DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This Office Action is in response to the application filed on 01/19/2026. Claims 1-5, 9-11 and 13-25 are presently pending and are presented for examination. Claims 6-8, and 12 were cancelled. Claims 1, 11, 16, 17, and 22 were amended. Claim 25 was added.
Response to Remarks
Applicant’s arguments, see Pages 12-17 of the Applicant's Remarks, filed 01/19/2026, with respect to the claim rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-5, 9-11 and 13-25 under 35 U.S.C. § 102/103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejections have been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Nishimura, and Park or Kim, Hofmann, and Park. Claims 11, and 25 have been amended into or written in condition for allowance. These claims, and their dependent claims are now in condition for allowance.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: "signal generation module configured to", "driving control module configured to", and "real-time monitoring module configured to" in claim 22.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Nishimura et al., US-20200101998-A1, in view of Park et al., US-20220274639-A1, hereinafter referred to as Nishimura, and Park.
As per claim 1
Nishimura discloses [a] vehicle interior system, comprising: a flexible interior assembly, the flexible interior assembly comprising (folded steering wheel is moved from the protruding position to the stored position - Nishimura ¶7):
a collapsible steering wheel, a retractable steering column, and a movable seat (mounted with the folded steering wheel 6 moved to the stored position, steering wheel 6 is stored, for example, inside the dashboard 26, Since a flow of takeout operation of the steering wheel 6 from the stored position to the protruding position is a reverse of the flow of the storing operation, a seat adjustment mechanism 86 - Nishimura ¶33 & ¶37 & ¶66 & ¶85),
driving motors including a collapsing motor for driving the steering wheel to collapse. an extending and retracting motor for driving the steering column to extend and retract, and a slide motor for driving the seat to move (mounted with the folded steering wheel 6 moved to the stored position, steering wheel 6 is stored, for example, inside the dashboard 26, Since a flow of takeout operation of the steering wheel 6 from the stored position to the protruding position is a reverse of the flow of the storing operation, a seat adjustment mechanism 86 - Nishimura ¶33 & ¶37 & ¶66 & ¶85);
wherein the interior assembly has an in-service state and a received state (mounted with the folded steering wheel 6 moved to the stored position, steering wheel 6 is stored, for example, inside the dashboard 26, Since a flow of takeout operation of the steering wheel 6 from the stored position to the protruding position is a reverse of the flow of the storing operation, a seat adjustment mechanism 86 - Nishimura ¶33 & ¶37 & ¶66 & ¶85),
the interior assembly is capable of switching motion between the in-service state and the received state (reaction force motor 16 rotates the steering wheel 6 to the neutral position in advance, and then, locks the rotation of the steering wheel 6 in the neutral position, the folding mechanism 12 rotates the steering wheel 6 from the standing attitude to the folded attitude to fold the steering wheel 6 (S105) - Nishimura ¶53 & ¶64);
a sensor assembly, a detection range of which covers the interior assembly (camera device 18 is disposed, for example, on the ceiling of a cabin of the vehicle 4 and takes images of the driver 20 seated on a driver seat 82…and the steering wheel 6 - Nishimura ¶54);
the sensor assembly including at least one TOF camera to obtain three-dimensional space data in the vehicle (camera device 18 is disposed, for example, on the ceiling of a cabin of the vehicle 4 and takes images of the driver 20 seated on a driver seat 82…and the steering wheel 6 - Nishimura ¶54 - Examiner reasons that the BRI of the claim language is asking for a camera system that captures the 3D environment that the vehicle and everyone else exists within);
an electronic control unit connected to the driving motors of the interior assembly and the sensor assembly (control unit 84 determines a distance…camera device 18 . Based on the determination result, the control unit 84 decides a method of driving the drive motors 28 , 62 , 68 - Nishimura ¶57),
the electronic control unit being configured to adjust the motion of the interior assembly in real time based on the data detected by the sensor assembly, wherein the electronic control unit is adapted to automatically control the motion of the interior assembly based on a travelling mode determined from the space data, and wherein the received state includes a fully received state in an autonomous driving mode (mounted with the folded steering wheel 6 moved to the stored position, steering wheel 6 is stored, for example, inside the dashboard 26, Since a flow of takeout operation of the steering wheel 6 from the stored position to the protruding position is a reverse of the flow of the storing operation, a seat adjustment mechanism 86, camera device 18 to decide a method of driving the drive member. Specifically, in step S 107 (S 201 , S 301 ), the control unit 84 ( 84 A, 84 B) may select, as the drive member, at least one of (a) the drive motor 28 of the moving mechanism 10…in accordance with the positional relationship between the steering wheel 6 and the driver 20 , so as to drive the selected drive member. For example, the control unit 84 ( 84 A, 84 B) may move the steering wheel 6 upward and move the driver seat 82 toward the rear of the vehicle 4 - Nishimura ¶33 & ¶37 & ¶66 & ¶85 & ¶96).
Nishimura does not specifically disclose a different, semi-received state in an auto-hold mode.
However, Park teaches a different, semi-received state in an auto-hold mode (the case of the autonomous driving mode, the stopping mode, and the getting-in/out mode in which the driver need not directly manipulate the steering wheel, the fold-in operation is performed such that the steering wheel…to maximize spatial utilization of the driver seat by widening the space thereof - Park ¶27).
Nishimura discloses a steering apparatus and a method for controlling a steering apparatus that can restrain the steering wheel from interfering with the body of the driver during the storing operation of the steering wheel. Park teaches a foldable steering system for a vehicle.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Nishimura, a steering apparatus and a method for controlling a steering apparatus that can restrain the steering wheel from interfering with the body of the driver during the storing operation of the steering wheel, with a foldable steering system for a vehicle, as taught by Park, with a reasonable expectation of success to maximize spatial utilization of an interior of an autonomous vehicle, see Park ¶2 for details.
As per claim 2
Nishimura further discloses wherein the steering wheel comprises a body portion and a collapsing portion, and the collapsing portion is connected to the body portion by means of a collapsing connector; and the interior assembly further comprises a collapsing motor for driving the steering wheel to collapse, and the collapsing motor is connected to the collapsing connector (reaction force motor 16 is interposed between and connects the movable member 36 of the moving mechanism 10 and the folding mechanism 12, drive motor 62 of the folding mechanism 12 , and the drive motor 68 of the tilt mechanism 14 – Nishimura Figs 1(6, 12, 16, 36, 28, 34) & 2 (6, 12, 16, 34, 36)+ ¶53 & ¶56).
As per claim 3
Nishimura further discloses wherein the collapsing connector is composed of a hinge (steering wheel 6 is supported by the shaft 60 via a pair of connection portions 64, base guide 32 tilts about the hinge 50 with respect to the vehicle body mounting bracket 49 – Nishimura ¶47 & ¶52).
As per claim 4
Nishimura further discloses wherein the steering column is connected to the body portion; and the interior assembly further comprises an extending and retracting motor for driving the steering column to extend and retract, and the extending and retracting motor is connected to the steering column (drive motor 28 is attached to a side surface of the base guide 32, gear unit 30 is a unit for transmitting the driving force of the drive motor 28 to each of a nut 38 (described later) and a feed screw 40 – Nishimura Fig 2 (6, 28, 40, 46, 48a-b 52)+ ¶39 & ¶40).
As per claim 5
Nishimura further discloses wherein the seat is mounted in a vehicle by means of a slide rail mechanism; and the interior assembly further comprises a slide motor for driving the seat to move, and the slide motor is connected to the slide rail mechanism (steering apparatus 2 B of the present embodiment includes a seat adjustment mechanism 86 (an example of the drive member). The seat adjustment mechanism 86 is a mechanism for adjusting the position of the driver seat 82 in the front-rear direction and the up-down direction. The seat adjustment mechanism 86 includes a slide mechanism (not shown) for moving the driver seat 82 in the front-rear direction, a lifter mechanism (not shown) for moving the driver seat 82 in the up-down direction, and a drive motor 88 for driving the slide mechanism and the lifter mechanism – Nishimura ¶85).
As per claim 9
Nishimura further discloses comprising the vehicle interior system (folded steering wheel is moved from the protruding position to the stored position - Nishimura ¶7).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Nishimura, and Park, as per claim 9, and further in view of Watanabe et al., US-20210031823-A1, hereinafter referred to as Watanabe.
As per claim 10
Nishimura does not specifically disclose wherein the vehicle is an autonomous vehicle. and during travelling of the autonomous vehicle, a trigger button for the received state is turned on only in an autonomous driving mode.
However, Watanabe teaches wherein the vehicle is an autonomous vehicle. and during travelling of the autonomous vehicle, a trigger button for the received state is turned on only in an autonomous driving mode (a button, and a touch panel that receive the instruction from the driver…the steering system 100 can deploy and retract the operation member 110 in accordance with the instruction from the driver, when the control unit 190 detects that an autonomous driving level has been changed from a level that requires monitoring by the driver to a level that does not require monitoring by the driver while the vehicle is being driven by the autonomous driving system, the control unit 190 can retract the operation member 110 that is in the normal position into the storage area without the instruction from the driver…when the deploying movement and the retracting movement are not allowed to be performed without the instruction from the driver, automatic deployment and retraction of the operation member 110 can be restrained – Watanabe ¶37 & ¶38).
Nishimura discloses a steering apparatus and a method for controlling a steering apparatus that can restrain the steering wheel from interfering with the body of the driver during the storing operation of the steering wheel. Watanabe teaches a steering system capable of expanding a space in front of a driver by moving an operation member such as a steering wheel.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Nishimura, a steering apparatus and a method for controlling a steering apparatus that can restrain the steering wheel from interfering with the body of the driver during the storing operation of the steering wheel, with a steering system capable of expanding a space in front of a driver by moving an operation member such as a steering wheel, as taught by Watanabe, with a reasonable expectation of success to improve the comfort of the driver and to ensure the safety of the driver at the same time, see Watanabe ¶5 for details.
Claim 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Kim, US-20220169288-A1, and further in view of Hofmann et al., US-20070236065-A1, and Park, hereinafter referred to as Kim, and Hofmann.
As per claim 22
Kim discloses [a] control apparatus for a vehicle interior system (controller 150 may control a frontward or backward adjustment, an upward or downward adjustment, and a backrest angle of a seat corresponding to the input signal - Kim ¶39):
including a flexible interior assembly and a sensor assembly including at least one TOF camera configured to obtain three-dimensional space data in the vehicle, the control apparatus comprising (controller 150 may control a frontward or backward adjustment, an upward or downward adjustment, and a backrest angle of a seat corresponding to the input signal, image sensor may sense a state of the driver - Kim ¶39 & ¶40):
a signal generation module configured to generate an interior control signal based on a travelling mode of a vehicle, wherein the interior control signal carries parameter information representing a driving force, a target motion trajectory, and a target position (When the travel control right (i.e., a driving control right which enables the driver or a system to control the vehicle) is transferred to the driver (S150), the controller 150 may set the seat location to the location of the driver's seat before the autonomous driving is activated, and move the seat to the set seat location - Kim ¶55 – Examiner reasons that the control signal that moves the seat to the target location, by commanding a driving force to be generated, thereby representing a driving force, will move the seat in the correct direction to reach the target location, to move the seat either forward and backward);
a driving control module configured to drive, by using the driving force, the interior assembly of the vehicle to switch motion between an in-service state and a received state (controller 150 may set the seat location to the location of the driver's seat before the autonomous driving is activated, and move the seat to the set seat location - Kim ¶55).
wherein the received state includes a fully received state in an autonomous driving mode (controller 150 may set a seat location or a steering wheel location when transferring a travel control right to the driver in the state in which the autonomous driving is activated - Kim ¶43).
Kim does not specifically disclose a real-time monitoring module configured to use the three-dimensional space data to monitor a current motion trajectory of the interior assembly, so that when the current motion trajectory matches the target motion trajectory, the driving control module maintains the driving force until the interior assembly moves to the target position and is then locked, and when the current motion trajectory does not match the target motion trajectory, the driving control module is configured to perform impedance intervention on the driving force.
Hofmann teaches a real-time monitoring module configured to use the three-dimensional space data to monitor a current motion trajectory of the interior assembly, so that when the current motion trajectory matches the target motion trajectory, the driving control module maintains the driving force until the interior assembly moves to the target position and is then locked, and when the current motion trajectory does not match the target motion trajectory, the driving control module is configured to perform impedance intervention on the driving force (a locking element may undertake the additional function of stopping the seat frame when reaching the memory position, memory unit 1, 2 is driven via the control lever 3 and/or the drive element 6 at every readjustment of the longitudinal seating position of the seat frame G, so that the memory position defined by the position of the memory unit 1, 2 is respectively adapted to the current comfort position of the seat frame G in the longitudinal rail direction L - Hofmann ¶19 & ¶71 - Examiner reasons that when the current location does not match the target position, the motor will move the seat in the correct direction from the current location to the target location).
Kim discloses a device and a method for controlling travel of a vehicle. Hofmann teaches a motor vehicle seat locking system.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Kim, a device and a method for controlling travel of a vehicle, with a motor vehicle seat locking system, as taught by Hofmann, with a reasonable expectation of success to improve further a motor vehicle seat with an increased simplicity of the construction of a motor vehicle seat, see Hofmann ¶9 & ¶11 for details.
Nishimura does not specifically disclose a different, semi-received state in an auto-hold mode.
However, Park teaches a different, semi-received state in an auto-hold mode (the case of the autonomous driving mode, the stopping mode, and the getting-in/out mode in which the driver need not directly manipulate the steering wheel, the fold-in operation is performed such that the steering wheel…to maximize spatial utilization of the driver seat by widening the space thereof - Park ¶27).
Nishimura discloses a steering apparatus and a method for controlling a steering apparatus that can restrain the steering wheel from interfering with the body of the driver during the storing operation of the steering wheel. Park teaches a foldable steering system for a vehicle.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Nishimura, a steering apparatus and a method for controlling a steering apparatus that can restrain the steering wheel from interfering with the body of the driver during the storing operation of the steering wheel, with a foldable steering system for a vehicle, as taught by Park, with a reasonable expectation of success to maximize spatial utilization of an interior of an autonomous vehicle, see Park ¶2 for details.
Reasons for Allowance
Claims 11, 13-21, and 23-25 are allowable over the prior art of record. The closest prior art of Nishimura et al., US-20200101998-A1, in view of Park et al., US-20220274639-A1, Watanabe et al., US-20210031823-A1, Kim, US-20220169288-A1, Hofmann et al., US-20070236065-A1, and Ming, et al., US-20220185337-A1, hereinafter referred to as Nishimura, Park, Watanabe, Kim, Hofmann, and Ming.
The following is the examiner’s statement for reasons for allowance:
Nishimura discloses a steering apparatus and a method for controlling a steering apparatus that can restrain the steering wheel from interfering with the body of the driver during the storing operation of the steering wheel.
Park teaches a foldable steering system for a vehicle.
Watanabe teaches a steering system capable of expanding a space in front of a driver by moving an operation member such as a steering wheel.
Kim discloses a device and a method for controlling travel of a vehicle.
Hofmann teaches a motor vehicle seat locking system.
Ming teaches a system and method for driving mode switching in autonomous driving.
As per Claim 11, the closest prior art or record taken either individually or in combination with other prior art of record fails to teach or suggest:
A control method for a vehicle interior system, comprising:
generating an interior control signal based on a travelling mode of a vehicle, wherein the interior control signal carries parameter information representing a driving force, a target motion trajectory, and a target position;
driving, by using the driving force, an interior assembly of the vehicle to switch motion between an in-service state and a received state; and
monitoring a current motion trajectory of the interior assembly, when the current motion trajectory matches the target motion trajectory, maintaining the driving force until the interior assembly moves to the target position and is then locked, and when the current motion trajectory does not match the target motion trajectory, performing impedance intervention on the driving force, wherein performing impedance intervention on the driving force comprises:
obtaining a position difference between the current motion trajectory and the target motion trajectory at a current moment;
when the current motion trajectory lags behind the target motion trajectory, increasing the driving force based on the position difference, and returning to monitoring the current motion trajectory of the interior assembly; and
when the current motion trajectory precedes the target motion trajectory, decreasing the driving force based on the position difference, and returning to monitoring the current motion trajectory of the interior assembly.
As per claims 13-21, and 23-24, these depend from claim 1 and are therefore allowable.
As per Claim 25, the closest prior art or record taken either individually or in combination with other prior art of record fails to teach or suggest:
A control method for a vehicle interior system, comprising:
generating an interior control signal based on a travelling mode of a vehicle, wherein the interior control signal carries parameter information representing a driving force, a target motion trajectory, and a target position;
driving, by using the driving force, an interior assembly of the vehicle to switch motion between an in-service state and a received state; and
monitoring a current motion trajectory of the interior assembly, when the current motion trajectory matches the target motion trajectory, maintaining the driving force until the interior assembly moves to the target position and is then locked, and when the current motion trajectory does not match the target motion trajectory, performing impedance intervention on the driving force,
wherein the travelling mode comprises a start mode and an autonomous driving mode, and the interior control signal comprises an interior in-service signal and an interior receiving signal;
in the start mode, the interior in-service signal is generated; and
in the autonomous driving mode, the interior receiving signal is generated, wherein the interior assembly comprises a flexible steering assembly and a movable driving seat, and in the start mode, the control method further comprises:
detecting a seat belt of the driving seat and a seated pressure; and
when a seat belt fastened signal of the driving seat is detected, generating a first interior in-service signal that controls the steering assembly, and generating, based on a preset mapping relationship between the seated pressure and a motion distance of the driving seat, a second interior in-service signal that controls the driving seat.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/F.A.S./Examiner, Art Unit 3668
/Fadey S. Jabr/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3668