DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . Claims 1-10 filed on 3/4/2024 have been reviewed and considered by this office action.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements filed on 3/4/2024 and 2/20/2025 have been reviewed and considered by this office action.
Drawings
The drawings filed on 3/4/2024 have been reviewed and are considered acceptable.
Specification
The specification filed on 3/4/2024 has been reviewed and is considered acceptable.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “recording condition storage unit” in claim 1; “processing data specifying information storage unit”, in claim 1; “recording processing unit”, in claim 1; “recording condition setting interface unit”, in claim 3; “processing data specifying information setting interface unit”, in claim 4; “examination program storage unit”, in claim 5; “program execution unit”, in claim 5; and “interrupt processing unit”, in claim 10.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim limitation “recording condition storage unit” in claim 1; “processing data specifying information storage unit”, in claim 1; “recording processing unit”, in claim 1; “recording condition setting interface unit”, in claim 3; “processing data specifying information setting interface unit”, in claim 4; “examination program storage unit”, in claim 5; “program execution unit”, in claim 5; and “interrupt processing unit”, in claim 10, invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function.
In particular, review of the specification failed to provide sufficient written description of the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. The only mention was in paragraph [0081] of the filed specification which states: “Note that each function of the numerical control device 10 according to one embodiment may be implemented by hardware, software, or a combination thereof. Here, implementation by the software means implementation by reading and execution of a program by a computer.” Here, it is unclear first if the “functions” described above are analogous to the units identified as there is no nexus to form that connection and second, the paragraph states that only in “one embodiment”, leaving room for confusion for additional embodiments, and third, the paragraph states “may be”, which implies that the embodiment does not have to take on this potential structure/software implementation. As such, it is unclear what actually constitutes the structure for the disclosed limitations.
Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Dependent claims 2-10 each depend upon claim 1 and are thus rejected by virtue of dependency.
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
In particular, claim limitations, “recording condition storage unit” in claim 1; “processing data specifying information storage unit”, in claim 1; “recording processing unit”, in claim 1; “recording condition setting interface unit”, in claim 3; “processing data specifying information setting interface unit”, in claim 4; “examination program storage unit”, in claim 5; “program execution unit”, in claim 5; and “interrupt processing unit”, in claim 10; each as identified above fail to provide sufficient written description in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention as discussed above in the 112b section.
Dependent claims 2-10 each depend upon claim 1 and are thus rejected by virtue of dependency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Mitsuya (JP2009237798A).
Regarding Claim 1; Mitsuya teaches; A control device that includes one or more processors and one or more memories for storing an instruction to be executed by the one or more processors and/or data to be processed by the one or more processors, and controls an industrial machine, comprising: (Mitsuya; at least paragraph [0044], [0083] and [0107]; disclose a control unit for controlling a target device (i.e. industrial device as taught in [0107]) which further includes a defect recording device for storing defect data associated with a device)
a recording condition storage unit configured to store one or more recording conditions regarding recording of the instruction and/or the data; (Mitsuya; at least paragraph [0044]; disclose a defect data recording device for storing defect data associated with a device)
a processing data specifying information storage unit configured to store, for each of the one or more recording conditions, processing data specifying information for specifying processing data to be stored in a processing data storage unit from the instruction and/or the data; and (Mitsuya; at least paragraph [0054]; disclose an attention specifying unit for specifying specific recording conditions for monitored data)
a recording processing unit configured to record, when the one or more recording conditions are satisfied, the processing data specified by the processing data specifying information corresponding to the one or more recording conditions in the processing data storage unit. (Mitsuya; at least paragraph [0058]; disclose a defect recording processing unit (11) configured to record defect data when a recording trigger is detected in monitored defect data).
Regarding Claim 2; Mitsuya teaches; The control device according to claim 1, wherein the processing data includes at least one of internal information on the one or more processors, the data stored in the one or more memories, the instruction, or an instruction saving area of the instruction. (Mitsuya; at least paragraphs [0058]-[0059]).
Regarding Claim 3; Mitsuya teaches; The control device according to claim 1, further comprising a recording condition setting interface unit configured to set the one or more recording conditions. (Mitsuya; at least paragraph [0043]).
Regarding Claim 4; Mitsuya teaches; The control device according to any one of claim 1, further comprising a processing data specifying information setting interface unit configured to set the processing data specifying information. (Mitsuya; at least paragraph [0057]).
Regarding Claim 5; Mitsuya teaches; The control device according to any one of claim 1, further comprising: an examination program storage unit configured to store an executable examination program to be executed when the one or more recording conditions are satisfied; and a program execution unit configured to execute the examination program when the one or more recording conditions are satisfied. (Mitsuya; at least paragraph [0058]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mitsuya (JP2009237798A) in view of Biner et al. (US PGPUB 20180351401).
Regarding Claim 8; Mitsuya teaches; The control device according to any one of claim 1, wherein the one or more recording conditions and/or the processing data specifying information are settable and/or referable from external equipment. (Mitsuya; at least paragraph [0058]).
Mitsuya appears to be silent on; The control device according to any one of claims claim 1, wherein the one or more recording conditions and/or the processing data specifying information are settable and/or referable from external equipment.
However, Binder teaches; The control device according to any one of claims claim 1, wherein the one or more recording conditions and/or the processing data specifying information are settable and/or referable from external equipment. (Binder; at least Figs. 1E and 5; paragraph [0006]; disclose a portable device capable of interfacing with equipment, wherein the device can access information regarding the monitoring (i.e. setting conditions as taught by Mitsuya) of the connected device).
Mitsuya and Binder are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor or similar problem solving area of, monitoring and control systems.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the disclosed invention to have incorporated the known method of externally accessing data regarding a monitored device as taught by Binder with the known system of a data specifying monitoring and control system as taught by Matsuya in order to provide a method in which inefficiencies within a system could be targeted and readily identified remotely as taught by Binder (paragraph [0070]).
Regarding Claim 7; the combination of Mitsuya and Binder teach; The control device according to claim 5, wherein at least any one of the one or more recording conditions, the processing data specifying information, or the examination program is settable and/or referable from external equipment. (Binder; at least Figs. 1E and 5; paragraph [0006]).
Regarding Claim 8; the combination of Mitsuya and Binder teach; The control device according to any one of claim 1, wherein the processing data is referable from external equipment. (Binder; at least Figs. 1E and 5; paragraph [0006]).
Regarding Claim 9; the combination of Mitsuya and Binder teach; The control device according to any one of claim 1, wherein the processing data is output to external equipment. (Binder; at least Figs. 1E and 5; paragraph [0006]).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mitsuya (JP2009237798A) in view of Kubota (US PGPUB 20200117165).
Regarding Claim 10; Mitsuya appears to be silent on; The control device according to any one of claim 1, further comprising: an interrupt processing unit configured to execute interrupt processing when the one or more recording conditions are satisfied and resumes, after completion of the interrupt processing, original processing executed before execution of the interrupt processing.
However, Kubota teaches; The control device according to any one of claim 1, further comprising: an interrupt processing unit configured to execute interrupt processing when the one or more recording conditions are satisfied and resumes, after completion of the interrupt processing, original processing executed before execution of the interrupt processing. (Kubota; at least paragraphs [0005] and [0035]; disclose a system and method for executing an interrupt process when interrupt conditions are met (i.e. settable conditions of Mitsuya) and after completion of the interrupt, executing the original processing).
Mitsuya and Kubota are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor or similar problem solving area of, monitoring and control systems.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the disclosed invention to have incorporated the known method of resuming execution of an original process after processing an interrupt as taught by Kubota with the known system of a data specifying monitoring and control system as taught by Matsuya in order to provide a method in which accurate system data can be recorded as taught by Kubota (paragraph [0011]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Liu et al. (US PGPUB 20190384692): disclose a diagnosis tool for monitoring a plurality of data and diagnosing faults within a system by applying user defined context analysis to identify root cause of failures.
/CHRISTOPHER W CARTER/Examiner, Art Unit 2117