DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang et al. (U.S. 2021/0199970) in view of Gao et al. (U.S. 2022/0066202) and Yao (CN 109407317).
Regarding 1, Huang discloses an optical display system (1400, Fig. 14; page 34, para [0230]), comprising:
a controllable optical image-generating display apparatus (such as a display apparatus of combination of: 1411 and 1451, Fig. 14A; page 8, para [0075]; page 34, para [0230]; page 35, para [0236]), adapted to generate circularly polarized image output (1470A and 1470B, Fig. 14A; page 35, para [0234]);
a beam scanning unit (such as 213 of 211 in 1411 to adjust the propagation direction of image light, Figs. 2A and 14; page 8, para [0075]; page 34, para [0230]; page 35, para [0236]), adapted to adjust a direction of the circularly polarized image output (213 adjusts the propagation direction of image light, Figs. 2A and 14; page 8, para [0075]; page 34, para [0230]; page 35, para [0236]);
an exit pupil steering apparatus (combination of: 1410 and 1431, Fig. 14; page 35, para [0231]), including a plurality of diffractive gratings (1431, Fig. 14; page 35, para [0231, 0234]), wherein each of the plurality of diffractive gratings is adapted to focus the circularly polarized image output (such as 1405B, Fig. 14A; page 36, para [0240]) of a first circular polarization state (such as left circularly polarized light 1405B, Fig. 14B) to a distinct focus point (such as away from 1431A, Fig. 14B) and let light with a second circular polarization state (such as right circularly polarized light 1405A, Fig. 14A) pass directly through; and
an eye-tracking apparatus (270, Fig. 14A; page 36, para [0238]), adapted to detect position information of a viewer’s eye pupil (130, Fig. 14A; page 36, para [0238]).
Huang does not expressly disclose that the plurality of diffractive gratings (1431, Fig. 14) are diffractive liquid crystal lenses. However, Gao discloses an optical display system (2100, Fig. 21A; page 13, para [0132]) comprising an exit pupil steering apparatus optic block (2130, Figs. 21A-21B, page 13, para [0132]), wherein the optic block can be comprised of a plurality of diffractive grating structures or a plurality of diffractive liquid crystal lenses as art recognized equivalent diffractive grating structures (page 13, para [0132]).
Therefore, before the time of the effective filing of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to configure the plurality of diffractive gratings (Huang: 1431, Fig. 14) of Huang with the plurality of diffractive liquid crystal lenses (Gao: page 13, para [0132]) of Gao in order to obtain the benefits of art recognized equivalent diffractive grating structures that can diffract image light as evidenced by Gao (Figs. 21A-21B; page 13, para [0132]).
Huang does not expressly disclose wherein the eye-tracking apparatus (270, Fig. 14A) provides the position information of the viewer’s eye pupil (130, Fig. 14A) to the beam scanning unit (such as 213 of 211 in 1411 to adjust the propagation direction of image light, Figs. 2A and 14; page 8, para [0075]; page 34, para [0230]; page 35, para [0236]), wherein the beam scanning unit is adapted to adjust a direction of the circularly polarized light output (1470A and 1470B, Fig. 14) according to the position information (page 36, para [0238, 0240]), so that the circularly polarized image output (1405A or 1405B, Fig. 14) is diffracted by one of the diffractive gratings (1431, Fig. 14; page 35, para [0234]). However, Yao discloses an optical display system (page 1, para [0002]) wherein an eye-tracking apparatus provides position information of a viewer’s eye pupil to adjust a light propagation direction of a beam scanning unit towards a waveguide (pages 15-16, para [0056]).
Therefore, before the time of the effective filing of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to configure the eye-tracking apparatus (Huang: 270, Fig. 1A) of Huang to provide the position information of the viewer’s eye pupil (Huang: 130, Fig. 14A; Yao: pages 15-16, para [0056]) to the beam scanning unit (Huang: such as 213 of 211 in 1411 to adjust the propagation direction of image light, Figs. 2A and 14; page 8, para [0075]; page 34, para [0230]; page 35, para [0236]), wherein the beam scanning unit is adapted to adjust a direction of the circularly polarized light output (Huang: 1470A and 1470B, Fig. 14) according to the position information (Huang: page 36, para [0238, 0240]; Yao: pages 15-16, para [0056]), so that the circularly polarized image output (Huang: 1405A or 1405B, Fig. 14) is accurately diffracted by one of the diffractive gratings (Huang: 1431, Fig. 14; page 35, para [0234]) towards the viewer’s eye pupil (Huang: 130, Fig. 14A) as taught by Yao (pages 15-16, para [0056]).
Regarding claim 2, Huang as modified by Gao and Yao discloses an optical display system with all the limitations above and further discloses:
a controllable polarization converter (Huang: 1452, Fig. 14; page 36, para [0240]), adapted to change a circular polarization state of the circularly polarized image output (Huang: 1405A and 1405B, Fig. 14) between the circular polarization states with opposite handedness (Huang: 1470A and 1470B, Fig. 14; page 36, para [0238, 0240]);
wherein the eye-tracking apparatus (Huang: 270, Fig. 14) provides the position information to the controllable polarization converter (Huang: Fig. 14; page 36, para [0238, 0240]), and the controllable polarization converter is adapted to adjust the circular polarization state (Huang: 1470A and 1470B, Fig. 14) of the circularly polarized image output according to the position information (Huang: between 1405A and 1405B, Fig. 14; page 36, para [0238, 0240]), so that the circularly polarized image output is diffracted by one of the diffractive liquid crystal lenses (Huang: 1431, Fig. 14; page 35, para [0234]; Gao: page 13, para [0132]).).
Regarding claim 3, Huang as modified by Gao and Yao discloses an optical display system with all the limitations above and further discloses wherein the controllable polarization converter (Huang: 1452, Fig. 14) has two states that can be selected by programming (Huang: such as switching and non-switching states, Fig. 14; page 36, para [0238, 0240]), wherein in a first state (Huang: such as a non-switching state, Fig. 14A: page 36, para [0238]), the controllable polarization converter preserves the circular polarization state of the circular polarized image output (Huang: circular polarization state 1470A of 1403A is preserved in 1405A, Fig. 14A; page 36, para [0238]), and in a second state (Huang: such as a switching state, Fig. 14B; page 36, para [0240]), the controllable polarization converter reverts the circular polarization state of the circular polarized image output (Huang: circular polarization state 1470A of 1403A is reverted to circular polarization state 1470B in 1405B, Fig. 14B; page 36, para [0240]).
Regarding claim 4, Huang as modified by Gao and Yao discloses an optical display system with all the limitations above and further discloses wherein the beam scanning unit (Huang: 213 of 211 in 1411 to adjust the propagation direction of image light, Figs. 2A and 14; page 8, para [0075]; page 34, para [0230]; page 35, para [0236]) is adapted to adjust the direction of the circularly polarized image output (Huang: direction of 1415A and 1415B, Figs. 14A-14B; page 36, para [0238, 0240]) in two dimensions according to the position information (Huang: Figs. 4B-4C and 14; page 15, para [0111-0112]; page 36, para [0238, 0240]).
Regarding claim 5, Huang as modified by Gao and Yao discloses an optical display system with all the limitations above and further discloses wherein the exit pupil steering apparatus (Huang: combination of: 1410 and 1431, Fig. 14) comprises one layer of diffractive liquid crystal lenses (Huang: such as 1431B, Fig. 14A; Gao: page 13, para [0132]).
Regarding claim 6, Huang as modified by Gao and Yao discloses an optical display system with all the limitations above and further discloses wherein the exit pupil steering apparatus (Huang: combination of: 1410 and 1431, Fig. 14) comprises two layers of diffractive liquid crystal lenses (Huang: 1431B and 1431A, Fig. 14A; Gao: page 13, para [0132]).
Regarding claim 7, Huang as modified by Gao and Yao discloses an optical display system with all the limitations above and further discloses wherein the diffractive liquid crystal lenses (Huang: 1431B and 1431A, Fig. 14) of the exit pupil steering apparatus (Huang: combination of: 1410 and 1431, Fig. 14) working for the circularly polarized image output with a same circular polarization state (Huang: such as 1405A, Fig. 14A) are fabricated on a same layer (Huang: such as 1431B and 1431A both being fabricated on a same layer 1410, Fig. 14A).
Regarding claim 8, Huang as modified by Gao and Yao discloses an optical display system with all the limitations above and further discloses wherein only one of the diffractive liquid crystal lenses (Huang: such as 1431B, Fig. 14A; Gao: page 13, para [0132]) works at a time (Huang: since only 1431B is working to allow the transmission of image light 1405A, Fig. 14A).
Regarding claim 9, Huang as modified by Gao and Yao discloses an optical display system with all the limitations above and further disclose wherein the position of the center of the working diffractive liquid crystal lens (Huang: such as center of 1431B, Fig. 14A) matches a viewing direction of the viewer (Huang: since the viewing direction of the viewer 125 is in a line-of-sight matching direction with a center of the working diffractive liquid crystal lens 1431B, Fig. 14A).
Regarding claim 10, Huang as modified by Gao and Yao discloses an electronic device (2000, Fig. 20; page 46, para [0301]) including the optical display system (Huang: 1400, Fig. 14) of claim 1.
Regarding claim 11, Huang as modified by Gao and Yao discloses an optical display system with all the limitations of claim 2 above and further discloses wherein the exit pupil steering apparatus (Huang: combination of: 1410 and 1431, Fig. 14) comprises a layer of diffractive liquid crystal lenses (Huang: such as 1431B, Fig. 14A; Gao: page 13, para [0132]).
Regarding claim 12, Huang as modified by Gao and Yao discloses an optical display system with all the limitations of claim 2 above and further discloses wherein the exit pupil steering apparatus (Huang: combination of: 1410 and 1431, Fig. 14) comprises two layers of diffractive liquid crystal lenses (Huang: 1431B and 1431A, Fig. 14A; Gao: page 13, para [0132]).
Regarding claim 13, Huang as modified by Gao and Yao discloses an optical display system with all the limitations of claim 8 above and further discloses wherein the diffractive liquid crystal lenses (Huang: 1431B and 1431A, Fig. 14) of the exit pupil steering apparatus (Huang: combination of: 1410 and 1431, Fig. 14) working for the circularly polarized image output with a same circular polarization state (Huang: such as 1405A, Fig. 14A) are fabricated on a same layer (Huang: such as 1431B and 1431A both being fabricated on a same layer 1410, Fig. 14A).
Conclusion
/PAUL C LEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2871