Amended claims 1, 4-20 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Sheng JACS Au (2021), 1(4), 501-507 (April 7 2021) in view of Lancien, Chem.Cat. Chem (2021), 13(1), 247-259 and Yu, CN108484426.
Applicant Remarks are not persuasive.
Applicants arguments focus on amendments to claims and further that the presence of carboxyl group affects the reaction behavior of the formyl containing substrate.
The rejection is not under Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102. As such that Sheng does not disclose the starting material containing formyl, carboxyl and furan-ring is irrelevant.
First of all, as pointed out in the previous action, Sheng does teach furan and formyl group containing compounds in Scheme 1.
That the presence of carboxyl group would not affect the well-known reductive amination reaction is evidenced by the teachings of Yu (see previous action page 2).
As per the teachings of Yu,
Yu teaches at page 1/3 teach
X = aromatic, Phenylene
‘ammonium salt’
As seen above, the difference is in the aromatic ring. The instant case differs from Yu chemistry in that the aromatic ring Yu is replaced with hetero atom containing aromatic ring in the instant claims.
The presence of base
and acid
together is anticipated to make
by acid-base reaction!
The presence of alkylamine (see instant claims 14, 15) is akin to use of excess ammonia in Yu process, because the amines of 14 and 15 are expected to have the same effect as that of Yu’s ammonia (forming salt with carboxylic acid).
Applicant is also encouraged to place on record how the amines of claims 14 and 15 do not participate in the reductive amination reaction. In this context the statement
does no more than admits that the instant claimed process produces large amount of byproducts.
The invention is a selective combination of the inventions by the prior arts done in a manner obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art. Patent for the combination of known elements wherein their functions remain the same withdraws “what is already known into field of its monopoly and diminishes resources available to skilled men”. Sakraida v. Ag Pro, Inc.189 USPQ 449, 425 US 273, (1976).
Obviousness can be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Accordingly, the claims do not recite an unobvious distinction over the prior art. Further, a reference is relevant not only for what it expressly teaches, but also for what it would have conveyed to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Opprecht, 12 USPQ2d 1235, 1236 (Fed. Cir. 1989); In re Bode, 193 USPQ 12 (CCPA 1976). In light of the foregoing discussion, the Examiner finds that the claimed subject matter as a whole would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, in view of the cited references and the knowledge generally available in the art. Accordingly, the claims are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103.
Suggestion:
Amend claims to include all the details (starting materials, solvent, reagent, catalyst, temperature, pressure etc.) of chemistry at page 17, in Example 1.
Following is from previous action:
Sheng teaches Calcium Phosphide for Reductive Amination of Carbonyl Compounds. At page 504 and 505 Schemes 1-3 in Sheng provides multiple examples of the fantastic chemistry which includes the Reaction Conditions (process parameters). The Reaction Conditions of Sheng include the possibilities of the limitations (process parameters such as solvent) of the instant claims 1-3, 5-20.
The difference is the presence of
(as in the instant formulae). More specifically, Sheng teaches that the X of the instant formulae with a variety of substituents, present in the starting material (and in the product) are unaffected by the Reaction Conditions of solvent, temperature (as limited by the instant dependent claims). The Examples include the instant furan as in claim 4, see Scheme 1 three furan compounds.
Thus the substituents on X of the formulae play a spectator role with respect to Calcium Phosphide and the said Reaction Conditions.
Sheng is silent with respect to
as substituent. At page 503, column B, Sheng teaches that ‘.various functional groups, such as halogen, methoxy, amide, and boronic ester moieties, were tolerant under these reaction conditions, providing the corresponding primary amines in excellent yields’.
Since substituent do not participate in the desired reaction, as exemplified by Sheng, one of skill in the art would have reasonable expectation of success in arriving at the limitations of instant claim 4, by starting with known starting material Formula (1-1) to make known product (2-1) using the chemistry of Sheng. For motivation see Lancien. According to Lancien, making the valuable 2-1 is a challenge, see page 248, column A second full paragraph.
Accordingly, the claims do not recite an unobvious distinction over the prior art. Further, a reference is relevant not only for what it expressly teaches, but also for what it would have conveyed to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Opprecht, 12 USPQ2d 1235, 1236 (Fed. Cir. 1989); In re Bode, 193 USPQ 12 (CCPA 1976). In light of the foregoing discussion, the Examiner finds that the claimed subject matter as a whole would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, in view of the cited references and the knowledge generally available in the art. Accordingly, the claims are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103.
Prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Afanasyev, Reductive Amination in the Synthesis of Pharmaceuticals, Chem.Rev.2019,119,11857−11911.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NIZAL S CHANDRAKUMAR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1625