DETAILED ACTION
1. This office action is a response to the Application/Control Number: 18/689,001 filed on 03/04/2024.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claims Status
3. This office action is based upon claims received on 08/18/2026 (referenced by RCE received 08/31/2026), which replace all prior or other submitted versions of the claims.
-Claims 18-19, 23-28 are cancelled.
-Claims 1, 8, 13, and 20 are amended.
-Claims 1-17, 20-22 are pending.
-Claims 1-17, 20-22 are rejected.
Priority
5. Acknowledgment is made of a 371 of PCT/CN2021/121070, filed 09/27/2021.
Response to Amendments/Remarks
6. Applicant's remarks/arguments, see page 15-16, filed on 08/18/2026, with respect to REMARKS/ARGUMENTS, Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 103 have been considered but are moot and not persuasive because the arguments do not apply to the new grounds of rejection being used in the current rejection.
Furthermore, remarks with respect to any applicable Dependent Claims have been considered, and are moot and not persuasive at least via dependency to the independent claims and via individual rejections addressing the specific claims.
The rejection has been revised and set forth below according to the amended claims (see Office Action).
Claim Objections
7. Claims 1, 8, 13, 20 are objected to because of the following informalities:
A. Claims 1, 8, 13, 20 recite instances of terms “and/or”. Utilization of “/” in the terms “and/or” can be interpreted as “and” and “or” as being equivalent substitutes for each other, or as “and” or “or” utilized possibly in the alternative, or possibly even as both “and” and “or” as considered together, etc. Questions are raised as to what applicant’s objective is for the terms “and/or”, including which one of many possible interpretations resulting from the utilization of “/” in the terms “and/or” is the objective of the applicant. For the purposes of examination limitations separated by a recitation “and/or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together.
Examiner interprets the subject claims listed as best possible. Applicant is requested to utilize descriptive word recitations in place of “/”, to appropriately address questions raised and avoid any potential issues with reflecting applicant’s intent and objective for the claim language noted.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
9. Claims 1-7, 13-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
A. Regarding Claims 1 (Using claim 1 as an example representative of claim 13) - Claim 1 recites terms “the selected PUCCH resource” for a first time with a preceding article “the” (i.e. “the” selected PUCCH resource”) without prior introduction or provision of a reference antecedence for “selected PUCCH resource”. There appears to be no preceding recitation of “selected PUCCH resource” introduced for provision of antecedent basis including in claim 1, and as such, this office action respectfully contends there is a lack of clarity as to where recitation of the terms “the selected PUCCH resource”” in Claim 1 finds antecedent basis.
While claim 1 recites “selecting a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) resource” which provides antecedent basis for subsequently recited “the PUCCH resource selected”, there is a lack of clarity whether “selecting a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) resource” is also intended to provide antecedent basis for “the selected PUCCH resource”.
Examiner interprets the subject claims listed as best possible. Applicant is requested and required to appropriately address and verify as applicable, applicant’s intent and objective for the claim language noted.
B. Regarding claims 2-7, and claims 14-17 depending from Claim 1, and claim 13 these claims (i.e. Claims 2-7, and claims 14-17) are further rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph at least via dependency to respective claim 1 and claim 13.
Examiner interprets the subject claims listed as best possible. Applicant is requested and required to appropriately address and clarify as applicable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory
basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and
the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the
effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised
of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that
was not commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the examiner
to consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) prior art
against the later invention.
11. Claims 1, 3-5, 8, 10, 11, 13, 15-17, 20, 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over YAO et. al (US 20240259144 A1) as supported by PCT/CN2021/111051 publication WO2023010485 with PCT filing date 05/08/2021, i.e. “Yao”, in view of GOU et al. (US 20230231662 A1), i.e. “GOU”. (Note: Paragraph references made to US 20240259144 A1 for the purposes of this rejection), further in view of LI (US 20240023108 A1), i.e. “LI”
Regarding Claim 1. (Currently Amended) Yao teaches: A terminal device (Yao FIG. 2 & FIG. 4 ¶0028 […] an exemplary UE 110; ¶0038 […] signaling diagram 400 includes the UE 110 and the gNB 120A; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0038 the UE 110 reads on: A terminal device)
comprising: at least one processor; and at least one memory comprising computer program code, the at least one memory and the computer program code being configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the terminal device to perform (Yao FIG. 2 & ¶0029 […]processor 205 may be configured to execute a plurality of engines of the UE 110 ; ¶0030 […]memory arrangement 210 may be a hardware component configured to store data related to operations performed by the UE 110 ; ¶0075 a program containing lines of code stored on a non-transitory computer readable storage medium that, when compiled, may be executed on a processor or microprocessor; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per as applied to ¶0029 processor 205 i.e. ¶0075 i.e. executed on a processor or microprocessor reads on: comprising: at least one processor , and as applied to ¶0030 i.e. memory arrangement 210 - ¶0075 i.e. a program containing lines of code stored on a non-transitory computer readable storage medium that, when compiled, may be executed reads on: and at least one memory comprising computer program code, the at least one memory and the computer program code being configured to , per ¶0075 i.e. may be executed on a processor or microprocessor reads on: with the at least one processor, and furthermore per ¶0029 i.e. processor 205 may be configured to execute a plurality of engines of the UE 110 reads on: cause the terminal device to perform ):
receiving, from a network device, one or more uplink control channel configurations for transmitting hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) feedback for multicast transmissions of one or more services (Yao FIG. 4 & Abstract & ¶0014 […] embodiments relate to Multicast Broadcast Service (MBS); ¶0040 […] the UE 110 receives PUCCH configuration information from the gNB 120A. The PUCCH configuration information may indicate to the UE 110 the PUCCH resource allocation for HARQ-ACK feedback for MBS; ¶0043 […] another example, the exemplary embodiments introduce two PUCCH-ConfigurationList (s) for MBS HARQ-ACK feedback. A first PUCCH-configurationList specific to ACK/NACK based HARQ-ACK feedback for MBS and a second different PUCCH-ConfigurationList specific to NACK-only based HARQ-ACK feedback for MBS. Thus, in this example, the UE 110 may receive three different PUCCH-ConfigurationList parameters, e.g., one for unicast HARQ/ACK feedback and two for multicast HARQ/ACK feedback;
NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0038 i.e. the UE 110 receives reads on: receiving, per ¶0040 i.e. PUCCH configuration information from the gNB 120A reads on: from a network device. Furthermore per ¶0040 i.e. PUCCH configuration information reads on: one or more uplink control channel configurations such as per ¶0043 i.e. UE 110 may receive three different PUCCH-ConfigurationList parameters, e.g., one for unicast HARQ/ACK feedback and two for multicast HARQ/ACK feedback. Furthermore, per ¶0040 i.e. The PUCCH configuration information may indicate to the UE 110 the PUCCH resource allocation for HARQ-ACK feedback reads on: for transmitting hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) feedback , and per Abstract, ¶0014 , and ¶0040 i.e. for MBS i.e. Multicast Broadcast Service (MBS) reads on: for multicast transmissions of one or more services ),
the one or more services being configured to transmit at least one HARQ negative acknowledgement (NACK) when at least one transmission of the multicast transmissions on at least one HARQ process between the terminal device and the network device is received unsuccessfully at the terminal device (Yao FIG. 4 & ¶0040 See above; ¶0043 See above; ¶0045 […] 415, the gNB 120A transmits information and/or data to the UE 110. The UE 110 may be configured to respond to this transmission with HARQ feedback. In 420, the UE 110 transmits HARQ feedback to the gNB 120A. The UE 110 may identify the PUCCH resources allocated for each service and type of HARQ feedback (e.g., ACK/NACK, NACK-only) using the PUCCH-ConfigurationList parameters; ¶0046 […] If the transmission in 415 was part of a MBS session, the HARQ feedback may be transmitted over the PUCCH using the PUCCH resources allocated for multicast. However, as indicated above, for the NACK-only based HARQ-ACK feedback the UE 110 may not transmit feedback if the transmission in 415 was successfully received and may transmit NACK feedback if the transmission in 415 was not successfully received; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0043 i.e. two PUCCH-ConfigurationList (s) for MBS HARQ-ACK feedback. A first PUCCH-configurationList specific to ACK/NACK based HARQ-ACK feedback for MBS and a second different PUCCH-ConfigurationList specific to NACK-only based HARQ-ACK feedback for MBS, where per ¶0046 i.e. If the transmission in 415 was part of a MBS session for the NACK-only based HARQ-ACK feedback the UE 110 i.e. may transmit reads on: the one or more services being configured , and per ¶0046 i.e. for the NACK-only based HARQ-ACK feedback the UE 110 may transmit i.e. NACK feedback reads on: to transmit at least one HARQ negative acknowledgement (NACK). Furthermore per ¶0046 i.e. transmit NACK feedback i.e. if the transmission in 415 was not successfully received reads on: when at least one transmission of the multicast transmissions on at least one HARQ process between the terminal device and the network device i.e. MBS configured for NACK only based HARQ-ACK process. Furthermore per ¶0046 i.e. transmit NACK feedback i.e. if the transmission in 415 was not successfully received reads on: is received unsuccessfully at the terminal device),
and to ignore transmitting of at least one HARQ acknowledgement (ACK) when the at least one transmission of the multicast transmissions on the at least one HARQ process is received successfully at the terminal device (Yao FIG. 4 & ¶0040 See above; ¶0043 See above; ¶0046 See above; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0046 i.e. If the transmission in 415 was part of a MBS session, the HARQ feedback may be transmitted over the PUCCH using the PUCCH resources allocated for multicast. However, as indicated above, for the NACK-only based HARQ-ACK feedback the UE 110 may i.e. not transmit feedback reads on: and to ignore transmitting of at least one HARQ acknowledgement (ACK), per ¶0046 i.e. if the transmission in 415 was successfully received i.e. If the transmission in 415 was part of a MBS session, the HARQ feedback may be transmitted reads on when the at least one transmission of the multicast transmissions on the at least one HARQ process i.e. 415 is a transmission of MBS associated with a HARQ-ACK process associated with HARQ feedback. Furthermore per ¶0046 if the transmission in 415 i.e. was successfully received reads on: is received successfully at the terminal device);
receiving, from the network device, the multicast transmissions of the one or more services (Yao FIG. 4 & ¶0040 See above; ¶0043 See above; ¶0045 […] 415, the gNB 120A transmits information and/or data to the UE 110. The UE 110 may be configured to respond to this transmission with HARQ feedback. In 420, the UE 110 transmits HARQ feedback to the gNB 120A. The UE 110 may identify the PUCCH resources allocated for each service and type of HARQ feedback (e.g., ACK/NACK, NACK-only) using the PUCCH-ConfigurationList parameters; ¶0046 See above; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0045 i.e. 415, the gNB 120A transmits information and/or data reads on: receiving, from the network device. Furthermore per ¶0045 i.e. transmits information and/or data to the UE 110 where per ¶0046 i.e. If the transmission in 415 was part of a MBS session reads on: the multicast transmissions of the one or more services);
converting HARQ feedback bits of the HARQ feedback to converted HARQ feedback bits for the multicast transmissions of the one or more services by interpreting a HARQ feedback bit of the HARQ feedback bits as a NACK bit when a transmission of the multicast transmissions of the one or more services is unsuccessfully received on the at least one HARQ process (Yao FIG. 4 & ¶0039 […] UE 110 may transmit capability information to the gNB 120A. The capability information may indicate to the network the type of HARQ feedback supported by the UE 110 for multicast (e.g., ACK/NACK based HARQ-ACK feedback or NACK-only HARQ-ACK feedback); ¶0040 See above; ¶0043 See above; ¶0046 See above; ¶0050 […]the examples shown in FIG. 5, 4 MBS sessions are available and each PUCCH resource may carry 2 HARQ-ACK bits […] G-RNTI 1 is associated with MBS session 1 […] G-RNTI 4 is associated with MBS session 4; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0046 i.e. If the transmission in 415 was part of a MBS session, the HARQ feedback may be transmitted over the PUCCH and where per ¶0050 i.e. 4 MBS sessions are available and each PUCCH resource may carry 2 HARQ-ACK bits i.e. processing setting of HARQ feedback bits according to feedback message and further setting of bits into PUCCH physical resource for carrying bits as indicated reads on: converting HARQ feedback bits of the HARQ feedback to converted HARQ feedback bits . Furthermore, i.e. per ¶0050 i.e. using the PUCCH resources allocated for multicast and per ¶0039 i.e. UE 110 is capable of for multicast (e.g., ACK/NACK based HARQ-ACK feedback or NACK-only HARQ-ACK feedback) reads on: for the multicast transmissions of the one or more services. Furthermore per where per ¶0046 i.e. If the transmission in 415 was part of a MBS session for the NACK-only based HARQ-ACK feedback may transmit i.e. NACK feedback where i.e. processing setting of HARQ feedback bits according to NACK feedback message reads on: reads on: by interpreting a HARQ feedback bit of the HARQ feedback bits as a NACK bit as applied to per ¶0050 each PUCCH resource may carry 2 HARQ-ACK bits . Furthermore per ¶0046 i.e. transmit NACK feedback i.e. if the transmission in 415 was not successfully received reads on: when a transmission of the multicast transmission transmissions of the one or more services is unsuccessfully received on the at least one HARQ process i.e. MBS configured for NACK only based HARQ-ACK process.)
or (note: limitations separated by a recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight)
as an ACK bit when a transmission of the multicast transmissions of the one or more services is successfully received on the at least one HARQ process (note: limitations separated by a recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight),
the converted HARQ feedback bits comprising more than one bit (Yao FIG. 4, FIG. 5 & ¶0040 See above; ¶0043 See above; ¶0045 See above; ¶0046 See above; ¶0047 […] PUCCH resource allocation for NACK-only based HARQ-ACK feedback may be common to a group of UEs. […] PUCCH resources for NACK-only based HARQ-ACK feedback may be shared by a group of UEs subscribed to different MBS sessions. The PUCCH resources for the group of UEs may be configured within an uplink common frequency resource (CFR) […] the association between an order of HARQ-ACK bits in the time domain, MBS sessions and the PUCCH resources may be defined to enable the use of common PUCCH resources for a group of UEs utilizing NACK-only based HARQ-ACK feedback for MBS ; ¶0049 When PUCCH resources for HARQ-ACK feedback are shared among UEs within the group, the PUCCH resources used for feedback by a particular UE may depend on the one or more subscribed MBS sessions […] FIG. 5 shows examples of PUCCH resources allocation when PUCCH resources for NACK-only based HARQ-ACK feedback are shared among UEs within a group UEs ; ¶0050 See above; ¶0052 […] Case 1 UE 1 may be subscribed to MBS session 1 and MBS session 4 […] the HARQ-ACK bit ordering comprises the HARQ-ACK bit for MBS session 1 ordered first in the time domain and the HARQ-ACK bit for session 4 ordered second in the time domain. NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0047 […] PUCCH resource allocation for NACK-only based HARQ-ACK feedback may be common to a group of UEs and per ¶0049 When PUCCH resources for HARQ-ACK feedback are shared among UEs within the group, the PUCCH resources used for feedback by a particular UE may depend on the one or more subscribed MBS sessions, where, as applied to FIG. 4 per FIG. 5 & ¶0052 i.e. Case 1 UE 1 may be subscribed to MBS session 1 and MBS session 4 […] the HARQ-ACK bit ordering reads on: the converted HARQ feedback bits , where furthermore per ¶0052 i.e. comprises the HARQ-ACK bit for MBS session 1 ordered first in the time domain and the HARQ-ACK bit for session 4 ordered second in the time domain reads on: comprising more than one bit );
multiplexing the converted HARQ feedback bits into a multiplexed HARQ feedback (Yao FIG. 4, FIG. 5 & ¶0040 See above; ¶0043 See above; ¶0045 See above; ¶0046 See above; ¶0047 See above ; ¶0049 see above; ¶0050 see above; ¶0052 See above ; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0047 […] PUCCH resource allocation for NACK-only based HARQ-ACK feedback may be common to a group of UEs where, as applied to FIG. 4 per FIG. 5 & ¶0052 i.e. Case 1 UE 1 may be subscribed to MBS session 1 and MBS session 4 and i.e. the HARQ-ACK bit ordering, i.e. comprises the HARQ-ACK bit for MBS session 1 ordered first in the time domain and the HARQ-ACK bit for session 4 ordered second reads on: multiplexing in the time domain, where i.e. the HARQ-ACK bit for MBS session 1 ordered first in the time domain and the HARQ-ACK bit for session 4 ordered second reads on: the converted HARQ feedback bits . Furthermore per ¶0052 i.e. the HARQ-ACK bit ordering i.e. the HARQ-ACK bit for MBS session 1 ordered first in the time domain and the HARQ-ACK bit for session 4 ordered second in the time domain reads on: into a multiplexed , furthermore as applied to and per ¶0047 […] PUCCH resource allocation for NACK-only based HARQ-ACK feedback and ¶0045 i.e. In 420, the UE 110 transmits HARQ feedback to the gNB 120A reads on: HARQ feedback);
selecting a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) resource for transmission of the multiplexed HARQ feedback based at least on the one or more uplink control channel configurations, wherein the selected PUCCH resource is a PUCCH resource associated with a PUCCH configuration for transmission of HARQ ACK (note: limitations separated by a recitation “and/or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight) and/or (note: limitations separated by a recitation “and/or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight) HARQ NACK (note: limitations separated by a recitation “and/or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight) feedback for multicast or unicast transmission of the one or more services (Yao FIG. 4 & FIG. 5 & ¶0040 See above;¶0045 See above; ¶0050 […] When the PUCCH resource allocation is common to a group of UEs, a particular UE may select a PUCCH resource associated with one or more subscribed MBS sessions from a PUCCH resource pool to report the HARQ-ACK feedback; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0050 i.e. When the PUCCH resource allocation is common to a group of UEs, a particular UE may select a PUCCH resource associated with one or more subscribed MBS sessions from a PUCCH resource pool reads on: selecting a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) resource , and per ¶0050 i.e. to report the HARQ-ACK feedback reads on: for transmission of the multiplexed HARQ feedback , where, as applied to per FIG. 4 & ¶0040 i.e. the UE 110 receives PUCCH configuration information from the gNB 120A. i.e. The PUCCH configuration information may indicate to the UE 110 the PUCCH resource allocation for HARQ-ACK feedback for MBS i.e. The PUCCH configuration information may indicate and furthermore that per ¶0045 i.e. The UE 110 may identify the PUCCH resources allocated for each service and type of HARQ feedback (e.g., ACK/NACK, NACK-only) using the PUCCH-ConfigurationList parameters referenced above reads on: based at least on the one or more uplink control channel configurations, per ¶0043 i.e. the UE 110 may receive three different PUCCH-ConfigurationList parameters, e.g., one for unicast HARQ/ACK feedback and two for multicast HARQ/ACK feedback reads on: wherein the selected PUCCH resource is a PUCCH resource associated with a PUCCH configuration for transmission of HARQ ACK and/or HARQ NACK feedback for multicast or unicast transmission of the one or more services );
and wherein the selected PUCCH resource is a group-common NACK-only PUCCH resource indicated to the terminal device (Yao FIG. 4 & FIG. 5 & ¶0040 See above;¶0045 See above; ¶0047 […] PUCCH resource allocation for NACK-only based HARQ-ACK feedback may be common to a group of UEs; ¶0050 See above; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0047 i.e. & ¶0050 PUCCH resource allocation for NACK-only based HARQ-ACK feedback may be common to a group of UEs reads on: and wherein the selected PUCCH resource is a group-common NACK-only PUCCH resource indicated to the terminal device )
and transmitting the multiplexed HARQ feedback using the PUCCH resource selected for transmission of the multiplexed HARQ feedback (Yao FIG. 4 & FIG. 5 & ¶0040 See above; ¶0045 See above; ¶0050 See above; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: Per ¶0045 , furthermore as applied to and per ¶0047 […] PUCCH resource allocation for NACK-only based HARQ-ACK feedback and ¶0045 i.e. In 420, the UE 110 transmits reads on and transmitting per ¶0045 i.e. HARQ feedback to the gNB 120A where per ¶0052 i.e. the HARQ-ACK bit ordering comprises the HARQ-ACK bit for MBS session 1 ordered first in the time domain and the HARQ-ACK bit for session 4 ordered second in the time domain reads on: the multiplexed HARQ feedback , per ¶0045 i.e. The UE 110 may identify the PUCCH resources allocated for each service and type of HARQ feedback (e.g., ACK/NACK, NACK-only) using the PUCCH-ConfigurationList parameters referenced above and per ¶0050 i.e. When the PUCCH resource allocation is common to a group of UEs, a particular UE may select a PUCCH resource reads on: using the PUCCH resource i.e. associated with one or more subscribed MBS sessions from a PUCCH resource pool. Furthermore per ¶0052 HARQ-ACK bit for MBS session 1 ordered first in the time domain and the HARQ-ACK bit for session 4 ordered second in the time domain reads on: selected for transmission of the multiplexed HARQ feedback as multiplexed in time).
While Yao’s teachings read on: converting HARQ feedback bits of the HARQ feedback to converted HARQ feedback bits for the multicast transmissions of the one or more services by interpreting a HARQ feedback bit of the HARQ feedback bits as a NACK bit as referenced above,
where specifically regarding interpreting a HARQ feedback bit of the HARQ feedback bits as a NACK bit as noted above, Yao teaches per ¶0046 i.e. If the transmission in 415 was part of a MBS session for the NACK-only based HARQ-ACK feedback may transmit i.e. NACK feedback where i.e. processing setting of HARQ feedback bits according to NACK feedback message reads on: reads on: by interpreting a HARQ feedback bit of the HARQ feedback bits as a NACK bit as applied to per ¶0050 each PUCCH resource may carry 2 HARQ-ACK bits , the office action notes that NACK feedback is well known to represent a HARQ feedback bit as a NACK bit, and that, Yao while explicit about a NACK feedback and HARQ-ACK bits which covers a range comprising bits that could be NACK or ACK bits, Yao appears to imply a NACK bit, and therefore:
Yao does not appear to explicitly teach or strongly suggest (note i.e. Yao implies see italicized portions): a NACK bit;
GOU teaches: receiving, the multicast transmissions of the one or more services; converting HARQ feedback bits of the HARQ feedback to converted HARQ feedback bits for the multicast transmissions of the one or more services by interpreting a HARQ feedback bit of the HARQ feedback bits as a NACK bit when a transmission of the multicast transmissions of the one or more services is unsuccessfully received on the at least one HARQ process (GOU FIG. 1A FIG. 1B & ¶0024 […] When the UE does not receive the MBS service correctly, the UE transmits NACK only PUCCH in the PUCCH resource corresponding to the MBS service […]; ¶0027 […] whether the UE uses the PUCCH format 0 or format 1, the following methods described below are applicable. In some embodiments, the NACK only PUCCH is a PUCCH resource shared by multiple UEs for per MBS service or MBS receiving group included multiple UEs receiving the same MBS service; ¶0072 case 7 […] ; ¶0077 […] if the UE only has multiple NACK only PUCCH resources overlapping in the time domain in a slot/subslot, the UE always converts each of the multiple NACK only PUCCHs to 1 bit information, the value is 0 or 1 according to the actual decoding result. Then concatenate the converted 1 bit information to obtain a final bits information, and transmit the final bits information in the additional PUCCH1 or PUCCH2 according to the size of the final bits information..[…] ; ¶0084 […] FIG. 1B, in a slot/subslot, the two NACK only PUCCHs of the MBS service overlap, and they overlap with the unicast HARQ-ACK PUCCH and P/SP-CSI PUCCH at the same time. The UE resolves the overlap between unicast HARQ-ACK PUCCH and P/SP-CSI PUCCH to obtain a multiplexed PUCCH3. The UE resolves the overlap between 2 NACK only PUCCHs of MBS service to obtain a multiplexed PUCCH4 (PUCCH4 is additional PUCCH mentioned in case 7). […]; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: Per ¶0027 i.e. UEs for per MBS service or MBS receiving group included multiple UEs receiving the same MBS service and per ¶0084 i.e. in a slot/subslot, the two NACK only PUCCHs of the MBS service overlap, and they overlap with the unicast HARQ-ACK PUCCH and P/SP-CSI PUCCH at the same time. The UE resolves the overlap between unicast HARQ-ACK PUCCH and P/SP-CSI PUCCH to obtain a multiplexed PUCCH3. The UE resolves the overlap between 2 NACK only PUCCHs of MBS service to obtain a multiplexed PUCCH4 (PUCCH4 is additional PUCCH mentioned in case 7) reads on: receiving, the multicast transmissions of the one or more services for which feedback is multiplexed. Per ¶0077 i.e. if the UE only has multiple NACK only PUCCH resources overlapping in the time domain in a slot/subslot, the UE always converts each of the multiple NACK only PUCCHs to 1 bit information, the value is 0 or 1 according to the actual decoding result reads on: converting HARQ feedback bits of the HARQ feedback Furthermore per ¶0077 i.e. Then concatenate the converted 1 bit information to obtain a final bits information, and transmit the final bits information in the additional PUCCH1 or PUCCH2 according to the size of the final bits information reads on: to converted HARQ feedback bits, where case 7 applies to FIG. 1B and ¶0084 i.e. The UE resolves the overlap between 2 NACK only PUCCHs of MBS service to obtain a multiplexed PUCCH4 (PUCCH4 is additional PUCCH mentioned in case 7) reads on: for the multicast transmissions of the one or more services , where per ¶0077 i.e. the UE always converts each of the multiple NACK only PUCCHs to 1 bit information, the value is 0 or 1 according to the actual decoding result. Then concatenate the converted 1 bit information to obtain a final bits information reads on: by interpreting a HARQ feedback bit of the HARQ feedback bits as a NACK bit, where furthermore per ¶0077 i.e. if the UE only has multiple NACK only PUCCH resources overlapping in the time domain in a slot/subslot as applied to ¶0084 i.e. The UE resolves the overlap between 2 NACK only PUCCHs of MBS service to obtain a multiplexed PUCCH4 and per ¶0024 i.e. When the UE does not receive the MBS service correctly, the UE transmits NACK only PUCCH in the PUCCH resource corresponding to the MBS service reads on: when a transmission of the multicast transmission transmissions of the one or more services is unsuccessfully received on the at least one HARQ process ),
the converted HARQ feedback bits comprising more than one bit, multiplexing the converted HARQ feedback bits into a multiplexed HARQ feedback (GOU ¶0077 See above; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per 0077 i.e. the UE always converts each of the multiple NACK only PUCCHs to 1 bit information, the value is 0 or 1 according to the actual decoding result. Then concatenate the converted 1 bit information to obtain a final bits information reads on: the converted HARQ feedback bits comprising more than one bit where per ¶0084 UE resolves the overlap between 2 NACK only PUCCHs of MBS service to obtain a multiplexed PUCCH4 and per ¶0077 i.e. Then concatenate the converted 1 bit information to obtain a final bits information, and transmit the final bits information in the additional PUCCH1 or PUCCH2 according to the size of the final bits information reads on: multiplexing the converted HARQ feedback bits into a multiplexed HARQ feedback);
selecting a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) resource for transmission of the multiplexed HARQ feedback; and transmitting the multiplexed HARQ feedback using the (GOU FIG. 1B & ¶0077 See above; ¶0084 See above; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0077 i.e. Then concatenate the converted 1 bit information to obtain a final bits information, and transmit the final bits information in the additional PUCCH1 or PUCCH2 according to the size of the final bits information and i.e. per ¶0084 UE resolves the overlap between 2 NACK only PUCCHs of MBS service to obtain a multiplexed PUCCH4 (PUCCH4 is additional PUCCH mentioned in case 7) reads on: selecting a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) resource for transmission i.e. a multiplexed PUCCH4 reads on: of the multiplexed HARQ feedback; per ¶0084 i.e. UE resolves the overlap between 2 NACK only PUCCHs of MBS service to obtain a multiplexed PUCCH4 (PUCCH4 is additional PUCCH mentioned in case 7) also reads on: and transmitting the multiplexed HARQ feedback using the selected PUCCH resource selected for transmission of the multiplexed HARQ feedback);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Yao with teachings of GOU, since GOU enables methods to reduce the overhead of hybrid automatic repeat request acknowledgement (HARQ-ACK) feedback and the number of HARQ-ACK physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) transmissions including broadcast service (GOU - ¶0024).
While Yao in view of GOU teaches: A terminal device comprising: at least one processor; and at least one memory comprising computer program code, the at least one memory and the computer program code being configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the terminal device to perform: receiving, from a network device, one or more uplink control channel configurations for transmitting hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) feedback for multicast transmissions of one or more services, the one or more services being configured to transmit at least one HARQ negative acknowledgement (NACK) when at least one transmission of the multicast transmissions on at least one HARQ process between the terminal device and the network device is received unsuccessfully at the terminal device, and to ignore transmitting of at least one HARQ acknowledgement (ACK) when the at least one transmission of the multicast transmissions on the at least one HARQ process is received successfully at the terminal device; receiving, from the network device, the multicast transmissions of the one or more services; converting HARQ feedback bits of the HARQ feedback to converted HARQ feedback bits for the multicast transmissions of the one or more services by interpreting a HARQ feedback bit of the HARQ feedback bits as a NACK bit when a transmission of the multicast transmissions of the one or more services is unsuccessfully received on the at least one HARQ process or as an ACK bit when a transmission of the multicast transmissions of the one or more services is successfully received on the at least one HARQ process, the converted HARQ feedback bits comprising more than one bit; multiplexing the converted HARQ feedback bits into a multiplexed HARQ feedback; selecting a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) resource for transmission of the multiplexed HARQ feedback based at least on the one or more uplink control channel configurations, wherein the selected PUCCH resource is a PUCCH resource associated with a PUCCH configuration for transmission of HARQ ACK(note: limitations separated by a recitation “and/or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight) and/or (note: limitations separated by a recitation “and/or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight) HARQ NACK (note: limitations separated by a recitation “and/or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight) feedback for multicast or unicast transmission of the one or more services, and wherein the selected PUCCH resource is a group-common NACK-only PUCCH resource indicated to the terminal device; and transmitting the multiplexed HARQ feedback using the PUCCH resource selected for transmission of the multiplexed HARQ feedback.
Yao in view of GOU does not appear to explicitly teach or strongly suggest (note i.e. see italicized portions of claim limitations): PUCCH resource is different from a group-common NACK-only PUCCH resource;
Li teaches: wherein the selected PUCCH resource is a PUCCH resource associated with a PUCCH configuration for transmission of HARQ ACK and/or HARQ NACK feedback for multicast or unicast transmission of the one or more services, and wherein the selected PUCCH resource is different from a group-common NACK-only PUCCH resource indicated to the terminal device (Li - ¶0048 […]In a case that the HARQ feedback mode corresponding to the target SPS PDSCH is feedback of HARQ-NACK only and the target SPS PDSCH is an SPS group-common PDSCH, a second PUCCH resource is determined as the first target PUCCH resource ; ¶0049 […] The second PUCCH resource is used to transmit feedback information for any SPS group-common PDSCH configured with feedback of HARQ-NACK only […] In this embodiment, the second PUCCH resource can be defined by protocol or configured by a network-side device (such as a base station). For example, it can be configured through a parameter SP S-PUCCH-NACKOnly-r17 or SP S-PUCCH-NOnly-r17 ;¶0082 […] in a case that PUCCH-config corresponding to the SPS unicast PDSCH does not include one or more PUCCH resources used for reporting HARQ-ACK for SPS unicast PDSCH, for example, in a case that SPS-PUCCH-AN-List-r16 is not configured, but PUCCH-config corresponding to the SPS group-common PDSCH includes one or more PUCCH resources used for reporting HARQ-ACK for the SPS unicast PDSCH, for example, in a case that SPS-PUCCH-AN-List-r16 is configured, the terminal can select, based on the number of bits of the multiplexed target HARQ-ACK, one PUCCH resource from PUCCH resources configured in SPS-PUCCH-AN-List-r16 corresponding to the SPS group-common PDSCH, for multiplexing.;
NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: Per ¶0082 in a case that PUCCH-config corresponding to the SPS unicast PDSCH does not include one or more PUCCH resources used for reporting HARQ-ACK for SPS unicast PDSCH, for example, in a case that SPS-PUCCH-AN-List-r16 is not configured, but PUCCH-config corresponding to the SPS group-common PDSCH includes one or more PUCCH resources used for reporting HARQ-ACK for the SPS unicast PDSCH, i.e. in a case that SPS-PUCCH-AN-List-r16 is configured, the terminal can select, based on the number of bits of the multiplexed target HARQ-ACK, one PUCCH resource from PUCCH resources configured in i.e. SPS-PUCCH-AN-List-r16 reads on: wherein the selected PUCCH resource is a PUCCH resource associated with a PUCCH configuration for transmission of HARQ ACK and/or HARQ NACK feedback , per ¶0082 i.e. in a case that PUCCH-config corresponding to the SPS unicast PDSCH does not include one or more PUCCH resources used for reporting HARQ-ACK for SPS unicast PDSCH, i.e., in a case that SPS-PUCCH-AN-List-r16 is not configured, but PUCCH-config corresponding to the SPS group-common PDSCH includes one or more PUCCH resources used for reporting HARQ-ACK for the SPS unicast PDSCH, applied to i.e. the SPS group-common PDSCH and i.e. corresponding to the SPS unicast PDSCH reads on: for multicast or unicast transmission of the one or more services , furthermore per ¶0082 i.e. in a case that SPS-PUCCH-AN-List-r16 is configured, the terminal can select, i.e. one PUCCH resource from PUCCH resources configured in SPS-PUCCH-AN-List-r16 corresponding to the SPS group-common PDSCH reads on: and wherein the selected PUCCH resource . Furthermore per ¶0049 i.e. The second PUCCH resource is used to transmit feedback information for any SPS group-common PDSCH configured with feedback of HARQ-NACK only i.e. the second PUCCH resource can be i.e. configured by a network-side device (such as a base station) i.e. through a parameter SP S-PUCCH-NACKOnly-r17 or SP S-PUCCH-NOnly-r17 as opposed to per ¶0082 i.e. the terminal can select, based on the number of bits of the multiplexed target HARQ-ACK, one PUCCH resource from PUCCH resources configured in SPS-PUCCH-AN-List-r16 i.e. SPS-PUCCH-AN-List-r16 i.e. selected, is different from i.e. SPS-PUCCH-NACKOnly-r17 or SP S-PUCCH-NOnly-r17 reads on: is different from a group-common NACK-only PUCCH resource, where per ¶0049 i.e. configured by a network-side device (such as a base station) i.e. configured through a parameter SP S-PUCCH-NACKOnly-r17 or SP S-PUCCH-NOnly-r17 reads on: indicated to the terminal device);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Yao in view of GOU with teachings of LI, since LI solves a problem of the terminal being unable to clearly determine a feedback resource for feedback information transmission due to the need to report feedback information corresponding to multiple SPS PDSCHs in one given time unit, ensuring the normal reporting of feedback information and improving the performance of the wireless communication system (LI - ¶0028).
Regarding Claim 3. (Previously Presented) Yao in view of GOU and LI teaches: The terminal device of claim 1,
furthermore Yao teaches: wherein the one or more uplink control channel configurations comprise at least one of (note: limitations subsequent to recitation “one of” and the limitations subsequent to which are further separated by a recitation “and” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight)
the following: a first uplink control channel configuration indicating one or more first uplink control channel resources, wherein the one or more first uplink control channel resources comprise PUCCH resources being associated with PUCCH configuration for transmission of HARQ NACK feedback on the at least one HARQ process for the multicast transmissions of the one or more services (Yao FIG. 4 & FIG. 5 & ¶0043 See claim 1 ; ¶0045 See claim 1 ; NOTE DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: i.e. ¶0043 i.e. the exemplary embodiments introduce two PUCCH-ConfigurationList (s) for MBS HARQ-ACK feedback. A first PUCCH-configurationList specific to ACK/NACK based HARQ-ACK feedback for MBS and i.e. a second different PUCCH-ConfigurationList specific to NACK-only based HARQ-ACK feedback for MBS reads on: a first uplink control channel configuration, where, as applied to per FIG. 4 & ¶0040 i.e. the UE 110 receives PUCCH configuration information from the gNB 120A. i.e. The PUCCH configuration information may indicate to the UE 110 the PUCCH resource allocation for HARQ-ACK feedback for MBS i.e. The PUCCH configuration information may indicate and furthermore that per ¶0045 i.e. The UE 110 may identify the PUCCH resources allocated for each service and type of HARQ feedback (e.g., ACK/NACK, NACK-only) using the PUCCH-ConfigurationList parameters referenced above reads on: indicating one or more first uplink control channel resources, where furthermore per ¶0043 i.e. a second different PUCCH-ConfigurationList specific to NACK-only based HARQ-ACK feedback for MBS reads on: wherein the one or more first uplink control channel resources comprise PUCCH resources being associated with PUCCH configuration for transmission of HARQ NACK feedback on the at least one HARQ process for the multicast transmissions of the one or more services i.e. HARQ process associated with NACK-only configuration );
and (note: limitations subsequent to recitation “one of” and the limitations subsequent to which are further separated by a recitation “and” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight)
a second uplink control channel configuration indicating one or more second uplink control channel resources, wherein the one or more second uplink control channel resources comprise PUCCH resources being associated with PUCCH configuration for transmission of HARQ ACK or HARQ NACK feedback on the at least one HARQ process for multicast
or (note: limitations separated by a recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight)
unicast (note: limitations separated by a recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight)
transmission of the one or more services (Yao FIG. 4 & FIG. 5 & ¶0043 See claim 1; ¶0045 See claim 1 ; NOTE DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: i.e. ¶0043 i.e. the exemplary embodiments introduce two PUCCH-ConfigurationList (s) for MBS HARQ-ACK feedback. i.e. A first PUCCH-configurationList specific to ACK/NACK based HARQ-ACK feedback for MBS and i.e. a second different PUCCH-ConfigurationList specific to NACK-only based HARQ-ACK feedback for MBS reads on: a first uplink control channel configuration, where, as applied to per FIG. 4 & ¶0040 i.e. the UE 110 receives PUCCH configuration information from the gNB 120A. i.e. The PUCCH configuration information may indicate to the UE 110 the PUCCH resource allocation for HARQ-ACK feedback for MBS i.e. The PUCCH configuration information may indicate and furthermore that per ¶0045 i.e. The UE 110 may identify the PUCCH resources allocated for each service and type of HARQ feedback (e.g., ACK/NACK, NACK-only) using the PUCCH-ConfigurationList parameters referenced above reads on: indicating one or more first uplink control channel resources, where furthermore per ¶0043 i.e. A first PUCCH-configurationList specific to ACK/NACK based HARQ-ACK feedback for MBS reads on: comprise PUCCH resources being associated with PUCCH configuration for transmission of HARQ ACK or HARQ NACK feedback on the at least one HARQ process for multicast or unicast transmission of the one or more services i.e. HARQ process associated with ACK and NACK configuration for MBS).
Regarding Claim 4. (Original) Yao in view of GOU and LI teaches: The terminal device of claim 3,
furthermore Yao teaches: wherein the one or more uplink control channel configurations further comprise assistance information, the assistance information comprising a mapping between the PUCCH resource for the transmission of the multiplexed HARQ feedback and a size of the multiplexed HARQ feedback (Yao FIG. 4, FIG. 5 & FIG. 6 ¶0043 See claim 1; ¶0045 See Claim1; ¶0056 […] the UE 110 may be configured to support both NACK-only based HARQ-ACK feedback and ACK/NACK based HARQ-ACK feedback. In one approach, the use of ACK/NACK feedback may be independent from the use of NACK-only feedback. With this approach, if the number of bits required for NACK-only based HARQ-ACK feedback is beyond a PUCCH payload size (e.g., 3 bits, etc.); ¶0057 […] if the UE 110 supports NACK-only based HARQ feedback, the UE 110 also supports ACK/NACK based HARQ-ACK feedback. Thus, if the number of bits required for NACK-only based HARQ-ACK feedback is beyond a PUCCH payload size (e.g., 3 bits, etc.), the UE 110 may utilize the ACK/NACK based HARQ-ACK feedback procedure; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0043 i.e. UE 110 may receive three different PUCCH-ConfigurationList parameters as applied to ¶0056 i.e. the UE 110 may be configured to support both NACK-only based HARQ-ACK feedback and ACK/NACK based HARQ-ACK feedback reads on: wherein the one or more uplink control channel configurations and per ¶0056 i.e. this approach, if the number of bits required for NACK-only based HARQ-ACK feedback is beyond a PUCCH payload size (e.g., 3 bits, etc.) and per ¶0057 i.e. if the number of bits required for NACK-only based HARQ-ACK feedback is beyond a PUCCH payload size (e.g., 3 bits, etc.) reads on: further comprise assistance information , where per ¶0056 & ¶0057 i.e. if the number of bits required for NACK-only based HARQ-ACK feedback is beyond a PUCCH payload size (e.g., 3 bits, etc.) reads on: the assistance information comprising a mapping between the PUCCH resource for the transmission of the multiplexed HARQ feedback per ¶0057 i.e. the UE 110 may utilize the ACK/NACK based HARQ-ACK feedback procedure reads on: and a size of the multiplexed HARQ feedback as transmitted).
Regarding Claim 5. (Original) Yao in view of GOU and LI teaches: The terminal device of claim 4,
furthermore Yao teaches: wherein the selecting the PUCCH resource comprises: selecting the PUCCH resource based at least on the size of the multiplexed HARQ feedback and the assistance information (Yao FIG. 4, FIG. 5 & FIG. 6 ¶0043 See claim 1; ¶0045 See Claim1; ¶0056 see above; ¶0057 See above; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0057 i.e. if the number of bits required for NACK-only based HARQ-ACK feedback is beyond a PUCCH payload size (e.g., 3 bits, etc.), per ¶0057 i.e. the UE 110 may utilize the ACK/NACK based HARQ-ACK feedback procedure reads on wherein the selecting the PUCCH resource comprises: selecting the PUCCH resource , furthermore where per FIG. 6 step 635 & ¶0056 & ¶0057 i.e. if the number of bits required for NACK-only based HARQ-ACK feedback is beyond a PUCCH payload size (e.g., 3 bits, etc.) reads on: based at least on the size of the multiplexed HARQ feedback and the assistance information ).
Regarding Claim 8. (Currently Amended) Yao teaches: A network device (Yao FIG. 2 & FIG. 4 ¶0028 […] an exemplary UE 110; ¶0038 […] signaling diagram 400 includes the UE 110 and the gNB 120A; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0038 the gNB 120A reads on: A network device)
(See the rejection of Claim 1, Claim 8 recites features in conjunction with a network that are similar, parallel and reciprocal to the features of Claim 1 in conjunction with a terminal device, where for example “receiving” as attributed to the terminal device corresponds to reciprocal feature “transmitting” as attributed to the network device, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 1 applies similarly to Claim 8. Where applicable, minor differences between claims are noted as appropriate)
comprising: at least one processor; and at least one memory comprising computer program code, the at least one memory and the computer program code being configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the network device to perform (Yao FIG. 3 & ¶0034 […]The processor 305 may be configured to execute a plurality of engines of the base station 300; ¶0036 […]memory 310 may be a hardware component configured to store data related to operations performed by the base station 300; ¶0075 a program containing lines of code stored on a non-transitory computer readable storage medium that, when compiled, may be executed on a processor or microprocessor; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per as applied to ¶0034 processor 305 i.e. ¶0075 i.e. executed on a processor or microprocessor reads on: comprising: at least one processor , and as applied to ¶0036 i.e. memory arrangement 310 - ¶0075 i.e. a program containing lines of code stored on a non-transitory computer readable storage medium that, when compiled, may be executed reads on: and at least one memory comprising computer program code, the at least one memory and the computer program code being configured to , per ¶0075 i.e. may be executed on a processor or microprocessor reads on: with the at least one processor, and furthermore per ¶0034 i.e. processor 305 may be configured to execute a plurality of engines of the base station reads on: cause the network device to perform ):
transmitting, to a terminal device, one or more uplink control channel configurations for transmitting hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) feedback for multicast transmissions of one or more services(Yao FIG. 4 & Abstract & ¶0014 See claim 1 ; ¶0040 See Claim 1; ¶0043 See claim 1; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0038 i.e. the UE 110 receives reads on: transmitting , per ¶0040 i.e. PUCCH configuration information from the gNB 120A reads on: to a terminal device. Furthermore per ¶0040 i.e. PUCCH configuration information reads on: one or more uplink control channel configurations such as per ¶0043 i.e. UE 110 may receive three different PUCCH-ConfigurationList parameters, e.g., one for unicast HARQ/ACK feedback and two for multicast HARQ/ACK feedback. Furthermore, per ¶0040 i.e. The PUCCH configuration information may indicate to the UE 110 the PUCCH resource allocation for HARQ-ACK feedback reads on: for transmitting hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) feedback , and per Abstract, ¶0014 , and ¶0040 i.e. for MBS i.e. Multicast Broadcast Service (MBS) reads on: for multicast transmissions of one or more services ),
the one or more services being configured to transmit at least one HARQ negative acknowledgement (NACK) when at least one transmission of the multicast transmissions of the one or more services on at least one HARQ process between the terminal device and the network device is received unsuccessfully at the terminal device, and to ignore transmitting of at least one HARQ acknowledgement (ACK) when the at least one transmission of the multicast transmissions on the least one HARQ process is received successfully at the terminal device;
performing the multicast transmissions of the one or more services to at least the terminal device (Yao FIG. 4 & ¶0040 See Claim 1; ¶0043 See Claim 1; ¶0045 See claim 1; ¶0046 See Claim 1; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0045 i.e. 415, the gNB 120A transmits information and/or data reads on: performing. Furthermore per ¶0045 i.e. transmits information and/or data to the UE 110 where per ¶0046 i.e. If the transmission in 415 was part of a MBS session reads on: the multicast transmissions of the one or more services per ¶0045 i.e. to the UE 110 reads on: to at least the terminal device);
and receiving, from the terminal device, a multiplexed HARQ feedback from a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) resource (Yao FIG. 4 & FIG. 5 & ¶0040 See Claim 1;¶0045 See Claim 1; ¶0050 See Claim 1; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: (Yao FIG. 4 & FIG. 5 & ¶0040 See above; ¶0045 See above; ¶0050 See above; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: Per ¶0045 , furthermore as applied to and per ¶0047 […] PUCCH resource allocation for NACK-only based HARQ-ACK feedback and ¶0045 i.e. In 420, the UE 110 transmits reads on: and receiving, from the terminal device per ¶0045 i.e. HARQ feedback to the gNB 120A where per ¶0052 i.e. the HARQ-ACK bit ordering comprises the HARQ-ACK bit for MBS session 1 ordered first in the time domain and the HARQ-ACK bit for session 4 ordered second in the time domain reads on: a multiplexed HARQ feedback , Furthermore, per ¶0045 i.e. The UE 110 may identify the PUCCH resources allocated for each service and type of HARQ feedback (e.g., ACK/NACK, NACK-only) using the PUCCH-ConfigurationList parameters referenced above and per ¶0050 i.e. When the PUCCH resource allocation is common to a group of UEs, a particular UE may select a PUCCH resource reads on: from a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) resource i.e. associated with one or more subscribed MBS sessions from a PUCCH resource pool),
wherein the multiplexed HARQ feedback comprises more than one bit indicating that a corresponding transmission of the multicast transmission of the one or more services is unsuccessfully received at the terminal device on the at least one HARQ process (Yao FIG. 4 & ¶0039 See claim 1; ¶0040 See Claim 1; ¶0043 See Claim 1; ¶0046 See Claim 1; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0046 i.e. If the transmission in 415 was part of a MBS session, the HARQ feedback may be transmitted over the PUCCH , i.e. where per ¶0052 i.e. the HARQ-ACK bit ordering comprises the HARQ-ACK bit for MBS session 1 ordered first in the time domain and the HARQ-ACK bit for session 4 ordered second in the time domain reads on: wherein the multiplexed HARQ feedback comprises more than one bit using the PUCCH resources allocated for multicast where per ¶0039 UE 110 is capable of for multicast (e.g., ACK/NACK based HARQ-ACK feedback or NACK-only HARQ-ACK feedback). Furthermore per where per ¶0046 i.e. If the transmission in 415 was part of a MBS session for the NACK-only based HARQ-ACK feedback may transmit i.e. NACK feedback transmit NACK feedback i.e. if the transmission in 415 was not successfully received reads on: indicating that corresponding transmission of the multicast transmission is unsuccessfully received at the terminal device i.e. MBS configured for NACK only based HARQ-ACK process reads on: on the at least one HARQ process),
the PUCCH resource being determined based at least on the one or more uplink control channel configurations, wherein the PUCCH resource is a PUCCH resource associated with a PUCCH configuration for transmission of HARQ ACK and/or HARQ NACK feedback for multicast or unicast transmission of the one or more services (Yao FIG. 4 & FIG. 5 & ¶0040 See Claim 1;¶0045 See Claim 1; ¶0050 See claim 1; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0050 i.e. When the PUCCH resource allocation is common to a group of UEs, a particular UE may select a PUCCH resource associated with one or more subscribed MBS sessions from a PUCCH resource pool reads on: the PUCCH resource being determined, and per ¶0050 i.e. to report the HARQ-ACK feedback. Furthermore where, as applied to per FIG. 4 & ¶0040 i.e. the UE 110 receives PUCCH configuration information from the gNB 120A. i.e. The PUCCH configuration information may indicate to the UE 110 the PUCCH resource allocation for HARQ-ACK feedback for MBS i.e. The PUCCH configuration information may indicate and furthermore that per ¶0045 i.e. The UE 110 may identify the PUCCH resources allocated for each service and type of HARQ feedback (e.g., ACK/NACK, NACK-only) using the PUCCH-ConfigurationList parameters referenced above reads on: based at least on the one or more uplink control channel configurations, per ¶0043 i.e. the UE 110 may receive three different PUCCH-ConfigurationList parameters, e.g., one for unicast HARQ/ACK feedback and two for multicast HARQ/ACK feedback reads on: wherein the PUCCH resource is a PUCCH resource associated with a PUCCH configuration for transmission of HARQ ACK and/or HARQ NACK feedback for multicast or unicast transmission of the one or more services).
and wherein the PUCCH resource is a group-common NACK-only PUCCH resource indicated to the terminal device (Yao FIG. 4 & FIG. 5 & ¶0040 See Claim 1; ¶0045 See Claim 1; ¶0047 See claim 1; ¶0050 See Claim 1; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0047 i.e. & ¶0050 PUCCH resource allocation for NACK-only based HARQ-ACK feedback may be common to a group of UEs reads on: and wherein the selected PUCCH resource is a group-common NACK-only PUCCH resource indicated to the terminal device).
While Yao teaches wherein the multiplexed HARQ feedback comprises more than one bit indicating that corresponding transmission of the multicast transmission is unsuccessfully received as noted above where per ¶0052 i.e. the HARQ-ACK bit ordering comprises the HARQ-ACK bit for MBS session 1 ordered first in the time domain and the HARQ-ACK bit for session 4 ordered second in the time domain reads on: wherein the multiplexed HARQ feedback comprises more than one bit using the PUCCH resources allocated for multicast where per ¶0039 UE 110 is capable of for multicast (e.g., ACK/NACK based HARQ-ACK feedback or NACK-only HARQ-ACK feedback). Furthermore per where per ¶0046 i.e. If the transmission in 415 was part of a MBS session for the NACK-only based HARQ-ACK feedback may transmit i.e. NACK feedback transmit NACK feedback i.e. if the transmission in 415 was not successfully received reads on: indicating that corresponding transmission of the multicast transmission is unsuccessfully received at the terminal device, Yao while explicit about HARQ-ACK bits and a NACK feedback i.e. indicating multicast transmission is unsuccessfully received, Yao appears to imply one bit indicating, and as such,
Yao does not appear to explicitly teach or strongly suggest (note i.e. see italicized portions): one bit indicating;
GOU teaches: wherein the multiplexed HARQ feedback comprises more than one bit indicating that a corresponding transmission of the multicast transmission of the one or more services is unsuccessfully received at the terminal device on the at least one HARQ process (GOU FIG. 1A FIG. 1B & ¶0024 See claim 1 ; ¶0027 see claim 1; ¶0077 See claim 1; ¶0084 See claim 1; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0084 UE resolves the overlap between 2 NACK only PUCCHs of MBS service to obtain a multiplexed PUCCH4 and per ¶0077 i.e. Then concatenate the converted 1 bit information to obtain a final bits reads on: wherein the multiplexed HARQ feedback. Furthermore i.e. ¶0084 UE resolves the overlap between 2 NACK only PUCCHs of MBS service to obtain a multiplexed PUCCH4 and per ¶0077 i.e. Then concatenate the converted 1 bit information to obtain a final bits information, and transmit the final bits information in the additional PUCCH1 or PUCCH2 according to the size of the final bits information reads on: comprises more than one bit. Furthermore, per ¶0024 i.e. When the UE does not receive the MBS service correctly, the UE transmits NACK only PUCCH in the PUCCH resource corresponding to the MBS service and per ¶0077 i.e. if the UE only has multiple NACK only PUCCH resources overlapping in the time domain in a slot/subslot and applied to i.e. ¶0084 […] FIG. 1B, in a slot/subslot, the two NACK only PUCCHs of the MBS service reads on: indicating that a corresponding transmission of the multicast transmission of the one or more services is unsuccessfully received at the terminal device. Furthermore i.e. ¶0077 i.e. if the UE only has multiple NACK only PUCCH resources overlapping in the time domain in a slot/subslot and applied to i.e. ¶0084 […] FIG. 1B, in a slot/subslot, the two NACK only PUCCHs reads on: on the at least one HARQ process per ¶0084 and ¶0024 i.e. of the MBS service);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Yao with teachings of GOU, since GOU enables methods to reduce the overhead of hybrid automatic repeat request acknowledgement (HARQ-ACK) feedback and the number of HARQ-ACK physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) transmissions including broadcast service (GOU - ¶0024).
While Yao in view of GOU teaches: A networking device comprising: at least one memory comprising computer program code, the at least one memory and the computer program code being configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the network device to perform: transmitting, to a terminal device, one or more uplink control channel configurations for transmitting hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) feedback for multicast transmissions of one or more services, the one or more services being configured to transmit at least one HARQ negative acknowledgement (NACK) when at least one transmission of the multicast transmissions of the one or more services on at least one HARQ process between the terminal device and the network device is received unsuccessfully at the terminal device, and to ignore transmitting of at least one HARQ acknowledgement (ACK) when the at least one transmission of the multicast transmissions on the least one HARQ process is received successfully at the terminal device; performing the multicast transmissions of the one or more services to at least the terminal device; and receiving, from the terminal device, a multiplexed HARQ feedback from a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) resource, wherein the multiplexed HARQ feedback comprises more than one bit indicating that a corresponding transmission of the multicast transmission of the one or more services is unsuccessfully received at the terminal device on the at least one HARQ process, the PUCCH resource being determined based at least on the one or more uplink control channel configurations, wherein the PUCCH resource is a PUCCH resource associated with a PUCCH configuration for transmission of HARQ ACK and/or HARQ NACK feedback for multicast or unicast transmission of the one or more services, and wherein the PUCCH resource is a group-common NACK-only PUCCH resource indicated to the terminal device.
Yao in view of GOU does not appear to explicitly teach or strongly suggest (note i.e. see italicized portions of claim limitations): PUCCH resource is different from a group-common NACK-only PUCCH resource;
Li teaches: wherein the PUCCH resource is a PUCCH resource associated with a PUCCH configuration for transmission of HARQ ACK and/or HARQ NACK feedback for multicast or unicast transmission of the one or more services, and wherein the PUCCH resource is different from a group-common NACK-only PUCCH resource indicated to the terminal device (Li - ¶0048 See claim 1 ; ¶0049 See claim 1 ;¶0082 See claim 1;
NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: Per ¶0082 in a case that PUCCH-config corresponding to the SPS unicast PDSCH does not include one or more PUCCH resources used for reporting HARQ-ACK for SPS unicast PDSCH, for example, in a case that SPS-PUCCH-AN-List-r16 is not configured, but PUCCH-config corresponding to the SPS group-common PDSCH includes one or more PUCCH resources used for reporting HARQ-ACK for the SPS unicast PDSCH, i.e. in a case that SPS-PUCCH-AN-List-r16 is configured, the terminal can select, based on the number of bits of the multiplexed target HARQ-ACK, one PUCCH resource from PUCCH resources configured in i.e. SPS-PUCCH-AN-List-r16 reads on: wherein the PUCCH resource is a PUCCH resource associated with a PUCCH configuration for transmission of HARQ ACK and/or HARQ NACK feedback , per ¶0082 i.e. in a case that PUCCH-config corresponding to the SPS unicast PDSCH does not include one or more PUCCH resources used for reporting HARQ-ACK for SPS unicast PDSCH, i.e., in a case that SPS-PUCCH-AN-List-r16 is not configured, but PUCCH-config corresponding to the SPS group-common PDSCH includes one or more PUCCH resources used for reporting HARQ-ACK for the SPS unicast PDSCH, applied to i.e. the SPS group-common PDSCH and i.e. corresponding to the SPS unicast PDSCH reads on: for multicast or unicast transmission of the one or more services , furthermore per ¶0082 i.e. in a case that SPS-PUCCH-AN-List-r16 is configured, the terminal can select, i.e. one PUCCH resource from PUCCH resources configured in SPS-PUCCH-AN-List-r16 corresponding to the SPS group-common PDSCH reads on: and wherein the PUCCH resource . Furthermore per ¶0049 i.e. The second PUCCH resource is used to transmit feedback information for any SPS group-common PDSCH configured with feedback of HARQ-NACK only i.e. the second PUCCH resource can be i.e. configured by a network-side device (such as a base station) i.e. through a parameter SP S-PUCCH-NACKOnly-r17 or SP S-PUCCH-NOnly-r17 as opposed to per ¶0082 i.e. the terminal can select, based on the number of bits of the multiplexed target HARQ-ACK, one PUCCH resource from PUCCH resources configured in SPS-PUCCH-AN-List-r16 i.e. SPS-PUCCH-AN-List-r16 i.e. selected, is different from i.e. SPS-PUCCH-NACKOnly-r17 or SP S-PUCCH-NOnly-r17 reads on: is different from a group-common NACK-only PUCCH resource, where per ¶0049 i.e. configured by a network-side device (such as a base station) i.e. configured through a parameter SP S-PUCCH-NACKOnly-r17 or SP S-PUCCH-NOnly-r17 reads on: indicated to the terminal device);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Yao in view of GOU with teachings of LI, since LI solves a problem of the terminal being unable to clearly determine a feedback resource for feedback information transmission due to the need to report feedback information corresponding to multiple SPS PDSCHs in one given time unit, ensuring the normal reporting of feedback information and improving the performance of the wireless communication system (LI - ¶0028).
(See the rejection of Claim 1, Claim 8 recites features in conjunction with a network that are similar, parallel and reciprocal to the features of Claim 1 in conjunction with a terminal device, where for example “receiving” as attributed to the terminal device corresponds to reciprocal feature “transmitting” as attributed to the network device, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 1 applies similarly to Claim 8. Where applicable, minor differences between claims are noted as appropriate).
Regarding Claim 10. (Previously Presented) Yao in view of GOU and LI teaches: The network device of claim 8, (See the rejection of Claim 3, Claim 10 recites features in conjunction with a network that are similar, parallel and reciprocal to the features of Claim 3 in conjunction with a terminal device, where for example “receiving” as attributed to the terminal device corresponds to reciprocal feature “transmitting” as attributed to the network device, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 3 applies similarly to Claim 10. Where applicable, minor differences between claims are noted as appropriate)
wherein the one or more uplink control channel configurations comprise at least one of following: a first uplink control channel configuration indicating one or more first uplink control channel resources, wherein the one or more first uplink control channel resources comprise PUCCH resources being associated with PUCCH configuration for transmission of HARQ NACK feedback on the at least one HARQ process for the multicast transmissions of the one or more services; and a second uplink control channel configuration indicating one or more second uplink control channel resources, wherein the one or more second uplink control channel resources comprise PUCCH resources being associated with PUCCH configuration for transmission of HARQ ACK or HARQ NACK feedback on the at least one HARQ process for multicast or unicast transmission of the one or more services (See the rejection of Claim 3, Claim 10 recites features in conjunction with a network that are similar, parallel and reciprocal to the features of Claim 3 in conjunction with a terminal device, where for example “receiving” as attributed to the terminal device corresponds to reciprocal feature “transmitting” as attributed to the network device, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 3 applies similarly to Claim 10. Where applicable, minor differences between claims are noted as appropriate).
Regarding Claim 11. (Original) Yao in view of GOU and LI teaches: The network device of claim 10,
(See the rejection of Claim 4, Claim 11 recites features in conjunction with a network that are similar, parallel and reciprocal to the features of Claim 4 in conjunction with a terminal device, where for example “receiving” as attributed to the terminal device corresponds to reciprocal feature “transmitting” as attributed to the network device, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 4 applies similarly to Claim 11. Where applicable, minor differences between claims are noted as appropriate)
furthermore Yao teaches: wherein the one or more uplink control channel configurations further comprise assistance information, the assistance information comprising a mapping between a PUCCH resource for a transmission of the multiplexed HARQ feedback and a size of the multiplexed HARQ feedback (Yao FIG. 4, FIG. 5 & FIG. 6 ¶0043 See claim 1; ¶0045 See Claim1; ¶0056 See claim 4; ¶0057 See claim 4; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0043 i.e. UE 110 may receive three different PUCCH-ConfigurationList parameters as applied to ¶0056 i.e. the UE 110 may be configured to support both NACK-only based HARQ-ACK feedback and ACK/NACK based HARQ-ACK feedback reads on: wherein the one or more uplink control channel configurations and per ¶0056 i.e. this approach, if the number of bits required for NACK-only based HARQ-ACK feedback is beyond a PUCCH payload size (e.g., 3 bits, etc.) and per ¶0057 i.e. if the number of bits required for NACK-only based HARQ-ACK feedback is beyond a PUCCH payload size (e.g., 3 bits, etc.) reads on: further comprise assistance information , where per ¶0056 & ¶0057 i.e. if the number of bits required for NACK-only based HARQ-ACK feedback is beyond a PUCCH payload size (e.g., 3 bits, etc.) reads on: the assistance information comprising a mapping between the PUCCH resource for a transmission of the multiplexed HARQ feedback per ¶0057 i.e. the UE 110 may utilize the ACK/NACK based HARQ-ACK feedback procedure reads on: and a size of the multiplexed HARQ feedback as transmitted)
(See the rejection of Claim 4, Claim 11 recites features in conjunction with a network that are similar, parallel and reciprocal to the features of Claim 4 in conjunction with a terminal device, where for example “receiving” as attributed to the terminal device corresponds to reciprocal feature “transmitting” as attributed to the network device, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 4 applies similarly to Claim 11. Where applicable, minor differences between claims are noted as appropriate).
Regarding Claim 13. (Currently Amended) Yao teaches: A method implemented at a terminal device in a communication network(Yao FIG. 2 & FIG. 4 ¶0028 […] an exemplary UE 110; ¶0038 […] signaling diagram 400 includes the UE 110 and the gNB 120A ; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0038 signaling diagram 400 reads on: A method , includes the UE 110 reads on: implemented at a terminal device in a communication network),
(See the rejection of Claim 1, Claim 13 recites similar and parallel features to Claim 1, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 1 applies similarly to Claim 13. Where applicable, minor differences between claims are noted as appropriate) comprising: receiving, from a network device, one or more uplink control channel configurations for transmitting hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) feedback for multicast transmissions of one or more services, the one or more services being configured to transmit at least one HARQ negative acknowledgement (NACK) when at least one transmission of the multicast transmissions on at least one HARQ process between the terminal device and the network device is received unsuccessfully at the terminal device, and to ignore transmitting of at least one HARQ acknowledgement (ACK) when the at least one transmission of the multicast transmissions on the at least one HARQ process is received successfully at the terminal device; receiving, from the network device, the multicast transmissions of the one or more services; converting HARQ feedback bits of the HARQ feedback to converted HARQ feedback bits for the multicast transmissions of the one or more services by interpreting a HARQ feedback bit of the HARQ feedback bits as a NACK bit when a transmission of the multicast transmissions of the one or more services is unsuccessfully received on the at least one HARQ process or as an ACK bit when a transmission of the multicast transmissions of the one or more services is successfully received on the at least one HARQ process, the converted HARQ feedback bits comprising more than one bit; multiplexing the converted HARQ feedback bits into a multiplexed HARQ feedback; selecting a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) resource for transmission of the multiplexed HARQ feedback based at least on the one or more uplink control channel configurations, wherein the selected PUCCH resource is a PUCCH resource associated with a PUCCH configuration for transmission of HARQ ACK and/or HARQ NACK feedback for multicast or unicast transmission of the one or more services, and wherein the selected PUCCH resource is different from a group-common NACK-only PUCCH resource indicated to the terminal device; and transmitting the multiplexed HARQ feedback using the PUCCH resource selected for transmission of the multiplexed HARQ feedback (See the rejection of Claim 1, Claim 13 recites similar and parallel features to Claim 1, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 1 applies similarly to Claim 13. Where applicable, minor differences between claims are noted as appropriate).
Regarding Claim 15. (Previously Presented) Yao in view of GOU and LI teaches: The method of claim 13,
(See the rejection of Claim 3, Claim 15 recites similar and parallel features to Claim 3, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 3 applies similarly to Claim 15. Where applicable, minor differences between claims are noted as appropriate) wherein the one or more uplink control channel configurations comprise at least one of the following: a first uplink control channel configuration indicating one or more first uplink control channel resources, wherein the one or more first uplink control channel resources comprise PUCCH resources being associated with PUCCH configuration for transmission of HARQ NACK feedback on the at least one HARQ process for the multicast transmission of the one or more services; and a second uplink control channel configuration indicating one or more second uplink control channel resources, wherein the one or more second uplink control channel resources comprise PUCCH resources being associated with PUCCH configuration for transmission of HARQ ACK (See the rejection of Claim 3, Claim 15 recites similar and parallel features to Claim 3, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 3 applies similarly to Claim 15. Where applicable, minor differences between claims are noted as appropriate).
Regarding Claim 16. (Original) Yao in view of GOU and LI teaches: The method of claim 15,
(See the rejection of Claim 4, Claim 16 recites similar and parallel features to Claim 4, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 4 applies similarly to Claim 16. Where applicable, minor differences between claims are noted as appropriate) wherein the one or more uplink control channel configurations further comprise assistance information, the assistance information comprising a mapping between the PUCCH resource for the transmission of the multiplexed HARQ feedback and a size of the multiplexed HARQ feedback(See the rejection of Claim 4, Claim 16 recites similar and parallel features to Claim 4, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 4 applies similarly to Claim 16. Where applicable, minor differences between claims are noted as appropriate).
Regarding Claim 17. (Original) Yao in view of GOU and LI teaches: The method of claim 16, (See the rejection of Claim 5, Claim 17 recites similar and parallel features to Claim 5, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 5 applies similarly to Claim 17. Where applicable, minor differences between claims are noted as appropriate). wherein the selecting the PUCCH resource comprises: selecting the PUCCH resource based at least on the size of the multiplexed HARQ feedback and the assistance information (See the rejection of Claim 5, Claim 17 recites similar and parallel features to Claim 5, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 5 applies similarly to Claim 17. Where applicable, minor differences between claims are noted as appropriate).
Regarding Claim 20. (Currently Amended) Yao teaches: A method implemented at a network device in a communication network (Yao FIG. 2 & FIG. 4 ¶0028 […] an exemplary UE 110; ¶0038 […] signaling diagram 400 includes the UE 110 and the gNB 120A; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0038 signaling diagram 400 reads on: A method includes the UE 110 and the gNB 120A reads on: implemented at a network device in a communication network),
(See the rejection of Claim 8, Claim 20 recites similar and parallel features to Claim 8, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 8 applies similarly to Claim 20. Where applicable, minor differences between claims are noted as appropriate) comprising: transmitting to a terminal device, one or more uplink control channel configurations for transmitting hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) feedback for multicast transmissions of one or more services, the one or more services being configured to transmit at least one HARQ negative acknowledgement (NACK) when at least one transmission of the multicast transmissions on at least one HARQ process between the terminal device and the network device is received unsuccessfully at the terminal device, and to ignore transmitting of at least one HARQ acknowledgement (ACK) when the at least one transmission of the multicast transmissions on the at least one HARQ process is received successfully at the terminal device; performing the multicast transmissions of the one or more services to at least the terminal device; and receiving, from the terminal device, a multiplexed HARQ feedback from a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) resource, wherein the multiplexed HARQ feedback comprises more than one bit indicating that a corresponding transmission of the multicast transmission of the one or more services is unsuccessfully received at the terminal device on the at least one HARQ process, the PUCCH resource being determined based at least on the one or more uplink control channel configurations, wherein the PUCCH resource is a PUCCH resource associated with a PUCCH configuration for transmission of HARQ ACK and/or HARQ NACK feedback for multicast or unicast transmission of the one or more services, and wherein the PUCCH resource is different from a group-common NACK-only PUCCH resource indicated to the terminal device (See the rejection of Claim 8, Claim 20 recites similar and parallel features to Claim 8, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 8 applies similarly to Claim 20. Where applicable, minor differences between claims are noted as appropriate).
Regarding Claim 22. (Previously Presented) Yao in view of GOU and LI teaches: The method of claim 20, (See the rejection of Claim 10, Claim 22 recites similar and parallel features to Claim 10, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 10 applies similarly to Claim 22. Where applicable, minor differences between claims are noted as appropriate) wherein the one or more uplink control channel configurations comprise at least one of following: a first uplink control channel configuration indicating one or more first uplink control channel resources, wherein the one or more first uplink control channel resources comprise PUCCH resources being associated with PUCCH configuration for transmission of HARQ NACK feedback on the at least one HARQ process for the multicast transmissions of the one or more services; and a second uplink control channel configuration indicating one or more second uplink control channel resources, wherein the one or more second uplink control channel resources comprise PUCCH resources being associated with PUCCH configuration for transmission of HARQ ACK or HARQ NACK feedback on the at least one HARQ process for multicast or unicast transmission of the one or more services (See the rejection of Claim 10, Claim 22 recites similar and parallel features to Claim 10, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 10 applies similarly to Claim 22. Where applicable, minor differences between claims are noted as appropriate).
12. Claims 2, 6, 9, 12, 14, 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yao in view of GOU and LI, further in view of TAKEDA et al. (US 20210014647 A1) i.e. “TAKEDA”.
Regarding Claim 2. (Previously Presented) Yao in view of GOU and LI teaches: The terminal device of claim 1,
furthermore Yao teaches: wherein the multiplexing the converted HARQ feedback bits into the multiplexed HARQ feedback comprises: concatenating the converted HARQ feedback bits in an ascending or descending order of PUCCH resource indicators (PRIs) (Yao FIG. 4 & Fig. 5 & ¶0051 […] there is a predefined association between G-RNTI, MBS sessions and PUCCH resources. When the UE 110 determines the order in the time domain of the PDSCH for its subscribed one or more MBS sessions, the UE 110 may identify the PUCCH resource for the HARQ-ACK feedback based on the association between PUCCH resources and an order of HARQ-ACK bits; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0047 […] PUCCH resource allocation for NACK-only based HARQ-ACK feedback may be common to a group of UEs where, as applied to FIG. 4 per FIG. 5 & ¶0052 i.e. Case 1 UE 1 may be subscribed to MBS session 1 and MBS session 4 and i.e. the HARQ-ACK bit ordering, i.e. comprises the HARQ-ACK bit for MBS session 1 ordered first in the time domain and the HARQ-ACK bit for session 4 ordered second reads on: the multiplexing in the time domain, where i.e. the HARQ-ACK bit for MBS session 1 ordered first in the time domain and the HARQ-ACK bit for session 4 ordered second reads on: the converted HARQ feedback bits . Furthermore per ¶0052 i.e. the HARQ-ACK bit ordering i.e. the HARQ-ACK bit for MBS session 1 ordered first in the time domain and the HARQ-ACK bit for session 4 ordered second in the time domain reads on: into the multiplexed , furthermore as applied to and per ¶0047 […] PUCCH resource allocation for NACK-only based HARQ-ACK feedback and ¶0045 i.e. In 420, the UE 110 transmits HARQ feedback to the gNB 120A reads on: HARQ feedback, furthermore per ¶0052 i.e. i.e. Case 1 UE 1 may be subscribed to MBS session 1 and MBS session 4 and i.e. the HARQ-ACK bit ordering, i.e. comprises the HARQ-ACK bit for MBS session 1 ordered first in the time domain and the HARQ-ACK bit for session 4 ordered second reads on: concatenating the converted HARQ feedback bits in an ascending order, where per ¶0051 i.e. there is a predefined association between G-RNTI, MBS sessions and PUCCH resources i.e. UE 110 may identify the PUCCH resource for the HARQ-ACK feedback based on i.e. the association between PUCCH resources( i.e. G-RNTI as depicted in FIG. 5 and predefined association) and an order of HARQ-ACK bits reads on: of PUCCH resource indicators (PRIs) );
Yao in view of GOU and LI does not appear to explicitly teach or strongly suggest (note i.e. see italicized portions): in more than one downlink control information (DCI) to the terminal device from the network device, the more than one DCI scheduling PUCCH resources for transmitting HARQ feedback;
TAKEDA teaches: the multiplexing the converted HARQ feedback bits into the multiplexed HARQ feedback comprises: concatenating the converted HARQ feedback bits in an ascending or descending order of PUCCH resource indicators (PRIs) in more than one downlink control information (DCI) to the terminal device from the network device, the more than one DCI scheduling PUCCH resources for transmitting the HARQ feedback for the multicast transmissions of the one or more services (TAKEDA – FIG. 8A-8B-8C & ¶0101 […]the UE may determine a PUCCH resource(s) based on the PRI in the latest scheduling DCI among the DCIs scheduling unicast data and MC/BC data whose ACK/NACK bits are multiplexed on the PUCCH. When the latest scheduled DCI corresponds to unicast data, the UE may determine a PUCCH resource(s) based on the PRI of the latest unicast data and the configurations of PUCCH resources/PUCCH resource sets configured for unicast AF. When the latest scheduled DCI corresponds to MC/BC data, the UE determines a PUCCH resource(s) based on the PRI of the latest MC/BC data and the configurations of PUCCH resources/PUCCH resource sets configured for MC/BC AF ; ¶0118 […] referring to FIGS. 6-8C, the UE 602 may concurrently transmit the MC/BC AF 612 with the unicast AF using CDM in the second PUCCH resource including unicast and MC/BC AF 728, and the bits 808, 828, 874 in the HARQ-ACK CB corresponding to the MC/BC AF 612 may be appended to an end of the bits 810, 830, 870 in the HARQ-ACK CB […] the UE may append the MC/BC AF 612 (e.g. bit 828) to the end of the unicast ACK/NACK feedback (e.g. bits 830) within the HARQ ACK/NACK codebook in response to receiving the unicast data 826 after the MC/BC data 824 as illustrated in FIG. 8B. In another example, when determining the second PUCCH resource associated with the HARQ ACK/NACK codebook, the UE may determine the second PUCCH resource based on a PUCCH resource indicator (PRI) in a latest scheduling DCI among the unicast data and the MC/BC data; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per FIG. 8B ¶0118 i.e. the UE may append the MC/BC AF 612 (e.g. bit 828) to the end of the unicast ACK/NACK feedback (e.g. bits 830) within the HARQ ACK/NACK codebook reads on: the multiplexing the converted HARQ feedback bits into the multiplexed HARQ feedback comprises: concatenating the converted HARQ feedback bits , where furthermore i.e. when determining the second PUCCH resource associated with the HARQ ACK/NACK codebook, the UE may determine the second PUCCH resource based on a PUCCH resource indicator (PRI) in a latest scheduling DCI reads on: in an ascending order of PUCCH resource indicators (PRIs) i.e. the latest PRI in DCI received in among the unicast data and the MC/BC data. Furthermore per ¶0118 i.e. a latest scheduling DCI among the unicast data and the MC/BC data where per ¶0101 i.e. the UE may determine a PUCCH resource(s) based on the PRI in the latest scheduling DCI among the DCIs scheduling unicast data and MC/BC data reads on: in more than one downlink control information (DCI) to the terminal device from the network device , per ¶0101 i.e. a PUCCH resource(s) based on the PRI in the latest scheduling DCI among the DCIs reads on: the more than one DCI scheduling PUCCH resources , where further per ¶0101 i.e. the UE may determine a PUCCH resource(s) based on the PRI of the latest unicast data and i.e. the UE determines a PUCCH resource(s) based on the PRI of the latest MC/BC data and the configurations of PUCCH resources/PUCCH resource sets configured for MC/BC AF, and furthermore per ¶0118 i.e. the UE may append the MC/BC AF 612 (e.g. bit 828) to the end of the unicast ACK/NACK feedback (e.g. bits 830) within the HARQ ACK/NACK codebook reads on: for the multicast transmissions of the one or more services );
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Yao in view of GOU and LI with teachings of TAKEDA, since TAKEDA enables an error-control method for data transmission that uses acknowledgements can be utilized to detect and to correct packet errors, and improve the reliability of MC/BC data transmissions (TAKEDA - ¶0069; ¶0070).
Regarding Claim 6. (Original) Yao in view of GOU and LI teaches: The terminal device of claim 1,
furthermore Yao teaches: wherein the selecting the PUCCH resource comprises: selecting the PUCCH resource from the one or more uplink control channel configurations according to an indicator in a DCI that has been decoded by the terminal device (Yao FIG. 4 & FIG. 5 & FIG. 6 & ¶0064 […] some embodiments, a PUCCH resource indication (PRI) field may be utilized in DCI […] if the UE 110 is to report HARQ feedback for NACK-only based HARQ-ACK feedback and the number of bits to be reported is greater than 2 or the UE 110 is to report ACK/NACK based HARQ-ACK feedback, the PRI in the DCI may indicate the PUCCH resource for the HARQ-ACK feedback. This PRI may be provided by physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) for unicast or multicast PDSCH; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per 0064 i.e. a PUCCH resource indication (PRI) field may be utilized in DCI and i.e. if the UE 110 is to report HARQ feedback for NACK-only based HARQ-ACK feedback and the number of bits to be reported is greater than 2 reads on: wherein the selecting the PUCCH resource comprises: selecting the PUCCH resource from the one or more uplink control channel configurations, the PRI in the DCI may indicate the PUCCH resource for the HARQ-ACK feedback reads on: according to an indicator in a DCI . Furthermore per ¶0064 i.e. This PRI may be provided by physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) for unicast or multicast PDSCH reads on: that has been decoded by the terminal device);
Yao in view of GOU and LI does not appear to explicitly teach or strongly suggest (note i.e. see italicized portions): a latest DCI;
TAKEDA teaches: wherein the selecting the PUCCH resource comprises: selecting the PUCCH resource from the one or more uplink control channel configurations according to an indicator in a latest DCI that has been decoded by the terminal device (TAKEDA – FIG. 8A-8B-8C & ¶0101 See claim 2 ; ¶0118 See claim 2; FIG. 9 & ¶0112 […] block 910, the UE determines an uplink resource, such as a first PUCCH resource from the first PUCCH resource set, for transmitting a MC/BC AF in response to the received MC/BC data and based on the received MC/BC configuration. NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per FIG. 8B ¶0118 i.e. the UE may append the MC/BC AF 612 (e.g. bit 828) to the end of the unicast ACK/NACK feedback (e.g. bits 830) within the HARQ ACK/NACK codebook reads on: wherein the selecting the PUCCH resource comprises: selecting the PUCCH resource, where per FIG. 9 & ¶0112 block 910, the UE determines an uplink resource, such as a first PUCCH resource from the first PUCCH resource set, for transmitting a MC/BC AF in response to the received MC/BC data and i.e. based on the received MC/BC configuration reads on: from the one or more uplink control channel configurations. Furthermore per ¶0118 i.e. when determining the second PUCCH resource associated with the HARQ ACK/NACK codebook, the UE may determine the second PUCCH resource based on a PUCCH resource indicator (PRI) reads on: according to an indicator furthermore per ¶0118 i.e. in a latest scheduling DCI reads on: in a latest DCI that has been decoded by the terminal device);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Yao in view of GOU and LI with teachings of TAKEDA, since TAKEDA enables an error-control method for data transmission that uses acknowledgements can be utilized to detect and to correct packet errors, and improve the reliability of MC/BC data transmissions (TAKEDA - ¶0069; ¶0070).
Regarding Claim 9. (Original) Yao in view of GOU and LI teaches: The network device of claim 8,
(See the rejection of Claim 2, Claim 9 recites features in conjunction with a network that are similar, parallel and reciprocal to the features of Claim 2 in conjunction with a terminal device, where for example “receiving” as attributed to the terminal device corresponds to reciprocal feature “transmitting” as attributed to the network device, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 2 applies similarly to Claim 9. Where applicable, minor differences between claims are noted as appropriate)
furthermore Yao discloses: wherein the multiplexed HARQ feedback comprises a plurality of HARQ feedback bits concatenated in an ascending or descending order of PUCCH resource indicators (PRIs) (Yao FIG. 4 & Fig. 5 & ¶0051 See claim 2; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: Furthermore per ¶0052 i.e. the HARQ-ACK bit ordering i.e. the HARQ-ACK bit for MBS session 1 ordered first in the time domain and the HARQ-ACK bit for session 4 ordered second in the time domain furthermore as applied to and per ¶0047 […] PUCCH resource allocation for NACK-only based HARQ-ACK feedback and ¶0045 i.e. In 420, the UE 110 transmits HARQ feedback to the gNB 120A reads on: wherein the multiplexed HARQ feedback, furthermore per ¶0052 i.e. i.e. Case 1 UE 1 may be subscribed to MBS session 1 and MBS session 4 and i.e. the HARQ-ACK bit ordering, i.e. comprises the HARQ-ACK bit for MBS session 1 ordered first in the time domain and the HARQ-ACK bit for session 4 ordered second reads on: comprises a plurality of HARQ feedback bits concatenated in an ascending order, where per ¶0051 i.e. there is a predefined association between G-RNTI, MBS sessions and PUCCH resources i.e. UE 110 may identify the PUCCH resource for the HARQ-ACK feedback based on i.e. the association between PUCCH resources( i.e. G-RNTI as depicted in FIG. 5 and predefined association) and an order of HARQ-ACK bits reads on: of PUCCH resource indicators (PRIs) );
Yao in view of GOU and LI does not appear to explicitly teach or strongly suggest (note i.e. see italicized portions): in more than one downlink control information (DCI), the more than one DCI scheduling PUCCH resources for transmitting HARQ feedback;
TAKEDA teaches: wherein the multiplexed HARQ feedback comprises a plurality of HARQ feedback bits concatenated in an ascending or descending order of PUCCH resource indicators (PRIs) in more than one downlink control information (DCI), the more than one DCI scheduling PUCCH resources for transmitting the HARQ feedback for the multicast transmissions of the one or more services from the terminal device (TAKEDA – FIG. 8A-8B-8C & ¶0101 See claim 2 ; ¶0118 See Claim 2; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per FIG. 8B ¶0118 i.e. the UE may append the MC/BC AF 612 (e.g. bit 828) to the end of the unicast ACK/NACK feedback (e.g. bits 830) within the HARQ ACK/NACK codebook reads on: wherein the multiplexed HARQ feedback comprises a plurality of HARQ feedback bits concatenated, where furthermore i.e. when determining the second PUCCH resource associated with the HARQ ACK/NACK codebook, the UE may determine the second PUCCH resource based on a PUCCH resource indicator (PRI) in a latest scheduling DCI reads on: in an ascending order of PUCCH resource indicators (PRIs) i.e. the latest PRI in DCI received in among the unicast data and the MC/BC data. Furthermore per ¶0118 i.e. a latest scheduling DCI among the unicast data and the MC/BC data where per ¶0101 i.e. the UE may determine a PUCCH resource(s) based on the PRI in the latest scheduling DCI among the DCIs scheduling unicast data and MC/BC data reads on: in more than one downlink control information (DCI), per ¶0101 i.e. a PUCCH resource(s) based on the PRI in the latest scheduling DCI among the DCIs reads on: the more than one DCI scheduling PUCCH, where further per ¶0101 i.e. the UE may determine a PUCCH resource(s) based on the PRI of the latest unicast data and i.e. the UE determines a PUCCH resource(s) based on the PRI of the latest MC/BC data and the configurations of PUCCH resources/PUCCH resource sets configured for MC/BC AF, and furthermore per ¶0118 i.e. the UE may append the MC/BC AF 612 (e.g. bit 828) to the end of the unicast ACK/NACK feedback (e.g. bits 830) within the HARQ ACK/NACK codebook reads on: for transmitting the HARQ feedback . Per ¶0101 i.e. latest MC/BC data reads on: for the multicast transmissions of the one or more services , furthermore per ¶001 i.e. the UE may append the MC/BC AF 612 (e.g. bit 828) to the end of the unicast ACK/NACK feedback (e.g. bits 830) within the HARQ ACK/NACK codebook i.e. HRARQ feedback from the UE reads on: from the terminal device );
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the disclosures of Yao in view of GOU and LI with teachings of TAKEDA, since TAKEDA enables an error-control method for data transmission that uses acknowledgements can be utilized to detect and to correct packet errors, and improve the reliability of MC/BC data transmissions (TAKEDA - ¶0069; ¶0070).
(See the rejection of Claim 2, Claim 9 recites features in conjunction with a network that are similar, parallel and reciprocal to the features of Claim 2 in conjunction with a terminal device, where for example “receiving” as attributed to the terminal device corresponds to reciprocal feature “transmitting” as attributed to the network device, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 2 applies similarly to Claim 9. Where applicable, minor differences between claims are noted as appropriate).
Regarding Claim 12. (Original) Yao in view of GOU and LI teaches: The network device of claim 8,
(See the rejection of Claim 6, Claim 12 recites features in conjunction with a network that are similar, parallel and reciprocal to the features of Claim 6 in conjunction with a terminal device, where for example “receiving” as attributed to the terminal device corresponds to reciprocal feature “transmitting” as attributed to the network device, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 6 applies similarly to Claim 12. Where applicable, minor differences between claims are noted as appropriate)
furthermore Yao discloses: wherein the at least one memory and the computer program codes are configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the network device to perform: indicating to the terminal device, a PUCCH resource from the one or more uplink control channel configurations by using an indicator in DCI transmitted from the network device to the terminal device (Yao FIG. 4 & FIG. 5 & FIG. 6 & ¶0064 See claim 6; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0064 i.e. a PUCCH resource indication (PRI) field may be utilized in DCI and i.e. if the UE 110 is to report HARQ feedback for NACK-only based HARQ-ACK feedback and the number of bits to be reported is greater than 2 reads on: wherein the at least one memory and the computer program codes are configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the network device to perform: indicating to the terminal device, a PUCCH resource from the one or more uplink control channel configurations, the PRI in the DCI may indicate the PUCCH resource for the HARQ-ACK feedback reads on: by using an indicator in a DCI. Furthermore per ¶0064 i.e. This PRI may be provided by physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) for unicast or multicast PDSCH reads on: transmitted from the network device to the terminal device);
Yao in view of GOU and LI does not appear to explicitly teach or strongly suggest (note i.e. see italicized portions): a latest DCI;
TAKEDA teaches: indicating to the terminal device, a PUCCH resource from the one or more uplink control channel configurations by using an indicator in latest DCI transmitted from the network device to the terminal device (TAKEDA – FIG. 8A-8B-8C & ¶0101 See claim 2; ¶0118 See claim 2; FIG. 9 & ¶0112 See claim 6. NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per FIG. 8B ¶0118 i.e. the UE may append the MC/BC AF 612 (e.g. bit 828) to the end of the unicast ACK/NACK feedback (e.g. bits 830) within the HARQ ACK/NACK codebook, where per FIG. 9 & ¶0112 block 910, the UE determines an uplink resource, such as a first PUCCH resource from the first PUCCH resource set reads on: indicating to the terminal device, a PUCCH resource, for transmitting a MC/BC AF in response to the received MC/BC data and i.e. based on the received MC/BC configuration reads on: from the one or more uplink control channel configurations. Furthermore per ¶0118 i.e. when determining the second PUCCH resource associated with the HARQ ACK/NACK codebook, the UE may determine the second PUCCH resource based on a PUCCH resource indicator (PRI) reads on: by using an indicator furthermore per ¶0118 i.e. in a latest scheduling DCI reads on: in latest DCI transmitted from the network device to the terminal device).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the disclosures of Yao with teachings of TAKEDA, since TAKEDA enables an error-control method for data transmission that uses acknowledgements can be utilized to detect and to correct packet errors, and improve the reliability of MC/BC data transmissions (LIU - ¶0069; ¶0070).
(See the rejection of Claim 6, Claim 12 recites features in conjunction with a network that are similar, parallel and reciprocal to the features of Claim 6 in conjunction with a terminal device, where for example “receiving” as attributed to the terminal device corresponds to reciprocal feature “transmitting” as attributed to the network device, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 6 applies similarly to Claim 12. Where applicable, minor differences between claims are noted as appropriate).
Regarding Claim 14. (Original) Yao in view of GOU and LI teaches: The method of claim 13,
(See the rejection of Claim 2, Claim 14 recites similar and parallel features to Claim 2, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 2 applies similarly to Claim 14. Where applicable, minor differences between claims are noted as appropriate)
wherein the multiplexing the converted HARQ feedback bits into the multiplexed HARQ feedback comprises: concatenating the converted HARQ feedback bits in an ascending or descending order of PUCCH resource indicators (PRIs) in more than one DCI to the terminal device from the network device, wherein the more than one downlink control information (DCI) schedules PUCCH resources for transmitting the HARQ feedback for the multicast transmissions of the one or more services (See the rejection of Claim 2, Claim 14 recites similar and parallel features to Claim 2, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 2 applies similarly to Claim 14. Where applicable, minor differences between claims are noted as appropriate).
Regarding Claim 21. (Original) Yao in view of GOU and LI teaches: The method of claim 20,
(See the rejection of Claim 9, Claim 21 recites similar and parallel features to Claim 9, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 9 applies similarly to Claim 21. Where applicable, minor differences between claims are noted as appropriate) wherein the multiplexed HARQ feedback comprises a plurality of HARQ feedback bits concatenated in an ascending or descending order of PUCCH resource indicators (PRIs) in more than one downlink control information (DCI), wherein the more than one DCI schedules PUCCH resources for transmitting the HARQ feedback for the multicast transmissions of the one or more services from the terminal device(See the rejection of Claim 9, Claim 21 recites similar and parallel features to Claim 9, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 9 applies similarly to Claim 21. Where applicable, minor differences between claims are noted as appropriate).
13. Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yao in view of GOU and LI, further in view of Blankenship et al. (US 20230283415 A1) i.e. “Blankenship”.
Regarding Claim 7. (Previously Presented) Yao in view of GOU and LI teaches: The terminal device of claim 1,
furthermore Yao discloses: wherein the at least one memory and the computer program codes are configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the terminal device to perform: including codebook in the multiplexed HARQ feedback for the one or more services (Yao FIG. 4 & FIG. 5 & ¶0040 See Claim 1; ¶0045 See Claim 1; ¶0050 See Claim 1; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: Per ¶0045 , furthermore as applied to and per ¶0047 […] PUCCH resource allocation for NACK-only based HARQ-ACK feedback and ¶0045 i.e. In 420, the UE 110 transmits reads on and transmitting per ¶0045 i.e. HARQ feedback to the gNB 120A where per ¶0052 i.e. the HARQ-ACK bit ordering comprises the HARQ-ACK bit for MBS session 1 ordered first in the time domain and the HARQ-ACK bit for session 4 ordered second in the time domain reads on: wherein the at least one memory and the computer program codes are configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the terminal device to perform: including codebook in the multiplexed HARQ feedback , per ¶0052 i.e. MBS session 1 reads on: for the one or more services)
Yao in view of GOU and LI does not appear to explicitly teach or strongly suggest (note i.e. see italicized portions): refraining from including Type 1 codebook in the multiplexed HARQ feedback for the one or more services that the terminal device has not been scheduled to provide the HARQ feedback;
Blankenship teaches: cause the terminal device to perform: refraining from including Type 1 codebook in the multiplexed HARQ feedback for the one or more services that the terminal device has not been scheduled to provide the HARQ feedback (Blankenship - ¶0144 […] If a first DCI triggers Type-3 codebook with an associated PUCCH in a slot/sub-slot, the UE is not expected to receive a second DCI after the first DCI that indicates a PUCCH with HARQ-ACK codebook other than Type-3 (i.e., Type-1 or Type-2 codebook) that overlaps with the PUCCH associated to Type-3 codebook; ¶0145 If a first PUCCH with Type-3 HARQ codebook overlaps with a second PUCCH with HARQ codebook other than Type-3 (i.e., Type-1 or Type-2 codebook), the second PUCCH is dropped; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0145 i.e. 0145 If a first PUCCH with Type-3 HARQ codebook overlaps with a second PUCCH with HARQ codebook other than Type-3 (i.e., Type-1 or Type-2 codebook), the second PUCCH is dropped reads on: cause the terminal device to perform: refraining from including Type 1 codebook in the multiplexed HARQ feedback , where per ¶0144 i.e. If a first DCI triggers Type-3 codebook with an associated PUCCH in a slot/sub-slot, i.e. the UE is not expected to receive a second DCI after the first DCI that indicates a PUCCH with HARQ-ACK codebook other than Type-3 (i.e., Type-1 or Type-2 codebook) reads on: for the one or more services that the terminal device has not been scheduled to provide HARQ feedback i.e. .e., Type-1 or Type-2 codebook not expected or scheduled that i.e. that overlaps with the PUCCH associated to Type-3 codebook ).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the disclosures of Yao in view of GOU and LI with teachings of Blankenship, since Blankenship enables to enhance the Type-3 HARQ-ACK codebook to support transmission of dropped HARQ-ACK bits, where the HARQ-ACK bits could not be transmitted earlier due to uplink resource conflict Such cases typically exist, for example, when the wireless system serves a mixed traffic of eMBB and URLLC data (Blankenship - ¶0048).
Conclusion
/M.A.S./
Examiner, Art Unit 2414
09/18/2026
/EDAN ORGAD/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2414