DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The preliminary amendment filed on 03/05/2024 is entered and acknowledged by the Examiner. Claims 1-7 have been amended are currently pending in the instant application.
Priority
This application is a 371 of PCT/CN 2022/080110 (filed on 03/10/2022). Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in China on 09/29/2021.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) filed on 03/05/2024 and 10/09/2024 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97 and have been considered by the examiner. An initialed copy accompanies this Office Action.
Drawings
The drawings filed on 03/05/2024 have been considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 4-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by an article to “Direct gas phase synthesis of amorphous Si/C nanoparticles as anode material for lithium ion battery” (hereinafter Orthner).
Initially, it should be noted that the Orthner reference is cited in the IDS filed on 03/05/2024 and as “X” reference in the international search report filed on 03/05/2024.
Regarding claims 4-7, Orthner discloses a method for preparing a Si/C composite material as anode (a negative plate of claims 6-7) for lithium ion battery comprises introducing a mixture of monosilane (claimed silicon source) and ethylene (claimed carbon source) with gas flow of argon and follow by nitrogen gas (claimed carrier gas) into a reactor tube (See page 3; 1st paragraph of Experimental Section, left column). The addition of a mixture of monosilane and ethylene with argon gas meets the claimed limitation of simultaneously introducing a silicon source, a carbon source, and a carrier gas into a reaction vessel in proportion as recited in claim 4. The monosilane, ethylene, and argon gas of Orthner meets the claimed silicon source, carbon source, and carrier gas, respectively, as recited in claim 5. Orthner discloses that the reaction is preform at a temperature between 640°C and 1100°C and at atmospheric pressure (1.0 atm) (See page 3; 1st paragraph of Experimental Section, left column). The reaction temperature and reaction pressure of Orthner are within the claimed ranges as required in claim 4.
Orthner further discloses that the reaction will yield amorphous Silicon/carbon-based material with a mean particle size around or below 200 nm useful in lithium ion battery anode (See page 7, 1st full paragraph, left column). When the amorphous Silicon/carbon-based material of Orthner is finish from the thermal reaction and then process into an anode, the subsequence step of forming the anode would be preform at a room temperature and cool the composite material from the reaction temperature of between 640°C and 1100°C to room temperature.
Regarding claim 1, Zhu discloses a method of preparing the Si/C composite having the claimed particle size of around or below 200 nm containing all the claimed components within the claimed reaction parameters (See claims 4-5 above). Therefore, the method of Zhu is expected to yield a composite product a structure as claimed and the structure would the claimed XRD spectrum because the same composite structure should have the same XRD spectrum. Zhu further discloses that the Si/C composite containing carbon concentration (mass of carbon atom) of 6.3 wt% to 14.2 wt% (See page 5, first paragraph, right column).
The reference specifically or inherently meets each of the claimed limitations in their broadest interpretations. The reference is anticipatory.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Orthner as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US 2019/0140262 A1 (hereinafter Kim).
Zhu is relied upon as set forth above.
With respect to claim 2, Orthner does not disclose the Si/C composite material having an oxygen content of 0.1-20 mass% as recited in the instant claim.
Kim discloses a silicon-carbon composite useful for negative active material in lithium battery (See Abstract). Kim also discloses that the silicon-carbon composite having about 5 wt% to about 9 wt% of oxygen based on a content of the silicon-carbon composite (See [0012]). Kim discloses that the negative active material having excellent cycle-life characteristics (See [0099]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the silicon-carbon composite of Orthner to include about 5 wt% to about 9 wt% of oxygen in order to provide excellent cycle-life characteristics as suggested by Kim. The burden is upon the applicant to prove otherwise. In re Fitzgerald, 205 USPQ 594.
Regarding claim 3, Kim disclose a negative active material particle comprising a silicon-carbon composite mixed with a binder particle (matrix material) (See [0035] and [0036]). The mixture of the silicon-carbon composite with the binder particle would result in the deposit of the composite inside or on the surface of the binder particle as claimed.
In view of the foregoing, the above claims have failed to patentably distinguish over the applied art.
Other Prior Art Cited
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to the applicant's disclosure.
WO 2020/129467 A1 (English equivalent is US 2022/0069296 A1) discloses silicon nanoparticle useful in negative electrode active material having 29Si-NMR peak of 50 ppm to -150 ppm (See Abstract).
Conclusion
/KHANH T NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1761