Detailed Action
Preliminary Amendment
The present Office Action is based upon the original patent application filed on 03/04/2024 as modified by the preliminary amendment filed on 03/04/2024. Claims 22-41 are now pending in the present application.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements submitted on 03/04/2024, 01/02/2025, 10/09/2025 and 12/31/2025 have been considered by the Examiner and made of record in the application file.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 22-25, 31-34, 37-38 and 40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a) (1) as being anticipated by CHEN et al. (US 2019/0223147 Al, hereinafter Chen).
Regarding claim 22, Chen discloses, a method for paging monitoring, performed by a terminal (see e.g., Fig. 2, UE and/or “UEs 3-2, 3-3 (e.g. mobile telephones) can communicate with each other and/or other communication devices via E-UTRAN base stations 5-1 and 5-2”, Fig. 5, [0060]), wherein the terminal in a radio resource control (RRC) inactive state is configured with at least one of an enhanced discontinuous reception (eDRX) parameter configured by a base station or an eDRX parameter configured by a core network (see e.g., “Communication devices may be located in a cell in an radio resource control (RRC) idle mode…”, Fig. 5, [0061] and/or “the UE will store the agreed eDRX related parameter(s) and use them appropriately to determine when the MME sends a paging message to trigger paging and when the UE should monitor for paging messages”, [0015] and/or “a UE configured with an eDRX cycle of length T.sub.eDRX in idle mode monitors the control channel for paging during a paging transmission window (PTW) once every eDRX cycle”, [0008]), and the method comprises:
determining that a cell where the terminal in the RRC inactive state resides does not use eDRX in the RRC inactive state (see e.g., “the UE moves from a base station that supports eDRX (eNB-x) to a base station (e.g. of the same tracking area or belonging to a TA in the UE's TA list) that does not support eDRX (eNB-y)”, Fig. 3, [0017] and/or “… on receiving the downlink data notification considers both the UE and the base station's eDRX capability in determining how to proceed with paging. Specifically, the MME 9 identifies each base station 5-2 (belonging to the UE's TA list) that does not support eDRX (or for which eDRX support cannot be guaranteed…”, [0104]); and
determining that the eDRX parameter configured by the base station becomes invalid (see e.g., “when the UE receives system information (e.g. SIB1), that does not include the eDRX-Allowed-r13 information element, from the base station (eNB-y) that does not support eDRX, the UE determines that it should not use eDRX and performs a TAU procedure with the MME to disable eDRX”, [0025] and/or “When the UE receives system information (e.g. SIB1) from the base station (eNB-y) that does not support eDRX, the eDRX-Allowed-r13 information element will not be present. Accordingly, the UE will determine that it should not use eDRX and will, consequently, wake up more frequently to monitor paging as illustrated”, [0020]).
Regarding claim 23, Chen discloses, determining that the cell where the terminal in the RRC inactive state resides does not use the eDRX in the RRC inactive state, and determining a predetermined cycle as a paging cycle for the terminal to perform the paging monitoring in the cell (see e.g., “When the UE receives system information (e.g. SIB1) from the base station (eNB-y) that does not support eDRX, the eDRX-Allowed-r13 information element will not be present. Accordingly, the UE will determine that it should not use eDRX and will, consequently, wake up more frequently to monitor paging as illustrated”, [0020]).
Regarding claim 24, Chen discloses, wherein the cell where the terminal in the RRC inactive state resides does not use the eDRX in the RRC inactive state, and at least one of a paging time window (PTW) in the RRC inactive state or an eDRX cycle in the RRC inactive state indicated by the eDRX parameter configured by the base station becomes invalid (see e.g., “a UE configured with an eDRX cycle of length T.sub.eDRX in idle mode monitors the control channel for paging during a paging transmission window (PTW) once every eDRX cycle”, [0008] and/or “whenever a UE moves from an eDRX supporting base station to a non-eDRX base station to disable eDRX”, [0023] and/or “When the UE receives system information (e.g. SIB1) from the base station (eNB-y) that does not support eDRX, the eDRX-Allowed-r13 information element will not be present. Accordingly, the UE will determine that it should not use eDRX and will, consequently, wake up more frequently to monitor paging as illustrated”, [0020] and/or and/or “when the UE receives system information (e.g. SIB1), that does not include the eDRX-Allowed-r13 information element, from the base station (eNB-y) that does not support eDRX, the UE determines that it should not use eDRX and performs a TAU procedure with the MME to disable eDRX…the MME is aware that the UE is no longer using the eDRX configuration negotiated and agreed…”, [0025] and/or “all the base stations in the UE's TA list do not support eDRX the MME 3 rejects the implicit request to enable eDRX…A UE 3 receiving such a rejection thus knows that it cannot use eDRX and can complete the attach procedure without enablement of eDRX”, [0116]).
Regarding claim 25, Chen discloses, wherein the cell where the terminal in the RRC inactive state resides does not use the eDRX in an RRC idle state (see e.g., “whenever a UE moves from an eDRX supporting base station to a non-eDRX base station to disable eDRX”, [0023]), and at least one of a PTW in the RRC idle state indicated by the eDRX parameter configured by the core network (see e.g., “a UE configured with an eDRX cycle of length T.sub.eDRX in idle mode monitors the control channel for paging during a paging transmission window (PTW) once every eDRX cycle.”, [0008] and/or “cell 1 and cell 2 operated by the base stations 5-1 and 5-2. Thus, when operating in RRC idle mode (not sending/receiving data)”, [0062]), an eDRX cycle in the RRC idle state indicated by the eDRX parameter configured by the core network (see e.g., “the MME is aware that the UE is no longer using the eDRX configuration negotiated and agreed upon during the Attach/TAU procedure undertaken when the UE was in the cell of eNB-x”, [0025]), a PTW in the RRC inactive state indicated by the eDRX parameter configured by the base station, or an eDRX cycle in the RRC inactive state indicated by the eDRX parameter configured by the base station becomes invalid (see e.g., “the MME is aware that the UE is no longer using the eDRX configuration negotiated and agreed upon during the Attach/TAU procedure undertaken when the UE was in the cell of eNB-x”, [0025]).
Regarding claim 31, Chen discloses, a terminal (see e.g., Fig. 2, UE and/or “UEs 3-2, 3-3 (e.g. mobile telephones) can communicate with each other and/or other communication devices via E-UTRAN base stations 5-1 and 5-2”, Fig. 5, [0060]), comprising:
a memory (see e.g., Fig. 6, Memory 39); and
a processor (see e.g., Fig. 6, processor 37 connected to memory 39), connected to the memory,
wherein the terminal in a radio resource control (RRC) inactive state is configured with at least one of an enhanced discontinuous reception (eDRX) parameter configured by a base station or an eDRX parameter configured by a core network (see e.g., “Communication devices may be located in a cell in an radio resource control (RRC) idle mode…”, Fig. 5, [0061] and/or “the UE will store the agreed eDRX related parameter(s) and use them appropriately to determine when the MME sends a paging message to trigger paging and when the UE should monitor for paging messages”, [0015] and/or “a UE configured with an eDRX cycle of length T.sub.eDRX in idle mode monitors the control channel for paging during a paging transmission window (PTW) once every eDRX cycle”, [0008]), and the processor is configured to:
determine that a cell where the terminal in the RRC inactive state resides does not use eDRX in the RRC inactive state (see e.g., “the UE moves from a base station that supports eDRX (eNB-x) to a base station (e.g. of the same tracking area or belonging to a TA in the UE's TA list) that does not support eDRX (eNB-y)”, Fig. 3, [0017] and/or “… on receiving the downlink data notification considers both the UE and the base station's eDRX capability in determining how to proceed with paging. Specifically, the MME 9 identifies each base station 5-2 (belonging to the UE's TA list) that does not support eDRX (or for which eDRX support cannot be guaranteed…”, [0104]); and
determine that the eDRX parameter configured by the base station becomes invalid (see e.g., “when the UE receives system information (e.g. SIB1), that does not include the eDRX-Allowed-r13 information element, from the base station (eNB-y) that does not support eDRX, the UE determines that it should not use eDRX and performs a TAU procedure with the MME to disable eDRX”, [0025] and/or “When the UE receives system information (e.g. SIB1) from the base station (eNB-y) that does not support eDRX, the eDRX-Allowed-r13 information element will not be present. Accordingly, the UE will determine that it should not use eDRX and will, consequently, wake up more frequently to monitor paging as illustrated”, [0020]).
Regarding claim 32, Chen discloses, determine that the cell where the terminal in the RRC inactive state resides does not use the eDRX in the RRC inactive state, and determine a predetermined cycle as a paging cycle for the terminal to perform the paging monitoring in the cell (see e.g., “When the UE receives system information (e.g. SIB1) from the base station (eNB-y) that does not support eDRX, the eDRX-Allowed-r13 information element will not be present. Accordingly, the UE will determine that it should not use eDRX and will, consequently, wake up more frequently to monitor paging as illustrated”, [0020]).
Regarding claim 33, Chen discloses, wherein the cell where the terminal in the RRC inactive state resides does not use the eDRX in the RRC inactive state, and at least one of a paging time window (PTW) in the RRC inactive state or an eDRX cycle in the RRC inactive state indicated by the eDRX parameter configured by the base station becomes invalid (see e.g., “a UE configured with an eDRX cycle of length T.sub.eDRX in idle mode monitors the control channel for paging during a paging transmission window (PTW) once every eDRX cycle”, [0008] and/or “whenever a UE moves from an eDRX supporting base station to a non-eDRX base station to disable eDRX”, [0023] and/or “When the UE receives system information (e.g. SIB1) from the base station (eNB-y) that does not support eDRX, the eDRX-Allowed-r13 information element will not be present. Accordingly, the UE will determine that it should not use eDRX and will, consequently, wake up more frequently to monitor paging as illustrated”, [0020] and/or “when the UE receives system information (e.g. SIB1), that does not include the eDRX-Allowed-r13 information element, from the base station (eNB-y) that does not support eDRX, the UE determines that it should not use eDRX and performs a TAU procedure with the MME to disable eDRX…the MME is aware that the UE is no longer using the eDRX configuration negotiated and agreed…”, [0025] and/or “all the base stations in the UE's TA list do not support eDRX the MME 3 rejects the implicit request to enable eDRX…A UE 3 receiving such a rejection thus knows that it cannot use eDRX and can complete the attach procedure without enablement of eDRX”, [0116]).
Regarding claim 34, Chen discloses, wherein the cell where the terminal in the RRC inactive state resides does not use the eDRX in an RRC idle state (see e.g., “whenever a UE moves from an eDRX supporting base station to a non-eDRX base station to disable eDRX”, [0023]), and at least one of a PTW in the RRC idle state indicated by the eDRX parameter configured by the core network (see e.g., “a UE configured with an eDRX cycle of length T.sub.eDRX in idle mode monitors the control channel for paging during a paging transmission window (PTW) once every eDRX cycle.”, [0008] and/or “cell 1 and cell 2 operated by the base stations 5-1 and 5-2. Thus, when operating in RRC idle mode (not sending/receiving data)”, [0062]), an eDRX cycle in the RRC idle state indicated by the eDRX parameter configured by the core network (see e.g., “the MME is aware that the UE is no longer using the eDRX configuration negotiated and agreed upon during the Attach/TAU procedure undertaken when the UE was in the cell of eNB-x”, [0025]), a PTW in an RRC inactive state indicated by the eDRX parameter configured by the base station, or an eDRX cycle in the RRC inactive state indicated by the eDRX parameter configured by the base station becomes invalid (see e.g., “the MME is aware that the UE is no longer using the eDRX configuration negotiated and agreed upon during the Attach/TAU procedure undertaken when the UE was in the cell of eNB-x”, [0025]).
Regarding claim 37, Chen discloses, a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium having stored therein computer-executable instructions that, when executed by a processor of a terminal, cause the terminal to perform a method for paging monitoring (see e.g., Fig. 6, processor 37 connected to memory 39), the method comprising:
determining that a cell where the terminal in a radio resource control (RRC) inactive state resides does not use enhanced discontinuous reception (eDRX) in the RRC inactive state (see e.g., “the UE moves from a base station that supports eDRX (eNB-x) to a base station (e.g. of the same tracking area or belonging to a TA in the UE's TA list) that does not support eDRX (eNB-y)”, Fig. 3, [0017] and/or “… on receiving the downlink data notification considers both the UE and the base station's eDRX capability in determining how to proceed with paging. Specifically, the MME 9 identifies each base station 5-2 (belonging to the UE's TA list) that does not support eDRX (or for which eDRX support cannot be guaranteed…”, [0104]), wherein the terminal in the RRC inactive state is configured with at least one of an eDRX parameter configured by a base station or an eDRX parameter configured by a core network (see e.g., “Communication devices may be located in a cell in an radio resource control (RRC) idle mode…”, Fig. 5, [0061] and/or “the UE will store the agreed eDRX related parameter(s) and use them appropriately to determine when the MME sends a paging message to trigger paging and when the UE should monitor for paging messages”, [0015] and/or “a UE configured with an eDRX cycle of length T.sub.eDRX in idle mode monitors the control channel for paging during a paging transmission window (PTW) once every eDRX cycle”, [0008]); and
determining that the eDRX parameter configured by the base station becomes invalid (see e.g., “when the UE receives system information (e.g. SIB1), that does not include the eDRX-Allowed-r13 information element, from the base station (eNB-y) that does not support eDRX, the UE determines that it should not use eDRX and performs a TAU procedure with the MME to disable eDRX”, [0025] and/or “When the UE receives system information (e.g. SIB1) from the base station (eNB-y) that does not support eDRX, the eDRX-Allowed-r13 information element will not be present. Accordingly, the UE will determine that it should not use eDRX and will, consequently, wake up more frequently to monitor paging as illustrated”, [0020]).
Regarding claim 38, Chen discloses, determining that the cell where the terminal in the RRC inactive state resides does not use the eDRX in the RRC inactive state, and determining a predetermined cycle as a paging cycle for the terminal to perform the paging monitoring in the cell (see e.g., “When the UE receives system information (e.g. SIB1) from the base station (eNB-y) that does not support eDRX, the eDRX-Allowed-r13 information element will not be present. Accordingly, the UE will determine that it should not use eDRX and will, consequently, wake up more frequently to monitor paging as illustrated”, [0020]).
Regarding claim 40, Chen discloses, wherein the cell where the terminal in the RRC inactive state resides does not use the eDRX in the RRC inactive state, and at least one of a paging time window (PTW) in the RRC inactive state or an eDRX cycle in the RRC inactive state indicated by the eDRX parameter configured by the base station becomes invalid (see e.g., “a UE configured with an eDRX cycle of length T.sub.eDRX in idle mode monitors the control channel for paging during a paging transmission window (PTW) once every eDRX cycle”, [0008] and/or “whenever a UE moves from an eDRX supporting base station to a non-eDRX base station to disable eDRX”, [0023] and/or “When the UE receives system information (e.g. SIB1) from the base station (eNB-y) that does not support eDRX, the eDRX-Allowed-r13 information element will not be present. Accordingly, the UE will determine that it should not use eDRX and will, consequently, wake up more frequently to monitor paging as illustrated”, [0020] and/or “when the UE receives system information (e.g. SIB1), that does not include the eDRX-Allowed-r13 information element, from the base station (eNB-y) that does not support eDRX, the UE determines that it should not use eDRX and performs a TAU procedure with the MME to disable eDRX…the MME is aware that the UE is no longer using the eDRX configuration negotiated and agreed…”, [0025] and/or “all the base stations in the UE's TA list do not support eDRX the MME 3 rejects the implicit request to enable eDRX…A UE 3 receiving such a rejection thus knows that it cannot use eDRX and can complete the attach procedure without enablement of eDRX”, [0116]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negatived by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 26-30, 35-36, 39 and 41 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Chen, in view of Applicant provided NPL document Ericsson (3GPP TSG-RAN WG2 #115-e, Tdoc R2-2108280 9th-27 August, 2021, hereinafter Ericsson).
Regarding claim 26, Chen fails to explicitly disclose, determining that a cycle indicated by the eDRX parameter configured by the base station is greater than or equal to a first cycle threshold, and determining the predetermined cycle in the RRC inactive state according to a radio access paging cycle configured by the base station; or determining that a cycle indicated by the eDRX parameter configured by the base station is less than or equal to a first cycle threshold, and determining the predetermined cycle in the RRC inactive state according to a default radio access paging cycle.
In the same field of endeavor, Ericsson discloses, determining that a cycle indicated by the eDRX parameter configured by the base station is greater than or equal to a first cycle threshold, and determining the predetermined cycle in the RRC inactive state according to a radio access paging cycle configured by the base station (see e.g., “Case 2: RRC_IDLE eDRX configured> 10.24 s…Proposal 4 For UEs in RRC_INACTIVE state, if the UE is configured with CN eDRX cycle longer than 10.24 s and eDRX for RAN paging is not configured by RRC, UE monitors for CN paging inside a PTW, within the PTW the paging is monitored based on the shortest of UE specific DRX cycle (if configured), the default DRX cycle, and the RAN paging cycle. The UE monitors RAN paging with RAN paging cycle”, page 2, sec. 2.2, lines 29-42); or
determining that a cycle indicated by the eDRX parameter configured by the base station is less than or equal to a first cycle threshold, and determining the predetermined cycle in the RRC inactive state according to a default radio access paging cycle (see e.g., “Case 1: RRC_IDLE eDRX configured<= 10.24 s…Proposal 2 For UEs in RRC_INACTIVE state, if UE specific DRX or eDRX is not configured by upper layers (NAS) and eDRX for RAN paging is not configured by RRC, then T is determined by the shortest of the RAN paging cycle and the default DRX value. Otherwise, when a CN eDRX cycle of {256, 512, 1024} radio frames is configured by the upper layers, then T = {256, 512, 1024} radio frames for CN paging. The UE
monitors RAN paging with RAN paging cycle.”, page 2, sec. 2.2, lines 13-28).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine teachings of Chen with Ericsson, in order to meet 3GPP standards to reduce power consumption for paging monitoring using enhanced discontinuous reception in RRC-idle/Inactive (please see Ericsson, sec. 2.1, lines 1-2).
Regarding claim 27, Chen and Ericsson combine disclose, wherein the cell does not use the eDRX in the RRC inactive state (see Chen e.g., ““When the UE receives system information (e.g. SIB1) from the base station (eNB-y) that does not support eDRX, the eDRX-Allowed-r13 information element will not be present. Accordingly, the UE will determine that it should not use eDRX…”, [0020]);
In the same field of endeavor, Ericsson discloses, determining the predetermined cycle in the RRC inactive state according to the default radio access paging cycle comprises: determining that a cycle indicated by the eDRX parameter configured by the core network for the terminal in the RRC inactive state is greater than or equal to a second cycle threshold, and the cycle indicated by the eDRX parameter configured by the base station is less than or equal to the first cycle threshold, and determining the predetermined cycle according to at least one of a terminal specific DRX value, a default paging cycle or a radio access paging cycle configured by the base station (see e.g., “Case 4: RRC_IDLE eDRX configured> 10.24 s, …UE in RRC_INACTIVE state monitor for both CN and RAN paging, where the CN paging occurs within the PTW and the RAN paging occurs outside the PTW (in most cases) and it occurs within the CN PTW (rarely)…Proposal 6 For UEs in RRC_INACTIVE state, if the UE is configured with CN eDRX cycle longer than 10.24 s and RAN eDRX cycle up to 10.24 s, UE monitors for the CN initiated paging inside the CN PTW, with shortest of UE specific DRX cycles (if configured) and the default DRX cycle. The UE monitors RAN paging with the configured RAN eDRX cycle.”, page 3, sec. 2.2, lines 10-19).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine teachings of Chen with Ericsson, in order to meet 3GPP standards to reduce power consumption for paging monitoring using enhanced discontinuous reception in RRC-idle/Inactive (please see Ericsson, sec. 2.1, lines 1-2).
Regarding claim 28, Chen and Ericsson combine disclose, wherein the cell does not use the eDRX in the RRC inactive state (see Chen e.g., ““When the UE receives system information (e.g. SIB1) from the base station (eNB-y) that does not support eDRX, the eDRX-Allowed-r13 information element will not be present. Accordingly, the UE will determine that it should not use eDRX…”, [0020]);
In the same field of endeavor, Ericsson discloses, determining the predetermined cycle in the RRC inactive state according to the default radio access paging cycle comprises: determining that a cycle indicated by the eDRX parameter configured by the core network for the terminal in the RRC inactive state is less than or equal to a second cycle threshold, and the cycle indicated by the eDRX parameter configured by the base station is less than or equal to the first cycle threshold, and determining the predetermined cycle according to at least one of a terminal specific DRX value, a default paging cycle or a radio access paging cycle configured by the base station (see Ericsson e.g., “Case 3: RRC_IDLE eDRX configured<= 10.24 s, RRC_INACTIVE eDRX configured<= 10.24 s In this case, UE in RRC_INACTIVE state monitor for both CN and RAN paging as per the configured eDRX cycles, i.e., UE monitors CN paging according to eDRX cycle of CN and RAN paging according to eDRX cycle of RAN. The eDRX values up to 10.24 s are {256, 512, 1024}…Proposal 5 For UEs in RRC_INACTIVE state, if the UE is configured with both CN and RAN eDRX cycles up to 10.24 s, UE monitors for paging with the shortest of CN eDRX cycle and RAN eDRX cycle i.e., T = min{CN eDRX, RAN eDRX}.”, page 3, sec. 2.2, lines 1-9).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine teachings of Chen with Ericsson, in order to meet 3GPP standards to reduce power consumption for paging monitoring using enhanced discontinuous reception in RRC-idle/Inactive (please see Ericsson, sec. 2.1, lines 1-2).
Regarding claim 29, Chen and Ericsson combine disclose, wherein determining
the predetermined cycle comprises: determining that the terminal in the RRC inactive state is only configured with the eDRX parameter configured by the core network, and a cycle indicated by the eDRX parameter configured by the core network is less than or equal to a second cycle threshold, and determining the predetermined cycle according to at least one of a terminal specific DRX value, a default paging cycle or a radio access paging cycle configured by the base station (see Ericsson e.g., “ Case 3…RRC_INACTIVE eDRX configured<= 10.24 s, In this case, UE in RRC_INACTIVE state monitor for both CN and RAN paging as per the configured eDRX cycles, i.e., UE monitors CN paging according to eDRX cycle of CN and RAN paging according to eDRX cycle of RAN. The eDRX values up to 10.24 s are {256, 512, 1024} and both RAN, and CN can have different eDRX cycles...Proposal 5… For UEs in RRC_INACTIVE state, if the UE is configured with both CN and RAN eDRX cycles up to 10.24 s, UE monitors for paging with the shortest of CN eDRX cycle and RAN eDRX cycle i.e., T = min{CN eDRX, RAN eDRX}”, page 3, sec. 2.2, lines 1-9);
determining that the terminal in an RRC idle state is only configured with the eDRX parameter configured by the core network, and a cycle indicated by the eDRX parameter configured by the core network is less than or equal to a second cycle threshold, and determining the predetermined cycle according to at least one of a terminal specific DRX value or a default paging cycle (see Ericsson e.g., “Case 1: RRC_IDLE eDRX configured<= 10.24 s… UE in RRC_IDLE state with eDRX cycle up to 10.24 s monitors CN paging according to eDRX cycle for CN.…Proposal 1… For UEs in RRC_IDLE state, if UE specific DRX and CN eDRX cycles are not configured by upper layers (NAS), the default DRX value (broadcast in the system information) is applied. Otherwise, when a CN eDRX cycle of {256, 512, 1024} radio frames is configured by the upper layers, then T = {256, 512, 1024} radio frames, correspondingly”, page 2, sec. 2.2, lines 13-22);
determining that the terminal in the RRC inactive state is only configured with the eDRX parameter configured by the core network, and a cycle indicated by the eDRX parameter configured by the core network is greater than or equal to a second cycle threshold, and determining the predetermined cycle according to at least one of a terminal specific DRX value, a default paging cycle or a radio access paging cycle configured by the base station (see Ericsson e.g., “Case 5: RRC_IDLE eDRX configured> 10.24 s, RRC_INACTIVE eDRX configured> 10.24 s…In this case, UE in RRC_INACTIVE state monitors both CN and RAN paging within the corresponding PTW, determined by the RRC_IDLE and RRC_INACTIVE eDRX cycles…Proposal 7 For UEs in RRC_INACTIVE state, if the UE is configured with both CN and RAN eDRX cycles longer than 10.24 s, UE monitors the PO within PTWs (which occur as per the CN and RAN paging cycles), and inside the PTW based on the minimum of UE specific DRX cycles (if configured), and the default DRX cycle”, [page 3, sec. 2.2, lines 20-28).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine teachings of Chen with Ericsson, in order to meet 3GPP standards to reduce power consumption for paging monitoring using enhanced discontinuous reception in RRC-idle/Inactive (please see Ericsson, sec. 2.1, lines 1-2).
Regarding claim 30, Chen discloses, when the terminal moves to a cell that does not use the eDRX in the RRC inactive state (see Chen e.g., “the UE then moves into the cell of the base station (eNB-y) that does not support eDRX (and does not perform a TAU procedure with the MME when it does).”, [0019]).
Chen fails to explicitly disclose, in response to a cycle indicated by the eDRX parameter configured by the core network for the terminal in the RRC inactive state being less than or equal to a second cycle threshold, and a cycle indicated by the eDRX parameter configured by the base station for the terminal in the RRC inactive state being less than or equal to a first cycle threshold, determining that the cycle indicated by the eDRX parameter configured by the base station becomes invalid, and performing paging monitoring according to a predetermined cycle, wherein the predetermined cycle is a minimum value of the cycle indicated by the eDRX parameter configured by the core network and a radio access paging cycle configured by the base station.
In the same field of endeavor, Ericsson discloses, in response to a cycle indicated by the eDRX parameter configured by the core network for the terminal in the RRC inactive state being less than or equal to a second cycle threshold, and a cycle indicated by the eDRX parameter configured by the base station for the terminal in the RRC inactive state being less than or equal to a first cycle threshold, determining that the cycle indicated by the eDRX parameter configured by the base station becomes invalid, and performing paging monitoring according to a predetermined cycle, wherein the predetermined cycle is a minimum value of the cycle indicated by the eDRX parameter configured by the core network and a radio access paging cycle configured by the base station (see e.g., “Case 3: RRC_IDLE eDRX configured<= 10.24 s, RRC_INACTIVE eDRX configured<= 10.24 s…In this case, UE in RRC_INACTIVE state monitor for both CN and RAN paging as per the configured eDRX cycles, i.e., UE monitors CN paging according to eDRX cycle of CN and RAN paging according to eDRX cycle of RAN. s…Proposal 5 For UEs in RRC_INACTIVE state, if the UE is configured with both CN and RAN eDRX cycles up to 10.24 s, UE monitors for paging with the shortest of CN eDRX cycle and RAN eDRX cycle i.e., T = min{CN eDRX, RAN eDRX}.”, page 3, sec. 2.2, lines 1-9).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine teachings of Chen with Ericsson, in order to meet 3GPP standards to reduce power consumption for paging monitoring using enhanced discontinuous reception in RRC-idle/Inactive (please see Ericsson, sec. 2.1, lines 1-2).
Regarding claim 35, Chen fails to explicitly disclose, determine that a cycle indicated by the eDRX parameter configured by the base station is greater than or equal to a first cycle threshold, and determine the predetermined cycle in the RRC inactive state according to a radio access paging cycle configured by the base station;
determine that a cycle indicated by the eDRX parameter configured by the base station is less than or equal to a first cycle threshold, and determine the predetermined cycle in the RRC inactive state according to a default radio access paging cycle;
determine that the terminal in the RRC inactive state is only configured with the eDRX parameter configured by the core network, and a cycle indicated by the eDRX parameter configured by the core network is less than or equal to a second cycle threshold, and determine the predetermined cycle according to at least one of a terminal specific DRX value, a default paging cycle or a radio access paging cycle configured by the base station;
determine that the terminal in an RRC idle state is only configured with the eDRX parameter configured by the core network, and a cycle indicated by the eDRX parameter configured by the core network is less than or equal to a second cycle threshold, and determine the predetermined cycle according to at least one of a terminal specific DRX value or a default paging cycle;
determine that the terminal in the RRC inactive state is only configured with the eDRX parameter configured by the core network, and a cycle indicated by the eDRX parameter configured by the core network is greater than or equal to a second cycle threshold, and determine the predetermined cycle according to at least one of a terminal specific DRX value, a default paging cycle or a radio access paging cycle configured by the base station.
In the same field of endeavor, Ericsson discloses, determine that a cycle indicated by the eDRX parameter configured by the base station is greater than or equal to a first cycle threshold, and determine the predetermined cycle in the RRC inactive state according to a radio access paging cycle configured by the base station (see e.g., “Case 2: RRC_IDLE eDRX configured> 10.24 s…Proposal 4 For UEs in RRC_INACTIVE state, if the UE is configured with CN eDRX cycle longer than 10.24 s and eDRX for RAN paging is not configured by RRC, UE monitors for CN paging inside a PTW, within the PTW the paging is monitored based on the shortest of UE specific DRX cycle (if configured), the default DRX cycle, and the RAN paging cycle. The UE monitors RAN paging with RAN paging cycle”, page 2, sec. 2.2, lines 29-42);
determine that a cycle indicated by the eDRX parameter configured by the base station is less than or equal to a first cycle threshold, and determine the predetermined cycle in the RRC inactive state according to a default radio access paging cycle (see e.g., “Case 1: RRC_IDLE eDRX configured<= 10.24 s…Proposal 2 For UEs in RRC_INACTIVE state, if UE specific DRX or eDRX is not configured by upper layers (NAS) and eDRX for RAN paging is not configured by RRC, then T is determined by the shortest of the RAN paging cycle and the default DRX value. Otherwise, when a CN eDRX cycle of {256, 512, 1024} radio frames is configured by the upper layers, then T = {256, 512, 1024} radio frames for CN paging. The UE
monitors RAN paging with RAN paging cycle.”, page 2, sec. 2.2, lines 13-28);
determine that the terminal in the RRC inactive state is only configured with the eDRX parameter configured by the core network, and a cycle indicated by the eDRX parameter configured by the core network is less than or equal to a second cycle threshold, and determine the predetermined cycle according to at least one of a terminal specific DRX value, a default paging cycle or a radio access paging cycle configured by the base station (see e.g., “Case 4: …RRC_INACTIVE eDRX configured<= 10.24 s…In this case, UE in RRC_INACTIVE state monitor for both CN and RAN paging, where the CN paging occurs within the PTW and the RAN paging occurs outside the PTW (in most cases) and it occurs within the CN PTW (rarely). Inside the CN PTW the paging is determined on the minimum value of UE specific paging cycle, if allocated by upper layers, and the default paging cycle…Proposal 6 For UEs in RRC_INACTIVE state, if the UE is configured with CN eDRX cycle longer than 10.24 s and RAN eDRX cycle up to 10.24 s, UE monitors for the CN initiated paging inside the CN PTW, with shortest of UE specific DRX cycles (if configured) and the default DRX cycle. The UE monitors RAN paging with the configured RAN eDRX cycle.”, page 3, sec. 2.2, lines 29-35);
determine that the terminal in an RRC idle state is only configured with the eDRX parameter configured by the core network, and a cycle indicated by the eDRX parameter configured by the core network is less than or equal to a second cycle threshold, and determine the predetermined cycle according to at least one of a terminal specific DRX value or a default paging cycle (see e.g., “Case 1: RRC_IDLE eDRX configured<= 10.24 s…In this case, UE in RRC_IDLE state with eDRX cycle up to 10.24 s monitors CN paging according to eDRX cycle for CN…Proposal 1 For UEs in RRC_IDLE state, if UE specific DRX and CN eDRX cycles are not configured by upper layers (NAS), the default DRX value (broadcast in the system information) is applied. Otherwise, when a CN eDRX cycle of {256, 512, 1024} radio frames is configured by the upper layers, then T = {256, 512, 1024} radio frames, correspondingly.”, page 2, sec. 2.2, lines 13-22);
determine that the terminal in the RRC inactive state is only configured with the eDRX parameter configured by the core network, and a cycle indicated by the eDRX parameter configured by the core network is greater than or equal to a second cycle threshold, and determine the predetermined cycle according to at least one of a terminal specific DRX value, a default paging cycle or a radio access paging cycle configured by the base station (see e.g., “Case 5: …RRC_INACTIVE eDRX configured> 10.24 s In this case, UE in RRC_INACTIVE state monitors both CN and RAN paging within the corresponding PTW, determined by the RRC_IDLE and RRC_INACTIVE eDRX cycles…Proposal7 For UEs in RRC_INACTIVE state, if the UE is configured with both CN and RAN eDRX cycles longer than 10.24 s, UE monitors the PO within PTWs (which occur as per the CN and RAN paging cycles), and inside the PTW based on the minimum of UE specific DRX cycles (if configured), and the default DRX cycle”, page 3, sec. 2.2, lines 20-28);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine teachings of Chen with Ericsson, in order to meet 3GPP standards to reduce power consumption for paging monitoring using enhanced discontinuous reception in RRC-idle/inactive (please see Ericsson, sec. 2.1, lines 1-2).
Regarding claim 36, Chen fails to explicitly disclose, wherein the processor is further configured to:
in response to a cycle indicated by the eDRX parameter configured by the core network for the terminal in the RRC inactive state being greater than or equal to a second cycle threshold, and a cycle indicated by the eDRX parameter configured by the base station for the terminal in the RRC inactive state being greater than, less than or equal to a first cycle threshold, and when the terminal moves to a cell that does not use the eDRX in the RRC inactive state, determine that the cycle indicated by the eDRX parameter configured by the base station becomes invalid, and perform paging monitoring according to a predetermined cycle within a paging time window (PTW), and perform paging monitoring according to a radio access paging cycle configured by the base station outside the PTW, wherein the predetermined cycle is a minimum value of a terminal specific DRX value, a default paging cycle, and the radio access paging cycle configured by the base station.
In the same field of endeavor, Ericsson discloses, in response to a cycle indicated by the eDRX parameter configured by the core network for the terminal in the RRC inactive state being greater than or equal to a second cycle threshold, and a cycle indicated by the eDRX parameter configured by the base station for the terminal in the RRC inactive state being greater than, less than or equal to a first cycle threshold, and when the terminal moves to a cell that does not use the eDRX in the RRC inactive state, determine that the cycle indicated by the eDRX parameter configured by the base station becomes invalid, and perform paging monitoring according to a predetermined cycle within a paging time window (PTW), and perform paging monitoring according to a radio access paging cycle configured by the base station outside the PTW, wherein the predetermined cycle is a minimum value of a terminal specific DRX value, a default paging cycle, and the radio access paging cycle configured by the base station (see e.g., “Case 4: RRC_IDLE eDRX configured> 10.24 s, RRC_INACTIVE eDRX configured<= 10.24 s In this case, UE in RRC_INACTIVE state monitor for both CN and RAN paging, where the CN paging occurs within the PTW and the RAN paging occurs outside the PTW (in most cases) and it occurs within the CN PTW… Proposal 6 For UEs in RRC_INACTIVE state, if the UE is configured with CN eDRX cycle longer than 10.24 s and RAN eDRX cycle up to 10.24 s, UE monitors for the CN initiated paging inside the CN PTW, with shortest of UE specific DRX cycles (if configured) and the default DRX cycle. The UE monitors RAN paging with the configured RAN eDRX cycle”, page 3, sec. 2.2, lines 10-19).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine teachings of Chen with Ericsson, in order to meet 3GPP standards to reduce power consumption for paging monitoring using enhanced discontinuous reception in RRC-idle/inactive (please see Ericsson, sec. 2.1, lines 1-2).
Regarding claim 39, Chen fails to explicitly disclose, wherein the processor is further configured to:
in response to a cycle indicated by the eDRX parameter configured by the core network for the terminal in the RRC inactive state being greater than or equal to a second cycle threshold, and a cycle indicated by the eDRX parameter configured by the base station for the terminal in the RRC inactive state being greater than, less than or equal to a first cycle threshold, and when the terminal moves to a cell that does not use the eDRX in the RRC inactive state, determining that the cycle indicated by the eDRX parameter configured by the base station becomes invalid, and performing paging monitoring according to a predetermined cycle within a paging time window (PTW), and perform paging monitoring according to a radio access paging cycle configured by the base station outside the PTW, wherein the predetermined cycle is a minimum value of a terminal specific DRX value, a default paging cycle, and the radio access paging cycle configured by the base station.
In the same field of endeavor, Ericsson discloses, in response to a cycle indicated by the eDRX parameter configured by the core network for the terminal in the RRC inactive state being greater than or equal to a second cycle threshold, and a cycle indicated by the eDRX parameter configured by the base station for the terminal in the RRC inactive state being greater than, less than or equal to a first cycle threshold, and when the terminal moves to a cell that does not use the eDRX in the RRC inactive state, determining that the cycle indicated by the eDRX parameter configured by the base station becomes invalid, and performing paging monitoring according to a predetermined cycle within a paging time window (PTW), and perform paging monitoring according to a radio access paging cycle configured by the base station outside the PTW, wherein the predetermined cycle is a minimum value of a terminal specific DRX value, a default paging cycle, and the radio access paging cycle configured by the base station (see e.g., “Case 4: RRC_IDLE eDRX configured> 10.24 s, RRC_INACTIVE eDRX configured<= 10.24 s In this case, UE in RRC_INACTIVE state monitor for both CN and RAN paging, where the CN paging occurs within the PTW and the RAN paging occurs outside the PTW (in most cases) and it occurs within the CN PTW… Proposal 6 For UEs in RRC_INACTIVE state, if the UE is configured with CN eDRX cycle longer than 10.24 s and RAN eDRX cycle up to 10.24 s, UE monitors for the CN initiated paging inside the CN PTW, with shortest of UE specific DRX cycles (if configured) and the default DRX cycle. The UE monitors RAN paging with the configured RAN eDRX cycle”, page 3, sec. 2.2, lines 10-19).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine teachings of Chen with Ericsson, in order to meet 3GPP standards to reduce power consumption for paging monitoring using enhanced discontinuous reception in RRC-idle/inactive (please see Ericsson, sec. 2.1, lines 1-2).
Regarding claim 41, Chen fails to explicitly disclose, determining that a cycle indicated by the eDRX parameter configured by the base station is greater than or equal to a first cycle threshold, and determining the predetermined cycle in the RRC inactive state according to a radio access paging cycle configured by the base station;
determining that a cycle indicated by the eDRX parameter configured by the base station is less than or equal to a first cycle threshold, and determining the predetermined cycle in the RRC inactive state according to a default radio access paging cycle;
determining that the terminal in the RRC inactive state is only configured with the eDRX parameter configured by the core network, and a cycle indicated by the eDRX parameter configured by the core network is less than or equal to a second cycle threshold, and determining the predetermined cycle according to at least one of a terminal specific DRX value, a default paging cycle or a radio access paging cycle configured by the base station;
determining that the terminal in an RRC idle state is only configured with the eDRX parameter configured by the core network, and a cycle indicated by the eDRX parameter configured by the core network is less than or equal to a second cycle threshold, and determining the predetermined cycle according to at least one of a terminal specific DRX value or a default paging cycle;
determining that the terminal in the RRC inactive state is only configured with the eDRX parameter configured by the core network, and a cycle indicated by the eDRX parameter configured by the core network is greater than or equal to a second cycle threshold, and determining the predetermined cycle according to at least one of a terminal specific DRX value, a default paging cycle or a radio access paging cycle configured by the base station.
In the same field of endeavor, Ericsson discloses, determining that a cycle indicated by the eDRX parameter configured by the base station is greater than or equal to a first cycle threshold, and determining the predetermined cycle in the RRC inactive state according to a radio access paging cycle configured by the base station (see e.g., “Case 2: RRC_IDLE eDRX configured> 10.24 s…Proposal 4 For UEs in RRC_INACTIVE state, if the UE is configured with CN eDRX cycle longer than 10.24 s and eDRX for RAN paging is not configured by RRC, UE monitors for CN paging inside a PTW, within the PTW the paging is monitored based on the shortest of UE specific DRX cycle (if configured), the default DRX cycle, and the RAN paging cycle. The UE monitors RAN paging with RAN paging cycle”, page 2, sec. 2.2, lines 29-42);
determining that a cycle indicated by the eDRX parameter configured by the base station is less than or equal to a first cycle threshold, and determining the predetermined cycle in the RRC inactive state according to a default radio access paging cycle (see e.g., “Case 1: RRC_IDLE eDRX configured<= 10.24 s…Proposal 2 For UEs in RRC_INACTIVE state, if UE specific DRX or eDRX is not configured by upper layers (NAS) and eDRX for RAN paging is not configured by RRC, then T is determined by the shortest of the RAN paging cycle and the default DRX value. Otherwise, when a CN eDRX cycle of {256, 512, 1024} radio frames is configured by the upper layers, then T = {256, 512, 1024} radio frames for CN paging. The UE
monitors RAN paging with RAN paging cycle.”, page 2, sec. 2.2, lines 13-28);
determining that the terminal in the RRC inactive state is only configured with the eDRX parameter configured by the core network, and a cycle indicated by the eDRX parameter configured by the core network is less than or equal to a second cycle threshold, and determining the predetermined cycle according to at least one of a terminal specific DRX value, a default paging cycle or a radio access paging cycle configured by the base station (see e.g., “Case 4: …RRC_INACTIVE eDRX configured<= 10.24 s…In this case, UE in RRC_INACTIVE state monitor for both CN and RAN paging, where the CN paging occurs within the PTW and the RAN paging occurs outside the PTW (in most cases) and it occurs within the CN PTW (rarely). Inside the CN PTW the paging is determined on the minimum value of UE specific paging cycle, if allocated by upper layers, and the default paging cycle…Proposal 6 For UEs in RRC_INACTIVE state, if the UE is configured with CN eDRX cycle longer than 10.24 s and RAN eDRX cycle up to 10.24 s, UE monitors for the CN initiated paging inside the CN PTW, with shortest of UE specific DRX cycles (if configured) and the default DRX cycle. The UE monitors RAN paging with the configured RAN eDRX cycle.”, page 3, sec. 2.2, lines 29-35);
determining that the terminal in an RRC idle state is only configured with the eDRX parameter configured by the core network, and a cycle indicated by the eDRX parameter configured by the core network is less than or equal to a second cycle threshold, and determining the predetermined cycle according to at least one of a terminal specific DRX value or a default paging cycle (see e.g., “Case 1: RRC_IDLE eDRX configured<= 10.24 s…In this case, UE in RRC_IDLE state with eDRX cycle up to 10.24 s monitors CN paging according to eDRX cycle for CN…Proposal 1 For UEs in RRC_IDLE state, if UE specific DRX and CN eDRX cycles are not configured by upper layers (NAS), the default DRX value (broadcast in the system information) is applied. Otherwise, when a CN eDRX cycle of {256, 512, 1024} radio frames is configured by the upper layers, then T = {256, 512, 1024} radio frames, correspondingly.”, page 2, sec. 2.2, lines 13-22);
determining that the terminal in the RRC inactive state is only configured with the eDRX parameter configured by the core network, and a cycle indicated by the eDRX parameter configured by the core network is greater than or equal to a second cycle threshold, and determining the predetermined cycle according to at least one of a terminal specific DRX value, a default paging cycle or a radio access paging cycle configured by the base station (see e.g., “Case 5: …RRC_INACTIVE eDRX configured> 10.24 s In this case, UE in RRC_INACTIVE state monitors both CN and RAN paging within the corresponding PTW, determined by the RRC_IDLE and RRC_INACTIVE eDRX cycles…Proposal7 For UEs in RRC_INACTIVE state, if the UE is configured with both CN and RAN eDRX cycles longer than 10.24 s, UE monitors the PO within PTWs (which occur as per the CN and RAN paging cycles), and inside the PTW based on the minimum of UE specific DRX cycles (if configured), and the default DRX cycle”, page 3, sec. 2.2, lines 20-28);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine teachings of Chen with Ericsson, in order to meet 3GPP standards to reduce power consumption for paging monitoring using enhanced discontinuous reception in RRC-idle/inactive (please see Ericsson, sec. 2.1, lines 1-2).
Conclusion
/FARID SEYEDVOSOGHI/ Examiner, Art Unit 2645