DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-11, in the reply filed on 07/10/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 12-18 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Groups, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 07/10/2026.
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-18 are currently pending.
Claims 8-12, 16, and 17 are amended.
Claims 12-18 have been withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claims 1-11 have been considered on the merits.
Claim Objections
Claim 4 is objected to because of the following informalities: the reaction in claim 4 should contain the term “yields” since the typical chemical reaction arrow is not permissible in the claims. The reaction in line 3 of claim 4 should read as follows: “oxalate + H+ yields formate + CO2” . Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 6 is objected to because of the following informalities: the phrase “at least 95% identity with the full length of any one of SEQ ID NOs: 1-4” should be amended to “at least 95% identity with the full length sequence of any one of SEQ ID NOs: 1-4” for clarity. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 7 is objected to because of the following informalities: the phrase “a chimera, a and/or an overexpression…” should be amended to “a chimera, and/or an overexpression”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Russ et al (WO 2020/123483 A1).
With regards to claim 1, Russ teaches an engineered microbial cell ([0006]) comprising an exogenous nucleic acid encoding at least one oxalate catabolism enzyme ([0009]/[0094]).
Regarding claim 2, Russ teaches wherein the engineered microbial cell is a bacterial cell ([0006]).
Regarding claim 3, Russ teaches wherein the encoded oxalate catabolism enzyme is constitutively expressed in the engineered microbial cell ([0094]).
Regarding claim 4, Russ teaches wherein the at least one oxalate catabolism enzyme is an oxalate decarboxylase that directly catalyzes the reaction of oxalate + H+ yields formate + CO2 ([0009]/ Figure 1).
Regarding claim 5, Russ teaches wherein the at least one oxalate catabolism enzyme is a bacterial oxalate decarboxylase ([0009]/[0079] SEQ ID NO: 40 of Russ has 100% Sequence identity with SEQ ID NO: 1 of instant application).
Regarding claim 6, Russ teaches wherein the at least one oxalate catabolism enzyme comprises at least 95% identity with the full length of any one of SEQ ID NOs: 1-4 ([0009]/[0079] SEQ ID NO: 40 of Russ has 100% Sequence identity with SEQ ID NO: 1 of instant application).
Regarding claim 7, Russ teaches wherein the oxalate decarboxylase is a functional fragment or variant thereof which meets the limitations of a mutant oxalate decarboxylase, a chimera, and/or an overexpression variant of the oxalate decarboxylase ([0009]).
Regarding claim 8, Russ teaches wherein the engineered microbial cell is present in a composition comprising an enteric coating and/or preservative ([0023]/[0106]).
Regarding claim 9, Russ teaches wherein the composition is a pharmaceutical composition ([0023]).
Regarding claim 10, Russ teaches wherein the pharmaceutical composition comprises a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier ([0023]).
Regarding claim 11, Russ teaches wherein the engineered microbial cell is located within the enteric coating ([0023]).
Therefore, Russ anticipates the claims.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
Examiner Contact Information
CONSTANTINA E. STAVROU
Examiner
Art Unit 1632
/TITILAYO MOLOYE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1632