DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Claims 1-18 as originally filed, are currently pending and have been considered below. Claim 1, 17, 18 are independent claims.
Response to Arguments
Objections to claims 4, 6-7 have been amended and therefore the objections have been withdrawn
Claims 1, 5-8 and 12 have been amended and therefore the rejections under 35 U.S.C 112f Claim Interpretation have been withdrawn.
Claims 1, 5-8, 12 and 15 have been amended and therefore the rejections under 35 U.S.C 112b have been withdrawn.
Claim 18 has been amended and therefore the rejections under 35 U.S.C 101 has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-18 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Won(US Publication No. 2018/0183587 A1) in view of Shamai(US Publication No. 2020/0356989 A1).
Regarding Claim 1:
Won discloses:
An information processing apparatus comprising: circuitry configured to generate association information in which a plurality of public keys is associated,(Won, [0029], …Blockchain wallet 122 then generates an update transaction (i.e., NVS_UPDATE) to update the value associated with the ID stored in NVS 126 to be the hash of the newly generated public key. [0032], Transport Layer Security (TLS)/Secure Sockets Layer (SSL) handshake process after server 140 transmits its X.509 certificate to IoT device 100. Conversely, server 140 may authenticate IoT device 100 by receiving the IoT device's 100 ID 106, public key 110, and other relevant information from IoT device 100; checking that ID 106 belongs to a registered IoT device);
Won does not disclose:
record and the association information in a blockchain
wherein the circuitry records the association information based on an association certificate certifying authenticity of the association information
and wherein the association certificate is generated based on at least one secret key for one or more of the plurality of public keys
Shamai discloses:
record and the association information in a blockchain (Shamai, [0070], The blockchain wallet 122 is an application that maintains all valid transaction records in the blockchain, and blockchain wallet 122 may also provide a user interface allowing a user to generate new transactions manually, [0073], After generating the asymmetric cryptographic key pairs for the limited value accounts, the isolated device may publish the public keys of at least some of the accounts to one or more of the computing nodes of the community network regulating the digital assets, for example, the blockchain network )
wherein the circuitry records the association information based on an association certificate certifying authenticity of the association information(Shamai, [0008], Associating the isolated device with a plurality of accounts… Each of the plurality of accounts is assigned… a corresponding public key identifying the respective account. [0068], dividing a digital assets account of a user to a plurality of limited value accounts associated with the user…[0072], each of the plurality of limited value accounts is associated with a respective asymmetric cryptographic key pair, [0130], the isolated device 202 generates a plurality of asymmetric cryptographic key pairs for the plurality of limited value accounts.),
and wherein the association certificate is generated based on at least one secret key for one or more of the plurality of public keys(Shamai, [0072], Each of the plurality of limited value accounts is associated with a respective asymmetric cryptographic key pair generated by the isolated device, [0126], the isolated device 202 is associated with a plurality of accounts each configured to store a limited value of the digital assets,[0130], the isolated device 202 generates a plurality of asymmetric cryptographic key pairs for the plurality of limited value accounts. The isolated device 202 generates the asymmetric cryptographic key pairs, [0134], in the cryptocurrency embodiments, the isolated device 202 may transmit the public keys to the blockchain network to allow one or more other users, i.e. cryptocurrency owners to transfer cryptocurrency to one or more of the limited value accounts associated with the isolated device 202.).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify Won’s blockchain-assisted public key infrastructure for internet of things applications by enhancing Won’s systems for generating blockchain transaction of the public keys as taught by Shamai in order to certify and convey the authenticity of the association information hen recording the association in a blockchain
The motivation is to improve the association information recorded in the blockchain by enabling third parties and blockchain systems to readily verify authenticity without requiring direct interaction with the originating device within the security system.
Regarding Claim 2:
The information processing apparatus according to claim 1, Won in view of Shamai disclsoe the information processing apparatus according to wherein a first public key of the plurality of public keys is a public key for a secret key of a first wallet, and wherein a second public key of the plurality of public keys is a public key for a secret key of a second wallet(Won, [0071], the public key received from the NVS, then method 500 proceeds to step 518, where server 140 runs a challenge-response protocol to verify that IoT device 100 has a valid private key associated with the public key. For example, server 140 may generate a symmetric key (k), encrypt the symmetric key using the public key and send the encrypted key to IoT device 100. [0076], At step 610, IoT device 150 sends a query of the ID to the NVS of a public blockchain wallet. If the ID exists in the public blockchain wallet)).
Regarding Claim 3:
The information processing apparatus according to claim 2, Won in view of Shamai disclose wherein the first wallet is a hot wallet, and wherein the second wallet is a cold wallet
wherein the first wallet is a hot wallet, and the second wallet is a cold wallet(Shamai, [0171], The access device 206 and/or one or more of the computing nodes 204 serving as the hot wallet may execute the digital assets transaction immediately and/or according to one or more scheduled events independently of communication with the isolated device 202 (cold wallet).).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify Won’s blockchain-assisted public key infrastructure for internet of things applications by enhancing Won’s systems for generating blockchain transaction of the public keys to ensure that the hot/cold wallet receive digital asset values as taught by Reimer in order to ensure the security, integrity and survivability of digital assets.
The motivation is to enhance digital asset protection by reducing exposure to online threats through a layered wallet architecture. Furthermore, to improve security of the digital assets funds stored in the isolated device.[Shamai, 0105]
Regarding Claim 4:
The information processing apparatus according to claim 3, Won in view of Shamai disclose wherein the cold wallet is an a hardware wallet (HWW)(Shamai, [0068], The limited value accounts may be further associated with one or more isolated devices serving as a digital wallet (cold wallet) of the user, for example, a cryptocurrency wallet.).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify Won’s blockchain-assisted public key infrastructure for internet of things applications by enhancing Won’s systems for generating blockchain transaction of the public keys to ensure that the hot/cold wallet receive digital asset values as taught by Reimer in order to ensure maximum protection and long-term storage of digital assets.
The motivation is to modify a HWW wallet providing a physically isolated tamper resistant environment for securely storing cryptographic keys within the systems.
Regarding Claim 5:
The information processing apparatus according to claim 4, Won in view of Shamai discloses the information processing apparatus according to wherein the circuitry unit generates the association information in which a public key for a secret key of the hot wallet generated according to an application from a user is associated with a public key for a secret key of the HWW provided to the user according to an application from the user(Shamai, [0171], The isolated device 202 may transmit 810, to the access device 206, the public keys of the released limited value accounts 304 which are derived from the newly generated asymmetric cryptographic key pairs. For example, in the cryptocurrency embodiment, the isolated device 202 may transmit the public keys of the limited value accounts 304 to the access device 206. The process 800 is essentially executed to transfer digital assets funds to one or more other accounts of one or more other users. The access device 206 and/or one or more of the computing nodes 204 serving as the hot wallet now have access to the digital assets funds stored in the released account(s) and may thus transfer 812 these digital assets to one or more accounts of one or more other users).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify Won’s blockchain-assisted public key infrastructure for internet of things applications by enhancing Won’s systems for generating blockchain transaction of the public keys to ensure that the hot/cold wallet receive digital asset values as taught by Reimer in order to ensure that wallet issuance and key associations are cryptographically bound.
The motivation is to enhance secure asset management and binding of user identity across distinct tryst domains, and enabling enhance recovery and secure interoperability between hot and cold wallet environment.
Regarding Claim 6:
The information processing apparatus according to claim 4, Won in view of Shamai disclose the information processing apparatus according to wherein the circuirty generates the association information in which a public key for a secret key of the hot wallet possessed by a user is associated with a public key for a secret key of the HWW provided to the user according to an application from the user(Shamai, [0171], The isolated device 202 may transmit 810, to the access device 206, the public keys of the released limited value accounts 304 which are derived from the newly generated asymmetric cryptographic key pairs. For example, in the cryptocurrency embodiment, the isolated device 202 may transmit the public keys of the limited value accounts 304 to the access device 206. The process 800 is essentially executed to transfer digital assets funds to one or more other accounts of one or more other users. The access device 206 and/or one or more of the computing nodes 204 serving as the hot wallet now have access to the digital assets funds stored in the released account(s) and may thus transfer 812 these digital assets to one or more accounts of one or more other users).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify Won’s blockchain-assisted public key infrastructure for internet of things applications by enhancing Won’s systems for generating blockchain transaction of the public keys to ensure that the hot/cold wallet receive digital asset values as taught by Reimer in order to ensure that wallet issuance and key associations are cryptographically bound.
The motivation is to enhance secure asset management and binding of user identity across distinct tryst domains, and enabling enhance recovery and secure interoperability between hot and cold wallet environment.
Regarding Claim 7:
The information processing apparatus according to claim 4, Won in view of Shamai disclose the information processing apparatus according to wherein the circuitry generates the association information in which a public key for a secret key of the hot wallet possessed by a user is associated with a public key for a secret key of the HWW possessed by the user(Shamai, [0087], The isolated device may then publish, to the community network, the public keys of at least some of the accounts generated during all previous initialization processes such that one or more of the computing nodes and/or the access device (hot wallet) may use the public keys to identify which of the limited value accounts associated with the restored isolated device are used, i.e. store digital assets.).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify Won’s blockchain-assisted public key infrastructure for internet of things applications by enhancing Won’s systems for generating blockchain transaction of the public keys to ensure that the hot/cold wallet receive digital asset values as taught by Reimer in order to ensure that wallet issuance and key associations are cryptographically bound.
The motivation is to enhance secure asset management and binding of user identity across distinct tryst domains, and enabling enhance recovery and secure interoperability between hot and cold wallet environment.
Regarding Claim 8:
The information processing apparatus according to claim 1, Won in view of Shamai disclose the information processing apparatus according to wherein the circuitry is further configured to transmit the association certificate certifying authenticity of the association information to a blockchain system to record the association information in the blockchain(Won, [0087], the certificate used during the TLS/SSL handshake may be a self-signed certificate that includes information about the blockchain used to register the IoT device's ID/H(PUB_KEY). A device with blockchain-PKI enabled OpenSSL would be able to handle both traditional X.509 certificate authentication and blockchain-based authentication.).
Regarding Claim 9:
The information processing apparatus according to claim 8, Won in view of Shamai disclose the information processing apparatus according to wherein the association certificate includes a digital signature of the association information(Won, [0002], with an ID of the entity (e.g., *.wikipedia.org) using the CA's root private key via a digital signature algorithm. The other entity, e.g., the web browser, can then verify such a certificate provided by the first entity using the CA's root certificate that was published.).
Regarding Claim 10:
The information processing apparatus according to claim 8, Won in view of Shamai disclose wherein the association certificate includes, among a first public key and a second public key associated in the association information: a first digital signature obtained by performing signature generation processing on the second public key with a first secret key for the first public key(Won, [0048], IoT device 100 (and more specifically, key generator 102 running in installation device 100) verifies the signature in the “update” command message using the wallet public key stored in its non-volatile memory. That is, IoT devices 100 uses the wallet public key, stored in its non-volatile memory at step 214, to decrypt the signature Signature(M) and verify that it matches the rest of the message M.);
and a second digital signature obtained by performing signature generation processing on the first public key with a second secret key for the second public key(Won, [0029], a digital signature signed with wallet private key 128. In turn, IoT device 100 verifies the digital signature using wallet public key 112 stored in its non-volatile memory and, if the verification is successful, generates a new private/public key pair and transmits its ID and a hash of the newly generated public key back to blockchain wallet 122. Blockchain wallet 122 then generates an update transaction (i.e., NVS_UPDATE) to update the value associated with the ID stored in NVS 126 to be the hash of the newly generated public key.).
Regarding Claim 11:
The information processing apparatus according to claim 1, Won in view of Shamai disclose the information processing apparatus according to wherein, in a blockchain system, an owner of a plurality of public keys associated in the association information including a verification public key used to verify a digital signature of transaction data is regarded as a same user, and the transaction data is processed(Won, [0029], In one embodiment, such an update may include blockchain wallet 122 sending to IoT device 100 an “update command” with a digital signature signed with wallet private key 128. In turn, IoT device 100 verifies the digital signature using wallet public key 112 stored in its non-volatile memory and, if the verification is successful, generates a new private/public key pair and transmits its ID and a hash of the newly generated public key back to blockchain wallet 122. Blockchain wallet 122 then generates an update transaction (i.e., NVS_UPDATE) to update the value associated with the ID stored in NVS 126 to be the hash of the newly generated public key.).
Regarding Claim 12:
The information processing apparatus according to claim 1, Won in view of Shamai disclose the information processing apparatus according to wherein the circuitry is further configured to generate invalidation information indicating a public key to be invalidated among a plurality of public keys associated in the association information, and record the invalidation information in the blockchain(Won, [0030], the IoT device's public key stored in NVS 126, after which the IoT device cannot be authenticated by other devices using its private/public key. In one embodiment, blockchain wallet 122 is configured to generate a revocation transition (i.e., NVS_REVOKE) in such a case to change the status of the record associated with IoT device 100 in NVS 126 to “revoked,” and, even if someone has the stolen wallet private key, the status of the revoked record is not allowed to be changed back to normal by another transaction).
Regarding Claim 13:
The information processing apparatus according to Claim 12, Won in view of Shamai disclose wherein, in a blockchain system, in a case where the association information including a public key indicated by the invalidation information is recorded in a blockchain, the invalidation information is recorded in the blockchain(Won, [0030], the IoT device's public key stored in NVS 126, after which the IoT device cannot be authenticated by other devices using its private/public key. In one embodiment, blockchain wallet 122 is configured to generate a revocation transition (i.e., NVS_REVOKE) in such a case to change the status of the record associated with IoT device 100 in NVS 126 to “revoked,” and, even if someone has the stolen wallet private key, the status of the revoked record is not allowed to be changed back to normal by another transaction).
Regarding Claim 14:
Won discloses:
The information processing apparatus according to claim 12, Won in view of Shamai disclose the information processing apparatus according to wherein, in a blockchain system, in a case where the invalidation information indicating a verification public key used to verify a digital signature of transaction data is recorded in the blockchain, processing of the transaction data is restricted(Won, [0076], At step 610, IoT device 150 sends a query of the ID to the NVS of a public blockchain wallet. If the ID exists in the public blockchain wallet, then the public blockchain wallet will return a hash of the value, a state, an expiration time, as well as a signature using its private key, i.e., r={h′(value), state, expiration} Signature(r). If, however, the ID does not exist in the NVS, then the public blockchain wallet will return a message indicating that the ID does not exist along with a signature, i.e., r={“not exist”}, Signature(r).).
Regarding Claim 15:
Won discloses:
The information processing apparatus according to claim 1, Won in view of Shamai disclose wherein the circuitry is further configured to generate a predetermined number of digitally signed transaction data generated using each of secret keys for the predetermined number of two or more public keys among a plurality of public keys associated in the association information and transmit the transaction data to a blockchain system(Won, [0019], the blockchain wallet 122 is an application that maintains all valid transaction records in the blockchain, and blockchain wallet 122 may also provide a user interface allowing a user to generate new transactions manually. If the registration transaction generated by the blockchain wallet 122 is successful, blockchain wallet 122 transmits its wallet public key 112 [0086], Blockchain wallet application 122 is configured to assist in registering IoT devices by listening to IDs and hashes of public keys transmitted by IoT devices, generating NVS transactions to register such IDs and hash of public keys as name-value pairs in the NVS).
Regarding Claim 16:
Won discloses:
The information processing apparatus according to claim 15, Won in view of Shamai disclose the information processing apparatus according to wherein, in a blockchain system, in a case where verification of a number of digital signatures equal to or more than a preset set number among the predetermined number of digital signatures succeeds, transaction data to which the predetermined number of digital signatures are added is processed(Won, [0066], BLK is the blockchain name that IoT device 100 is registered in. ETC may include, e.g., the manufacturer name and the serial number of IoT device 100. In an alternative embodiment, IoT device 100 may send its ID and a self-signed certificate. A self-signed certificate is signed by the same entity and can generally include information such as a serial number, signature algorithm, encryption algorithm, owner, etc. A self-signed certificate guarantees that contents in the self-signed certificate is generated by the owner of the private key and not altered by others. When IoT device 100 send its ID and a self-signed certificate, such a self-signed certificate may include information about the blockchain used to register the IoT device's).
Regarding Claim 17:
Won discloses:
An information processing method comprising: generating association information in which a plurality of public keys is associated(Won, [0029], …Blockchain wallet 122 then generates an update transaction (i.e., NVS_UPDATE) to update the value associated with the ID stored in NVS 126 to be the hash of the newly generated public key. [0032], Transport Layer Security (TLS)/Secure Sockets Layer (SSL) handshake process after server 140 transmits its X.509 certificate to IoT device 100. Conversely, server 140 may authenticate IoT device 100 by receiving the IoT device's 100 ID 106, public key 110, and other relevant information from IoT device 100; checking that ID 106 belongs to a registered IoT device);
Won does not disclose:
and recording the association information in a blockchain wherein the association information is recorded based on an association certificate certifying authenticity of the association information
and wherein the association certificate is generated based on at least one secret key for one or more of the plurality of public keys
Shamai discloses:
and recording the association information in a blockchain (Shamai, [0070], The blockchain wallet 122 is an application that maintains all valid transaction records in the blockchain, and blockchain wallet 122 may also provide a user interface allowing a user to generate new transactions manually, [0073], After generating the asymmetric cryptographic key pairs for the limited value accounts, the isolated device may publish the public keys of at least some of the accounts to one or more of the computing nodes of the community network regulating the digital assets, for example, the blockchain network ).
wherein the association information is recorded based on an association certificate certifying authenticity of the association information(Shamai, [0008], Associating the isolated device with a plurality of accounts… Each of the plurality of accounts is assigned… a corresponding public key identifying the respective account. [0068], dividing a digital assets account of a user to a plurality of limited value accounts associated with the user…[0072], each of the plurality of limited value accounts is associated with a respective asymmetric cryptographic key pair, [0130], the isolated device 202 generates a plurality of asymmetric cryptographic key pairs for the plurality of limited value accounts.),
and wherein the association certificate is generated based on at least one secret key for one or more of the plurality of public keys(Shamai, [0072], Each of the plurality of limited value accounts is associated with a respective asymmetric cryptographic key pair generated by the isolated device, [0126], the isolated device 202 is associated with a plurality of accounts each configured to store a limited value of the digital assets,[0130], the isolated device 202 generates a plurality of asymmetric cryptographic key pairs for the plurality of limited value accounts. The isolated device 202 generates the asymmetric cryptographic key pairs, [0134], in the cryptocurrency embodiments, the isolated device 202 may transmit the public keys to the blockchain network to allow one or more other users, i.e. cryptocurrency owners to transfer cryptocurrency to one or more of the limited value accounts associated with the isolated device 202.).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify Won’s blockchain-assisted public key infrastructure for internet of things applications by enhancing Won’s systems for generating blockchain transaction of the public keys as taught by Shamai in order to certify and convey the authenticity of the association information hen recording the association in a blockchain
The motivation is to improve the association information recorded in the blockchain by enabling third parties and blockchain systems to readily verify authenticity without requiring direct interaction with the originating device within the security system.
Regarding Claim 18:
Won discloses:
A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium having embodied thereon a program, which when executed by a computer causes the computer to execute a method, the method comprising generating association information in which a plurality of public keys is associated(Won, [0007], non-transitory computer-readable medium that includes instruction [0029], …Blockchain wallet 122 then generates an update transaction (i.e., NVS_UPDATE) to update the value associated with the ID stored in NVS 126 to be the hash of the newly generated public key. [0032], Transport Layer Security (TLS)/Secure Sockets Layer (SSL) handshake process after server 140 transmits its X.509 certificate to IoT device 100. Conversely, server 140 may authenticate IoT device 100 by receiving the IoT device's 100 ID 106, public key 110, and other relevant information from IoT device 100; checking that ID 106 belongs to a registered IoT device);
Won does not disclose:
and recording the association information in a blockchain
wherein the association information is recorded based on an association certificate certifying authenticity of the association information
and wherein the association certificate is generated based on at least one secret key for one or more of the plurality of public keys
Shamai discloses:
and recording the association information in a blockchain (Shamai, [0070], The blockchain wallet 122 is an application that maintains all valid transaction records in the blockchain, and blockchain wallet 122 may also provide a user interface allowing a user to generate new transactions manually, [0073], After generating the asymmetric cryptographic key pairs for the limited value accounts, the isolated device may publish the public keys of at least some of the accounts to one or more of the computing nodes of the community network regulating the digital assets, for example, the blockchain network ),
wherein the association information is recorded based on an association certificate certifying authenticity of the association information (Shamai, [0008], Associating the isolated device with a plurality of accounts… Each of the plurality of accounts is assigned… a corresponding public key identifying the respective account. [0068], dividing a digital assets account of a user to a plurality of limited value accounts associated with the user…[0072], each of the plurality of limited value accounts is associated with a respective asymmetric cryptographic key pair, [0130], the isolated device 202 generates a plurality of asymmetric cryptographic key pairs for the plurality of limited value accounts.),
and wherein the association certificate is generated based on at least one secret key for one or more of the plurality of public keys (Shamai, [0072], Each of the plurality of limited value accounts is associated with a respective asymmetric cryptographic key pair generated by the isolated device, [0126], the isolated device 202 is associated with a plurality of accounts each configured to store a limited value of the digital assets,[0130], the isolated device 202 generates a plurality of asymmetric cryptographic key pairs for the plurality of limited value accounts. The isolated device 202 generates the asymmetric cryptographic key pairs, [0134], in the cryptocurrency embodiments, the isolated device 202 may transmit the public keys to the blockchain network to allow one or more other users, i.e. cryptocurrency owners to transfer cryptocurrency to one or more of the limited value accounts associated with the isolated device 202.).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify Won’s blockchain-assisted public key infrastructure for internet of things applications by enhancing Won’s systems for generating blockchain transaction of the public keys as taught by Shamai in order to certify and convey the authenticity of the association information hen recording the association in a blockchain
The motivation is to improve the association information recorded in the blockchain by enabling third parties and blockchain systems to readily verify authenticity without requiring direct interaction with the originating device within the security system.
Contact Information
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MAYASA A. SHAAWAT/Examiner, Art Unit 2433
/JEFFREY C PWU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2433