Response to Amendment
In the amendment to the specification the description of the ne figures 12 and 13 should be consistent with the other figures.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 3-5 and 7-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. In each of the independent claims, in the next to last paragraph, there is no antecedent basis for “the clearance”. In claim 5, it is unclear what the “number of slope” refers to; it appears it should be --number of slope portions--. In claim 12, there is no antecedent basis for “each of the slope portion” since there can be only one slope and it is unclear what a “straight slope” refers to. The claims were examined as best understood.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by McCoy (US 910,712). McCoy discloses a fastening structure comprising a washer between a nut (4) and an installation object (5). The washer comprising first and second members (6) each with a mating slope surface (8) which gradually lower in a tightening direction; the outer circumferential shape of the members conform with one another when they are overlapped and superposing without a clearance (Fig. 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 5, 8, and 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McCoy in view of Oldenkott (US 3,417,803). McCoy does not disclose a nut or bolt head having one of the mating slope surfaces with the other of mating slope surfaces being on a washer between the nut or bolt head and attachment member. Oldenkott discloses a fastening structure including mating slope surfaces similar to McCoy but additionally discloses a nut (7) with a sloped surface (22’) mating with a washer (12) between the nut and an attachment member (Fig. 7) and a bolt head (B) with a sloped surface (22’) mating with a washer (12) between the bolt head and an attachment member (Fig. 4). Oldenkott teaches both the nut and washer and the bolt head and washer combination as alternatives to only a washer with first and second members (Figs. 1-2). Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the slope surfaces of McCoy to a nut and washer and/or a bolt and washer combination because Oldenkott teaches them as alternatives the first and second washer members for providing the same predictable results. While the method would be inherent in McCoy for the device to be operative, Oldenkott further clarifies the method (top of column 3).
Claims 4 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McCoy in view of Oldenkott as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Frieberg (US 4,793,752). Modified McCoy does not disclose the washer having a conical recess opposite the slope surfaces nor an annular connecting portion. Frieberg discloses a washer (26) which functions similar to the washer of modified McCoy but teaches the washer to include a conical recess (42) and a connecting portion (28) with a cylindrical outer periphery. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the washer of modified McCoy with a conical recess and a connecting portion as disclosed in Frieberg because since the washer of modified McCoy and Oldenkott are for the same purpose modifying the washer would yield the same predictable results of locking the nut or bolt.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Yamazaki (US 6,966,735) is cited to teach another example of a one slope portion. Kemeny (US 12,117,037) is of particular interest but it lacks an earlier filing date.
Applicant’s remarks have been considered but are moot in light of the new grounds of rejection.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/FLEMMING SAETHER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3675