DETAILED ACTION
The following is a Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 25, 29, and 31-34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baicells (Discussion on timing relationship enhancement for NTN, 3GPP TSG RAN WG1 #106-e, R1-2106754, e-Meeting, August 16th – 27th, 2021) in view of Park et a. (US 20210282042 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Baicells teaches A method for determining a time offset, performed by a terminal (Baicells 1 Introduction a UE), the method comprising:
indicating Mode 4:Beam-specific K_offset is indicated in the temporary C-RNTI of Msg2, section 3. Conclusions Proposal 10-4: Temporary C-RNTI in msg2 is suitable to carry beam-specific K_ offset). or a first time offset specific for a user group.
Baicells does not explicitly teach
the UE receiving and decoding msg2 to determine the time offset based on the TC-RNTI.
In a similar endeavor, Park et al. teach
the UE receiving and decoding msg2 to determine the time offset based on the TC-RNTI (Park [0076] the BS transmits an RAR (message 2 or Msg2) to the UE... the UE may receive the RAR on a PDSCH and decode the RAR. The UE then checks whether the RAR includes RAR information directed to the UE... The RAR includes ... a temporary ID (e.g., temporary cell RNTI (C-RNTI)) for UE identification).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the examined application to have modified Baicells by incorporating Park et al. decoding the msg2 information by the UE to arrive at the invention
The motivation of doing so would have decoded the indicated information of the Msg2
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Baicells and Park et al. teaches The method of claim 1, wherein determining the first time offset specific for the current beam or the first time offset specific for the user group based on the value of the TC-RNTI in the MSG2 comprises:
determining, based on a correspondence between the TC-RNTI and the first time offset, the first time offset corresponding to the value of the TC-RNTI in the MSG2 (Baicells section 2.4 Mode 4:Beam-specific K_offset is indicated in the temporary C-RNTI of Msg2, section 3. Conclusions Proposal 10-4: Temporary C-RNTI in msg2 is suitable to carry beam-specific K_ offset).
Regarding claim 3,The combination of Baicells and Park et al. teaches The method of claim 2, wherein the determining based on the
correspondence between the TC-RNTI and the first time offset comprises:
determining the correspondence between the TC-RNTI and the first time offset
according to a protocol agreement; or
determining the correspondence between the TC-RNTI and the first time offset
according to an indication of a network device (Baicells section 2.4 Mode 4:Beam-specific K_offset is indicated in the temporary C-RNTI of Msg2, section 3. Conclusions Proposal 10-4: Temporary C-RNTI in msg2 is suitable to carry beam-specific K_ offset).
Regarding claim 4,The combination of Baicells and Park et al. teaches The method of claim 1, further comprising:
determining whether a network device supports the first time offset specific for the beam (Baicells Observation 9-1:Beam-specific K_offset may be supported in initial access. But there is still no consensus on how to support it now. For example, this K_offset can be configured in system information or in other ways) or the first time offset specific for the user group.
Regarding claim 5,The combination of Baicells and Park et al. teaches The method of claim 4, wherein determining whether the network device supports the first time offset specific for the beam or the first time offset specific for the user group comprises:
determining, based on a value of a designated information field in system information, whether the network device supports the first time offset specific for the beam (Baicells Observation 10-1:, K_offset for each beam is configured in system information and broadcasted to the corresponding beam.) or the first time offset specific for the user group; or
determining, based on a value of a reserved information field in the MSG2, whether the network device supports the first time offset specific for the beam or the first time offset specific for the user group.
Regarding claim 25, Baicells teaches A communication device (Baicells 1 Introduction a UE), comprising:
a processor (Note: inherent in a UE); and
a memory, storing a computer program (Note: inherent in a UE);
wherein the processor is configured to:
indicate Mode 4:Beam-specific K_offset is indicated in the temporary C-RNTI of Msg2, section 3. Conclusions Proposal 10-4: Temporary C-RNTI in msg2 is suitable to carry beam-specific K_ offset). or a first time offset specific for a user group.
Baicells does not explicitly teach
the UE receiving and decoding msg2 to determine the time offset based on the TC-RNTI.
In a similar endeavor, Park et al. teach
the UE receiving and decoding msg2 to determine the time offset based on the TC-RNTI (Park [0076] the BS transmits an RAR (message 2 or Msg2) to the UE... the UE may receive the RAR on a PDSCH and decode the RAR. The UE then checks whether the RAR includes RAR information directed to the UE... The RAR includes ... a temporary ID (e.g., temporary cell RNTI (C-RNTI)) for UE identification).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the examined application to have modified Baicells by incorporating Park et al. decoding the msg2 information by the UE to arrive at the invention
The motivation of doing so would have decoded the indicated information of the Msg2.
Regarding claim 29, the combination of Baicells and Park et al. teaches A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium (Memory 24 In Park Fig.20), storing instructions (Park [0149] the UE and the BS may process information stored in the memory ), wherein when the instructions are executed by a processor (Processor 21 in Park Fig. 20), the processor is caused to perform the method of claim 1.
The motivation of doing so would have implemented the method of claim 1
Regarding claim 31, the combination of Baicells and Park et al. teaches The communication device of claim 25, wherein the processor is further configured to:
determine, based on a correspondence between the TC-RNTI and the first time offset, the first time offset corresponding to the value of the TC-RNTI in the MSG2 (Baicells section 2.4 Mode 4:Beam-specific K_offset is indicated in the temporary C-RNTI of Msg2, section 3. Conclusions Proposal 10-4: Temporary C-RNTI in msg2 is suitable to carry beam-specific K_ offset)..
Regarding claim 32, the combination of Baicells and Park et al. teaches The communication device of claim 31, wherein the processor is further configured to:
determine the correspondence between the TC-RNTI and the first time offset
according to a protocol agreement; or
determining the correspondence between the TC-RNTI and the first time offset
according to an indication of a network device (Baicells section 2.4 Mode 4:Beam-specific K_offset is indicated in the temporary C-RNTI of Msg2, section 3. Conclusions Proposal 10-4: Temporary C-RNTI in msg2 is suitable to carry beam-specific K_ offset).
Regarding claim 33, the combination of Baicells and Park et al. teaches The communication device of claim 25, wherein the processor is further configured to:
determine whether a network device supports the first time offset specific for the beam (Baicells Observation 9-1:Beam-specific K_offset may be supported in initial access. But there is still no consensus on how to support it now. For example, this K_offset can be configured in system information or in other ways) or the first time offset specific for the user group..
Regarding claim 34, the combination of Baicells and Park et al. teaches The communication device of claim 33, wherein the processor is further configured to:
determining, based on a value of a designated information field in system information, whether the network device supports the first time offset specific for the beam (Baicells Observation 10-1:, K_offset for each beam is configured in system information and broadcasted to the corresponding beam.) or the first time offset specific for the user group; or
determine, based on a value of a reserved information field in the MSG2, whether the network device supports the first time offset specific for the beam or the first time offset specific for the user group.
Claims 7-11, 26, and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et a. (US 20210282042 A1) in view of Baicells (Discussion on timing relationship enhancement for NTN, 3GPP TSG RAN WG1 #106-e, R1-2106754, e-Meeting, August 16th – 27th, 2021) .
Regarding claim 7, Park et al. teach A method for determining a time offset, performed by a network device, the method comprising:
sending a message 2 (MSG2) to a terminal, wherein the MSG2 comprises at least a value of a temporary cell-radio network temporary identifier (TC-RNTI) (Park [0076] the BS transmits an RAR (message 2 or Msg2) to the UE... the UE may receive the RAR on a PDSCH and decode the RAR. The UE then checks whether the RAR includes RAR information directed to the UE... The RAR includes ... a temporary ID (e.g., temporary cell RNTI (C-RNTI)) for UE identification).).
Park et al. do not teach
the value of the TC-RNTI is configured for the terminal to determine a first time offset specific for a beam or a first time offset specific for a user group.
In a similar endeavor, Baicells teaches
the value of the TC-RNTI is configured for the terminal to determine a first time offset specific for a beam (Baicells section 2.4 Mode 4:Beam-specific K_offset is indicated in the temporary C-RNTI of Msg2, section 3. Conclusions Proposal 10-4: Temporary C-RNTI in msg2 is suitable to carry beam-specific K_ offset) or a first time offset specific for a user group.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the examined application to have modified Park et al. by incorporating Baicells indication information to arrive at the invention
The motivation of doing so would have utilized the indication information to determine the offset information.
Regarding claim 8,The combination of Park et al. and Baicells teaches The method of claim 7, further comprising:
determining, a correspondence between the TC-RNTI and the first time
offset (Baicells section 2.4 Mode 4:Beam-specific K_offset is indicated in the temporary C-RNTI of Msg2, section 3. Conclusions Proposal 10-4: Temporary C-RNTI in msg2 is suitable to carry beam-specific K_ offset); and,
indicating to the terminal the correspondence between the TC-RNTI and the first time offset (Baicells section 2.4 Mode 4:Beam-specific K_offset is indicated in the temporary C-RNTI of Msg2, section 3. Conclusions Proposal 10-4: Temporary C-RNTI in msg2 is suitable to carry beam-specific K_ offset).
The motivation of doing so would have utilized the indication information to determine the offset information.
Regarding claim 9, The combination of Park et al. and Baicells teaches The method of claim 8, wherein determining the correspondence between the TC-RNTI and the first time offset, comprises:
determining the correspondence between the TC-RNTI and the first time offset
according to a protocol agreement (Baicells Proposal 10-3. For Mode 4, Huawei proposed in the 104-e meeting that in order to support beam-specific K_ offset, a differential value can be carried by msg2. In 105-e, Nokia mentioned that implicit signaling of the K_offset value using the existing fields in Msg2 may most likely be applied. According to these views, beam specific value may potentially be indicated in the fields of Msg2).
The motivation of doing so would have utilized the indication information to determine the offset information.
Regarding claim 10, The combination of Park et al. and Baicells teaches The method of claim 7, further comprising:
indicating to the terminal whether the network device supports the first time offset specific for the beam (Baicells Observation 9-1:Beam-specific K_offset may be supported in initial access. But there is still no consensus on how to support it now. For example, this K_offset can be configured in system information or in other ways) or the first time offset specific for the user group.
The motivation of doing so would have utilized the indication information to determine the offset information.
Regarding claim 11, The combination of Park et al. and Baicells teaches The method of claim 10, wherein indicating to the terminal whether the network device supports the first time offset specific for the beam or the first time offset specific for the user group comprises:
indicating, through a designated information field in system information, to the terminal whether the network device supports the first time offset specific for the beam (Baicells Observation 10-1:, K_offset for each beam is configured in system information and broadcasted to the corresponding beam.) or the first time offset specific for the user group; or
indicating, through a reserved information field in the MSG2, to the terminal whether the network device supports the first time offset specific for the beam or the first time offset specific for the user group.
The motivation of doing so would have utilized the indication information to determine the offset information.
Regarding claim 26, the combination of Park et al. and Baicells teaches A communication device (the BS 10 in Park Fig. 20), comprising:
a processor (Park 0587] The BS 10 includes a processor 11); and
a memory (Memory 14 in Park Fig. 20), storing a computer program (Park [0149] the BS may process information stored in the memory);
wherein the processor is configured to perform the method of claim 7.
Regarding claim 30, the combination of Park et al. and Baicells teaches A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium (Memory 14 in Park Fig. 20),, storing instructions (Park [0149] the BS may process information stored in the memory), wherein when the instructions are executed by a processor (Park 0587] The BS 10 includes a processor 11), the processor is caused to perform the method of claim 7.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baicells in view of Park et al., and in further view of ZTE (Discussion on timing relationship for NR-NTN, 3GPP TSG RAN WG1 #106-, R1-2107775, e-Meeting, August 16th – 27th, 2021).
Regarding claim 6, The combination of Baicells and Park et al. teaches The method of claim 1, but does not teach
wherein the first time offset comprises any one of:
a time difference between an uplink transmission and a downlink transmission; or
a number of predefined time units between an uplink transmission and a downlink transmission.
In a similar endeavor ZTE teaches
wherein the first time offset comprises
a time difference between an uplink transmission and a downlink transmission (ZTE Proposal-8: If there is signaling of K_offset conveyed in Msg2 (e.g., beam-specific value), the K_offset value can be applied in the transmission timing of HARQ-ACK on PUCCH to Msg4.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the examined application to have modified The combination of Baicells and Park et al. by incorporating ZTE timing to arrive at the invention.
The motivation of doing so would have utilized the beam specific time offset for the timing of uplink transmission.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al., in view of Baicells, and in further view of ZTE (Discussion on timing relationship for NR-NTN, 3GPP TSG RAN WG1 #106-, R1-2107775, e-Meeting, August 16th – 27th, 2021).
Regarding claim 12, The combination of Park et al. and Baicells teaches The method of claim 7, wherein the first time offset comprises any one of:
a time difference between an uplink transmission and a downlink transmission; or
a number of predefined time units between an uplink transmission and a downlink transmission.
In a similar endeavor ZTE teaches
wherein the first time offset comprises
a time difference between an uplink transmission and a downlink transmission (ZTE Proposal-8: If there is signaling of K_offset conveyed in Msg2 (e.g., beam-specific value), the K_offset value can be applied in the transmission timing of HARQ-ACK on PUCCH to Msg4.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the examined application to have modified The combination of Park et al. and Baicells by incorporating ZTE timing to arrive at the invention.
The motivation of doing so would have utilized the beam specific time offset for the timing of uplink transmission.
Conclusion
/SAID M ELNOUBI/ Examiner, Art Unit 2644