DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment submitted on 28 July 2026 has been entered. After entry of the amendment, claims 1-3, 5-11, and 13-14 are currently pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(d)
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Applicant may cancel the claim, amend the claim to place the claim in proper dependent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim 9 fails to further limit claim 8 as it recites “glycerol” however “glycerol” was deleted from claim 8.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 5 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by PCT International Publication No. WO 2011/070418 A1.
The reference teaches, in claim 1, Method of classification of mineral material, characterized in that said method implements the following steps: a) providing at least one mineral material comprising dolomite, or talc, or titanium dioxide, or alumina , or kaolin, or calcium carbonate or mixtures thereof; (b) provide at least one classification aid additive (i) glycerol, in aqueous or pure form, or (ii) glycerol with one or more of the following: ethylene glycol, mono-propylene glycol, triethylene glycol, an inorganic acid or an inorganic acid salt, formic or citric acid or a salt thereof formic or citric acid, an organic polyacid or an organic polyacid salt, an alkanolamine, a polyethyleneimine, a polyalkylene glycol polymer with a weight-average molecular weight of between 200 g / mole and 20000 g / mole, preferably between 600 g / mole and 6000 g / mole, a carbohydrate having an average root squared radius of gyration equal to or less than the modal radius of the mineral material, one or more poly-glycerols, the one or more agents being in aqueous or pure form, or (iii) comprising one or more poly-glycerols in the absence of glycerol. c) contact, in one or more times, the mineral matter of step a) with the classification aid additive of step b) in one or more dry grinding and / or blending steps. dry; d) performing at least one step of classifying the mineral material obtained according to step c) in a gaseous environment, to obtain at least two particle fractions of different average particle sizes; e) possibly repeating steps c) and / or d) on all or part of the classified mineral matter resulting from step d).
The instant claims are met by the reference.
As for claim 1, the calcium carbonate meets the limestone. The classification aid (ii) which is glycerol in combination with a glycol or an alkanolamine meets the claimed grinding additive. As these materials can be used in pure form no water needs to be present and therefore the grinding is a dry grinding. Note that step c) recites “dry grinding”.
As for claim 5, no water needs to be present.
As for claim 8, the reference teaches limestone (i.e. calcium carbonate) that has been dry ground with at least a glycol or alkanolamine component.
Claims 1, 3 and 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Canada Patent Specification No. CA 2679294 C.
The reference teaches, on page 3, lines 18-21; Test No. 1; and Test No. 3 found in the examples, the dry grinding of calcium carbonate with diethylene glycol. The ground calcium carbonate can be used in combination with a hydraulic binder base to form a mortar.
As for claim 1, the reference teaches calcium carbonate which meets the limestone component. The reference also teaches diethylene glycol which meets the grinding aid. The composition is dry ground.
As for claim 3, the reference teaches diethylene glycol.
As for claim 8, the reference teaches a mortar.
As for claim 9, the reference teaches diethylene glycol.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over PCT International Publication No. WO 2011/070418 A1.
The reference was discussed previously, above. Further the examples teach that a ball mill is used for grinding.
The instant claims are obvious over the reference.
As for claim 6, while the reference does not recite the amount of the glycol or alkanolamine that can be added it is within the level of ordinary skill in the art to determine the necessary amount of the components to produce the desired result. It has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 105 USPQ 223 (CCPA 1955).
As for claim 7, the reference teaches the use of a ball mill. As attrition type ball mills are a known type of ball mill it would have been obvious to utilize any type of ball mill such as attrition type ball mill without producing any unexpected results as applicant has not shown that the use of a particular type of mill produces unexpected results absent evidence showing otherwise.
Claims 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over PCT International Publication No. WO 2011/070418 A1 in view of Canada Patent Application No. 2,780,556 A1.
PCT International Publication No. WO 2011/070418 A1 was discussed previously, above.
Canada Patent Application No. 2,780,556 A1 teaches, in the claims (see especially claims 3-6), the formation of a dry mortar mixture comprising at least one hydraulic and/or latently hydraulic binder and a dispersant. The hydraulic binder may be a cement such as Portland cement (see claim 3) in the amount of 3 to 50% by weight and the composition can include aggregates such as ground limestone in the amount of 5 to 85% by weight.
The instant claims are obvious over the combination of references.
As for claim 10, based on the Canada Patent Application it would have been obvious to form a construction material such as a mortar using the ground calcium carbonate of the PCT reference.
As for claim 11, based on the Canada Patent Application it would have been obvious to form a construction material comprising a cement such as a mortar using the ground calcium carbonate of the PCT reference. As for the amounts, the amounts taught by the Canada Patent Application falls with the claimed range.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2, 13 and 14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The prior art fails to teach the dry grinding of limestone with methyldiethanolamine.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANTHONY J GREEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1731
ajg
August 14, 2026