DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 03/05/2024 and 08/11/2025 ware filed before and after the filing of the instant application on 05/30/2024. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 3-6 are objected to because of the following informalities: In claims 3 and 6, lines 11-12, where, the term “SDU” has not been defined. Further claims 4-5, the terms ROHC and EHC are also not been defined. Appropriate corrections are required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as failing to set forth the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 4 , the phrase "ROHC" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear as it is not defined in the instant specification. This finding makes the claim vague and indefinite. Therefore claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b).
Regarding claims 5 , the phrase "EHC" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear as it is not defined in the instant specification. This finding makes the claim vague and indefinite. Therefore claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Babaei et al (US 2024/0064493 A1), hereinafter, “Babaei” in view of Chen et al (US 2023/0389129 A1), hereinafter, “Chen”.
Regarding claim 3, Babaei discloses: A user equipment (UE) (Babaei: fig 1, UE 125), comprising: a processor (Babaei: fig 15, para [0101], where, includes processor/CPU 1540); and a memory storing instructions (Babaei: fig 15, para [0101], where, includes memory/storage 1530 that store instruction);
wherein the processor is configured by the instructions to: cause a packet data convergence protocol (PDCP) entity of the UE to receive a PDCP entity re-establishment request from upper layers (Babaei: para [0139], where, “For radio bearers (e.g., DRBs, MRBs, etc.) using RLC AM mode, PDCP may either be re-established together with a security key change or may initiate a data recovery procedure without a key change. In some examples, for DRBs or MRBs using RLC UM mode and for SRBs, PDCP may either be re-established together with a security key change or may remain as it is without a key change”);
wherein the PDCP entity is a PDCP entity of an split multicast broadcast service radio bearer (MRB) (Babaei: fig 21A-B, para [0155], where, configured PDCP duplication and [0158], where, split multicast bearer) with an unacknowledged mode (UM) (Babaei: para [0139], where, “DRBs or MRBs using RLC UM mode and for SRBs, PDCP may either be re-established”); in response to a) the PDCP entity receiving the PDCP entity re-establishment request from the upper layers (Babaei: para [0133], where, “when upper layers request a PDCP entity re-establishment, for acknowledged mode (AM) radio bearers (e.g., DRBs, MRBs, etc.) which were not suspended, from the first PDCP SDU for which the successful delivery”);
and b) determining that a specific parameter is not configured, perform header decompression using a specific header compression protocol for all stored PDCP SDUs (Babaei: para [0133], where, “The transmitting PDCP entity may perform header compression of the PDCP SDU using ROHC, perform integrity protection and ciphering of the PDCP SDU using the COUNT value associated with this PDCP SDU and submit the resulting PDCP Data PDU to lower layer”); wherein the specific parameter indicates whether the PDCP entity continues or resets the specific header compression protocol during a PDCP re-establishment (Babaei: para [0138], where, “the handover mechanism triggered by RRC may require the UE at least to reset the MAC entity and re-establish RLC” and [0139], where, “for DRBs or MRBs using RLC UM mode and for SRBs, PDCP may either be re-established together with a security key change or may remain as it is without a key change”); and Babaei does not explicitly teach: radio link control (RLC) entity for point to multipoint (PTM) transmission and an acknowledged mode (AM) RLC entity for point to point (PTP) transmission;
Chen teaches: radio link control (RLC) entity for point to multipoint (PTM) transmission and an acknowledged mode (AM) (Chen: para [0047], where, “an uplink RLC AM channel corresponding to a downlink RLC AM on the network side in case that a downlink bearer of multicast PTM transmission is configured as radio link control (RLC) acknowledged mode (AM)”), RLC entity for point to point (PTP) transmission (Chen: para [0049], where, “when multicast PTM and unicast PTP transmission modes are simultaneously configured for the terminal, an uplink RLC UM channel of PTP transmission mode”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use “radio link control (RLC) entity for point to multipoint (PTM) transmission and an acknowledged mode (AM) RLC entity for point to point (PTP) transmission” as taught by Chen into Babaei in order to receive PDCP PDU successfully (Chen: para [0005]).
Regarding claim 4, Babaei discloses: The UE according to claim 3, wherein the specific header compression protocol is an ROHC header compression protocol (Babaei: para [0160], where, “A variation of robust header compression (ROHC) may be used for IP traffic and the Ethernet header compression may be used for IIoT multicast traffic”).
Regarding claim 5, Babaei discloses: The UE according to claim 3, wherein the specific header compression protocol is an EHC header compression protocol (Babaei: para [0160], where, “A variation of robust header compression (ROHC) may be used for IP traffic and the Ethernet header compression (EHC) may be used for IIoT multicast traffic”).
Regarding claim 6, the claim includes features identical to the subject matter mentioned in the rejection to claim 3 above. The claims are mere reformulation of claim 1 in order to define the corresponding packet transmission method, and the rejection to claim 3 is applied hereto.
Conclusion
/NIZAM U AHMED/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2461