DETAILED ACTION
Restriction/Election
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I (Claims 1-7), Alzheimer’s disease (Species II), and nucleic acid (Species III) in the reply filed on September 14, 2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground that there is no serious search burden for examining all 20 related claims. The examiner did not find this argument to be persuasive since the application is a 371 case; therefore, restriction is based on unity of invention not search burden. In this case, the technical feature cited in the restriction was not a special technical feature and does not make a contribution over the prior art in view of Tjernberg (WO 2010/140694) as addressed in the 102 rejection below. The examiner has decided to rejoin a prevention method (Species I) into the claims so that enablement issues relating to the term “prevention” can be addressed, thus facilitating compact prosecution. The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL. Claims 8-20, non-elected species (Species II), and non-elected species (Species III) are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected Groups II-III and non-elected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on September 14, 2026.
Claims Objection
Claims 1 and 7 are objected to because of the following informalities: PLD3 is an abbreviation and the term “phospholipase D3” needs to be added to the claims. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, because the specification, while being enabling for a method of reversing the formation or enlargement of an axonal spheroid, the method comprising: contacting a neuron affected by the formation or enlargement of the axonal spheroid with a compound that downregulates an expression level or an activity of PLD3, does not reasonably provide enablement for a method of reversing or preventing the formation or enlargement of an axonal spheroid, the method comprising: contacting a neuron affected by the formation or enlargement of the axonal spheroid with a compound that downregulates an expression level or an activity of PLD3. The specification does not enable any person skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to use the invention commensurate in scope with these claims.
The test of enablement is whether one skilled in the art could make and use the claimed invention from the disclosures in the application coupled with information known in the art without undue experimentation (United States v. Telectronics, Inc. 8 USPQD2d 1217 (Fed. Cir. 1988). Whether undue experimentation is required is a conclusion reached by weighing several factors. These factors were outlined in Ex parte Forman, 230 USPQ 546 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1986) and again in In re Wands, 8 USPQQ2d 1400 (Fed. Cir. 1988).
While determining whether a specification is enabling, one considers whether the claimed invention provides sufficient guidance to make and use the claimed invention, if not, whether an artisan would require undue experimentation to make and use the claimed invention and whether working examples have been provided. When determining whether a specification meets the enablement requirements, some of the factors that need to be analyzed are: the breadth of the claims, the nature of the invention, the state of the prior art, the level of one of ordinary skill, the level of predictability in the art, the amount of direction provided by the inventor, the existence of working examples, and whether the quantity of any necessary experiment to make and use the invention based on the content of the disclosure is undue.
Nature of the Invention:
The invention encompasses a method of reversing or preventing a formation and/or enlargement of an axonal spheroid by contacting a neuron affected by formation or enlargement of the axonal spheroid with a compound that downregulates an expression level and/or activity of PLD3.
Breadth of the Claims:
The claims are so broad that they encompass methods of prevention. Prevention means that a condition is prevented from ever occurring no matter what the circumstances are. The claims are so broad that they encompass any method of administration to any part of the body.
Teachings from the Prior Art:
Tjernberg (WO 2010140694) discloses that antisense nucleic acid treatments can be administered to a human or non-human mammal (e.g. rat, rabbit, sheep, pig, bovine, cat, dog, monkey, etc). orally or parenterally (e.g. intravascular administration, subcutaneous administration, etc.) as a liquid formulation or as a suitable dosage form of pharmaceutical composition (Paragraph 45 of Tjernberg). The prior art reference focuses on an oral administration method or a method of administration that involves administration into the body. There is no teaching that antisense nucleic acid treatments can be successfully administered in a cream applied to body region such as the feet to treat formation and/or enlargement of axonal spheroids. There is no teaching that antisense therapy always can prevent neurodegenerative conditions and/or formation/enlargement of axonal spheroids.
Applicants Specification/Guidance/Working Examples:
Paragraph 76 of applicants’ specification states that administration methods can include: subcutaneous, intravenous, oral, aerosol, inhalation, rectal, vaginal, transdermal, intranasal, buccal, sublingual, parenteral, intrathecal, intragastrical, ophthalmic, pulmonary, and topical administration (Paragraph 76 of the specification).” However, this is a general statement for all the agents that can be administered and not just the nucleic acid agents.
The reference states that RNA interference/antisense molecules can be used to downregulate the expression level of PLD3 (Paragraph 105-116). Paragraph 119-131 describe that CRISPR can also be used to down regulate activity or expression PLD3 level.
The specification does not adequately show that the nucleic acid therapeutic agents taught in the specification used to downregulate PLD3 can always prevent formation/enlargement of an axonal spheroid.
The specification does not show that a composition containing a nucleic acid that downregulates the expression level and/or activity of PLD3 can be successfully administered in a topical cream and placed on any area of the body.
Conclusion:
Neither the specification or the prior art provide evidence that formation and/or enlargement of axonal spheroid can always be prevented by contacting a neuron with a compound that downregulates an expression level and/or activity level of PLD3. Furthermore, the specification and prior art only support methods of administration within the body: subcutaneous, intravenous, oral, aerosol, inhalation, rectal, vaginal, transdermal, intranasal, buccal, sublingual, parenteral, intrathecal, intragastrical, ophthalmic, pulmonary. There is no enabled support for topical administration using nucleic acid that downregulates the expression level and/or activity of PLD3 by RNA interference and/or an expression vector expressing the nucleic acid that downregulates the expression level and/or activity of PLD3 by RNA interference.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tjernberg (WO 2010140694)
Tjernberg discloses contacting a neuron affected by the formation or enlargement of the axon spheroid with a compound that downregulates an expression level and/or activity of PLD3 (Abstract, Paragraphs 81-21 and 40 of Tjernberg) as in instant Claim 1. Tjernberg discloses wherein the axonal spheroid blocks or delays a propagation of an action potential (AP) along an axon of the neuron(Abstract, Paragraphs 81-21 and 40 of Tjernberg) as in instant Claim 2. Tjjernberg discloses wherein the formation and/or enlargement of axonal spheroids is associated with a neurodegenerative conditions (Alzeheimer’s disease) (Abstract of Tjernberg) as in instant Claims 4-5. The composition treats Alzheimer’s disease; Alzheimer’s disease is characterized by amyloid plaques and enlarged axonal spheroids (Abstract) as in instant Claim 6. Tjernberg discloses a nucleic acid that downregulates the expression level or activity of PLD3 by RNA interference (Paragraphs 18-21 of Tjernberg) as in instant Claim 7.
The reference anticipates the instant set of claims.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-7 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1,4-7,9-18 of copending Application No. 19/133,296 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both instant claim 1 and claims 1, 4, and 9,15 of Application 19/133,296 disclose administration of an agent that would downregulate the expression level and/or activity level of PLD3, capable of reversing or preventing formation and/or enlargement of an axonal spheroid. Instant claim 2 corresponds to claim 10 of Application 19/133,296. Instant claim 3 corresponds to claim 11 of Application 19/133,296. Instant claim 4 corresponds to claims 12 and 16 of Application 19/133,296. Instant claim 5 corresponds to claim 13 of Application 19/133,296. Instant claim 6 corresponds to claim 13 of Application 19/133,296. Instant claim 7 corresponds to claims 5-7,14,17-18 of Application 19/133,296.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
All claims stand rejected.
LAUREN K. VAN BUREN
Examiner
Art Unit 1638
/Tracy Vivlemore/Supervisory Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1638