DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to independent claims 1, 12, and 19, and the claims depending therefrom, have been fully considered but are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Hirzel fails to disclose or suggest the amended limitation requiring the power source to be configured such that, when the stators are offset by a rotor pole distance or an odd multiple thereof, a current direction in the second stator is reversed relative to the first stator such that the torque caused by the first and second stators acts in the same direction. The Examiner acknowledges that Hirzel does not expressly disclose this limitation. However, the limitation is rendered obvious by Hirzel in view of Petek.
Hirzel teaches a two-stator axial flux machine having a rotor disposed between the stators, wherein the stators are angularly offset relative to one another based on rotor pole pitch and further teaches power electronics permitting independent phase control of current during motoring operation (see para. 0117-0121). Petek expressly teaches a two stator, one rotor synchronous motor arrangement wherein the stators are offset by an integer number of rotor poles and, when the stators are offset by an uneven number of rotor poles, “the polarity of the windings of one of the two stators is reversed” (see para. 0039). Petek further teaches that this configuration enables maximum specific torque (see para. 0039).
It would therefore have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure Hirzel’s power electronics such that the current phase/polarity of one stator is reversed relative to the other when employing an odd rotor pole pitch offset, as taught by Petek, in order to cause the electromagnetic torque contributions of the two stators to act constructively and thereby increase the specific torque produced by the machine.
Applicant’s argument that Hirzel teaches away because its stator offset reduces generated EMF is likewise unpersuasive. Hirzel does not criticize, discourage, or otherwise teach against reversing the current phase/polarity of one stator during motoring operation. Rather, Hirzel expressly provides independently phase controllable current and contemplates motoring operation (see para. 0176). Moreover, Petek expressly teaches the claimed relationship between an odd rotor pole offset and reversed winding polarity for achieving increased specific torque.
Ultimately, Applicant’s amendments and arguments do not overcome the current rejection and is maintained as modified herein.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-6, 8-10, 12, 15, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hirzel (US 20070024147 A1) in view of Petek (US 20080169720 A1).
Claim 1
Hirzel teaches: An electric axial flux machine (Fig. 13) comprising:
a first stator (a selective first stator 42 or 44) having a first three-phase (N Phase windings of which may be defined by three phases, see para. 0089 and para. 0142) winding comprising a plurality of first stator poles (91, Fig. 33a) being mutually spaced in a circumferential direction of the electric axial flux machine (Fig. 13);
a second stator (a remaining unselected stator of the two stators 42 or 44) having a second three-phase (N Phase windings of which may be defined by three phases, see para. 0089 and para. 0142) winding comprising a plurality of second stator poles (91, Fig. 33A) being mutually spaced in the circumferential direction, the plurality of first stator poles (91, Fig. 33a) and the plurality of second stator poles (91, Fig. 33A) being interconnected to form a first phase (first of three phases, para. 0026) of the electric axial flux machine (Fig. 13), the plurality of second stator poles (91, Fig. 33A) forming the first phase being offset by an offset by an offset angle (S electrical degrees, wherein S=[360/(2NM)], para. 0026) in the circumferential direction in relation to the plurality of first stator poles forming the first phase;
a rotor (40) disposed between the first stator (a selective first stator 42 or 44) and the second stator (a remaining unselected stator of the two stators 42 or 44) and configured to rotate relative to the first stator (42) and the second stator (44), the rotor comprising a plurality of rotor poles (plural rotor pole pairs, para. 0026), a rotor pole distance is being defined by an angular distance between two adjacent rotor poles (the value in mechanical degrees equals the value in electrical degrees times the number of rotor pole pairs, para. 0026) of the plurality of rotor poles;
While Hirzel also teaches that their axial flux machine as being operated in a motoring mode using power electronics having independently phase-controllable current (para. 0026, 0117-0121, 0176), Hirzel does not expressly disclose: the offset angle being the rotor pole distance or an odd multiple of the rotor pole distance; and a power source for energizing the first stator and the second stator, the power source being configured such that a current direction in the second stator is reversed to the first stator such that a direction of a torque on the rotor caused by the first stator and the second stator is a same direction.
Petek notably teaches a synchronous electric machine having two stators. Petek teaches that two stators 2 that may be offset from one another by an integer number of rotor poles and expressly provides that, when the stators are offset by an uneven number of rotor poles, the polarity of the windings of one of the two stators is reversed (para. 0039). Petek further explains that this design variants enable maximum specific torque (para. 0039). Furthermore, Petek emphasizes this configuration is applicable to both radial and axial motor arrangements (para. 0042).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the claimed invention was filed to modify Hirzel’s power electronics to reverse the current phase/polarity supplied to one of the stators, as taught by Petek, when implementing Hirzel’s disclosed odd rotor pole pitch offset. A person having ordinary skill in the art would have had reason to make this modification because reversing the polarity/current phase of one stator in an offset two stator machine was known to establish the desired electromagnetic interaction between the stators and rotor and as expressly recognized by Petek, enables increased/maximized specific torque (para. 0020). This modification would further be consistent with Hirzel’s disclosure of power electronics having independently phase controllable current and operation in a motoring mode (para. 0176).
Claim 4/1
Hirzel as modified by Petek teaches: The electric axial flux machine (Fig. 13) according to claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose: wherein the offset angle is three times the rotor pole distance or a multiple of three times the rotor pole distance.
Hirzel establishes that the offset between the two stators is expressed in terms of a pole pitch (para. 0117-0123). While Hirzel’s invention operates ideally in applications involving smaller pole pitches (i.e. smaller offset angle between the stators) up to a full pole pitch, higher pole pitch values may be implemented (para. 0122). An offset of three times the rotor pole pitch compared to one full pole pitch is possible yet not a meaningful modification in most cases as three times the rotor pole pitch is simply the same as three full pole pitch cycles, which would bring the offsetted stator back into a position that is magnetically equivalent to being fully aligned (or very close to it) with the reference stator. The optimal offset for purposes such as reducing cogging torque as intended by Hirzel, is typically half a pole pitch (or 180electrical degrees). This causes the cogging torques generated by each stator to be out of phase, allowing them to cancel each other out. Therefore, while would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have tested an offset angle that is thrice the rotor pole distance or a multiple of three the rotor pole distance, doing so would still function, effectively operating as a single, more powerful machine with both stators working in unison.
Claim 5/1
Hirzel as modified by Petek teaches: The electric axial flux machine (Fig. 13) according to claim 1, but is silent to: wherein the offset angle is determined as an integer n times the rotor pole distance, with
n
=
k
g
V
(
N
P
h
;
M
)
·
P
h
2
N
wherein
kgV least common multiple;
N number of stator poles;
Ph number of phases;
and M number of rotor poles.
Although Hirzel does not explicitly express their offset angle as being defined by an integer n, expressed by the function above, Hirzel does explicitly disclose that the offset between the two stators is defined as a function of a pole pitch (para. 0121). This relationship can be understood based on Hirzel’s Figs. 3-9 which illustrate the results of the superposition of sinusoidal waveforms from two series connected stators at the position of the rotor for different degrees of offset between the two stators. The offset angle of the stators’ is therefore a result effective variable that is a function of the rotor pole pitch. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have reasonably determined an offset angle based on an integer n times the rotor pole distance, with n being defined by the expression above. Optimizing the offset angle between the two stators based on an integer multiple of the rotor pitch angle is a technique that would reduce cogging torque and suppress specific harmonic components.
Claim 6/1
Hirzel as modified by Petek teaches: The electric axial flux machine (Fig. 13) according to claim 1, wherein the first three-phase winding (first set of windings, para. 0020) is a toothed coil winding (winding scheme entailing one coil per tooth 14, para. 0075) with the plurality of first stator poles (91, Fig. 33a) configured as coils and the second three-phase winding (second set of windings, para. 0020) is a toothed coil winding (winding scheme entailing one coil per tooth 14, para. 0075) with the plurality of second stator poles (91, Fig. 33A) configured as coils.
Claim 8/1
Hirzel as modified by Petek teaches: The electric axial flux machine (Fig. 13) according to claim 1, wherein the rotor (40) has M rotor poles (plural rotor pole pairs, para. 0026).
Claim 9/8/1
Hirzel as modified by Petek teaches: The electric axial flux machine (Fig. 13) according to claim 8, wherein the plurality of rotor poles (plural rotor pole pairs, para. 0026) are formed by permanent magnets (22) embedded in a main body of the rotor (40), wherein the permanent magnets (22) are magnetized in the circumferential direction of the electric axial flux machine (Fig. 13).
Claim 10/8/1
Hirzel as modified by Petek teaches: The electric axial flux machine (Fig. 13) according to claim 8, wherein the plurality of rotor poles (plural rotor pole pairs, para. 0026) are formed by permanent magnets (22) in a shape of sectors of a circle or ring arranged at one end face of the rotor (40).
Claim 12
Hirzel teaches: An electric axial flux machine (Fig. 13) comprising:
a first stator (a selective first stator 42 or 44) having a first multi-phase winding comprising a plurality of first stator poles (91, Fig. 33a), the plurality of first stator poles (91, Fig. 33a) being spaced in the circumferential direction;
a second stator (a remaining unselected stator of the two stators 42 or 44) having a second multi-phase winding comprising a plurality of second stator poles (91, Fig. 33A), wherein the plurality of second stator poles (91, Fig. 33A) are spaced in a circumferential direction of the electric axial flux machine (Fig. 13);
some of the plurality of first stator poles (91, Fig. 33a) of the first multi-phase winding (first set of windings, para. 0020) and some of the plurality of second stator poles (91, Fig. 33A) of the second multi-phase winding (second set of windings, para. 0020) being interconnected to form a first phase (first of three phases, para. 0026) of the electric axial flux machine (Fig. 13);
the plurality of second stator poles (91, Fig. 33A) forming the first phase being offset by an offset by an offset angle (S electrical degrees, wherein S=[360/(2NM)], para. 0026) in the circumferential direction in relation to the plurality of first stator poles forming the first phase;
a rotor (40) disposed between the first stator (a selective first stator 42 or 44) and the second stator (a remaining unselected stator of the two stators 42 or 44), the rotor (40) being rotatable relative to the first stator (a selective first stator 42 or 44) and the second stator (a remaining unselected stator of the two stators 42 or 44), the rotor comprising a plurality of rotor poles (plural rotor pole pairs, para. 0026), a rotor pole distance is being defined by an angular distance between two adjacent rotor poles (the value in mechanical degrees equals the value in electrical degrees times the number of rotor pole pairs, para. 0026) of the plurality of rotor poles;
While Hirzel also teaches that their axial flux machine as being operated in a motoring mode using power electronics having independently phase-controllable current (para. 0026, 0117-0121, 0176), Hirzel does not expressly disclose: the offset angle being the rotor pole distance or an odd multiple of the rotor pole distance; and a power source for energizing the first stator and the second stator, the power source being configured such that a current direction in the second stator is reversed to the first stator such that a direction of a torque on the rotor caused by the first stator and the second stator is a same direction.
Petek notably teaches a synchronous electric machine having two stators. Petek teaches that two stators 2 that may be offset from one another by an integer number of rotor poles and expressly provides that, when the stators are offset by an uneven number of rotor poles, the polarity of the windings of one of the two stators is reversed (para. 0039). Petek further explains that this design variants enable maximum specific torque (para. 0039). Furthermore Petek emphasizes this configuration is applicable to both radial and axial motor arrangements (para. 0042).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the claimed invention was filed to modify Hirzel’s power electronics to reverse the current phase/polarity supplied to one of the stators, as taught by Petek, when implementing Hirzel’s disclosed odd rotor pole pitch offset. A person having ordinary skill in the art would have had reason to make this modification because reversing the polarity/current phase of one stator in an offset two stator machine was known to establish the desired electromagnetic interaction between the stators and rotor and as expressly recognized by Petek, enables increased/maximized specific torque (para. 0020). This modification would further be consistent with Hirzel’s disclosure of power electronics having independently phase controllable current and operation in a motoring mode (para. 0176).
Claim 15/12
Hirzel as modified by Petek teaches: The electric axial flux machine (Fig. 13) according to claim 12, but does not explicitly disclose: wherein the offset angle is three times the rotor pole distance or a multiple of three times the rotor pole distance.
Hirzel establishes that the offset between the two stators is expressed in terms of a pole pitch (para. 0117-0123). While Hirzel’s invention operates ideally in applications involving smaller pole pitches (i.e. smaller offset angle between the stators) up to a full pole pitch, higher pole pitch values may be implemented (para. 0122). An offset of three times the rotor pole pitch compared to one full pole pitch is possible yet not a meaningful modification in most cases as three times the rotor pole pitch is simply the same as three full pole pitch cycles, which would bring the offsetted stator back into a position that is magnetically equivalent to being fully aligned (or very close to it) with the reference stator. The optimal offset for purposes such as reducing cogging torque as intended by Hirzel, is typically half a pole pitch (or 180electrical degrees). This causes the cogging torques generated by each stator to be out of phase, allowing them to cancel each other out. Therefore, while would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have tested an offset angle that is thrice the rotor pole distance or a multiple of three the rotor pole distance, doing so would still function, effectively operating as a single, more powerful machine with both stators working in unison.
Claim 16/12
Hirzel as modified by Petek teaches: The electric axial flux machine (Fig. 13) according to claim 12, wherein the first multi-phase winding (first set of windings, para. 0020) is a toothed coil winding (winding scheme entailing one coil per tooth 14, para. 0075) with the plurality of first stator poles (91, Fig. 33a) configured as coils and the second multi-phase winding (second set of windings, para. 0020) is a toothed coil winding (winding scheme entailing one coil per tooth 14, para. 0075) with the plurality of second stator poles (91, Fig. 33A) configured as coils.
Claims 7, 11, 17, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hirzel as modified by Petek in view of Mayer (DE 102019131198 A1).
Claim 7/1
Hirzel as modified by Petek teaches: The electric axial flux machine (Fig. 13) according to claim 1, wherein each plurality of M polyphase stators each have N phase windings and a plurality of M full wave rectifier circuits for N-phase AC current (para. 0146). Hirzel is silent to their M circuits of each M polyphase stator as comprising of physical circuit boards and conductor tracks such that the limitation below can be realized:
the first stator comprises a first circuit board and the first three-phase winding has first conductor tracks which are arranged in the first circuit board, wherein the second stator comprises a second circuit board and the second three-phase winding has second conductor tracks which are arranged in the second circuit board.
Mayer conversely discloses an axial flux machine similar to that taught by Hirzel, comprising a plurality of stators (02), wherein the stators (02) comprise multilayer printed circuit boards (08) having openings each being surrounded by at least one of the electrical coils (07) in the form of the conductor tracks (Description, para. 46).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have Hirzel’s M circuits of each M polyphase stator comprise of physical circuit boards and conductor tracks such that the limitation above can be realized. Employing PCBs for stators in an axial flux machine similar to that taught by Mayer offers advantages in being manufactured in a more compact and lightweight design which offers versatility in being used in robust applications such as in robot arms or transport vehicles (Description, para. 15).
Claim 11/1
Hirzel as modified by Petek teaches the electric axial flux machine according to claim 1 as being equipped for applications involving drive wheels of a vehicle. Hirzel is silent to the implementation of their electric axial flux machine in an application involving an articulated arm of an industrial robot such that the following limitation can be realized:
A drive module for moving an articulated arm of an industrial robot having an electric axial flux machine according to claim 1.
Mayer conversely discloses an electric axial flux machine that has been optimized for use in many applications including transport vehicles similar to Hirzel as well as swiveling robot arms (Description, para. 52).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have optimized Hirzel’s electric axial flux machine to be used in a drive module for moving an articulated arm of an industrial robot. Employing an axial flux machine similar to that taught by Hirzel would be advantageous in applications involving articulated robot arms due to their high power density and high torque being packed in a compact manner, leading to more powerful and lighter arms.
Claim 17/12
Hirzel as modified by Petek teaches: The electric axial flux machine (Fig. 13) according to claim 1, wherein each plurality of M polyphase stators each have N phase windings and a plurality of M full wave rectifier circuits for N-phase AC current (para. 0146). Hirzel is silent to their M circuits of each M polyphase stator as comprising of physical circuit boards and conductor tracks such that the limitation below can be realized:
the first stator comprises a first circuit board and the first multi-phase winding includes first conductor tracks arranged in the first circuit board and in that the second stator comprises a second circuit board and the second multi-phase winding includes second conductor tracks arranged in the second circuit board.
Mayer conversely discloses an axial flux machine similar to that taught by Hirzel, comprising a plurality of stators (02), wherein the stators (02) comprise multilayer printed circuit boards (08) having openings each being surrounded by at least one of the electrical coils (07) in the form of the conductor tracks (Description, para. 46).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have Hirzel’s M circuits of each M polyphase stator comprise of physical circuit boards and conductor tracks such that the limitation above can be realized. Employing PCBs for stators in an axial flux machine similar to that taught by Mayer offers advantages in being manufactured in a more compact and lightweight design which offers versatility in being used in robust applications such as in robot arms or transport vehicles (Description, para. 15).
Claim 19
Hirzel teaches: An electric axial flux machine (Fig. 13) comprising: a first stator (a selective first stator 42 or 44) having a plurality of first stator poles (91, Fig. 33a), the plurality of first stator poles (91, Fig. 33a) being spaced in a circumferential direction of the electric axial flux machine (Fig. 13);
a second stator (a remaining unselected stator of the two stators 42 or 44) having a second multi-phase winding comprising a plurality of second stator poles (91, Fig. 33A), the plurality of second stator poles (91, Fig. 33A) being spaced in the circumferential direction
some of the plurality of first stator poles (91, Fig. 33a) of the first multi-phase winding (first set of windings, para. 0020) and some of the plurality of second stator poles (91, Fig. 33A) of the second multi-phase winding (second set of windings, para. 0020) being interconnected to form a first phase (first of three phases, para. 0026) of the electric axial flux machine (Fig. 13);
the plurality of second stator poles (91, Fig. 33A) forming the first phase being offset by an offset by an offset angle (S electrical degrees, wherein S=[360/(2NM)], para. 0026) in the circumferential direction in relation to the plurality of first stator poles forming the first phase;
a rotor (40) disposed between the first stator (a selective first stator 42 or 44) and the second stator (a remaining unselected stator of the two stators 42 or 44), the rotor (40) being rotatable relative to the first stator (a selective first stator 42 or 44) and the second stator (a remaining unselected stator of the two stators 42 or 44),
the rotor comprising a plurality of rotor poles (plural rotor pole pairs, para. 0026), a rotor pole distance is being defined by an angular distance between two adjacent rotor poles (the value in mechanical degrees equals the value in electrical degrees times the number of rotor pole pairs, para. 0026) of the plurality of rotor poles;
While Hirzel also teaches that their axial flux machine as being operated in a motoring mode using power electronics having independently phase-controllable current (para. 0026, 0117-0121, 0176), Hirzel does not expressly disclose: the offset angle being the rotor pole distance or an odd multiple of the rotor pole distance; and a power source for energizing the first stator and the second stator, the power source being configured such that a current direction in the second stator is reversed to the first stator such that a direction of torque on the rotor caused by the first stator and the second stator is a same direction. Petek notably teaches a synchronous electric machine having two stators. Petek teaches that two stators 2 that may be offset from one another by an integer number of rotor poles and expressly provides that, when the stators are offset by an uneven number of rotor poles, the polarity of the windings of one of the two stators is reversed (para. 0039). Petek further explains that this design variants enable maximum specific torque (para. 0039). Furthermore Petek emphasizes this configuration is applicable to both radial and axial motor arrangements (para. 0042).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the claimed invention was filed to modify Hirzel’s power electronics to reverse the current phase/polarity supplied to one of the stators, as taught by Petek, when implementing Hirzel’s disclosed odd rotor pole pitch offset. A person having ordinary skill in the art would have had reason to make this modification because reversing the polarity/current phase of one stator in an offset two stator machine was known to establish the desired electromagnetic interaction between the stators and rotor and as expressly recognized by Petek, enables increased/maximized specific torque (para. 0020). This modification would further be consistent with Hirzel’s disclosure of power electronics having independently phase controllable current and operation in a motoring mode (para. 0176).
Furthermore, Hirzel teaches the electric axial flux machine (Fig. 13) as being equipped for applications involving drive wheels of a vehicle. Hirzel is silent to the implementation of their electric axial flux machine in an application involving an articulated arm of an industrial robot such that the following limitation can be realized:
An industrial robot comprising: a plurality of articulating arms; and one or more drive modules, the one or more drive modules being configured to move one or more of the plurality of articulating arms of the industrial robot, at least some of the one or more drive modules comprising an electric axial flux machine (Fig. 13) detailed above.
Mayer conversely discloses an electric axial flux machine that has been optimized for use in many applications including transport vehicles similar to Hirzel as well as swiveling robot arms (Description, para. 52).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have optimized Hirzel’s electric axial flux machine to be used in a An industrial robot comprising: a plurality of articulating arms; one or more drive modules, wherein the one or more drive modules are configured to move one or more of the articulated arms of the industrial robot, wherein at least some of the drive modules comprises the electric axial flux machine (Fig. 13) detailed above. Employing an axial flux machine similar to that taught by Hirzel would be advantageous in applications involving articulated robot arms due to their high-power density and high torque being packed in a compact manner, leading to more powerful and lighter arms.
Ultimately Hirzel provides the axial flux machine architecture; Petek provides the known excitation/polarity relationship for an odd rotor pole offset to achieve high specific torque; and Mayer provides the application of axial flux machines in robotic articulated arm drive systems.
Claim 20/19
Hirzel as modified by Petek and Mayer teaches: The industrial robot according to claim 19, further comprising: a motor (Fig. 13); Hirzel does not however explicitly disclose their electric axial flux machine as comprising a rolling bearing arrangement however Hirzel does disclose their electric axial flux machine as comprising shaft supported bearings of any suitable type known for rotating machines. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have optimized Hirzel’s electric axial flux machine to employ a rolling bearing arrangement specifically. Using a rolling bearing arrangement offers high load capacity and reduced friction, enabling it to handle heavy axial loads and high rotational speeds.
Conclusion
/AHMED F SECK/Examiner, Art Unit 2834
/CHRISTOPHER M KOEHLER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2834