Response to Amendments
The amendment and response filed on February 4, 2026, to the Non-Final Office Action dated November 4, 2025 has been entered. Claims 1-20 are amended. Claims 1 - 20 are pending in this application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments and amendments, see pages 11-15, filed February 4, 2026, with respect to the 35 U.S.C. § 102 rejection based on TSUBOI et al (US-20090076657-A1) have been considered but are not persuasive. The 35 U.S.C. § 102 rejection of claims 1-20 is maintained for the reasons explained below. However, upon further consideration, a new ground of rejection is made in view of further limiting amendments made, changing the scope of the claimed invention.
With regard to amended Claim 1, the Applicant argues that that the Tsuboi reference fails, alone or in combination, to teach the features of "the respective sensor part of the plurality of sensor parts has a first detection region and a second detection region in the first detection region, the respective sensor part is configured to detect a first pressure component parallel to a first axis direction the first axis direction is a holding direction for the workpiece in the second detection region, the respective sensor part is further configured to detect a second pressure component parallel to a second axis direction, and the second axis direction intersects with the first axis direction," as recited in amended independent claim 1.
The Examiner disagrees since at Figure 5 Tsuboi illustrates a sensor consisting of matrix of contact elements 52 which each can be measured to define a detection region:” the contact region represents the number of contact elements indicated by the graph 136. The contact region is calculated by using formula (1) for each of the sensor elements 52 assuming that the sensor elements 52, pressure values of which exceed the contact threshold (e.g., th(x, y)), are contact elements (i.e., the sensor elements 52 that detect contact).” (Cited with emphasis) See Para. [00235]. Further, in Para. [0068]-[0070] Tsuboi discloses measuring a normal force (first pressure) acting and a slip force (second force) which defines the interaction between an object and the robot hand.
The Applicant’s amendments and arguments are insufficient to overcome these prior art rejections.
Claim Rejections -- 35 U.S.C. § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by TSUBOI et al (US-20090076657-A1)(“Tsuboi”).
As per claim 1, Tsuboi discloses a robot apparatus (Figure 1A, robot hand manipulator 18.), comprising:
a hand part that includes a plurality of finger parts, wherein the plurality of finger parts is configured to hold a workpiece (Tsuboi at Figure 1A, Hand 16, and Para. [0063] disclosing that the hand has fingers with sensors:” sensor 21-6 is provided between the first joint and a second joint on the finger palm surface of the thumb.”);
a plurality of sensor parts, wherein each finger part of the plurality of finger parts includes a respective sensor part of the plurality of sensor parts (Tsuboi at Figure 1A, plurality of sensors like sensor 21-17, and Para. [0064] disclosing sensors at parts of the finger and palm:” sensor 21-10 is provided above a first joint on a finger palm surface of a middle finger. A sensor 21-11 is provided between the first joint and a second joint on the finger palm surface of the middle finger. A sensor 21-12 is provided between the second joint and a third joint on the finger palm surface of the middle finger. A sensor 21-13 is provided above a first joint on a finger palm surface of a third finger. A sensor 21-14 is provided between the first joint and a second joint on the finger palm surface of the third finger. A sensor 21-15 is provided between the second joint and a third joint on the finger palm surface of the third finger. A sensor 21-16 is provided above a first joint on a finger palm surface of a little finger. A sensor 21-17 is provided between the first joint and a second joint on the finger palm surface of the little finger. A sensor 21-18 is provided between the second joint and a third joint on the finger palm surface of the little finger.”), the respective sensor part of the plurality of sensor parts has a first detection region and a second detection region, in the first detection region, the respective sensor part is configured to detect a first pressure component parallel to a first axis direction (Tsuboi, further discloses at Para. [0067] measuring of applied pressure to an objects at each of the sensors involved with the gripping of an object:” sensor 21 detects, when an object comes into contact with the viscoelastic body, a dispersed pressure value of the object (hereinafter also referred to as distributed pressure value). The sensor 21 detects, on the basis of the detected distributed pressure value, a slip between a gripped object and a fingertip, which is gripping information necessary for performing complicated control such as gripping and manipulation of an object by the robot hand 1.”), the first axis direction is a holding direction for the workpiece, in the second detection region, the respective sensor part is further configured to detect a second pressure component parallel to a second axis direction, and the second axis direction intersects with the first axis direction (Tsuboi at Figures 10-11, forces acting on an object in different direction, Figure 12, xy coordinate of sensor, and Figures 21a-21c, showing forces at different regions of the sensor space, and Para. [0235] disclosing the different contact regions and their respective forces:” contact region, a contact area, weighted force Fz, and the pressure center position COPx, COPy can also be calculated on the basis of the pressure values indicated by the graphs 131 to 134. Specifically, the contact region represents the number of contact elements indicated by the graph 136. The contact region is calculated by using formula (1) for each of the sensor elements 52 assuming that the sensor elements 52, pressure values of which exceed the contact threshold (e.g., th(x, y)), are contact elements (i.e., the sensor elements 52 that detect contact).”). ; and
a control apparatus configured to generate a set of control commands to control the hand part, wherein the set of control commands is generated based on at least one of the detected first pressure component or the detected second pressure component parts (Tsuboi at Figure 6, control device 81 using pressure values to control parts of the robotic hand, and Para. [0098] disclosing control of the applied force as a function of the sensed pressure:” main control unit 101 causes the robot hand 1 to grip the object and, for example, move and carry the object, the main control unit 101 controls necessary ones of the actuators 102 on the basis of the information on the slip between the gripped object and the finger tips from the respective sensors 21 to drive the predetermined joint sections 10, actively relaxes gripping force of the joint sections 10, grips the object with minimum force, and causes the robot hand 1 to, for example, move and carry the object with further reduced energy consumption.”).
As per claim 2, Tsuboi discloses a robot apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the each finger part includes one of a flat surface-shaped tip end region or a curved surface- shaped tip end region at a finger tip of the each finger part (Tsuboi at Figure 1b, pressure sensing at three distinctive parts of a finger, and Para. [0097] discloses pressure sensing:” main control unit 101 receives information on a slip between a gripped object and the fingertips detected by the respective sensors 21. The main control unit 101 controls necessary ones of the actuators 102 on the basis of the information using, for example, softness of the sensors 21 themselves and grippability due to friction on surfaces of the sensors 21 to drive the predetermined joints 10 and cause the robot hand 1 to grip the object and, for example, move and carry the object.”); and
one of a flat surface-shaped holding region or a curved surface- shaped holding region configured to hold the workpiece, the first detection region is at the one of the flat surface-shaped tip end region or the curved surface-shaped tip end region, and the second detection region is at the one of the flat surface-shaped holding region or the curved surface-shaped holding region (Tsuboi at Para. [0098] discloses using sensed signal from the tip of the finger to hold/carry an object:” gripping force of the joint sections 10, grips the object with minimum force, and causes the robot hand 1 to, for example, move and carry the object with further reduced energy consumption.”).
As per claim 3, Tsuboi discloses a robot apparatus according to claim 1, wherein at least one of the plurality of finger parts is configured to turnaround a third axis direction orthogonal to each of the first axis direction and the second axis direction (Tsuboi at Figure 6, control 101 and actuators 12, and Para. [0100] disclosing that some of the actuators represent joint parts at the hand and fingers:” respective actuators 102 are incorporated in the predetermined joint sections 10 (i.e., the shoulder joint section 11, the elbow joint section 13, the wrist section 15, and the respective finger joints of the hand section 16) and drive the predetermined joint sections 10 according to a driving signal from the main control unit 101.”).
As per claim 4, Tsuboi discloses a robot apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the respective sensor part includes a sensor sheet, and the sensor sheet has the first detection region and the second detection region regions in a plane (Tsuboi at Figure 2 & 3A-3B and Para. [0078] describing the sensors as a sensor sheet that deforms and its measurement represents the pressure at the point of contact with the surface/sheet:” input section 31 roughly includes the deforming section 41 and a pressure detecting section 42. In other words, the input section 31 has a multilayer structure including the deforming section 41 in an upper layer and the pressure detecting section 42 in a lower layer.”).
As per claim 5, Tsuboi discloses a robot apparatus according to claim 4, wherein the sensor sheet includes a pressure sensor, and the pressure sensor includes:
a sensor electrode layer that includes a plurality of capacitive elements in a matrix form (Tsuboi at Figure 5, matrix form of sensor 52.), a reference electrode layer connected to a reference potential (Tsuboi at Para. [0105] discloses the use of a threshold value which is the same as a reference potential:” detecting unit 124 compares a calculation result of the pressure center movement detection calculation with a predetermined threshold (hereinafter referred to as judgment threshold) and detects a slip. Alternatively, the slip detecting unit 124 directly compares the pressure center movement calculated value from the pressure-center-movement calculating unit 123 and the judgment threshold and detects a slip.”), and a deformation layer between the sensor electrode layer and the reference electrode layer (Tsuboi at Figs 3A-3B, deforming unit 41, and Para. [0107] the deformation is used as a pressure measurement at the point of contact:” contact detection using distributed pressure values from the respective sensor elements 52 and outputs information on the sensor elements 52, for which detection of contact of an object with the sensor 21 (the deforming section 41) is performed.”).
As per claim 6, Tsuboi discloses a robot apparatus according to claim 4, wherein the sensor sheet includes:
a pair of pressure sensors, wherein each pressure sensor of the pair of pressure sensors includes (Tsuboi at Figure 10, sensors 401 and 402.):
a sensor electrode layer that includes a plurality of capacitive elements in a matrix form (Tsuboi at Figure 5, matrix form of sensor 52.), a reference electrode layer connected to a reference potential (Tsuboi at Figure 3B, layer 42.), and a deformation layer between the sensor electrode layer and the reference electrode layer (Tsuboi at Figure 3B, layer 41.), and a separation layer that includes a viscoelastic material be ween the pair of pressure sensors (Tsuboi at Para. [0215] discloses the operation of the sensor based on changes at the respective layers:” the input section 31 includes the deforming section 41 of the viscoelastic body and the pressure detecting section 42. Therefore, the input section 31 can be easily deformed into various shapes by a load from the outside.”).
As per claim 7, Tsuboi discloses a robot apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the control apparatus is further configured to output a first control command of the set of control commands to control a movement of the hand part along the second axis direction (Tsuboi at Figure 6, main control 101 and actuators 102, and Para. [0226] discloses controlling the robot hand:” when gripping is performed by the robot hand 1, rather than performing gripping force control on the basis of a complete relative motion (a slip in a narrow sense dominated by a coefficient of dynamic friction) between the viscoelastic body of the input section 31 and the contact object, it is more effective to detect a slip according to a state of shift before the slip and perform the gripping force control.”), and the movement of the hand part is controlled based on the detected second pressure component (Tsuboi at Para. [0178] and Para. [0179] discloses controlling the change in force which is known to be a relationship that is based on the change of velocity:” the control is performed after the object 424 is controlled to not to slip (controlled to rest). The control is performed when the change value chg.sub.Fy of the gripping force Fy is equal to or smaller than a fixed level, i.e., when the change value chg.sub.Fy(t) is smaller than a threshold Th.sub.chg.”).
As per claim 8, Tsuboi discloses a robot apparatus according to claim 7, wherein the control apparatus is further configured to output the first control command to stop the movement of the hand part along the second axis direction (Tsuboi at Para. [0165] discloses controlling slip of the robot hand which would be in the direction of a second axis (z) like shown in Figure 12A:” for the purpose of stopping a slip, the slip can be stopped if gripping force of fingers is controlled to immediately apply maximum gripping force when the slip is detected.”).
As per claim 9, Tsuboi discloses a robot apparatus according to claim 7, wherein the control apparatus is further configured to output the first control command to change a movement velocity of the hand part along the second axis direction (Tsuboi at Para. [0178] and Para. [0179] discloses controlling the change in force which is known to be a relationship that is based on the change of velocity:” the control is performed after the object 424 is controlled to not to slip (controlled to rest). The control is performed when the change value chg.sub.Fy of the gripping force Fy is equal to or smaller than a fixed level, i.e., when the change value chg.sub.Fy(t) is smaller than a threshold Th.sub.chg.”).
As per claim 10, Tsuboi discloses a robot apparatus according to claim 7, wherein the control apparatus is further configured to output a second control command of the set of control commands to control an attitude of the hand part (Tsuboi at Para. [0108] discloses using a threshold pressure to ascertain that a contact pressure is being measured:” When an output (i.e., an pressure value) P (x, y) of each of the sensor elements 52 exceeds a certain threshold th(x, y), i.e., satisfies the following formula (1), the contact detecting unit 121 judges that the sensor element 52 has detected contact of an object with the input section 31 (the deforming unit 41).”), the second control command is output based on a difference between first pressure values of the second detection region of a first finger part of the plurality of finger parts and second pressure values of the second detection region of a second finger part of the plurality of finger parts, and the difference is one of equal to or smaller than a first threshold value (Tsuboi at Figure 12A and Para. [0267] discloses lifting the object or changing attitude of the robot hand:” as shown in FIG. 12A, after the index finger 422 and the middle finger 423 are opposed to the thumb 421 to grip the cylindrical object 424, the arm attached with the hand is driven upward to lift the object 424. A hand coordinate system is set as shown in FIG. 12A and gripping force is the force Fy in the y direction.”).
As per claim 11, Tsuboi discloses robot apparatus according to claim 10, wherein the control apparatus is further configured to output the second control command to move the plurality of finger parts along the first axis direction such that the difference remains the one of equal to or smaller than the first threshold value (Tsuboi at Para. [0267] discloses the pressure difference around different sections of the fingers and prepares commands accordingly: “command value of gripping force of the index finger 422 and the middle finger 423 is set to a half of that of the thumb 421 in a direction opposed to the thumb 421. The command value ref.sub.Fy(t) of initial gripping force is set to -0.3 [N] for the thumb 421 and is set to 0.15 [N] for the index finger 422 and the middle finger 423. This value is a value determined by minimum settable force of the index finger 422 and the middle finger 423.”).
As per claim 12, Tsuboi discloses a robot apparatus according to claim 11, wherein the control apparatus is further configured to output a third control command of the set of control commands to raise the hand parts the third control command is output based on third pressure values of first detection regions of the plurality of finger parts, the first detection regions include the first detection region, and the third pressure values are one of equal to or larger than second threshold value (Tsuboi at Figure 12A and Para. [0267] discloses lifting the object or changing attitude of the robot hand:” as shown in FIG. 12A, after the index finger 422 and the middle finger 423 are opposed to the thumb 421 to grip the cylindrical object 424, the arm attached with the hand is driven upward to lift the object 424. A hand coordinate system is set as shown in FIG. 12A and gripping force is the force Fy in the y direction.”).
As per claim 13, Tsuboi discloses a robot apparatus according to claim 11, wherein the control apparatus is further configured to output a third control command of the set of control commands to turn one finger part of the plurality of finger parts around a third axis direction, the third axis direction is orthogonal to each of the first axis direction and the second axis direction, the third control command is output based on third pressure values of first detection regions of the plurality of finger parts (Tsuboi at Para. [0069] discloses a rotational motion for moving the fingers around an object:” rotational motion is a rolling motion of the object rotationally moving while keeping contact with the fingers and a rotational motion around a normal axis at the gripping contact point. A slip of the translational motion and a slip of the rotational motion are distinguished from each other by being referred to as a translational slip and a rotational slip.”.), the first detection regions include the first detection region, and the third pressure values are one of equal to or larger than a second threshold value (Tsuboi at Para. [0268] discloses a gripping threshold pressure:” In FIG. 28, a graph 511 indicates the command value ref.sub.Fy(t) of gripping force and a graph 512 indicates the gripping force Fy of the thumb 421.”).
As per claim 14, Tsuboi discloses a control method for a robot apparatus (Figures 6 & 14.), comprising:
holding a workpiece by a plurality of finger parts of a hand part of a robot apparatus (Tsuboi at Figure 1A, Hand 16, and Para. [0063] disclosing that the hand has fingers with sensors:” sensor 21-6 is provided between the first joint and a second joint on the finger palm surface of the thumb.”);
detecting, by a plurality of sensor parts of the robot apparatus, a plurality of pressure components, wherein each finger part of the plurality of finger parts includes a respective sensor part of the plurality of sensor parts (Tsuboi at Figure 1A, plurality of sensors like sensor 21-17, and Para. [0064] disclosing sensors at parts of the finger and palm:” sensor 21-10 is provided above a first joint on a finger palm surface of a middle finger. A sensor 21-11 is provided between the first joint and a second joint on the finger palm surface of the middle finger. A sensor 21-12 is provided between the second joint and a third joint on the finger palm surface of the middle finger. A sensor 21-13 is provided above a first joint on a finger palm surface of a third finger.”), the respective sensor part of the plurality of sensor parts has a first detection region and a second detection region, in the first detection region, the respective sensor part is configured to detect a first pressure component parallel to a first axis direction the first axis direction is a holding direction for the workpiece) in the second detection region (Tsuboi at Para. [0246] discloses a plurality of contact regions:” FIGS. 20A and 20B, a contact region, a contact area, force Fz, and the pressure center position COPx, COPy can also be calculated on the basis of the pressure values indicated by the graphs 141 to 150. Specifically, the contact region represents the number of contact elements indicated by the graph 152 shown in FIG. 23C. The contact region is calculated by using formula (1) for each of the sensor elements 52 assuming that the sensor elements 52, pressure values of which exceed the contact threshold, are contact elements (i.e., the sensor elements 52 that detect contact). The contact area can be calculated by multiplying the number of contact elements indicated by the graph 152 with an element area.”), the respective sensor part is configured to detect a second pressure component parallel to a second axis direction the second axis direction intersects with the first axis direction, and the plurality of pressure components includes the first pressure component and the second pressure component (Tsuboi at Figure 1A &1B, robot arm and hand with various sensors, and Para. [0064] disclosing sensors at parts of the finger and palm:” sensor 21-10 is provided above a first joint on a finger palm surface of a middle finger. A sensor 21-11 is provided between the first joint and a second joint on the finger palm surface of the middle finger. A sensor 21-12 is provided between the second joint and a third joint on the finger palm surface of the middle finger. A sensor 21-13 is provided above a first joint on a finger palm surface of a third finger. A sensor 21-14 is provided between the first joint and a second joint on the finger palm surface of the third finger. A sensor 21-15 is provided between the second joint and a third joint on the finger palm surface of the third finger. A sensor 21-16 is provided above a first joint on a finger palm surface of a little finger. A sensor 21-17 is provided between the first joint and a second joint on the finger palm surface of the little finger. A sensor 21-18 is provided between the second joint and a third joint on the finger palm surface of the little finger.”);
moving the hand part in the second axis direction (Tsuboi at Para. [0165] discloses controlling slip of the robot hand which would be in the direction of a second axis (z) like shown in Figure 12A:” for the purpose of stopping a slip, the slip can be stopped if gripping force of fingers is controlled to immediately apply maximum gripping force when the slip is detected.”); and
controlling the movement of the hand part along the second axis direction based on at least one of the detected first pressure component or the detected second pressure component (Tsuboi at Figure 12A and Para. [0267] discloses lifting the object or changing attitude of the robot hand:” as shown in FIG. 12A, after the index finger 422 and the middle finger 423 are opposed to the thumb 421 to grip the cylindrical object 424, the arm attached with the hand is driven upward to lift the object 424. A hand coordinate system is set as shown in FIG. 12A and gripping force is the force Fy in the y direction.”).
As per claim 15, Tsuboi discloses a control method according to claim 14, wherein the controlling the movement of the hand part comprises stopping the movement of the hand part along the second axis direction (Tsuboi at Para. [0165] discloses controlling slip of the robot hand which would be in the direction of a second axis (z) like shown in Figure 12A:” for the purpose of stopping a slip, the slip can be stopped if gripping force of fingers is controlled to immediately apply maximum gripping force when the slip is detected.”).
As per claim 16, Tsuboi discloses a control method according to claim 14, wherein the controlling the movement of the hand part comprises changing a movement velocity of the hand part along the second axis direction (Tsuboi at Para. [0178] and Para. [0179] discloses controlling the change in force which is known to be a relationship that is based on the change of velocity:” the control is performed after the object 424 is controlled to not to slip (controlled to rest). The control is performed when the change value chg.sub.Fy of the gripping force Fy is equal to or smaller than a fixed level, i.e., when the change value chg.sub.Fy(t) is smaller than a threshold Th.sub.chg.”).
As per claim 17, Tsuboi discloses a control method according to claim 14, further comprising controlling an attitude of the hand part based on a difference between first pressure values of the second detection region of a first finger part of the plurality of finger parts and second pressure values of the second detection region of a second finger part of the plurality of finger parts, wherein the difference is one of equal to or smaller than a first threshold value (Tsuboi at Figure 12A and Para. [0267] discloses lifting the object or changing attitude of the robot hand:” as shown in FIG. 12A, after the index finger 422 and the middle finger 423 are opposed to the thumb 421 to grip the cylindrical object 424, the arm attached with the hand is driven upward to lift the object 424. A hand coordinate system is set as shown in FIG. 12A and gripping force is the force Fy in the y direction.”).
As per claim 18, Tsuboi discloses a control method according to claim 17, further comprising moving the plurality of finger parts along the first axis direction such that the difference remains the one of equal to or smaller than the first threshold value (Tsuboi at Figure 12A and Para. [0267] discloses lifting the object or changing attitude of the robot hand:” as shown in FIG. 12A, after the index finger 422 and the middle finger 423 are opposed to the thumb 421 to grip the cylindrical object 424, the arm attached with the hand is driven upward to lift the object 424. A hand coordinate system is set as shown in FIG. 12A and gripping force is the force Fy in the y direction.”).
As per claim 19, Tsuboi discloses a control method according to claim 18, further comprising raising the hand part based on third pressure values of first detection regions of the plurality of finger parts (Tsuboi at Para. [0069] discloses a rotational motion for moving the fingers around an object:” rotational motion is a rolling motion of the object rotationally moving while keeping contact with the fingers and a rotational motion around a normal axis at the gripping contact point. A slip of the translational motion and a slip of the rotational motion are distinguished from each other by being referred to as a translational slip and a rotational slip.”.), wherein the first detection regions include the first detection region, and the third pressure values are one of equal to or larger than second threshold value (Tsuboi at Figure 12A and Para. [0267] discloses lifting the object or changing attitude of the robot hand:” as shown in FIG. 12A, after the index finger 422 and the middle finger 423 are opposed to the thumb 421 to grip the cylindrical object 424, the arm attached with the hand is driven upward to lift the object 424. A hand coordinate system is set as shown in FIG. 12A and gripping force is the force Fy in the y direction.”).
As per claim 20, Tsuboi discloses a control method according to claim 18, further comprising turning one finger part of the plurality of finger parts around a third axis direction, wherein the third axis direction is orthogonal to each of the first axis direction and the second axis direction, the one finger part is turned around the third axis direction based on third pressure values of first detection regions of the plurality of finger parts (Tsuboi at Para, [0069] discloses rotational motion while gripping an object which under broadest reasonable interpretation would be turning around a third axis:” rotational motion is a rolling motion of the object rotationally moving while keeping contact with the fingers and a rotational motion around a normal axis at the gripping contact point. A slip of the translational motion and a slip of the rotational motion are distinguished from each other by being referred to as a translational slip and a rotational slip. However, these motions often occur simultaneously in combination.”) , the first detection regions include the first detection region, and the third pressure values are one of equal to or larger than a second (Tsuboi at Figure 6, control 101 and actuators 12, and Para. [0100] disclosing that some of the actuators represent joint parts at the hand and fingers:” respective actuators 102 are incorporated in the predetermined joint sections 10 (i.e., the shoulder joint section 11, the elbow joint section 13, the wrist section 15, and the respective finger joints of the hand section 16) and drive the predetermined joint sections 10 according to a driving signal from the main control unit 101.”).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ELLIS B. RAMIREZ/Examiner, Art Unit 3658