DETAILED ACTION
Response to Remarks
This Office Action is considered to be fully responsive to the communications filed on 05/28/2026. Claims 1, 3-13, 21-22, 24-25, and 27-30 are currently pending in this application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks pages 14-16, filed 05/28/2026, with respect to the rejections of claims 1, 3-13, 21-22, 24-25, and 27 under 35 U.S.C. 102 and 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) rejections made under 35 U.S.C. 103, as is necessitated by amendment, in view of Kung and Li for claims 1, 3-7, 10, 13, 21-22, 24-25, and 27-30, and in view of Kung, Li, and Shin for claims 8-9, and 11-12. Applicant has amended independent claim 1 to include the “based on the information linked with the grant including a destination identifier (ID), the first UE is allowed to use the grant for transmission to a second UE related to the destination ID” feature from now cancelled claim 2, where independent claims 21-22 are also amended in a similar way such that they contain analogous subject matter. Applicant argues on pages 15-16 of Remarks that Kung does not disclose the amended feature of claim 1, stating that “Kung completely fails to disclose or suggest that the base station, at the time of allocating a grant, directly associates a specific destination identifier with the grant to transmit the “information linked with the grant” to the UE”. This argument is however moot, as Li does teach this feature, and a claim mapping has been provided below. Applicant additionally argues on page 16 of Remarks that “Kung completely lacks any teaching or suggestion of a control structure or filtering mechanism where, when the first UE performs a transmission using the grant received from the base station, the usage of the grant or the specific target of the transmission is restrictively regulated or filtered by a causal relationship of being “based on the information linked with the grant including a destination identifier (ID)””. This argument is also moot, as Li teaches this feature, and a claim mapping has been provided below. Newly added claims 28-30 are also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 in view of Kung and Li. For more details about any of the above mentioned, please see the Claim Rejections section below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-7, 10, 13, 21-22, 24-25, and 27-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kung et al (US 20210227622 A1), and further in view of Li et al (US 20210212104 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Kung discloses
A method comprising ([Fig. 6]-[Fig. 9] Tx UE performing wireless communication):
obtaining, by a first user equipment (UE), an inter-UE discontinuous reception (DRX) configuration including information related to a timer for an active time ([0391], [0424]-[0427], and [Fig. 10] Tx UE (first UE) is configured with a SL DRX configuration, which comprises a configuration of the timer which may be an inactivity timer, an onduration timer, or a retransmission timer for SL DRX (information related to a timer for an active time)); and
wherein the grant is a dynamic grant (DG) allocated through downlink control information (DCI) from the base station, or a configured grant (CG) allocated through DCI or a radio resource control (RRC) message from the base station ([0391], and [0394] base station configures Tx UE with a sidelink configured grant that may be associated with an RRC configuration (allocated through RRC message from base station)),
wherein the grant is allocated within the active time of the second UE ([0391] and [Fig. 6] the Rx UE is in active time (active time of the second UE) when it receives SL transmission 1 at t2, where the SL transmission 1 is configured by the base station on the Tx UE in the sideling configured grant (grant is allocated within the active time of the second UE)), and
wherein the active time includes a time while the information related to the timer is running ([0391] active time includes time when on duration time is on; [0424]-[0427] timer may be an inactivity timer, an onduration timer, or a retransmission timer for SL DRX).
Kung does not appear to explicitly teach receiving, by the first UE from a base station, (i) a grant for inter-UE communication and (ii) information linked with the grant,
wherein, based on the information linked with the grant including a destination identifier (ID), the first UE is allowed to use the grant for transmission to a second UE related to the destination ID,
However, Li does teach receiving, by the first UE from a base station, (i) a grant for inter-UE communication and (ii) information linked with the grant ([0130], [0061]-[0068], and [Fig. 2] base station sends sidelink SL grant ((i) grant for inter-UE communication) to the UE in DCI, where the DCI also contains destination information/destination ID to which the sidelink grant is directed ((ii) information linked with the grant)),
wherein, based on the information linked with the grant including a destination identifier (ID), the first UE is allowed to use the grant for transmission to a second UE related to the destination ID ([0130], [0061]-[0068], and [Fig. 2] terminal determines at least one destination according to the destination information/destination ID (based on information linked with the grant including a destination ID) and transmits sidelink data of the destination according to the sidelink grant (allowed to use the grant for transmission to second UE related to the destination ID) that is provided to the terminal in the DCI along with the destination information/destination ID),
Kung and Li are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention, as they are both in the same field of configuring sidelink communications. It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kung to include to the teachings of Li where the base station configures the UE with the grant and a destination ID. The rationale behind this would be to improve channel utilization or transmission reliability ([0139] Li).
Regarding claim 3, Kung modified by Li teaches The method of claim 1, as is described above.
Kung does not appear to explicitly teach wherein, based on the information linked with the grant including the destination ID and a quality of service (QoS) profile, the first UE is allowed to use the grant for the transmission to the second UE related to the QoS profile and the destination ID.
However, Li does teach wherein, based on the information linked with the grant including the destination ID and a quality of service (QoS) profile, the first UE is allowed to use the grant for the transmission to the second UE related to the QoS profile and the destination ID ([0120], [0130]-[0133], and [Fig. 7] base station configures the UE with destination ID and a QoS parameter (information linked with the grant including destination ID and QoS profile), where the UE will use the destination information/destination ID and configuration information from the base station including the QoS parameter to perform the sidelink transmission (allowed to use the grant for transmission)).
Kung and Li are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention, as they are both in the same field of configuring sidelink communications. It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kung to include to the teachings of Li where the base station configures the UE with a destination ID and QoS parameter. The rationale behind this would be to improve channel utilization or transmission reliability ([0139] Li).
Regarding claim 4, Kung modified by Li teaches The method of claim 1, as is described above.
Kung does not appear to explicitly teach wherein, based on the information linked with the grant including information related to a logical channel and the destination ID, the first UE is allowed to use the grant for the transmission to the second UE related to the logical channel and the destination.
However, Li does teach wherein, based on the information linked with the grant including information related to a logical channel and the destination ID, the first UE is allowed to use the grant for the transmission to the second UE related to the logical channel and the destination ([0130], [0061]-[0068], and [Fig. 2] terminal determines at least one destination and logical channel according to the destination information/destination ID (based on information linked with the grant including a destination ID and information related to a logical channel) and transmits sidelink data of the destination according to the sidelink grant (allowed to use the grant for transmission to second UE related to the destination ID) that is provided to the terminal in the DCI along with the destination information/destination ID and logical channel).
Kung and Li are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention, as they are both in the same field of configuring sidelink communications. It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kung to include to the teachings of Li where the base station configures the UE with a destination ID and logical channel. The rationale behind this would be to improve channel utilization or transmission reliability ([0139] Li).
Regarding claim 5, Kung modified by Li teaches The method of claim 1, as is described above.
Kung does not appear to explicitly teach wherein, based on the information linked with the grant including information related to a priority and the destination ID, the first UE is allowed to use the grant for the transmission to the second UE related to the priority and the destination ID.
However, Li does teach wherein, based on the information linked with the grant including information related to a priority and the destination ID, the first UE is allowed to use the grant for the transmission to the second UE related to the priority and the destination ID ([0086], [0130], [0061]-[0068], and [Fig. 2] terminal receives destination information/destination ID as well as logical channel information in a descending order of priorities and then determines at least one destination according to the destination information/destination ID (based on information linked with the grant including a destination ID) and transmits sidelink data of the destination according to the sidelink grant with the order of priorities (allowed to use the grant for transmission to second UE related to the priority and destination ID)).
Kung and Li are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention, as they are both in the same field of configuring sidelink communications. It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kung to include to the teachings of Li where the base station configures the UE with a destination ID and order of priorities. The rationale behind this would be to improve channel utilization or transmission reliability ([0139] Li).
Regarding claim 6, Kung modified by Li teaches The method of claim 1, as is described above.
Kung does not appear to explicitly teach wherein, based on the information linked with the grant including information related to a source and destination ID pair, the first UE is allowed to use the grant for the transmission to the second UE related to the information related to the source and destination ID pair.
However, Li does teach wherein, based on the information linked with the grant including information related to a source and destination ID pair, the first UE is allowed to use the grant for the transmission to the second UE related to the information related to the source and destination ID pair ([0130], [0061]-[0068], and [Fig. 2] terminal determines at least one destination according to the destination information that includes a source ID and a destination ID (based on information linked with the grant including a source ID and destination ID) and transmits sidelink data of the destination according to the sidelink grant (allowed to use the grant for transmission to second UE related to the destination ID) that is provided to the terminal in the DCI along with the destination information/destination ID and source ID).
Kung and Li are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention, as they are both in the same field of configuring sidelink communications. It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kung to include to the teachings of Li where the base station configures the UE with a source ID and a destination ID. The rationale behind this would be to improve channel utilization or transmission reliability ([0139] Li).
Regarding claim 7, Kung modified by Li teaches The method of claim 1, as is described above.
Kung does not appear to explicitly teach wherein, based on the information linked with the grant including a QoS profile and information related to a source and destination ID pair, the first UE is allowed to use the grant for the transmission to the second UE related to the QoS profile and the information related to the source and destination ID pair.
However, Li does teach wherein, based on the information linked with the grant including a QoS profile and information related to a source and destination ID pair, the first UE is allowed to use the grant for the transmission to the second UE related to the QoS profile and the information related to the source and destination ID pair ([0120], [0130]-[0133], [0061]-[0068], [Fig. 2], and [Fig. 7] base station configures the UE with source ID, destination ID, and a QoS parameter (information linked with the grant including source ID, destination ID, and QoS profile), where the UE will use the destination information/source ID/destination ID and configuration information from the base station including the QoS parameter to perform the sidelink transmission (allowed to use the grant for transmission)).
Kung and Li are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention, as they are both in the same field of configuring sidelink communications. It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kung to include to the teachings of Li where the base station configures the UE with a source ID, a destination ID, and a QoS parameter. The rationale behind this would be to improve channel utilization or transmission reliability ([0139] Li).
Regarding claim 10, Kung modified by Li teaches The method of claim 1, as is described above.
Kung further teaches further comprising:
transmitting, by the first UE, the destination ID to the base station ([0238]-[0240], [0274], and [0293] UE makes an uplink transmission (uplink to base station) of the SCI including the priority information, the destination ID, and the QoS information),
wherein the grant is allocated within the active time of the second UE based on the destination ID ([0274], and [0392]-[0394] Rx UE (second UE) receives the SCI indicating a new transmission/sidelink grant from the Tx UE (first UE) during the active time, where the SCI includes the destination ID (based on the destination ID)).
Regarding claim 13, Kung modified by Li teaches The method of claim 1, as is described above.
Kung further teaches further comprising:
transmitting, by the first UE to the second UE, first inter-UE control information through an inter-UE physical control channel, based on the grant, wherein the first inter-UE control information is used for scheduling of an inter-UE physical shared channel and second inter-UE control information ([0420]-[0421] and [Fig. 6]-[Fig. 9] first sidelink information indicated in an SCI (first inter-UE control information) and new sidelink transmission is indicated in another SCI (second inter-UE control information), where both SCIs are sent via PSSCH (inter-UE physical shared channel) from Tx UE (first UE) to Rx UE (second UE)); and
transmitting, by the first UE to the second UE, the second inter-UE control information through the inter-UE physical shared channel, based on the grant ([0420]-[0421] and [Fig. 6]-[Fig. 9] new sidelink transmission is indicated in another SCI (second inter-UE control information), where both SCIs are sent via PSSCH (inter-UE physical shared channel) from Tx UE (first device) to Rx UE (second device)).
Regarding claim 21, Kung teaches
A first user equipment (UE), comprising ([Fig. 6]-[Fig. 9] Tx UE (first UE) performing wireless communication):
at least one transceiver ([0037] UE comprises transceiver);
at least one processor ([0037] UE comprises CPU); and
at least one memory connected to the at least one processor and storing instructions that, based on being executed, cause the first UE to perform operations comprising ([0037] UE comprises memory that stores program code that is executed through the CPU to perform operations):
obtaining an inter-UE discontinuous reception (DRX) configuration including information related to a timer for an active time ([0391], [0424]-[0427], and [Fig. 10] Tx UE (first UE) is configured with a SL DRX configuration, which comprises a configuration of the timer which may be an inactivity timer, an onduration timer, or a retransmission timer for SL DRX (information related to a timer for an active time)); and
wherein the grant is a dynamic grant (DG) allocated through downlink control information (DCI) from the base station, or a configured grant (CG) allocated through DCI or a radio resource control (RRC) message from the base station ([0391], and [0394] base station configures Tx UE with a sidelink configured grant that may be associated with an RRC configuration (allocated through RRC message from base station)),
wherein the grant is allocated within the active time of the second UE ([0391] and [Fig. 6] the Rx UE is in active time (active time of the second UE) when it receives SL transmission 1 at t2, where the SL transmission 1 is configured by the base station on the Tx UE in the sideling configured grant (grant is allocated within the active time of the second UE)), and
wherein the active time includes a time while the information related to the timer is running ([0391] active time includes time when on duration time is on; [0424]-[0427] timer may be an inactivity timer, an onduration timer, or a retransmission timer for SL DRX).
Kung does not appear to explicitly teach receiving, from a base station, (i) a grant for inter-UE communication and (ii) information linked with the grant,
wherein, based on the information linked with the grant including a destination identifier (ID), the first UE is allowed to use the grant for transmission to a second UE related to the destination ID,
However, Li does teach receiving, from a base station, (i) a grant for inter-UE communication and (ii) information linked with the grant ([0130], [0061]-[0068], and [Fig. 2] base station sends sidelink SL grant ((i) grant for inter-UE communication) to the UE in DCI, where the DCI also contains destination information/destination ID to which the sidelink grant is directed ((ii) information linked with the grant)),
wherein, based on the information linked with the grant including a destination identifier (ID), the first UE is allowed to use the grant for transmission to a second UE related to the destination ID ([0130], [0061]-[0068], and [Fig. 2] terminal determines at least one destination according to the destination information/destination ID (based on information linked with the grant including a destination ID) and transmits sidelink data of the destination according to the sidelink grant (allowed to use the grant for transmission to second UE related to the destination ID) that is provided to the terminal in the DCI along with the destination information/destination ID),
Kung and Li are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention, as they are both in the same field of configuring sidelink communications. It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kung to include to the teachings of Li where the base station configures the UE with the grant and a destination ID. The rationale behind this would be to improve channel utilization or transmission reliability ([0139] Li).
Regarding claim 22, Kung discloses
A processing device comprising ([0037] and [Fig. 3] UE comprises control circuit 306):
at least one processor ([0037] and [Fig. 3] control circuit 306 comprises CPU 308); and
at least one memory connected to the at least one processor and storing instructions that, based on being executed, cause a first user equipment (UE) to perform operations comprising ([0037] and [Fig. 3] control circuit 306 comprises memory 310 storing program code 312, which is executed through CPU 308):
obtaining an inter-UE discontinuous reception (DRX) configuration including information related to a timer for an active time ([0391], [0424]-[0427], and [Fig. 10] Tx UE (first UE) is configured with a SL DRX configuration, which comprises a configuration of the timer which may be an inactivity timer, an onduration timer, or a retransmission timer for SL DRX (information related to a timer for an active time)); and
wherein the grant is a dynamic grant (DG) allocated through downlink control information (DCI) from the base station, or a configured grant (CG) allocated through DCI or a radio resource control (RRC) message from the base station ([0391], and [0394] base station configures Tx UE with a sidelink configured grant that may be associated with an RRC configuration (allocated through RRC message from base station)),
wherein the grant is allocated within the active time of the second UE ([0391] and [Fig. 6] the Rx UE is in active time (active time of the second UE) when it receives SL transmission 1 at t2, where the SL transmission 1 is configured by the base station on the Tx UE in the sideling configured grant (grant is allocated within the active time of the second UE)), and
wherein the active time includes a time while the information related to the timer is running ([0391] active time includes time when on duration time is on; [0424]-[0427] timer may be an inactivity timer, an onduration timer, or a retransmission timer for SL DRX).
Kung does not appear to explicitly teach receiving, from a base station, (i) a grant for inter-UE communication and (ii) information linked with the grant,
wherein, based on the information linked with the grant including a destination identifier (ID), the first UE is allowed to use the grant for transmission to a second UE related to the destination ID,
However, Li does teach receiving, from a base station, (i) a grant for inter-UE communication and (ii) information linked with the grant ([0130], [0061]-[0068], and [Fig. 2] base station sends sidelink SL grant ((i) grant for inter-UE communication) to the UE in DCI, where the DCI also contains destination information/destination ID to which the sidelink grant is directed ((ii) information linked with the grant)),
wherein, based on the information linked with the grant including a destination identifier (ID), the first UE is allowed to use the grant for transmission to a second UE related to the destination ID ([0130], [0061]-[0068], and [Fig. 2] terminal determines at least one destination according to the destination information/destination ID (based on information linked with the grant including a destination ID) and transmits sidelink data of the destination according to the sidelink grant (allowed to use the grant for transmission to second UE related to the destination ID) that is provided to the terminal in the DCI along with the destination information/destination ID),
Kung and Li are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention, as they are both in the same field of configuring sidelink communications. It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kung to include to the teachings of Li where the base station configures the UE with the grant and a destination ID. The rationale behind this would be to improve channel utilization or transmission reliability ([0139] Li).
Regarding claim 24, Kung modified by Li teaches The method of claim 21, as is described above.
Kung does not appear to explicitly teach wherein, based on the information linked with the grant including the destination ID and a quality of service (QoS) profile, the first UE is allowed to use the grant for the transmission to the second UE related to the QoS profile and the destination ID.
However, Li does teach wherein, based on the information linked with the grant including the destination ID and a quality of service (QoS) profile, the first UE is allowed to use the grant for the transmission to the second UE related to the QoS profile and the destination ID ([0120], [0130]-[0133], and [Fig. 7] base station configures the UE with destination ID and a QoS parameter (information linked with the grant including destination ID and QoS profile), where the UE will use the destination information/destination ID and configuration information from the base station including the QoS parameter to perform the sidelink transmission (allowed to use the grant for transmission)).
Kung and Li are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention, as they are both in the same field of configuring sidelink communications. It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kung to include to the teachings of Li where the base station configures the UE with a destination ID and QoS parameter. The rationale behind this would be to improve channel utilization or transmission reliability ([0139] Li).
Regarding claim 25, Kung modified by Li teaches The method of claim 1, as is described above.
Kung does not appear to explicitly teach wherein, based on the information linked with the grant including information related to a logical channel and the destination ID, the first UE is allowed to use the grant for the transmission to the second UE related to the logical channel and the destination ID.
However, Li does teach wherein, based on the information linked with the grant including information related to a logical channel and the destination ID, the first UE is allowed to use the grant for the transmission to the second UE related to the logical channel and the destination ID ([0130], [0061]-[0068], and [Fig. 2] terminal determines at least one destination and logical channel according to the destination information/destination ID (based on information linked with the grant including a destination ID and information related to a logical channel) and transmits sidelink data of the destination according to the sidelink grant (allowed to use the grant for transmission to second UE related to the destination ID) that is provided to the terminal in the DCI along with the destination information/destination ID and logical channel).
Kung and Li are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention, as they are both in the same field of configuring sidelink communications. It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kung to include to the teachings of Li where the base station configures the UE with a destination ID and logical channel. The rationale behind this would be to improve channel utilization or transmission reliability ([0139] Li).
Regarding claim 27, Kung modified by Li teaches The method of claim 22, as is described above.
Kung does not appear to explicitly teach wherein, based on the information linked with the grant including the destination ID and a quality of service (QoS) profile, the first UE is allowed to use the grant for the transmission to the second UE related to the QoS profile and the destination ID.
wherein, based on the information linked with the grant including the destination ID and a quality of service (QoS) profile, the first UE is allowed to use the grant for the transmission to the second UE related to the QoS profile and the destination ID ([0120], [0130]-[0133], and [Fig. 7] base station configures the UE with destination ID and a QoS parameter (information linked with the grant including destination ID and QoS profile), where the UE will use the destination information/destination ID and configuration information from the base station including the QoS parameter to perform the sidelink transmission (allowed to use the grant for transmission)).
Kung and Li are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention, as they are both in the same field of configuring sidelink communications. It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kung to include to the teachings of Li where the base station configures the UE with a destination ID and QoS parameter. The rationale behind this would be to improve channel utilization or transmission reliability ([0139] Li).
Regarding claim 28, Kung modified by Li teaches The method of claim 1, as is described above.
Kung further teaches wherein the information related to the timer includes at least one of information related to an on-duration timer, information related to an inactivity timer, or information related to a retransmission timer ([0391], [0424]-[0427], and [Fig. 10] Tx UE (first UE) is configured with a SL DRX configuration, which comprises a configuration of the timer which may be an inactivity timer, an onduration timer, or a retransmission timer for SL DRX (information related to a timer for an active time)).
Regarding claim 29, Kung modified by Li teaches The method of claim 21, as is described above.
Kung further teaches wherein the information related to the timer includes at least one of information related to an on-duration timer, information related to an inactivity timer, or information related to a retransmission timer ([0391], [0424]-[0427], and [Fig. 10] Tx UE (first UE) is configured with a SL DRX configuration, which comprises a configuration of the timer which may be an inactivity timer, an onduration timer, or a retransmission timer for SL DRX (information related to a timer for an active time)).
Regarding claim 30, Kung modified by Li teaches The method of claim 22, as is described above.
Kung further teaches wherein the information related to the timer includes at least one of information related to an on-duration timer, information related to an inactivity timer, or information related to a retransmission timer ([0391], [0424]-[0427], and [Fig. 10] Tx UE (first UE) is configured with a SL DRX configuration, which comprises a configuration of the timer which may be an inactivity timer, an onduration timer, or a retransmission timer for SL DRX (information related to a timer for an active time)).
Claims 8-9, and 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kung et al (US 20210227622 A1), Li et al (US 20210212104 A1), and further in view of Shin et al (US 20230362893 A1).
Regarding claim 8, Kung modified by Li teaches The method of claim 1, as is described above.
Kung does not explicitly teach wherein, based on the information linked with the grant including a PC5 link ID, the first UE is allowed to use the grant for the transmission to the second UE related to the PC5 link ID.
However, Shin does teach wherein, based on the information linked with the grant including a PC5 link ID, the first UE is allowed to use the grant for the transmission to the second UE related to the PC5 link ID ([0182] PC5 QoS indicator PQI (PC5 link ID) is included in SCI; [0244] and [Fig. 5] UE determines time and frequency locations where PSCCH and PSSCH are transmitted by using the selected SL grant, and the UE performs sidelink transmissions according to the grant).
Kung, Li, and Shin are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention, as they are all in the same field of configuring sidelink transmissions. It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kung/Li to include the teachings of Shin where the PQI is included in the SCI. The rationale behind this would be to account for an increase in signaling overhead related to resource allocation included in SCI ([0066] Shin).
Regarding claim 9, Kung modified by Li teaches The method of claim 1, as is described above.
Kung does not explicitly teach wherein, based on the information linked with the grant including a QoS profile and a PC5 link ID, the first UE is allowed to use the grant for the transmission to the second UE related to the QoS profile and the PC5 link ID.
However, Shin does wherein, based on the information linked with the grant including a QoS profile and a PC5 link ID, the first UE is allowed to use the grant for the transmission to the second UE related to the QoS profile and the PC5 link ID ([0182] priority information for QoS (QoS profile) and PC5 QoS indicator PQI (PC5 link ID) is included in SCI; [0244] and [Fig. 5] UE determines time and frequency locations where PSCCH and PSSCH are transmitted by using the selected SL grant, and the UE performs sidelink transmissions according to the grant).
Kung, Li, and Shin are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention, as they are all in the same field of configuring sidelink transmissions. It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kung/Li to include the teachings of Shin where the priority information for QoS and the PQI are included in the SCI. The rationale behind this would be to account for an increase in signaling overhead related to resource allocation included in SCI ([0066] Shin).
Regarding claim 11, Kung modified by Li teaches The method of claim 1, as is described above.
Kung does not explicitly teach wherein a buffer status reporting (BSR) for inter-UE communication is triggered based on that the first UE has available data, and wherein a scheduling request (SR) is triggered based on that the BSR is triggered.
However, Shin does teach wherein a buffer status reporting (BSR) for inter-UE communication is triggered based on that the first UE has available data, and wherein a scheduling request (SR) is triggered based on that the BSR is triggered ([0097] UE requests the gNB for SL transmission resource using a MAC CE, where the MAC CE may be a buffer status report BSR for V2X (sidelink BSR) with information about the size of data buffered (based on the device having available data), and an SL resource may be requested via a scheduling request bit).
Kung, Li, and Shin are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention, as they are all in the same field of configuring sidelink transmissions. It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kung/Li to include the teachings of Shin where the BSR can be included in a MAC CE and an SL can be requested via a SR bit. The rationale behind this would be to account for an increase in signaling overhead related to resource allocation included in SCI ([0066] Shin).
Regarding claim 12, Kung modified by Li teaches The method of claim 1, as is described above.
Kung does not explicitly teach wherein the SR and the BSR are transmitted to the base station, and
wherein the grant is received from the base station based on the SR and the BSR.
However, Shin does teach wherein the SR and the BSR are transmitted to the base station ([0097] UE sends the BSR to the gNB via MAC CE, and sends the SR bit to the gNB via PUCCH), and
wherein the grant is received from the base station based on the SR and the BSR ([0097] the gNB indicates the SL scheduling information to the UE).
Kung, Li, and Shin are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention, as they are all in the same field of configuring sidelink transmissions. It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kung/Li to include the teachings of Shin where the BSR can be included in a MAC CE and an SL can be requested via a SR bit. The rationale behind this would be to account for an increase in signaling overhead related to resource allocation included in SCI ([0066] Shin).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/A.J.C./Examiner, Art Unit 2478 /JAY L VOGEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2478