration and performs sidelink transmissions via SL resources according to the configured grant for SL (allowed to use the SL grant for transmission), where the Rx UE (second device) receives the SCI from the Tx UE).
Regarding claim 7, Kung discloses
The method of claim 1, wherein, based on the information linked with the SL grant including a QoS profile and information related to a pair of a destination ID and a source ID, the first device is allowed to use the SL grant for transmission related to the QoS profile and the pair of the destination ID and the source ID ([0274] and [0293] destination ID and source ID is included in the SCI; [0240] associated QoS information is included in transmitted SCI; [0391]-[0394] and [Fig. 6]-[Fig. 9] Tx UE (first device) applies the SL DRX configuration and performs sidelink transmissions via SL resources according to the configured grant for SL (allowed to use the SL grant for transmission), where the Rx UE (second device) receives the SCI from the Tx UE).
Regarding claim 10, Kung discloses
The method of claim 1, further comprising:
transmitting, to the base station, at least one of information related to a logical channel, information related to a priority, a PC5 link ID, a QoS profile, information related to a pair of a destination ID and a source ID, or a destination ID ([0238] UE makes an uplink transmission (uplink to base station) of the SCI including the priority information, and the QoS information).
Regarding claim 13, Kung discloses
The method of claim 1, further comprising:
transmitting, to the second device, first sidelink control information (SCI) for scheduling of a physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH) and second SCI through a physical sidelink control channel (PSCCH), based on the SL grant ([0420]-[0421] and [Fig. 6]-[Fig. 9] first sidelink information indicated in an SCI (first SCI) and new sidelink transmission is indicated in another SCI (second SCI), where both SCIs are sent via PSSCH from Tx UE (first device) to Rx UE (second device)); and
transmitting, to the second device, the second SCI through the PSSCH, based on the SL grant ([0420]-[0421] and [Fig. 6]-[Fig. 9] new sidelink transmission is indicated in another SCI (second SCI), where both SCIs are sent via PSSCH from Tx UE (first device) to Rx UE (second device)).
Regarding claim 21, Kung discloses
A first device adapted to perform wireless communication, the first device comprising ([Fig. 6]-[Fig. 9] Tx UE (first device) performing wireless communication):
at least one transceiver ([0037] UE comprises transceiver);
at least one processor ([0037] UE comprises CPU); and
at least one memory connected to the at least one processor and storing instructions that, based on being executed, cause the first device to perform operations comprising ([0037] UE comprises memory that stores program code that is executed through the CPU to perform operations):
obtaining a sidelink (SL) discontinuous reception (DRX) configuration including information related to a timer for an active time and information related to SL DRX cycle, wherein the timer for the active time includes at least one of an onduration timer, an inactivity timer, or a retransmission timer ([0391], [0424]-[0427], and [Fig. 10] first device/Tx UE is configured with a SL DRX configuration, which comprises a configuration of the timer which may be an inactivity timer, an onduration timer, or a retransmission timer for SL DRX); and
receiving, from a base station, a SL grant and information linked with the SL grant ([0391]-[0395] Tx UE (first device) is configured by base station with a configured grant for sidelink that is associated with SCI indicating a new transmission (information linked with the SL grant), as both the configured grant and the SCI are associated with the RRC configuration from the base station),
wherein the SL grant is a dynamic grant (DG) allocated through downlink control information (DCI) from the base station, or a configured grant (CG) allocated through DCI or a radio resource control (RRC) message from the base station ([0391], and [0394] base station configures Tx UE with a sidelink configured grant that may be associated with an RRC configuration (allocated through RRC message from base station)),
wherein the first device is allowed to use the SL grant for transmission for a second device related to the information linked with the SL grant ([0391]-[0394] and [Fig. 6]-[Fig. 9] Tx UE (first device) applies the SL DRX configuration and performs sidelink transmissions via SL resources according to the configured grant for SL (allowed to use the SL grant for transmission), where the Rx UE (second device) receives the SCI from the Tx UE),
wherein the SL grant is allocated within the active time of the second device ([0392], [0394] Rx UE (second device) receives the SCI indicating a new transmission/sidelink grant from the Tx UE (first device) during the active time), and
wherein the active time includes a time while at least one of the onduration timer, the inactivity timer, or the retransmission timer is running ([0391] active time includes time when on duration time is on; [0424]-[0427] timer may be an inactivity timer, an onduration timer, or a retransmission timer for SL DRX).
Regarding claim 22, Kung discloses
A processing device adapted to control a first device, the processing device comprising ([0037] and [Fig. 3] UE (first device) comprises control circuit 306):
at least one processor ([0037] and [Fig. 3] control circuit 306 comprises CPU 308); and
at least one memory connected to the at least one processor and storing instructions that, based on being executed, cause the first device to perform operations comprising ([0037] and [Fig. 3] control circuit 306 comprises memory 310 storing program code 312, which is executed through CPU 308):
obtaining a sidelink (SL) discontinuous reception (DRX) configuration including information related to a timer for an active time and information related to SL DRX cycle, wherein the timer for the active time includes at least one of an onduration timer, an inactivity timer, or a retransmission timer ([0391], [0424]-[0427], and [Fig. 10] first device/Tx UE is configured with a SL DRX configuration, which comprises a configuration of the timer which may be an inactivity timer, an onduration timer, or a retransmission timer for SL DRX); and
receiving, from a base station, a SL grant and information linked with the SL grant ([0391]-[0395] Tx UE (first device) is configured by base station with a configured grant for sidelink that is associated with SCI indicating a new transmission (information linked with the SL grant), as both the configured grant and the SCI are associated with the RRC configuration from the base station),
wherein the SL grant is a dynamic grant (DG) allocated through downlink control information (DCI) from the base station, or a configured grant (CG) allocated through DCI or a radio resource control (RRC) message from the base station ([0391], and [0394] base station configures Tx UE with a sidelink configured grant that may be associated with an RRC configuration (allocated through RRC message from base station)),
wherein the first device is allowed to use the SL grant for transmission for a second device related to the information linked with the SL grant ([0391]-[0394] and [Fig. 6]-[Fig. 9] Tx UE (first device) applies the SL DRX configuration and performs sidelink transmissions via SL resources according to the configured grant for SL (allowed to use the SL grant for transmission), where the Rx UE (second device) receives the SCI from the Tx UE),
wherein the SL grant is allocated within the active time of the second device ([0392], [0394] Rx UE (second device) receives the SCI indicating a new transmission/sidelink grant from the Tx UE (first device) during the active time), and
wherein the active time includes a time while at least one of the onduration timer, the inactivity timer, or the retransmission timer is running ([0391] active time includes time when on duration time is on; [0424]-[0427] timer may be an inactivity timer, an onduration timer, or a retransmission timer for SL DRX).
Regarding claim 23, Kung discloses
The first device of claim 21, wherein, based on the information linked with the SL grant including a destination identifier (ID), the first device is allowed to use the SL grant for transmission related to the destination ID ([0274] and [0293] destination ID is included in the SCI; [0391]-[0394] and [Fig. 6]-[Fig. 9] Tx UE (first device) applies the SL DRX configuration and performs sidelink transmissions via SL resources according to the configured grant for SL (allowed to use the SL grant for transmission), where the Rx UE (second device) receives the SCI from the Tx UE).
Regarding claim 24, Kung discloses
The first device of claim 21, wherein, based on the information linked with the SL grant including a destination ID and a quality of service (QoS) profile, the first device is allowed to use the SL grant for transmission related to the QoS profile and the destination ID ([0274] and [0293] destination ID is included in the SCI; [0240] associated QoS information is included in transmitted SCI; [0391]-[0394] and [Fig. 6]-[Fig. 9] Tx UE (first device) applies the SL DRX configuration and performs sidelink transmissions via SL resources according to the configured grant for SL (allowed to use the SL grant for transmission), where the Rx UE (second device) receives the SCI from the Tx UE).
Regarding claim 25, Kung discloses
The first device of claim 21, wherein, based on the information linked with the SL grant including information related to a logical channel and a destination ID, the first device is allowed to use the SL grant for transmission related to the logical channel and the destination ID ([0274] and [0293] destination ID is included in the SCI; [0240] information including value of priority for the logical channels is included in transmitted SCI; [0391]-[0394] and [Fig. 6]-[Fig. 9] Tx UE (first device) applies the SL DRX configuration and performs sidelink transmissions via SL resources according to the configured grant for SL (allowed to use the SL grant for transmission), where the Rx UE (second device) receives the SCI from the Tx UE).
Regarding claim 26, Kung discloses
The processing device of claim 22, wherein, based on the information linked with the SL grant including a destination identifier (ID), the first device is allowed to use the SL grant for transmission related to the destination ID ([0274] and [0293] destination ID is included in the SCI; [0391]-[0394] and [Fig. 6]-[Fig. 9] Tx UE (first device) applies the SL DRX configuration and performs sidelink transmissions via SL resources according to the configured grant for SL (allowed to use the SL grant for transmission), where the Rx UE (second device) receives the SCI from the Tx UE).
Regarding claim 27, Kung discloses
The processing device of claim 22, wherein, based on the information linked with the SL grant including a destination ID and a quality of service (QoS) profile, the first device is allowed to use the SL grant for transmission related to the QoS profile and the destination ID ([0274] and [0293] destination ID is included in the SCI; [0240] associated QoS information is included in transmitted SCI; [0391]-[0394] and [Fig. 6]-[Fig. 9] Tx UE (first device) applies the SL DRX configuration and performs sidelink transmissions via SL resources according to the configured grant for SL (allowed to use the SL grant for transmission), where the Rx UE (second device) receives the SCI from the Tx UE).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8-9, and 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kung et al (US 20210227622 A1), and further in view of Shin et al (US 20230362893 A1).
Regarding claim 8, Kung teaches The method of claim 1, as is described above.
Kung does not explicitly teach wherein, based on the information linked with the SL grant including a PC5 link ID, the first device is allowed to use the SL grant for transmission related to the PC5 link ID.
However, Shin does teach wherein, based on the information linked with the SL grant including a PC5 link ID, the first device is allowed to use the SL grant for transmission related to the PC5 link ID ([0182] PC5 QoS indicator PQI (PC5 link ID) is included in SCI; [0244] and [Fig. 5] UE determines time and frequency locations where PSCCH and PSSCH are transmitted by using the selected SL grant, and the UE performs sidelink transmissions according to the grant).
Kung and Shin are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention, as they are both in the same field of configuring sidelink transmissions. It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kung to include the teachings of Shin where the PQI is included in the SCI. The rationale behind this would be to account for an increase in signaling overhead related to resource allocation included in SCI ([0066] Shin).
Regarding claim 9, Kung teaches The method of claim 1, as is described above.
Kung does not explicitly teach wherein, based on the information linked with the SL grant including a QoS profile and a PC5 link ID, the first device is allowed to use the SL grant for transmission related to the QoS profile and the PC5 link ID.
However, Shin does wherein, based on the information linked with the SL grant including a QoS profile and a PC5 link ID, the first device is allowed to use the SL grant for transmission related to the QoS profile and the PC5 link ID ([0182] priority information for QoS (QoS profile) and PC5 QoS indicator PQI (PC5 link ID) is included in SCI; [0244] and [Fig. 5] UE determines time and frequency locations where PSCCH and PSSCH are transmitted by using the selected SL grant, and the UE performs sidelink transmissions according to the grant).
Kung and Shin are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention, as they are both in the same field of configuring sidelink transmissions. It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kung to include the teachings of Shin where the priority information for QoS and the PQI are included in the SCI. The rationale behind this would be to account for an increase in signaling overhead related to resource allocation included in SCI ([0066] Shin).
Regarding claim 11, Kung teaches The method of claim 1, as is described above.
Kung does not explicitly teach wherein a sidelink (SL) buffer status reporting (BSR) is triggered based on that the first device has available data, and wherein a scheduling request (SR) is triggered based on that the SL BSR is triggered.
However, Shin does teach wherein a sidelink (SL) buffer status reporting (BSR) is triggered based on that the first device has available data, and wherein a scheduling request (SR) is triggered based on that the SL BSR is triggered ([0097] UE requests the gNB for SL transmission resource using a MAC CE, where the MAC CE may be a buffer status report BSR for V2X (sidelink BSR) with information about the size of data buffered (based on the device having available data), and an SL resource may be requested via a scheduling request bit).
Kung and Shin are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention, as they are both in the same field of configuring sidelink transmissions. It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kung to include the teachings of Shin where the BSR can be included in a MAC CE and an SL can be requested via a SR bit. The rationale behind this would be to account for an increase in signaling overhead related to resource allocation included in SCI ([0066] Shin).
Regarding claim 12, Kung teaches The method of claim 1, as is described above.
Kung does not explicitly teach wherein the SR and the SL BSR are transmitted to the base station , and
wherein the SL grant is received from the base station based on the SR and the SL BSR.
However, Shin does teach wherein the SR and the SL BSR are transmitted to the base station ([0097] UE sends the BSR to the gNB via MAC CE, and sends the SR bit to the gNB via PUCCH), and
wherein the SL grant is received from the base station based on the SR and the SL BSR ([0097] the gNB indicates the SL scheduling information to the UE).
Kung and Shin are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention, as they are both in the same field of configuring sidelink transmissions. It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kung to include the teachings of Shin where the BSR can be included in a MAC CE and an SL can be requested via a SR bit. The rationale behind this would be to account for an increase in signaling overhead related to resource allocation included in SCI ([0066] Shin).
Conclusion
The prior art that is made of record but not relied upon but is considered pertinent to Applicant’s disclosure is as follows:
US 20200351057 A1 to Yeo et al teaches a QoS value of PC5 QoS indicator PQI being included in SCI ([0334] and [0343] Yeo).
/A.J.C./Examiner, Art Unit 2478
/JOSEPH E AVELLINO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2478