DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Group I (claims 1-17) in the reply filed on 6/29/2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over IDS reference Aharoni (US 20190059314 ), hereinafter D1, in view IDS NPL reference KAPLAN (see Cite No. 3 of NPL Documents section of IDS of 9/2/2025), hereinafter D2, and further in view of IDS reference Burns (see Cite No. 1 of NPL Documents section of IDS of 9/2/2025), hereinafter D3 . A copy of NPL references D2 and D3 was provided by applicant with IDS of 9/2/2025, and the same is being utilized here.
Regarding claim 1, D1 teaches an edible composition (para 91) comprising a plant
belonging to the genus Solanum or plant part derived therefrom (para 2), wherein the
plant or plant part is essentially devoid of steroidal glycoalkaloids; i.e SGAs (para 91
and para 235), and wherein the in vitro dry matter digestibility (IVDMD) of said plant or
plant part is greater than or essentially equivalent to the IVDMD of a control plant
belonging to the genus Solanum or plant part comprising SGAs.
D1 does not teach using the above ground parts of the plant for livestock feed and that "in vitro dry matter digestibility (IVDMD) of said plant or plant part is greater than or essentially equivalent to the IVDMD of a control plant belonging to the genus
Solanum or plant part comprising SGAs".
However, D1 teaches that plants may contain significant amounts of
"antinutritional substances" especially "steroidal glycoalkaloids" (para 25), and there is
demand for food with improved quality with reduced toxic anti-nutrients (para 25 and
28). Further, it is known that potato leaves are rich in protein and that haulms can be used as alternative feed source for animals (see D2, page 90, right column and abstract). Regarding the digestibility, it is known that nutrient digestibility is almost not impacted by alkaloid concentration, but high negative correlations were reported between total alkaloid concentrations and palatability ratings, as taught for example at D3 (p.1813 first para.), which also refers to animal feed. Thereby improving food intake is expected. A person of ordinary skill in the art would consider using the alkaloid free product in view of teachings of D1, for livestock feed, as taught at D2 and D3. Therefore, the subject matter of claim 1
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify 01 so that in vitro dry matter digestibility (IVDMD) of said plant or plant part is greater than or essentially equivalent to the IVDMD of a control plant belonging to the genus Solanum or plant part comprising SGAs. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify D1 for at least the purpose of eliminating known antinutritional substances like steroidal glycoalkaloids (para 25 of D1) and thus improving in vitro dry matter digestibility for associated nutritional benefits and mitigating "gastrointestinal and neurological disorder" caused by SGAs (para 9 of D1).
Regarding claims 2-5, D1 teaches that (as recited in claim 5) said plant belonging to the
genus Solanum is selected from the group consisting of: potato, tomato, and eggplant (see para 21 and 22); and the limitations recited in claims 2-4 are essentially the properties of above genus Solanum plants like potato.
Regarding claims 6-8, D1 teaches that edible composition of claim 1, wherein said plant (such as potato - see para 21-22) has a plant part comprises haulm (i.e. the above ground leafy part of potato plant), as recited in claim 6, while claims 7-8 simply recite properties of the haulm of potato plant and parts.
Regarding claim 9, D1 teaches the edible composition of claim 1, wherein said plant or
plant part is genetically modified such that at least one enzyme being selected from the
group consisting of: 2-oxoglutarate-dependent dioxygenase (see para 30 which explains role of "2-oxoglutarate-dependent dioxygenase" in control on production of SGAs; also see para 124), glycoalkaloid metabolism 4 (GAME4), and both (para 24), is characterized by having reduced expression (para 122) and/or activity compared to the expression and/or activity of said at least one enzyme in a control plant or plant pai1 (para 120-121).
Regarding claim 10, D1 teaches the edible composition of claim 8, wherein said
genetically modified plant or plant part comprises a mutation in Exon 1 of a gene (para
99) encoding said DOXl 6 enzyme (see para 30 which explains role of "2-oxoglutarate-dependent dioxygenase" in control on production of SGAs; also see para 124).
Regarding claim 12, D1 teaches the edible composition of claim 10 or 11, wherein said
mutation comprises a deletion or insertion (para 111 ).
Regarding claims 11 and 13-17, they refer to standard procedures in genetically modified plants, noting that D1 teaches "custom designed nucleases" (para 160), number of nucleotides is addressed in para 95, wild type plant (see para 179; also see para 13, 41 ), also teaches CRISPR gene-editing method (para 33, 165); also teaches for heterologous polynucleotides (para 112).
Conclusion
/JYOTI CHAWLA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1791