DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 03/15/2024 and 10/30/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
In event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Claims 1, 3, 10, 21-22 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al. (2023/0189144), Liu hereinafter, in view of Ji et al. (2023/0354388), Ji hereinafter.
Re. claims 1 and 21-22, Liu teaches a method (Fig.1-10 & ¶0007/¶0034/¶0036 & ¶0090/¶0139:¶0144/¶0247) for performing wireless communication (Fig. 2) by a first device (Fig. 12), a processing device (Fig. 12, 1210) adapted to control a first device (Fig. 12) performing wireless communication (Fig. 2), and a first device (Fig. 12) adapted to perform wireless communication (Fig. 12), the first device (Fig. 12) comprising: at least one transceiver (Fig, 12, 1201); at least one processor (Fig. 12, 1210); and at least one memory (Fig. 12, 1209) connected to the at least one processor and storing instructions that, based on being executed (Fig. 12 & ¶0321), cause the first device to perform operations (Fig. 12 & ¶0321) comprising: obtaining a sidelink (SL) discontinuous reception (DRX) configuration (Fig. 1-10 & ¶0007 - obtaining a first configuration, where the first configuration includes one or more active times. Fig. 1-10 & ¶0034 - A first configuration in the embodiments of this application may also be referred to as a first configuration pattern. For example, the first configuration may be an SL DRX configuration. A second configuration may also be referred to as a second configuration pattern. For example, the second configuration may be a partial sensing configuration, or may be a sensing configuration. Fig. 1-10 & ¶0036 - The active time and the inactive time may be defined to the target object, that is, active times for different target objects may be the same or may be different, and inactive times for different target objects may be the same or may be different. Fig. 1-10 & ¶0039 - control and/or data receiving is/are limited to a DRX active time, but control and/or data sending may be performed within an inactive time corresponding to receiving or an inactive time, and in some implementations, control and/or data sending is/are limited to a selection window. Fig. 1-10 & ¶0049 - Step 301: obtaining a first configuration, where the first configuration includes one or more active times. Fig. 1-10 & ¶0062: ¶0064 - the plurality of active times at least includes a first active time and a second active time. … the first active time may include one or more of first DRX On duration 1, a first inactivity timer, and a first retransmission timer…...the second active time may include one or more of second DRX duration, a second inactivity timer, and a second retransmission timer.); triggering a resource selection; determining a selection window based on the resource selection being triggered (Fig. 1-10 & ¶0139:¶0144 - the determining a second configuration based on the first configuration includes: ..in a case in which an arrival time of the data packet, TB, MAC PDU, or message is not within the active time in the first configuration, adjusting a time for sending or a time for determining the resource for the data packet, TB, MAC PDU, or message, such that a time for sending or a time for selecting the resource for the data packet, TB, MAC PDU, or message overlaps at least partially with the active time. ..That is, a time point for an arriving packet, a sent packet, resource selection, or triggering estimation is dynamically adjusted to adapt the first configuration and the second configuration to each other.. the adjusting a time for sending or a time for determining the resource for the data packet, TB, MAC PDU, or message includes: .. adjusting, based on a preset delay time, the time for sending or the time for determining the resource for the data packet, TB, MAC PDU, or message. … in a case in which a time n at which a packet arrives is not within an active time in the first configuration, the packet is stored in a buffer, for example, stored to a time n+M that aligns with a time in the first configuration, such that an impact of a non-periodic service on the second configuration is reduced, where M is a preset time… resource determining is triggered only after the packet is stored to n+M.); selecting a first resource and a second resource within the selection window, wherein the first resource is within a current active time of the SL DRX configuration and the second resource is within a first future active time of the SL DRX configuration (Fig. 1-10 & ¶0082 - the first configuration includes the first active time at least used for sending and the second active time at least used for sending, and at least the part of resources in an overlapped section of the selection time and the first active time are valid and/or used for resource determination; and/or at least the part of resources in an overlapped section of the selection time and the second active time are valid and/or used for resource determination. … only at least a part of a selection time within the first active time is valid or a resource can only be determined within at least the part of the selection time within the first active time; and/or only at least a part of a selection time within the second active time is valid and/or a resource can only be determined within at least the part of the selection time within the second active time. Fig. 1-10 & ¶0090 - the second active time is a new, additional, dynamic, subsidiary, or extended active time other than the first active time. Fig. 1-10 & ¶0247 - Refer to FIG. 10, When selecting a resource for initial transmission of one TB/PDU/data/packet, resource selection, resource reselection, estimation, or re-estimation needs to be performed within the third active time, for example, a periodic DRX active time. For example, resource selection, resource reselection, estimation, or re-estimation is performed within a periodic active time. A resource used for initial transmission is selected within the fourth active time. For example, a resource used for retransmission is selected within an extended part of active time.); and reselecting the first resource as a third resource, based on a re-evaluation or a pre-emption for the first resource (Fig. 1-10 & ¶0090 - the second active time is a new, additional, dynamic, subsidiary, or extended active time other than the first active time. Fig. 1-10 & ¶0247 - Refer to FIG. 10, When selecting a resource for initial transmission of one TB/PDU/data/packet, resource selection, resource reselection, estimation, or re-estimation needs to be performed within the third active time, for example, a periodic DRX active time. For example, resource selection, resource reselection, estimation, or re-estimation is performed within a periodic active time. A resource used for initial transmission is selected within the fourth active time. For example, a resource used for retransmission is selected within an extended part of active time),
Yet, Liu does not expressly teach wherein the first resource is reselected as the third resource such that a second future active time of the SL DRX configuration, determined based on SL communication on the third resource, includes a time domain of the second resource.
However, in the analogous art, Ji explicitly discloses wherein the first resource is reselected as the third resource such that a second future active time of the SL DRX configuration, determined based on SL communication on the third resource, includes a time domain of the second resource. (Fig. 1-16 & ¶0012 - a determining unit configured to respectively determine candidate resources in the first candidate resource set available for sidelink data transmission and candidate resources in the second candidate resource set available for sidelink data transmission to obtain a first candidate resource subset and a second candidate resource subset; Fig. 1-16 & ¶0013 - a selecting unit configured to select resources for transmitting a first predetermined number of times of transmission of sidelink data in the first candidate resource subset, and select resources for transmitting a remained number of times of transmission of sidelink data in the second candidate resource subset. Fig. 1-16 & ¶0016 - a determining unit configured to determine candidate resources available for sidelink data transmission in the third candidate resource set to obtain a third candidate resource subset; Fig. 1-16 & ¶0018 - wherein the third candidate resource subset includes candidate resources in the selection window of the first terminal equipment other than all candidate resources before a predetermined time unit, the predetermined time unit referring to an overlapped first slot of the selection window of the first terminal equipment and a first continuous SL DRX active time of the second terminal equipment during the selection window or a next continuous SL DRX active time of the second terminal equipment after the selection window starts. Fig. 8 & ¶0106 - if current resource selection is for a plurality of MAC PDUs (periodic services), the above resource selection process only limits resource selection for initial transmission and retransmission within a first period, and there is no need to limit initial transmission and retransmission of subsequent periods. For example, SCI may indicate to reserve the initial transmission and retransmission for subsequent periods. Fig. 1-16 & ¶0114 – 902: the first terminal equipment determines candidate resources available for sidelink data transmission in the third candidate resource set to obtain a third candidate resource subset; Fig. 1-16 & ¶0114 - 903: the first terminal equipment selects resources for transmitting sidelink data in the third candidate resource subset, Fig. 1-16 & ¶0116 - wherein the third candidate resource subset includes candidate resources in the selection window of the first terminal equipment other than all candidate resources before a predetermined time unit, the predetermined time unit referring to an overlapped first slot of the selection window of the first terminal equipment and a first continuous SL DRX active time of the second terminal equipment during the selection window or a next continuous SL DRX active time of the second terminal equipment after the selection window starts.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Liu’s invention of power saving by partial sensing in Sidelink (SL) Discontinuous Reception (DRX) for a device operating in a wireless communication system to include Ji’s invention of a sensing process and a resource selection process in NR V2X (New Radio V2X (vehicle to everything) Release 16) for Mode 2 operations in a 5G/NR V2X communication system, because it provides an efficient mechanism in correctly decoding transmitted data packets for devices operating in SL (sidelink) communication by enhancing existing resource selection process to ensure that a time corresponding to resources selected by a transmitting device is at a SL DRX active time of a receiving device, thereby avoiding drop of packets due to the receiving device not being in a receiving state, in turns, ensures reliability of SL DRX in the NR V2X (New Radio V2X (vehicle to everything) Release 16) for Mode 2 operations in the 5G/NR V2X communication system. (¶0002-¶0009, Ji)
Re. Claims 3 and 24, Liu and Ji teach claims 1 and 21.
Liu further teaches performing the SL communication with a second device on the third resource. (Fig. 1-10 & ¶0131 - in a case in which a user obtains a plurality of SL DRX configurations, the user may at least use a sensing result (of the DRX On duration 1/the timer 1/the active time 1, and/or the DRX duration 2/the timer 2/the active time 2) of a part of the SL DRX configurations/all the SL DRX configurations for resource selection, reselection, estimation, or re-estimation. Fig. 10 & ¶0247 - Refer to FIG. 10. When selecting a resource for initial transmission of one TB/PDU/data/packet, resource selection, resource reselection, estimation, or re-estimation needs to be performed within the third active time, for example, a periodic DRX active time. For example, resource selection, resource reselection, estimation, or re-estimation is performed within a periodic active time. A resource used for initial transmission is selected within the fourth active time. For example, a resource used for retransmission is selected within an extended part of active time).
Re. Claim 10, Liu and Ji teach claim 1.
Liu further teaches wherein the selection window includes a first selection window related to the current active time and a second selection window related to a future active time. (Fig. 1-10 & ¶0131 - in a case in which a user obtains a plurality of SL DRX configurations, the user may at least use a sensing result (of the DRX On duration 1/the timer 1/the active time 1, and/or the DRX duration 2/the timer 2/the active time 2) of a part of the SL DRX configurations/all the SL DRX configurations for resource selection, reselection, estimation, or re-estimation. Fig. 10 & ¶0247 - Refer to FIG. 10. When selecting a resource for initial transmission of one TB/PDU/data/packet, resource selection, resource reselection, estimation, or re-estimation needs to be performed within the third active time, for example, a periodic DRX active time. For example, resource selection, resource reselection, estimation, or re-estimation is performed within a periodic active time. A resource used for initial transmission is selected within the fourth active time. For example, a resource used for retransmission is selected within an extended part of active time).
Claims 2, 13, 23 and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu, in view of Ji, further in view of Wen et al. (2023/0403681 as submitted in IDS), Wen hereinafter.
Re. Claims 2, 23 and 26, Liu and Ji teach claims 1, 21 and 22.
Yet, Liu and Ji do not expressly teach wherein a time domain of the third resource is earlier than the time domain of the second resource.
However, in the analogous art, Wen explicitly discloses wherein a time domain of the third resource is earlier than the time domain of the second resource. (Fig. 1-19 & ¶0008 - selecting the transmission resource for the data packet in the target resource selection window includes: obtaining a set of all available candidate single-slot resources in the target resource selection window by performing resource sensing; randomly selecting the transmission resources of the first M transmissions of the data packet from candidate single-slot resources, having time-domain locations within the target time period, in the set of all available candidate single-slot resources; wherein a start of the target time period is a maximum between n+T.sub.RX_on and n+T1, an end of the target time period is n+T.sub.RX_end, and n+T.sub.RX_end is an end time instant of a first on-duration of the second terminal after a time instant n, n+T.sub.RX_end is earlier than n+T2. Fig. 7 & ¶0095 - As shown in FIG. 7, if the time of n+T.sub.RX_on is later than the time of n+T1, then the target resource selection window is from n+T.sub.RX_on to n+T2, wherein n+T.sub.RX_end is earlier than n+T2. Fig. 8 & ¶0096 - As shown in FIG. 8, if the time of n+T.sub.RX_on is earlier than the time of n+T 1, then the target resource selection window is from n+T1 to n+T2, wherein n+T.sub.RX_end is earlier than n+T2.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Liu’s invention of power saving by partial sensing in Sidelink (SL) Discontinuous Reception (DRX) for a device operating in a wireless communication system and Ji’s invention of a sensing process and a resource selection process in NR V2X (New Radio V2X (vehicle to everything) Release 16) for Mode 2 operations in a 5G/NR V2X communication system to include Wen’s invention of a system and a method for determining a target resource selection window according to discontinuous reception DRX configuration in a wireless communication system, because it provides an efficient mechanism for providing reliable transmission of a traffic with a sidelink DRX mechanism in the wireless communication system. (¶0002 - ¶0005, Wen)
Re. Claim 13, Liu and Ji teach claim 10.
Yet, Liu and Ji do not expressly teach wherein an end time related to the first selection window and an end time related to the second selection window are configured for the first device.
However, in the analogous art, Wen explicitly discloses wherein an end time related to the first selection window and an end time related to the second selection window are configured for the first device. (Fig. 1-19 & ¶0007 - determining the target resource selection window according to the discontinuous reception DRX configuration of the second terminal includes: using a maximum value between n+T.sub.RX_on and n+T1 as a start of the target resource selection window and using n+T2 as an end of the target resource selection window, wherein, n+T.sub.RX_on is a start time instant of a first on-duration of the second terminal after a time instant n, n is an arrival time instant of data packets or a resource reselection time instant, n+T1 is a start of a determined resource selection window, n+T2 is an end of a determined resource selection window. Fig. 1-19 & ¶0008 - selecting the transmission resource for the data packet in the target resource selection window includes: obtaining a set of all available candidate single-slot resources in the target resource selection window by performing resource sensing; randomly selecting the transmission resources of the first M transmissions of the data packet from candidate single-slot resources, having time-domain locations within the target time period, in the set of all available candidate single-slot resources; wherein a start of the target time period is a maximum between n+T.sub.RX_on and n+T1, an end of the target time period is n+T.sub.RX_end, and n+T.sub.RX_end is an end time instant of a first on-duration of the second terminal after a time instant n, n+T.sub.RX_end is earlier than n+T2.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Liu’s invention of power saving by partial sensing in Sidelink (SL) Discontinuous Reception (DRX) for a device operating in a wireless communication system and Ji’s invention of a sensing process and a resource selection process in NR V2X (New Radio V2X (vehicle to everything) Release 16) for Mode 2 operations in a 5G/NR V2X communication system to include Wen’s invention of a system and a method for determining a target resource selection window according to discontinuous reception DRX configuration in a wireless communication system, because it provides an efficient mechanism for providing reliable transmission of a traffic with a sidelink DRX mechanism in the wireless communication system. (¶0002 - ¶0005, Wen)
Claims 4-5, 25 and 27are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu, in view of Ji, further in view of Ding et al. (2025/0048397), Ding hereinafter.
Re. Claims 4, 25 and 27, Liu and Ji teach claims 3, 24 and 22.
Yet, Liu and Ji do not expressly teach wherein the second future active time is a time while a timer for an active time started by the first device or the second device based on the SL communication on the third resource is running.
However, in the analogous art, Ding explicitly discloses wherein the second future active time is a time while a timer for an active time started by the first device or the second device based on the SL communication on the third resource is running. (Fig. 1-17 & ¶0101 - the link monitoring period includes at least one of: a DRX active period, a running period of a DRX activity timer, a running period of a DRX inactivity timer, and a running period of a DRX retransmission timer. The DRX active period is equivalent to the running period of the DRX activity timer, and is a partial period of a DRX cycle. The second terminal device is in an active state and detects the PSCCH and/or the PSSCH during the DRX active period/running period of DRX activity timer. The second terminal device activates the DRX inactivity timer upon receiving the initial transmission data (in other words, new data, new TBs, or new MAC PDU), and continues to detect the PSCCH and/or the PSSCH during the running period of the DRX inactivity timer. The second terminal device, upon receiving the initial transmission data or the retransmission data, starts a DRX retransmission timer, and continues to detect the PSCCH and/or the PSSCH during the running period of the DRX retransmission timer.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Liu’s invention of power saving by partial sensing in Sidelink (SL) Discontinuous Reception (DRX) for a device operating in a wireless communication system and Ji’s invention of a sensing process and a resource selection process in NR V2X (New Radio V2X (vehicle to everything) Release 16) for Mode 2 operations in a 5G/NR V2X communication system to include Ding’s invention of method for sidelink resource selection in a wireless communication system, because it provides an efficient mechanism in resource selection mechanism based on partial sensing, ensures an energy-saving and power-saving resource selection mechanism designed for power-sensitive terminals, such as handheld terminals, which achieves energy-saving and power-saving mainly by restricting a number of time units for resource selection and a number of time units for resource sensing for the sidelink resource selection in the wireless communication system. (¶0002/¶0077, Ding)
Re. Claim 5, Liu, Ji and Ding teach claims 4.
Yet, Liu and Ji do not expressly teach wherein the timer for the active time includes an inactivity timer or a retransmission timer.
However, in the analogous art, Ding explicitly discloses wherein the timer for the active time includes an inactivity timer or a retransmission timer. (Fig. 1-17 & ¶0101 - the link monitoring period includes at least one of: a DRX active period, a running period of a DRX activity timer, a running period of a DRX inactivity timer, and a running period of a DRX retransmission timer. The DRX active period is equivalent to the running period of the DRX activity timer, and is a partial period of a DRX cycle. The second terminal device is in an active state and detects the PSCCH and/or the PSSCH during the DRX active period/running period of DRX activity timer. The second terminal device activates the DRX inactivity timer upon receiving the initial transmission data (in other words, new data, new TBs, or new MAC PDU), and continues to detect the PSCCH and/or the PSSCH during the running period of the DRX inactivity timer. The second terminal device, upon receiving the initial transmission data or the retransmission data, starts a DRX retransmission timer, and continues to detect the PSCCH and/or the PSSCH during the running period of the DRX retransmission timer.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Liu’s invention of power saving by partial sensing in Sidelink (SL) Discontinuous Reception (DRX) for a device operating in a wireless communication system and Ji’s invention of a sensing process and a resource selection process in NR V2X (New Radio V2X (vehicle to everything) Release 16) for Mode 2 operations in a 5G/NR V2X communication system to include Ding’s invention of method for sidelink resource selection in a wireless communication system, because it provides an efficient mechanism in resource selection mechanism based on partial sensing, ensures an energy-saving and power-saving resource selection mechanism designed for power-sensitive terminals, such as handheld terminals, which achieves energy-saving and power-saving mainly by restricting a number of time units for resource selection and a number of time units for resource sensing for the sidelink resource selection in the wireless communication system. (¶0002/¶0077, Ding)
Claims 6-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu, in view of Ji, further in view of ADJAKPLE et al. (2024/0172325), ADJAKPLE hereinafter.
Re. Claim 6, Liu and Ji teach claim 1.
Yet, Liu and Ji do not expressly teach wherein the first device is not allowed to reselect the first resource as a fourth resource based on the re-evaluation or the pre-emption for the first resource.
However, in the analogous art, ADJAKPLE explicitly discloses wherein the first device is not allowed to reselect the first resource as a fourth resource based on the re-evaluation or the pre-emption for the first resource. (Fig. 1-12 & ¶0210 - TX resource exclusion decision may be made during DRX active time, meaning resources that are determined to be excluded from the resource candidates during DRX active time may remain excluded during outside DRX active time. In one example, the exclusion decision has no validity time or timer, meaning UE 102 may continue to exclude such resources during outside DRX active time with no further re-evaluation. Fig. 1-12 & ¶0211 - TX resource exclusion decision may be made during DRX active time, meaning resources that are determined to be excluded from the resource candidates during DRX active time may remain excluded during outside DRX active time. In this example, the exclusion decision has a validity time or timer, meaning UE 102 may not continue to exclude such resources during outside DRX active time, after expiry of the validity timer. For example, after expiry of the validity timer, UE 102 may perform RSRP measurements and exclude some of the resources from the resources selected during DRX active time or from the candidate resource set selected during DRX active time, if the RSRP is above a configurable threshold, a threshold that is set taking into account the priority of the traffic of the sensing and the transmitting UE. Fig. 1-12 & ¶0214 - TX resource pre-emption information collected during DRX active time. In one example scenario, the resource pre-emption information has no validity time or timer, meaning UE 102 may use the collected resource pre-emption information during DRX active time, to perform resource (re-)selection including excluding such resource from candidate resources, or anytime during outside DRX active time.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Liu’s invention of power saving by partial sensing in Sidelink (SL) Discontinuous Reception (DRX) for a device operating in a wireless communication system and Ji’s invention of a sensing process and a resource selection process in NR V2X (New Radio V2X (vehicle to everything) Release 16) for Mode 2 operations in a 5G/NR V2X communication system to include ADJAKPLE’s invention of a system and a method for New radio (NR) Sidelink (SL) Discontinuous Reception in a 5G/NR wireless communication system, because it provides an efficient mechanism in power-saving mechanism for user devices as used in vehicle-to-pedestrian (V2P) sidelink communication, commercial use cases such a tethering via vehicle, interactive services for AR/VR, gaming operates in the 5G/NR wireless communication system. (¶0002/¶0008, ADJAKPLE)
Re. Claim 7, Liu, Ji and ADJAKPLE teach claim 6.
Yet, Liu and Ji do not expressly teach wherein a third future active time of the SL DRX configuration, determined based on SL communication on the fourth resource, does not include the time domain of the second resource.
However, in the analogous art, ADJAKPLE explicitly discloses wherein a third future active time of the SL DRX configuration, determined based on SL communication on the fourth resource, does not include the time domain of the second resource. (Fig. 1-12 & ¶0210 - TX resource exclusion decision may be made during DRX active time, meaning resources that are determined to be excluded from the resource candidates during DRX active time may remain excluded during outside DRX active time. In one example, the exclusion decision has no validity time or timer, meaning UE 102 may continue to exclude such resources during outside DRX active time with no further re-evaluation. Fig. 1-12 & ¶0211 - TX resource exclusion decision may be made during DRX active time, meaning resources that are determined to be excluded from the resource candidates during DRX active time may remain excluded during outside DRX active time. In this example, the exclusion decision has a validity time or timer, meaning UE 102 may not continue to exclude such resources during outside DRX active time, after expiry of the validity timer. For example, after expiry of the validity timer, UE 102 may perform RSRP measurements and exclude some of the resources from the resources selected during DRX active time or from the candidate resource set selected during DRX active time, if the RSRP is above a configurable threshold, a threshold that is set taking into account the priority of the traffic of the sensing and the transmitting UE. Fig. 1-12 & ¶0214 - TX resource pre-emption information collected during DRX active time. In one example scenario, the resource pre-emption information has no validity time or timer, meaning UE 102 may use the collected resource pre-emption information during DRX active time, to perform resource (re-)selection including excluding such resource from candidate resources, or anytime during outside DRX active time.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Liu’s invention of power saving by partial sensing in Sidelink (SL) Discontinuous Reception (DRX) for a device operating in a wireless communication system and Ji’s invention of a sensing process and a resource selection process in NR V2X (New Radio V2X (vehicle to everything) Release 16) for Mode 2 operations in a 5G/NR V2X communication system to include ADJAKPLE’s invention of a system and a method for New radio (NR) Sidelink (SL) Discontinuous Reception in a 5G/NR wireless communication system, because it provides an efficient mechanism in power-saving mechanism for user devices as used in vehicle-to-pedestrian (V2P) sidelink communication, commercial use cases such a tethering via vehicle, interactive services for AR/VR, gaming operates in the 5G/NR wireless communication system. (¶0002/¶0008, ADJAKPLE)
Re. Claim 8, Liu, Ji and ADJAKPLE teach claim 6.
Liu further teaches wherein a time domain of the fourth resource is later than the time domain of the second resource. (Fig. 1-10 & ¶0131 - in a case in which a user obtains a plurality of SL DRX configurations, the user may at least use a sensing result (of the DRX On duration 1/the timer 1/the active time 1, and/or the DRX duration 2/the timer 2/the active time 2) of a part of the SL DRX configurations/all the SL DRX configurations for resource selection, reselection, estimation, or re-estimation. Fig. 10 & ¶0247 - Refer to FIG. 10. When selecting a resource for initial transmission of one TB/PDU/data/packet, resource selection, resource reselection, estimation, or re-estimation needs to be performed within the third active time, for example, a periodic DRX active time. For example, resource selection, resource reselection, estimation, or re-estimation is performed within a periodic active time. A resource used for initial transmission is selected within the fourth active time. For example, a resource used for retransmission is selected within an extended part of active time.).
Re. Claim 9, Liu and Ji teach claim 1.
Liu further teaches wherein the second resource is reselected as the fifth resource such that the second future active time of the SL DRX configuration, determined based on the SL communication on the third resource, includes a time domain of the fifth resource. (Fig. 1-10 & ¶0131 - in a case in which a user obtains a plurality of SL DRX configurations, the user may at least use a sensing result (of the DRX On duration 1/the timer 1/the active time 1, and/or the DRX duration 2/the timer 2/the active time 2) of a part of the SL DRX configurations/all the SL DRX configurations for resource selection, reselection, estimation, or re-estimation. Fig. 10 & ¶0247 - Refer to FIG. 10. When selecting a resource for initial transmission of one TB/PDU/data/packet, resource selection, resource reselection, estimation, or re-estimation needs to be performed within the third active time, for example, a periodic DRX active time. For example, resource selection, resource reselection, estimation, or re-estimation is performed within a periodic active time. A resource used for initial transmission is selected within the fourth active time. For example, a resource used for retransmission is selected within an extended part of active time)
Yet, Liu and Ji do not expressly teach reselecting the second resource as a fifth resource, based on the second future active time of the SL DRX configuration, determined based on the SL communication on the third resource, not including the time domain of the second resource,
However, in the analogous art, ADJAKPLE explicitly discloses reselecting the second resource as a fifth resource, based on the second future active time of the SL DRX configuration, determined based on the SL communication on the third resource, not including the time domain of the second resource (Fig. 1-12 & ¶0210 - TX resource exclusion decision may be made during DRX active time, meaning resources that are determined to be excluded from the resource candidates during DRX active time may remain excluded during outside DRX active time. In one example, the exclusion decision has no validity time or timer, meaning UE 102 may continue to exclude such resources during outside DRX active time with no further re-evaluation. Fig. 1-12 & ¶0211 - TX resource exclusion decision may be made during DRX active time, meaning resources that are determined to be excluded from the resource candidates during DRX active time may remain excluded during outside DRX active time. In this example, the exclusion decision has a validity time or timer, meaning UE 102 may not continue to exclude such resources during outside DRX active time, after expiry of the validity timer. For example, after expiry of the validity timer, UE 102 may perform RSRP measurements and exclude some of the resources from the resources selected during DRX active time or from the candidate resource set selected during DRX active time, if the RSRP is above a configurable threshold, a threshold that is set taking into account the priority of the traffic of the sensing and the transmitting UE. Fig. 1-12 & ¶0214 - TX resource pre-emption information collected during DRX active time. In one example scenario, the resource pre-emption information has no validity time or timer, meaning UE 102 may use the collected resource pre-emption information during DRX active time, to perform resource (re-)selection including excluding such resource from candidate resources, or anytime during outside DRX active time.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Liu’s invention of power saving by partial sensing in Sidelink (SL) Discontinuous Reception (DRX) for a device operating in a wireless communication system and Ji’s invention of a sensing process and a resource selection process in NR V2X (New Radio V2X (vehicle to everything) Release 16) for Mode 2 operations in a 5G/NR V2X communication system to include ADJAKPLE’s invention of a system and a method for New radio (NR) Sidelink (SL) Discontinuous Reception in a 5G/NR wireless communication system, because it provides an efficient mechanism in power-saving mechanism for user devices as used in vehicle-to-pedestrian (V2P) sidelink communication, commercial use cases such a tethering via vehicle, interactive services for AR/VR, gaming operates in the 5G/NR wireless communication system. (¶0002/¶0008, ADJAKPLE)
Claims 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu, in view of Ji , further in view of Fouad et al. (2021/0352677), Fouad hereinafter.
Re. Claim 11, Liu and Ji teach claim 10.
Yet, Liu and Ji do not expressly teach wherein a minimum ratio of candidate resources to all candidate resources within the first selection window and a minimum ratio of candidate resources to all candidate resources within the second selection window are configured for the first device.
However, in the analogous art, Fouad explicitly discloses wherein a minimum ratio of candidate resources to all candidate resources within the first selection window and a minimum ratio of candidate resources to all candidate resources within the second selection window are configured for the first device. (Fig. 1-4 & ¶0096 - In FIG. 4, at step 225, the UE or resource selection procedure may initialize different minimum candidate resources ratios, (e.g., X or {X.sub.1, X.sub.2} if portions of the resource selection window are considered separately) for different traffic priorities. Fig. 1-4 & ¶0098 - One important aspect of resource selection for Mode 2 operation is a minimum number of candidate resources (expressed as a ratio with respect to the total resources within the selection window) that are passed to a higher layer for resource selection. In some embodiments, the following criteria may be used: Fig. 1-4 & ¶0099 - In Step 1 of the Mode 2 resource selection procedure, when the ratio of identified candidate resources to the total number of resources in a resource selection window is less than X %, all configured thresholds are increased by 3 dB and the resource identification procedure is repeated ... Fig. 1-4 & ¶0102 - A minimum value of the ratio between the candidate resources that may be selected to the total number of resources within the resource selection window may be defined as X % or X. In particular, if this ratio is set less than X %, the UE increases its threshold levels 214 in order to increase the resources that can be indicated to the higher layers.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Liu’s invention of power saving by partial sensing in Sidelink (SL) Discontinuous Reception (DRX) for a device operating in a wireless communication system and Ji’s invention of a sensing process and a resource selection process in NR V2X (New Radio V2X (vehicle to everything) Release 16) for Mode 2 operations in a 5G/NR V2X communication system to include Fouad’s invention of a system and a method for dynamically changing minimum candidate resources ratio in mode 2 resource selection procedure of NR (New Radio) V2X < Vehicle to Everything > wireless communication system, because it provides an efficient mechanism in reducing probability of collision in resource selection for mode 2, in turns, improves the reliability along with improved latency requirement for the NR V2X wireless communication system. ((¶0002-¶0003, Fouad)
Re. Claim 12, Liu and Ji teach claim 10.
Yet, Liu and Ji do not expressly wherein a minimum number of candidate slots selected within the first selection window and a minimum number of candidate slots selected within the second selection window are configured for the first device.
However, in the analogous art, Fouad explicitly discloses wherein a minimum number of candidate slots selected within the first selection window and a minimum number of candidate slots selected within the second selection window are configured for the first device. (Fig. 1-4 & ¶0096 - In FIG. 4, at step 225, the UE or resource selection procedure may initialize different minimum candidate resources ratios, (e.g., X or {X.sub.1, X.sub.2} if portions of the resource selection window are considered separately) for different traffic priorities. Fig. 1-4 & ¶0098 - One important aspect of resource selection for Mode 2 operation is a minimum number of candidate resources (expressed as a ratio with respect to the total resources within the selection window) that are passed to a higher layer for resource selection. In some embodiments, the following criteria may be used: Fig. 1-4 & ¶0099 - In Step 1 of the Mode 2 resource selection procedure, when the ratio of identified candidate resources to the total number of resources in a resource selection window is less than X %, all configured thresholds are increased by 3 dB and the resource identification procedure is repeated ... Fig. 1-4 & ¶0102 - A minimum value of the ratio between the candidate resources that may be selected to the total number of resources within the resource selection window may be defined as X % or X. In particular, if this ratio is set less than X %, the UE increases its threshold levels 214 in order to increase the resources that can be indicated to the higher layers.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Liu’s invention of power saving by partial sensing in Sidelink (SL) Discontinuous Reception (DRX) for a device operating in a wireless communication system and Ji’s invention of a sensing process and a resource selection process in NR V2X (New Radio V2X (vehicle to everything) Release 16) for Mode 2 operations in a 5G/NR V2X communication system to include Fouad’s invention of a system and a method for dynamically changing minimum candidate resources ratio in mode 2 resource selection procedure of NR (New Radio) V2X < Vehicle to Everything > wireless communication system, because it provides an efficient mechanism in reducing probability of collision in resource selection for mode 2, in turns, improves the reliability along with improved latency requirement for the NR V2X wireless communication system. ((¶0002-¶0003, Fouad)
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
3GPP TSG RAN WG2 Meeting #115 electronic; R2-2107653; Source: Fujitsu; Title: Remaining details on HARQ RTT and Retransmission Timer for SL DRX; Online, August 16th – 27th, 2021. See §2-§3.
3GPP TSG RAN WG1 Meeting #104-e; R1-2100745; Source: Fujitsu; Title: Considerations on Partial Sensing and DRX in NR V2X; e-Meeting, January 25th – February 5th, 2021. See §2-§7.
3GPP TSG RAN WG1 #104-e; R1-2100141; Source: OPPO; Title: Power saving mechanisms in NR sidelink; e-Meeting, January 25th – February 5th, 2021. See §2-§4.
3GPP TSG RAN WG1 #104-e; R1-2100466; Source: vivo; Title: Resource allocation for sidelink power saving; e-Meeting, January 25th – February 5th, 2021. See §3-§8.
/MOHAMMED S CHOWDHURY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2467