DETAILED ACTION
CLAIM INTERPRETATION
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are, in claims 11, 18, and 19:
a first data update unit configured to compare the current position data with the GPS position data newly acquired, to determine whether there is a change between the current position data and the GPS position data beyond a variation range of the GPS position data, and to update the current position data with that GPS position data upon determining that there is a change beyond a fixed range predetermined as the variation range (corresponding structure comprises a CPU as per para. [0034] of specification);
a second data update unit configured to acquire a detection result from a movement detection sensor configured to detect presence or absence of a movement including vibration of the position estimation device, to determine whether a movement of the position estimation device has been detected, and to update the current position data with the GPS position data newly acquired upon determining that the movement has been detected (corresponding structure comprises a CPU as per para. [0035]);
a cargo monitoring device configured to wirelessly receive and store the current position data and the measurement value related to the transport status from the cargo management device (corresponding structure comprises a cloud server as per para. [0025]); and
a data transmission unit configured to transmit transmission data based on the current position data and the measurement value related to the transport status to an external terminal via a communication network (corresponding structure comprises a cloud server as per para. [0042]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 11-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Step 1 – Statutory Category
Claim 11 recites a position estimation device and is therefore an apparatus.
Step 2A, Prong One – Recitation of a Judicial Exception
Claim 11 recites:
- compare the current position data with the GPS position data newly acquired, to determine whether there is a change between the current position data and the GPS position data beyond a variation range of the GPS position data, and update the current position data with that GPS position data upon determining that there is a change beyond a fixed range predetermined as the variation range; and
- determine whether a movement of the position estimation device has been detected, and update the current position data with the GPS position data newly acquired upon determining that the movement has been detected.
These steps fall within the mental processes grouping of abstract ideas enumerated in the 2019 PEG, as they comprise observations and evaluations that can be performed in the human mind or with paper and pencil.
.
Claim 11 therefore recites an abstract idea.
Step 2A, Prong Two – Practical Application
Claim 11 further recites:
the position estimation device comprising first and second data update units
a plurality of GPS position data sequentially input from a GPS module
acquiring a detection result from a movement direction sensor configured to detect presence or absence of a movement including vibration of the position estimation device
However the first and second update units comprise generic computer equipment (CPU, specification paras. [0034]-[0035]) that is merely used as a tool to perform the abstract idea. In performing the abstract idea the first and second update units merely perform generic computer functions of receiving, manipulating, and outputting data
The GPS position data and the acquired detection result are merely data that has been gathered and upon which the abstract idea is performed.
The courts have found that generic computer equipment and insignificant extra solution activity such as data gathering do not integrate an abstract idea into a practical application (MPEP 2106.04(d) I). These elements therefore do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application of the exception.
Step 2B – Inventive Concept
As discussed in Step 2A, Prong Two above, the additional elements recited in the claim include generic computer equipment and insignificant extra solution activity.
The courts have found that generic computer equipment and insignificant extra-solution activity do not amount to significantly more, i.e. they do not amount to an inventive concept (MPEP 2106.5 A). These elements therefore do not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea itself, i.e. they do not amount to an inventive concept. Claim 11 is therefore not patent eligible.
Claims 12 and 13 merely further describe the abstract idea without integrating it into a practical application or adding significantly more.
Claim 14 merely describes the source of the acquired detection result as an acceleration sensor and therefore does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application or add significantly more.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 11-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 11 lines 4-5, “the GPS position data newly acquired” lacks antecedent basis in the claim.
The remaining claims are dependent.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 11-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xia (CN 102346040 A, cited on IDS) in view of Welles (US 5491486 A).
Regarding claim 11, Xia (CN 102346040 A, cited on IDS) teaches [NOTE: limitations not taught by Xia are lined through] a position estimation device (processing module 13, Fig. 1 and para. [0016]) configured to update and output current position data by using part of a plurality of pieces of GPS position data sequentially input from a GPS module (GPS module 12, Fig. 1 and para. [0016]), the position estimation device comprising:
a first data update unit configured to compare the current position data with the GPS position data newly acquired, to determine whether there is a change between the current position data and the GPS position data beyond a variation range of the GPS position data, and to update the current position data with that GPS position data upon determining that there is a change beyond a fixed range predetermined as the variation range (paras. [0007]-[0009], esp. para. [0008] “detecting the displacement change of the driving position and judging whether the displacement change exceeds the preset range; when it is judged that the displacement change of the driving position exceeds the preset range, transmitting an update notification; Update the driving location information of the navigation device”)
Xia further teaches updating the current position when a movement speed change is beyond a preset range, where the movement speed change is determined by the GPS module (para. [0009], claim 2), and that the purpose of the invention is to reduce power consumption (para. [0006] “extend the battery life”). However Xia does not teach updating the current position with newly acquired GPS position data upon detection of movement with a movement detection sensor configured to detect presence or absence of a movement including vibration of the position estimation device.
Welles (US 5491486 A), in analogous art, teaches acquiring a detection result from a movement detection sensor (motion sensor 56, Fig. 2; 4:43-50 “vibration sensor”) configured to detect presence or absence of a movement including vibration of a position estimation device (position estimation device 10, Fig. 2; 3:45-51 “GPS”), to determine whether a movement of a position estimation device has been detected (4:43-50 “motion sensor 56... is coupled... so as to supply... data indicative of vehicle motion”), and to update current position data with GPS position data (from navigation set 50, Fig. 2 in view of 3:45-51 “GPS”) newly acquired upon determining that the movement has been detected (7:24-28 “revert to activation rate FG when said motion sensor indicates renewed vehicle motion”). Welles teaches that power consumption is thereby reduced (1:7-10).
It would have been obvious to modify Xia by implementing a movement detection sensor configured to detect presence or absence of a movement including vibration of a position estimation device as taught by Welles in order to provide an additional indication for updating the current position data, thereby increasing confidence in the position update determination and further reducing power consumption. This is a matter of combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, an exemplary rationale that supports a conclusion of obviousness, see KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc.
Claims 12 and 13 recite either the first or second data update unit performing their respective determination before the other, and the other data update unit performing its respective determination on condition that the first data unit determines the change is not present.
As to the order in which the first and second update units perform their respective determinations, either the first update unit goes first, or the second update unit goes first, or the determinations are performed simultaneously, any of which would have reasonable expectation of success and therefore would have been at least obvious to try. It would have been obvious to further modify Xia as claimed because it is a matter of choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success, an exemplary rationale that supports a conclusion of obviousness, see KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc.
As to the other data update unit performing its respective determination on condition that the first data update unit determines the change is not present or that the movement has not been detected, it would have been obvious to further modify Xia in this way in order to avoid operating both update units when possible, thereby further reducing power consumption. That is, if the data update unit that makes its determination first determines that the change is present or that the movement has been detected, and updates the current position data accordingly, it would be obvious not to operate the other data update unit in order to reduce power consumption.
Regarding claim 14, Welles teaches an accelerometer (4:43-46). It would have been obvious to further modify Xia in view of Welles because an accelerometer is a well-known type of movement detection sensor that could be used with predictable results. Examiner notes that an accelerometer is capable of detecting vibration.
Regarding claims 15-18, Xia modified by Welles as discussed above teaches a cargo management device comprising: the position estimation device according to claim 11 (see above); a GPS module (Xia 12, Fig. 1); and a movement detection sensor configured to detect presence or absence of movement including vibration (Welles motion sensor 56, Fig. 2 and 4:43-50 “vibration sensor”).
Welles further teaches:
(claim 15) a cargo management sensor configured to measure a measurement value related to a transport status of a cargo, wherein the cargo management device is configured to move together with the cargo (68A, Fig. 2, including temperature, pressure, and strain sensors);
(claim 16) a data logger configured to store the current position data and the measurement value related to the transport status (58, Fig. 2; 5:54-58 “the data acquired with such sensing elements (collectively designated as suite of sensing elements 68 in FIG. 2) can be stored in tracking unit controller 58”); and
(claim 17) a wireless circuit configured to wirelessly transmit the current position data and the measurement value related to the transport status (52, Fig. 2; 14, Fig. 1; 5:65-67 “emitter 52 (FIG. 2) is energized to transmit vehicle position data and other data associated with the vehicle”; 5:54-58 “the data acquired with such sensing elements (collectively designated as suite of sensing elements 68 in FIG. 2) can be stored in tracking unit controller 58 and transmitted via communication link 14 together with the vehicle location data”).
(claim 18) a cargo monitoring device configured to wirelessly receive and store the current position data and the measurement value related to the transport status from the cargo management device (18, Fig. 1; 3:20-24 “a remote control station 18 manned by one or more operators and having suitable display devices and the like for displaying location and status information for each vehicle equipped with a respective mobile tracking unit”, where wireless receipt is shown in Fig. 1 and data storage is considered inherent).
It would have been obvious to further modify Xia in view of Welles in order to provide for cargo management in a manner that is well-known in the art. This is a matter of combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results is an exemplary rationale that supports a conclusion of obviousness, see KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc.
Regarding claim 19, Welles does not teach wherein the cargo monitoring device (18, Fig. 1) includes a data transmission unit configured to transmit transmission data based on the current position data and the measurement value related to the transport status to an external terminal via a communication network. Welles teaches only that the cargo monitoring device receives current position data and measurement values related to the transport status (18, Fig. 1; 3:20-24 as discussed above with respect to claim 18). However, such transmission would comprise a mere duplication of the transmission between 12A-C and 18 via communication satellite 16 as shown in Welles Fig. 1, with the predictable result of communicating the current position data and measurement value to an external terminal. It would have been obvious to further modify Xia in this way because it is merely a duplication of parts with predictable results and the advantage of communicating the current position data and measurement value to other interested parties. See MPEP 2144.04 VI. B.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Lau (US 6975941 B1) teaches acquiring a detection result from a movement detection sensor configured to detect presence or absence of a movement including vibration of a position estimation device, to determine whether a movement of the position estimation device has been detected, and to update current position data with GPS position data newly acquired upon determining that the movement has been detected (Fig. 3 and 6:8-17 “vibration”).
/CASSI J GALT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3648