DETAILED ACTION
The following is a final office action in response to applicant’s remarks submitted on 05/13/2026 for response of the office action mailed on 02/13/2026. Claims 14-20 were previously cancelled. Claims 2, 23 and 26 are currently cancelled. Therefore, claims 1, 3-13, 21-22, 24-25 and 27 are pending and addressed below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
In event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Claims 1, 3-10, 13, 21-22, 24-25 and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al. (2023/0189144), Liu hereinafter, Wen et al. (2023/0403681, as submitted in IDS), Wen hereinafter.
Re. claims 1 and 21-22, Liu teaches a method (Fig.1-10 & ¶0007/¶0034/¶0036 & ¶0090/¶0139:¶0144/¶0247) for performing wireless communication (Fig. 2) by a first device (Fig. 12), a processing device (Fig. 12, 1210) adapted to control a first device (Fig. 12) performing wireless communication (Fig. 2), and a first device (Fig. 12) adapted to perform wireless communication (Fig. 12), the first device (Fig. 12) comprising: at least one transceiver (Fig, 12, 1201); at least one processor (Fig. 12, 1210); and at least one memory (Fig. 12, 1209) connected to the at least one processor and storing instructions that, based on being executed (Fig. 12 & ¶0321), cause the first device to perform operations (Fig. 12 & ¶0321) comprising: obtaining, by a first user equipment (UE) (Fig. 12), a sidelink (SL) discontinuous reception (DRX) configuration (Fig. 1-10 & ¶0007 - obtaining a first configuration, where the first configuration includes one or more active times. Fig. 1-10 & ¶0034 - A first configuration in the embodiments of this application may also be referred to as a first configuration pattern. For example, the first configuration may be an SL DRX configuration. A second configuration may also be referred to as a second configuration pattern. For example, the second configuration may be a partial sensing configuration, or may be a sensing configuration. Fig. 1-10 & ¶0036 - The active time and the inactive time may be defined to the target object, that is, active times for different target objects may be the same or may be different, and inactive times for different target objects may be the same or may be different. Fig. 1-10 & ¶0039 - control and/or data receiving is/are limited to a DRX active time, but control and/or data sending may be performed within an inactive time corresponding to receiving or an inactive time, and in some implementations, control and/or data sending is/are limited to a selection window. Fig. 1-10 & ¶0049 - Step 301: obtaining a first configuration, where the first configuration includes one or more active times. Fig. 1-10 & ¶0062: ¶0064 - the plurality of active times at least includes a first active time and a second active time. … the first active time may include one or more of first DRX On duration 1, a first inactivity timer, and a first retransmission timer…...the second active time may include one or more of second DRX duration, a second inactivity timer, and a second retransmission timer.); triggering, by the first UE (Fig. 12), a resource selection; determining, by the first UE (Fig. 12), a selection window based on the resource selection being triggered (Fig. 1-10 & ¶0139:¶0144 - the determining a second configuration based on the first configuration includes: ..in a case in which an arrival time of the data packet, TB, MAC PDU, or message is not within the active time in the first configuration, adjusting a time for sending or a time for determining the resource for the data packet, TB, MAC PDU, or message, such that a time for sending or a time for selecting the resource for the data packet, TB, MAC PDU, or message overlaps at least partially with the active time. ..That is, a time point for an arriving packet, a sent packet, resource selection, or triggering estimation is dynamically adjusted to adapt the first configuration and the second configuration to each other.. the adjusting a time for sending or a time for determining the resource for the data packet, TB, MAC PDU, or message includes: .. adjusting, based on a preset delay time, the time for sending or the time for determining the resource for the data packet, TB, MAC PDU, or message. … in a case in which a time n at which a packet arrives is not within an active time in the first configuration, the packet is stored in a buffer, for example, stored to a time n+M that aligns with a time in the first configuration, such that an impact of a non-periodic service on the second configuration is reduced, where M is a preset time… resource determining is triggered only after the packet is stored to n+M.); selecting, by the first UE (Fig. 12), a first resource and a second resource within the selection window, wherein the first resource is within a current active time of the SL DRX configuration and the second resource is within a first future active time of the SL DRX configuration (Fig. 1-10 & ¶0082 - the first configuration includes the first active time at least used for sending and the second active time at least used for sending, and at least the part of resources in an overlapped section of the selection time and the first active time are valid and/or used for resource determination; and/or at least the part of resources in an overlapped section of the selection time and the second active time are valid and/or used for resource determination. … only at least a part of a selection time within the first active time is valid or a resource can only be determined within at least the part of the selection time within the first active time; and/or only at least a part of a selection time within the second active time is valid and/or a resource can only be determined within at least the part of the selection time within the second active time. Fig. 1-10 & ¶0090 - the second active time is a new, additional, dynamic, subsidiary, or extended active time other than the first active time. Fig. 1-10 & ¶0247 - Refer to FIG. 10, When selecting a resource for initial transmission of one TB/PDU/data/packet, resource selection, resource reselection, estimation, or re-estimation needs to be performed within the third active time, for example, a periodic DRX active time. For example, resource selection, resource reselection, estimation, or re-estimation is performed within a periodic active time. A resource used for initial transmission is selected within the fourth active time. For example, a resource used for retransmission is selected within an extended part of active time.); and reselecting, by the first UE (Fig. 12), the first resource as a third resource, based on a re-evaluation or a pre-emption for the first resource (Fig. 1-10 & ¶0090 - the second active time is a new, additional, dynamic, subsidiary, or extended active time other than the first active time. Fig. 1-10 & ¶0247 - Refer to FIG. 10, When selecting a resource for initial transmission of one TB/PDU/data/packet, resource selection, resource reselection, estimation, or re-estimation needs to be performed within the third active time, for example, a periodic DRX active time. For example, resource selection, resource reselection, estimation, or re-estimation is performed within a periodic active time. A resource used for initial transmission is selected within the fourth active time. For example, a resource used for retransmission is selected within an extended part of active time),
Yet, Liu does not expressly teach wherein, based on the second resource not being within the first future active time resulting from the first resource being cancelled, the third resource is selected by the first UE such that a second future active time of the inter-UE configuration, determined based on inter-UE communication on the third resource located in a time domain earlier than a time domain of the second resource, includes the time domain of the second resource.
However, in the analogous art, Wen explicitly discloses wherein, based on the second resource not being within the first future active time resulting from the first resource being cancelled, the third resource is selected by the first UE such that a second future active time of the inter-UE configuration (Fig. 1-19 & ¶0079 - If the collision occurs, then reselection may be performed to reduce the probability of the resource collision; the preemption mechanism mainly aims at the reserved resources, and if the reserved resource are found to be preempted by a high priority terminal UE, then it is necessary to trigger the low priority UE to perform the resource reselection, so as to avoid collision between the high priority UE and the low priority UE and ensure the performance of a high priority traffic. Fig. 7 & ¶0095 - As shown in FIG. 7, if the time of n+TRX_on is later than the time of n+T1, then the target resource selection window is from n+TRX_on to n+T2, wherein n+TRX_end is earlier than n+T2. Fig. 8 & ¶0096 - As shown in FIG. 8, if the time of n+TRX_on is earlier than the time of n+T 1, then the target resource selection window is from n+T1 to n+T2, wherein n+TRX_end is earlier than n+T2. Also, see claim 13), determined based on inter-UE communication on the third resource located in a time domain earlier than a time domain of the second resource, includes the time domain of the second resource (Fig. 1-19 & ¶0008 - selecting the transmission resource for the data packet in the target resource selection window includes: obtaining a set of all available candidate single-slot resources in the target resource selection window by performing resource sensing; randomly selecting the transmission resources of the first M transmissions of the data packet from candidate single-slot resources, having time-domain locations within the target time period, in the set of all available candidate single-slot resources; wherein a start of the target time period is a maximum between n+TRX_on and n+T1, an end of the target time period is n+TRX_end, and n+TRX_end is an end time instant of a first on-duration of the second terminal after a time instant n, n+TRX_end is earlier than n+T2. Fig. 7 & ¶0095 - As shown in FIG. 7, if the time of n+TRX_on is later than the time of n+T1, then the target resource selection window is from n+TRX_on to n+T2, wherein n+TRX_end is earlier than n+T2. Fig. 8 & ¶0096 - As shown in FIG. 8, if the time of n+TRX_on is earlier than the time of n+T 1, then the target resource selection window is from n+T1 to n+T2, wherein n+TRX_end is earlier than n+T2. Also, see claim 13.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Liu’s invention of power saving by partial sensing in Sidelink (SL) Discontinuous Reception (DRX) for a device operating in a wireless communication system to include Wen’s invention of a system and a method for determining a target resource selection window according to discontinuous reception DRX configuration in a wireless communication system, because it provides an efficient mechanism for providing reliable transmission of a traffic with a sidelink DRX mechanism in the wireless communication system. (¶0002 - ¶0005, Wen)
Re. Claims 3 and 24, Liu and Wen teach claims 1 and 21.
Liu further teaches performing the inter-UE communication with a second UE on the third resource. (Fig. 1-10 & ¶0131 - in a case in which a user obtains a plurality of SL DRX configurations, the user may at least use a sensing result (of the DRX On duration 1/the timer 1/the active time 1, and/or the DRX duration 2/the timer 2/the active time 2) of a part of the SL DRX configurations/all the SL DRX configurations for resource selection, reselection, estimation, or re-estimation. Fig. 10 & ¶0247 - Refer to FIG. 10. When selecting a resource for initial transmission of one TB/PDU/data/packet, resource selection, resource reselection, estimation, or re-estimation needs to be performed within the third active time, for example, a periodic DRX active time. For example, resource selection, resource reselection, estimation, or re-estimation is performed within a periodic active time. A resource used for initial transmission is selected within the fourth active time. For example, a resource used for retransmission is selected within an extended part of active time).
Re. Claims 4, 25 and 27, Liu and Wen teach claims 3, 24 and 22.
Yet, Liu does not expressly teach wherein the second future active time is a time while a timer for an active time started by the first UE or the second UE based on the inter-UE communication on the third resource is running.
However, in the analogous art, Wen explicitly discloses wherein the second future active time is a time while a timer for an active time started by the first UE or the second UE based on the inter-UE communication on the third resource is running. (Fig. 1-19 & ¶0151:¶0155 - In this case, as shown in FIG. 16, since the retransmission resources indicated by an initial transmission SCI of the first terminal may be preempted by other terminals, the second terminal cannot determine the transmission position of the retransmission data packet according to the indication of the SCI, and a DRX procedure of the second terminal may include: 1-1, starting a drx-inactivityTimer to monitor subsequent data packets; 1-2: continuously monitoring the PSCCH and the PSSCH when the drx-inactivityTimer is running; 1-3: when the drx-inactivityTimer expires but the second terminal still fails to successfully receive the current data packet, re-starting the drx-inactivityTimer and execute the step 1-2 again; 1-4: after successfully decoding the data packet or receiving the transmission finish indication from the first terminal, and after the drx-onDurationTimer expires, entering the sleep state until the drx-on-DurationTimer starts again.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Liu’s invention of power saving by partial sensing in Sidelink (SL) Discontinuous Reception (DRX) for a device operating in a wireless communication system to include Wen’s invention of a system and a method for determining a target resource selection window according to discontinuous reception DRX configuration in a wireless communication system, because it provides an efficient mechanism for providing reliable transmission of a traffic with a sidelink DRX mechanism in the wireless communication system. (¶0002 - ¶0005, Wen)
Re. Claim 5, Liu and Wen teach claims 4.
Yet, Liu does not expressly teach wherein the timer for the active time includes an inactivity timer or a retransmission timer.
However, in the analogous art, Wen explicitly discloses wherein the timer for the active time includes an inactivity timer or a retransmission timer. (Fig. 1-19 & ¶0151:¶0155 - In this case, as shown in FIG. 16, since the retransmission resources indicated by an initial transmission SCI of the first terminal may be preempted by other terminals, the second terminal cannot determine the transmission position of the retransmission data packet according to the indication of the SCI, and a DRX procedure of the second terminal may include: 1-1, starting a drx-inactivityTimer to monitor subsequent data packets; 1-2: continuously monitoring the PSCCH and the PSSCH when the drx-inactivityTimer is running; 1-3: when the drx-inactivityTimer expires but the second terminal still fails to successfully receive the current data packet, re-starting the drx-inactivityTimer and execute the step 1-2 again; 1-4: after successfully decoding the data packet or receiving the transmission finish indication from the first terminal, and after the drx-onDurationTimer expires, entering the sleep state until the drx-on-DurationTimer starts again.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Liu’s invention of power saving by partial sensing in Sidelink (SL) Discontinuous Reception (DRX) for a device operating in a wireless communication system to include Wen’s invention of a system and a method for determining a target resource selection window according to discontinuous reception DRX configuration in a wireless communication system, because it provides an efficient mechanism for providing reliable transmission of a traffic with a sidelink DRX mechanism in the wireless communication system. (¶0002 - ¶0005, Wen)
Re. Claim 6, Liu and Wen teach claim 1.
Yet, Liu does not expressly teach wherein the first UE is not allowed to reselect the first resource as a fourth resource based on the re-evaluation or the pre-emption for the first resource.
However, in the analogous art, Wen explicitly discloses wherein the first UE is not allowed to reselect the first resource as a fourth resource based on the re-evaluation or the pre-emption for the first resource. (Fig. 1-19 & ¶0067 - A resource selection procedure of NR-V2X Mode 2 is: Fig. 1-19 & ¶0072 - Process 5: candidate slots corresponding to skip slots (slots not monitored) are excluded, skip slots are slots (e.g. y) that cannot be sensed due to influence of half-duplex, and for all periods (e.g. 20 ms, 50 ms, 100 ms) configured by the system, all candidate slots (i.e., slots, within the selection window, of y, y+20×2.sup.μ, y+40×2.sup.μ, y+50×2.sup.μ, y+60×2.sup.μ, y+80×2.sup.μ, y+100×2.sup.μ. . . etc.) at subsequent corresponding positions are excluded. Fig. 1-19 & ¶0073:¶0075 - Process 6: excluding candidate single-slot resources satisfying the following two conditions; Condition a: a RSRP measurement value of the PSSCH (PSSCH-RSRP) indicated by the received Sidelink Control Information (SCI) is higher than Th (prio.sub.RX, prio.sub.TX); Condition b: the reserved resource indicated by the received SCI will partially or completely overlap with the TB sent on a candidate resource y or the TB sent on a subsequent candidate resource y+x×P.sub.step×2.sup.μ, P.sub.step is a traffic generation period, and the unit of P.sub.step is ms. x is an integer representing the number of subsequent cycles. Fig. 1-19 & ¶0079 - The re-evaluation mechanism is mainly for unreserved resources, and whether the selected resources collide is determined according to the latest sensing result before resources are sent. If the collision occurs, then reselection may be performed to reduce the probability of the resource collision; the preemption mechanism mainly aims at the reserved resources, and if the reserved resource are found to be preempted by a high priority terminal UE, then it is necessary to trigger the low priority UE to perform the resource reselection, so as to avoid collision between the high priority UE and the low priority UE and ensure the performance of a high priority traffic. Fig. 1-19 & ¶0128 :¶0131 - step 121b may include: b1: initializing S.sub.A as a set of all candidate single-slot resources in the first resource selection window, initializing SB as a set of all candidate single-slot resources in the second resource selection window, wherein the total number of candidate resources in S.sub.A is M.sub.total_1 and the total number of candidate resources in SB is M.sub.total_2; b2: excluding the candidate resources corresponding to skip slots in S.sub.A and SB and excluding the candidate resources overlapping the reserved resources in the received SCI and having a RSRP higher than a threshold value, and obtaining a first set of available candidate single-slot resources and a second set of available candidate single-slot resources, respectively; b3: determining whether the number of remaining resources in the S.sub.A (resources in the first set of the available candidate single-slot resources) is less than X.sub.1×M.sub.total_1, and/or, whether the number of remaining resources (resources in the second set of second available candidate single-slot resources) in the SB is less than X.sub.2×M.sub.total_2, and if being less than X.sub.1×M.sub.total_1 and/or X.sub.2×M.sub.total_2, then raising Th(p.sub.i, p.sub.j) by 3 dB and returning to step b1; X.sub.1 and X.sub.2 are configured by higher-layer parameters; if not being less than X.sub.1×M.sub.total_1 and/or X.sub.2×M.sub.total_2,).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Liu’s invention of power saving by partial sensing in Sidelink (SL) Discontinuous Reception (DRX) for a device operating in a wireless communication system to include Wen’s invention of a system and a method for determining a target resource selection window according to discontinuous reception DRX configuration in a wireless communication system, because it provides an efficient mechanism for providing reliable transmission of a traffic with a sidelink DRX mechanism in the wireless communication system. (¶0002 - ¶0005, Wen)
Re. Claim 7, Liu and Wen teach claim 6.
Yet, Liu does not expressly teach wherein a third future active time of the inter-UE configuration, determined based on inter-UE communication on the fourth resource, does not include the time domain of the second resource.
However, in the analogous art, Wen explicitly discloses wherein a third future active time of the inter-UE configuration, determined based on inter-UE communication on the fourth resource, does not include the time domain of the second resource. (Fig. 1-19 & ¶0067 - A resource selection procedure of NR-V2X Mode 2 is: Fig. 1-19 & ¶0072 - Process 5: candidate slots corresponding to skip slots (slots not monitored) are excluded, skip slots are slots (e.g. y) that cannot be sensed due to influence of half-duplex, and for all periods (e.g. 20 ms, 50 ms, 100 ms) configured by the system, all candidate slots (i.e., slots, within the selection window, of y, y+20×2.sup.μ, y+40×2.sup.μ, y+50×2.sup.μ, y+60×2.sup.μ, y+80×2.sup.μ, y+100×2.sup.μ. . . etc.) at subsequent corresponding positions are excluded. Fig. 1-19 & ¶0073:¶0075 - Process 6: excluding candidate single-slot resources satisfying the following two conditions; Condition a: a RSRP measurement value of the PSSCH (PSSCH-RSRP) indicated by the received Sidelink Control Information (SCI) is higher than Th (prio.sub.RX, prio.sub.TX); Condition b: the reserved resource indicated by the received SCI will partially or completely overlap with the TB sent on a candidate resource y or the TB sent on a subsequent candidate resource y+x×P.sub.step×2.sup.μ, P.sub.step is a traffic generation period, and the unit of P.sub.step is ms. x is an integer representing the number of subsequent cycles. Fig. 1-19 & ¶0079 - The re-evaluation mechanism is mainly for unreserved resources, and whether the selected resources collide is determined according to the latest sensing result before resources are sent. If the collision occurs, then reselection may be performed to reduce the probability of the resource collision; the preemption mechanism mainly aims at the reserved resources, and if the reserved resource are found to be preempted by a high priority terminal UE, then it is necessary to trigger the low priority UE to perform the resource reselection, so as to avoid collision between the high priority UE and the low priority UE and ensure the performance of a high priority traffic. Fig. 1-19 & ¶0128 :¶0131 - step 121b may include: b1: initializing S.sub.A as a set of all candidate single-slot resources in the first resource selection window, initializing SB as a set of all candidate single-slot resources in the second resource selection window, wherein the total number of candidate resources in S.sub.A is M.sub.total_1 and the total number of candidate resources in SB is M.sub.total_2; b2: excluding the candidate resources corresponding to skip slots in S.sub.A and SB and excluding the candidate resources overlapping the reserved resources in the received SCI and having a RSRP higher than a threshold value, and obtaining a first set of available candidate single-slot resources and a second set of available candidate single-slot resources, respectively; b3: determining whether the number of remaining resources in the S.sub.A (resources in the first set of the available candidate single-slot resources) is less than X.sub.1×M.sub.total_1, and/or, whether the number of remaining resources (resources in the second set of second available candidate single-slot resources) in the SB is less than X.sub.2×M.sub.total_2, and if being less than X.sub.1×M.sub.total_1 and/or X.sub.2×M.sub.total_2, then raising Th(p.sub.i, p.sub.j) by 3 dB and returning to step b1; X.sub.1 and X.sub.2 are configured by higher-layer parameters; if not being less than X.sub.1×M.sub.total_1 and/or X.sub.2×M.sub.total_2,).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Liu’s invention of power saving by partial sensing in Sidelink (SL) Discontinuous Reception (DRX) for a device operating in a wireless communication system to include Wen’s invention of a system and a method for determining a target resource selection window according to discontinuous reception DRX configuration in a wireless communication system, because it provides an efficient mechanism for providing reliable transmission of a traffic with a sidelink DRX mechanism in the wireless communication system. (¶0002 - ¶0005, Wen)
Re. Claim 8, Liu and Wen teach claim 6.
Liu further teaches wherein a time domain of the fourth resource is later than the time domain of the second resource. (Fig. 1-10 & ¶0131 - in a case in which a user obtains a plurality of SL DRX configurations, the user may at least use a sensing result (of the DRX On duration 1/the timer 1/the active time 1, and/or the DRX duration 2/the timer 2/the active time 2) of a part of the SL DRX configurations/all the SL DRX configurations for resource selection, reselection, estimation, or re-estimation. Fig. 10 & ¶0247 - Refer to FIG. 10. When selecting a resource for initial transmission of one TB/PDU/data/packet, resource selection, resource reselection, estimation, or re-estimation needs to be performed within the third active time, for example, a periodic DRX active time. For example, resource selection, resource reselection, estimation, or re-estimation is performed within a periodic active time. A resource used for initial transmission is selected within the fourth active time. For example, a resource used for retransmission is selected within an extended part of active time.).
Re. Claim 9, Liu and Wen teach claim 1.
Liu further teaches wherein the fifth resource is selected by the first UE such that the second future active time of the inter-UE configuration, determined based on the inter-UE communication on the third resource, includes a time domain of the fifth resource. (Fig. 1-10 & ¶0131 - in a case in which a user obtains a plurality of SL DRX configurations, the user may at least use a sensing result (of the DRX On duration 1/the timer 1/the active time 1, and/or the DRX duration 2/the timer 2/the active time 2) of a part of the SL DRX configurations/all the SL DRX configurations for resource selection, reselection, estimation, or re-estimation. Fig. 10 & ¶0247 - Refer to FIG. 10. When selecting a resource for initial transmission of one TB/PDU/data/packet, resource selection, resource reselection, estimation, or re-estimation needs to be performed within the third active time, for example, a periodic DRX active time. For example, resource selection, resource reselection, estimation, or re-estimation is performed within a periodic active time. A resource used for initial transmission is selected within the fourth active time. For example, a resource used for retransmission is selected within an extended part of active time)
Yet, Liu does not expressly teach reselecting the second resource as a fifth resource, based on the second future active time of the inter-UE configuration, determined based on the inter-UE communication on the third resource, not including the time domain of the second resource,
However, in the analogous art, Wen explicitly discloses reselecting the second resource as a fifth resource, based on the second future active time of the inter-UE configuration, determined based on the inter-UE communication on the third resource, not including the time domain of the second resource (ig. 1-19 & ¶0067 - A resource selection procedure of NR-V2X Mode 2 is: Fig. 1-19 & ¶0072 - Process 5: candidate slots corresponding to skip slots (slots not monitored) are excluded, skip slots are slots (e.g. y) that cannot be sensed due to influence of half-duplex, and for all periods (e.g. 20 ms, 50 ms, 100 ms) configured by the system, all candidate slots (i.e., slots, within the selection window, of y, y+20×2.sup.μ, y+40×2.sup.μ, y+50×2.sup.μ, y+60×2.sup.μ, y+80×2.sup.μ, y+100×2.sup.μ. . . etc.) at subsequent corresponding positions are excluded. Fig. 1-19 & ¶0073:¶0075 - Process 6: excluding candidate single-slot resources satisfying the following two conditions; Condition a: a RSRP measurement value of the PSSCH (PSSCH-RSRP) indicated by the received Sidelink Control Information (SCI) is higher than Th (prio.sub.RX, prio.sub.TX); Condition b: the reserved resource indicated by the received SCI will partially or completely overlap with the TB sent on a candidate resource y or the TB sent on a subsequent candidate resource y+x×P.sub.step×2.sup.μ, P.sub.step is a traffic generation period, and the unit of P.sub.step is ms. x is an integer representing the number of subsequent cycles. Fig. 1-19 & ¶0079 - The re-evaluation mechanism is mainly for unreserved resources, and whether the selected resources collide is determined according to the latest sensing result before resources are sent. If the collision occurs, then reselection may be performed to reduce the probability of the resource collision; the preemption mechanism mainly aims at the reserved resources, and if the reserved resource are found to be preempted by a high priority terminal UE, then it is necessary to trigger the low priority UE to perform the resource reselection, so as to avoid collision between the high priority UE and the low priority UE and ensure the performance of a high priority traffic. Fig. 1-19 & ¶0128 :¶0131 - step 121b may include: b1: initializing S.sub.A as a set of all candidate single-slot resources in the first resource selection window, initializing SB as a set of all candidate single-slot resources in the second resource selection window, wherein the total number of candidate resources in S.sub.A is M.sub.total_1 and the total number of candidate resources in SB is M.sub.total_2; b2: excluding the candidate resources corresponding to skip slots in S.sub.A and SB and excluding the candidate resources overlapping the reserved resources in the received SCI and having a RSRP higher than a threshold value, and obtaining a first set of available candidate single-slot resources and a second set of available candidate single-slot resources, respectively; b3: determining whether the number of remaining resources in the S.sub.A (resources in the first set of the available candidate single-slot resources) is less than X.sub.1×M.sub.total_1, and/or, whether the number of remaining resources (resources in the second set of second available candidate single-slot resources) in the SB is less than X.sub.2×M.sub.total_2, and if being less than X.sub.1×M.sub.total_1 and/or X.sub.2×M.sub.total_2, then raising Th(p.sub.i, p.sub.j) by 3 dB and returning to step b1; X.sub.1 and X.sub.2 are configured by higher-layer parameters; if not being less than X.sub.1×M.sub.total_1 and/or X.sub.2×M.sub.total_2,).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Liu’s invention of power saving by partial sensing in Sidelink (SL) Discontinuous Reception (DRX) for a device operating in a wireless communication system to include Wen’s invention of a system and a method for determining a target resource selection window according to discontinuous reception DRX configuration in a wireless communication system, because it provides an efficient mechanism for providing reliable transmission of a traffic with a sidelink DRX mechanism in the wireless communication system. (¶0002 - ¶0005, Wen)
Re. Claim 10, Liu and Wen teach claim 1.
Liu further teaches wherein the selection window includes a first selection window related to the current active time and a second selection window related to a future active time. (Fig. 1-10 & ¶0131 - in a case in which a user obtains a plurality of SL DRX configurations, the user may at least use a sensing result (of the DRX On duration 1/the timer 1/the active time 1, and/or the DRX duration 2/the timer 2/the active time 2) of a part of the SL DRX configurations/all the SL DRX configurations for resource selection, reselection, estimation, or re-estimation. Fig. 10 & ¶0247 - Refer to FIG. 10. When selecting a resource for initial transmission of one TB/PDU/data/packet, resource selection, resource reselection, estimation, or re-estimation needs to be performed within the third active time, for example, a periodic DRX active time. For example, resource selection, resource reselection, estimation, or re-estimation is performed within a periodic active time. A resource used for initial transmission is selected within the fourth active time. For example, a resource used for retransmission is selected within an extended part of active time).
Re. Claim 13, Liu and Wen teach claim 10.
Yet, Liu does not expressly teach wherein an end time related to the first selection window and an end time related to the second selection window are configured for the UE.
However, in the analogous art, Wen explicitly discloses wherein an end time related to the first selection window and an end time related to the second selection window are configured for the UE. (Fig. 1-19 & ¶0007 - determining the target resource selection window according to the discontinuous reception DRX configuration of the second terminal includes: using a maximum value between n+T.sub.RX_on and n+T1 as a start of the target resource selection window and using n+T2 as an end of the target resource selection window, wherein, n+T.sub.RX_on is a start time instant of a first on-duration of the second terminal after a time instant n, n is an arrival time instant of data packets or a resource reselection time instant, n+T1 is a start of a determined resource selection window, n+T2 is an end of a determined resource selection window. Fig. 1-19 & ¶0008 - selecting the transmission resource for the data packet in the target resource selection window includes: obtaining a set of all available candidate single-slot resources in the target resource selection window by performing resource sensing; randomly selecting the transmission resources of the first M transmissions of the data packet from candidate single-slot resources, having time-domain locations within the target time period, in the set of all available candidate single-slot resources; wherein a start of the target time period is a maximum between n+T.sub.RX_on and n+T1, an end of the target time period is n+T.sub.RX_end, and n+T.sub.RX_end is an end time instant of a first on-duration of the second terminal after a time instant n, n+T.sub.RX_end is earlier than n+T2.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Liu’s invention of power saving by partial sensing in Sidelink (SL) Discontinuous Reception (DRX) for a device operating in a wireless communication system to include Wen’s invention of a system and a method for determining a target resource selection window according to discontinuous reception DRX configuration in a wireless communication system, because it provides an efficient mechanism for providing reliable transmission of a traffic with a sidelink DRX mechanism in the wireless communication system. (¶0002 - ¶0005, Wen)
Claims 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu, in view of Wen, further in view of Fouad et al. (2021/0352677), Fouad hereinafter.
Re. Claim 11, Liu and Wen teach claim 10.
Yet, Liu and Wen do not expressly teach wherein a minimum ratio of candidate resources to all candidate resources within the first selection window and a minimum ratio of candidate resources to all candidate resources within the second selection window are configured for the first UE.
However, in the analogous art, Fouad explicitly discloses wherein a minimum ratio of candidate resources to all candidate resources within the first selection window and a minimum ratio of candidate resources to all candidate resources within the second selection window are configured for the first UE. (Fig. 1-4 & ¶0096 - In FIG. 4, at step 225, the UE or resource selection procedure may initialize different minimum candidate resources ratios, (e.g., X or {X.sub.1, X.sub.2} if portions of the resource selection window are considered separately) for different traffic priorities. Fig. 1-4 & ¶0098 - One important aspect of resource selection for Mode 2 operation is a minimum number of candidate resources (expressed as a ratio with respect to the total resources within the selection window) that are passed to a higher layer for resource selection. In some embodiments, the following criteria may be used: Fig. 1-4 & ¶0099 - In Step 1 of the Mode 2 resource selection procedure, when the ratio of identified candidate resources to the total number of resources in a resource selection window is less than X %, all configured thresholds are increased by 3 dB and the resource identification procedure is repeated ... Fig. 1-4 & ¶0102 - A minimum value of the ratio between the candidate resources that may be selected to the total number of resources within the resource selection window may be defined as X % or X. In particular, if this ratio is set less than X %, the UE increases its threshold levels 214 in order to increase the resources that can be indicated to the higher layers.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Liu’s invention of power saving by partial sensing in Sidelink (SL) Discontinuous Reception (DRX) for a device operating in a wireless communication system and Wen’s invention of a system and a method for determining a target resource selection window according to discontinuous reception DRX configuration in a wireless communication system to include Fouad’s invention of a system and a method for dynamically changing minimum candidate resources ratio in mode 2 resource selection procedure of NR (New Radio) V2X < Vehicle to Everything > wireless communication system, because it provides an efficient mechanism in reducing probability of collision in resource selection for mode 2, in turns, improves the reliability along with improved latency requirement for the NR V2X wireless communication system. ((¶0002-¶0003, Fouad)
Re. Claim 12, Liu and Wen teach claim 10.
Yet, Liu and Wen do not expressly wherein a minimum number of candidate slots selected within the first selection window and a minimum number of candidate slots selected within the second selection window are configured for the first UE.
However, in the analogous art, Fouad explicitly discloses wherein a minimum number of candidate slots selected within the first selection window and a minimum number of candidate slots selected within the second selection window are configured for the first UE. (Fig. 1-4 & ¶0096 - In FIG. 4, at step 225, the UE or resource selection procedure may initialize different minimum candidate resources ratios, (e.g., X or {X.sub.1, X.sub.2} if portions of the resource selection window are considered separately) for different traffic priorities. Fig. 1-4 & ¶0098 - One important aspect of resource selection for Mode 2 operation is a minimum number of candidate resources (expressed as a ratio with respect to the total resources within the selection window) that are passed to a higher layer for resource selection. In some embodiments, the following criteria may be used: Fig. 1-4 & ¶0099 - In Step 1 of the Mode 2 resource selection procedure, when the ratio of identified candidate resources to the total number of resources in a resource selection window is less than X %, all configured thresholds are increased by 3 dB and the resource identification procedure is repeated ... Fig. 1-4 & ¶0102 - A minimum value of the ratio between the candidate resources that may be selected to the total number of resources within the resource selection window may be defined as X % or X. In particular, if this ratio is set less than X %, the UE increases its threshold levels 214 in order to increase the resources that can be indicated to the higher layers.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Liu’s invention of power saving by partial sensing in Sidelink (SL) Discontinuous Reception (DRX) for a device operating in a wireless communication system and Ji’s invention of a sensing process and a resource selection process in NR V2X (New Radio V2X (vehicle to everything) Release 16) for Mode 2 operations in a 5G/NR V2X communication system to include Fouad’s invention of a system and a method for dynamically changing minimum candidate resources ratio in mode 2 resource selection procedure of NR (New Radio) V2X < Vehicle to Everything > wireless communication system, because it provides an efficient mechanism in reducing probability of collision in resource selection for mode 2, in turns, improves the reliability along with improved latency requirement for the NR V2X wireless communication system. ((¶0002-¶0003, Fouad)
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on 05/13/2026 with respect to independent claims 1 and 21-22 have been considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding arguments in pages 7-9 as submitted on 05/13/2026for independent claim 1, applicant asserts that Ji et al. (2023/0354388 [Wingdings font/0xF3] old reference, not used in the instant office action) fails to teach, “wherein, based on the second resource not being within the first future active time resulting from the first resource being cancelled, the third resource is selected by the first UE such that a second future active time of the inter-UE configuration, determined based on inter-UE communication on the third resource located in a time domain earlier than a time domain of the second resource, includes the time domain of the second resource”, examiner agrees, however, in the analogous art, Wen et al. (2023/0403681, as submitted in IDS) discloses those limitations as mapped in §103 rejection.
Similar arguments are applicable for the independent claims 21-22.
For reasons as explained supra, it is maintained that independent claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu, in view of Wen.
Similarly, it is maintained that independent claims 21-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu, in view of van der Wen.
As all other dependent claims depend either directly or indirectly from the independent claims 1, 21 and 22, similar rationale also applies to all respective dependent claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MOHAMMED S CHOWDHURY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2467