DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings were received on 7/15/2026. These drawings are acceptable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-7, 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by LAI, US 2019/0265114 with evidence provided by Huazheng, [retrieved on 2026-09-29], Retrieved from the Internet: https://www.beijing-huazheng.com/info/what-is-the-dielectric-constant-of-insulating-103073600.html.
Regarding claim 1, LAI discloses; a Capacitive Micromachined Ultrasound Transducer cell, comprising: a membrane (Fig.1-4 and [0027]; covering layer 36); a substrate (Fig.1-4 and [0027]; substrate 2); a top electrode in contact with the membrane (Fig.1-4 and [0029]; first electrode 51 in contact with covering layer 36); a bottom electrode in contact with the substrate (Fig.1-4 and [0029]; second electrode 52 in contact with substrate 2);and a deformable dielectric layer filled in the Capacitive Micromachined Ultrasound Transducer cell extending from the membrane (Fig.1-4 and [0027, 0032]; deformable dielectric transducer unit 3 is disposed on the substrate 2 and is filled through the opening 37 into the receiving space 35, which receives the tunable member 4 eliminating the gap of space 35), thereby eliminating a gap, the deformable dielectric layer comprising a solid material and/or a liquid material (Fig.1-4 and [0031]; tunable member 4 formed as a smart fluid, e.g., an electrorheological fluid (ER-fluid) or a magnetorheological fluid (MR-fluid), and includes an insulating fluid 41-silicone oil or mineral oil and a plurality of particles 42 dispersed in the insulating fluid 41), wherein the material of the deformable dielectric layer includes relative permittivity greater than air (examiner interpret that properties of materials are inherent; relative permittivity or dielectric constant of silicone oil typically ranges from 2.5 to 2.8; Common Mineral Insulating Oil (e.g., Transformer Oil) approximately 2.2 to 2.4, whereas Air dielectric constant ≈ 1.0- at room temperature).
Regarding claim 2, LAI discloses; the cell including at least two posts provided for supporting the membrane and the top electrode (Fig.1-4 and [0027, 0029]; side rtions 32 support the top portion 33 having covering layer 36 and first electrode 51), and an insulation layer providing insulation between the top electrode and the bottom electrode (Fig.1-4 and [0027, 0028]; bottom portion 31 made of dielectric material providing insulation between the first electrode 51 and second electrode 52).
Regarding claim 3, LAI discloses; at least one top electrode embedded in the membrane (Fig.1-4 and [0029]; the first electrode 51 may be disposed inside the covering layer 36).
Regarding claim 5, LAI discloses; the material of the deformable dielectric layer including ratio of Bulk Modulus and relative permittivity less than 100 (bulk modulus (B) of standard linear silicone oil at atmospheric pressure typically ranges from 1.0 to 1.5 GPa and relative permittivity or dielectric constant of silicone oil typically ranges from 2.6 to 2.8 at room temperature, therefore ratio is 1.0/2.6= 0.38. Bulk modulus of mineral oil typically ranges from 1.38 to 1.8 GPa and relative permittivity or dielectric constant of fresh mineral oil typically ranges from 2.1 to 2.4 at standard room temperature, therefore ratio is 1.38/2.1= 0.65). Note: examiner interpret with industry standard units as no units are disclosed in the claim language.
Regarding claim 6, LAI discloses; the cell is fabricated using one or a combination of micromachining (Fig.1-4 and [0040]; MEMS), micro embossing, roll to roll extrusion, sacrificial release, and wafer bonding process.
Regarding claim 7, LAI discloses; material of the substrate, membrane and deformable dielectric layer including one or a combination of Silicon nitride, polysilicon, highly-doped Silicon, Silicon, polymer, photopolymer, glass, copper, chromium, aluminium, gold, platinum and composite thereof (Fig.1-4 and [0028]; deformable dielectric unit 3 made of a dielectric material, such as silicon dioxide, silicon nitride, polydimethylsiloxane etc. Examples of a material suitable for making the covering layer 36 may include, but are not limited to, Parylene C, Parylene D, Parylene N, silicon dioxide, silicon nitride, polyimide, metal, and combinations thereof).
Regarding claim 9, LAI discloses; the Capacitive Micromachined Ultrasound Transducer cell is utilized in nondestructive evaluation and/or characterization, volumetric imaging, medical imaging, medical therapy, gas sensor, hydrophone, flow sensor, sure sensor, Doppler velocity measurement, fingerprint sensing, and photoacoustic devices (Fig.1-4 and [0033, 0043]; tactile sensor, transducer 6 may be an accelerometer, a pressure sensor, a speaker, or the like).
Regarding claim 10, LAI discloses; plurality of the Capacitive Micromachined Ultrasound Transducer cells provided as an array and/or on a chip in a device with built-in electronics (Fig.1-4 and [0009]; transducer includes at least tunable device, and one of a driver unit, a sensing unit).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LAI US 2019/0265114 as applied to claims 1-3, 5-7, 9 and 10 above, and further in view of official notice with evidence provided by Huazheng, [retrieved on 2026-09-29]. Retrieved from the Internet: https://www.beijing-huazheng.com/info/what-is-the-dielectric-constant-of-insulating-103073600.html.
Regarding claim 4, LAI discloses; the material of the deformable dielectric layer including relative permittivity greater than air (examiner interpret that properties of materials are inherent; relative permittivity or dielectric constant of silicone oil typically ranges from 2.5 to 2.8; Common Mineral Insulating Oil (e.g., Transformer Oil) approximately 2.2 to 2.4, whereas Air dielectric constant ≈ 1.0- at room temperature). LAI substantially discloses the invention including deformable dielectric unit with tunable member having insulating fluid with relative permittivity greater than air (shown above) but is specifically silent about bulk modulus less than air, as (bulk modulus (B) of standard linear silicone oil at atmospheric pressure typically ranges from 1.0 to 1.5 GPa and the bulk modulus of mineral oil typically ranges from 1.38 to 1.8 GPa, whereas bulk modulus of air depends on how fast it is compressed, measuring roughly 101 kPa). LAI also discloses about insulating fluid 41 may be made of a curable material, such as a thermo-curable polymer or a photo-curable polymer [0041]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify LAI by proving the material of the deformable dielectric layer including bulk modulus less than air, since applicant has not disclosed the specific material of the deformable dielectric layer, therefore it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation- MPEP 2144.05.II.A.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 7/15/2026 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
New 102, 103 rejections have been applied, please see the rejection above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NORMAN D RICHARDS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2892
/AZM PARVEZ/
Examiner
Art Unit 2892