DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Drawings
The drawings with 3 Sheets of Figs. 1-5 received on 3/5/2024 are acknowledged and accepted.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1,2,7-9,12-15, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Winkler et al (DE 102019203378).
Regarding Claim 1, Winkler teaches (fig 1-2) a camera (“image acquisition device 100 is implemented as a camera”, para 29) for a motor vehicle (vehicle, para 1), the camera comprising:
a lens module (lens housing 125 with lens 110, para 29),
a lens holder body (retaining element 130 which is shaped to hold the lens 110 on the lens housing 125, para 29, “the retaining element 130 holds the lens 110 on the lens housing 125”, para 30), which is mechanically connected to the lens module (lens housing 125) (as in fig 1), and
an electrical heater element (heating element 135, “the heating element 135 can, for example, have an integrated power supply”, para 29) for heating the lens module (lens housing 125 with lens 110) (“heating element 135 arranged or arrangeable on the retaining element 130, which is designed to heat the lens 110”, para 29),
wherein the heater element (heating element 135, para 29) is arranged at a surface of the lens holder body (retaining element 130) facing away from the lens module (lens housing 125 with lens 110) (as in fig 1); and
wherein the heater element (heating element 135, para 29) is thermally connected to the lens module via the lens holder body (“the holding element 130 has the most comprehensive contact possible with the lens 110 and the lens housing 125”, para 30, “By choosing the material, the retaining element 130 can conduct the heat emitted by the heating element 135 to the lens 110”, para 32)
Regarding Claim 2, Winkler teaches the camera according to claim 1,
wherein the camera (“image acquisition device 100 is implemented as a camera”, para 29) comprises a circuit board (control unit 150 has a feed unit 155 which supplies electrical energy to heating element 135, para 42, control unit has an interface which is an integrated circuit, para 24 and hence the control unit is considered a circuit board), which is arranged at a side of the lens holder body (retaining element 130 which is shaped to hold the lens 110 on the lens housing 125, para 29) facing away from the lens module (lens housing 125) (as in fig 1);
wherein the circuit board (control unit 150 has a feed unit 155 which supplies electrical energy to heating element 135, para 42, control unit has an interface which is an integrated circuit, para 24 and hence the control unit is considered a circuit board) comprises supply circuitry for supplying electrical current to the heater element (heating element 135) (“The feed unit 155 is designed to perform a step of supplying electrical energy to the heating element 135 to heat the lens 110 when the heating element 125 delivers heat to the lens”, para 42); and
wherein the heater element (heating element 135, “the heating element 135 can, for example, have an integrated power supply”, para 29) is electrically connected to the supply circuitry.
Regarding Claim 7, Winkler teaches the camera according to claim 1
wherein the camera (“image acquisition device 100 is implemented as a camera”, para 29) comprises a rear housing body (cover element 140, para 32) which is connected to the lens holder body (retaining element 130, para 29) wherein the rear housing body (cover element 140, para 32) and the lens holder body (retaining element 130, para 29) together form an assembly space (space between 140 and 130 in fig 1); and
wherein the heater element (heating element 135, para 29) is arranged completely inside the assembly space (as in fig 1,2).
Regarding Claim 8, Winkler teaches the camera according to claim 1
wherein the lens holder body (retaining element 130, para 29) comprises a metal material (“retaining element 140, for example, is made of metal such as aluminum or at least partially contains metal”, para 32) forming the surface at which the heater element (heating element 135, para 29) is arranged; and
wherein the thermal connection of the heater element (heating element 135, para 29) to the lens module is formed at least in part by the metal material (“By choosing the material, the retaining element 130 can conduct the heat emitted by the heating element 135 to the lens 110”, para 32).
Regarding Claim 9, Winkler teaches the camera according to claim 1
wherein the lens module (lens housing 125 which accommodates the lens 110, para 29) comprises a lens housing (lens housing 125, para 29) and at least one lens (lens 110, para 29) arranged within the lens housing.
Regarding Claim 12, Winkler teaches the camera according to claim 9
wherein the lens housing (lens housing 125, para 29) comprises a rear opening facing the lens holder body (retaining element 130, para 29) (as in fig 1,2),
wherein an optical axis (axis 200) of the at least one lens (lens 110, para 29) passes through the rear opening;
wherein the lens holder body (retaining element 130, para 29) comprises a through hole which is aligned with the rear opening (as in fig 2); and
wherein the heater element (heating element 135, para 29) extends annularly around the through hole (as in fig 2).
Regarding Claim 13, Winkler teaches the camera according to claim 9
wherein the camera (“image acquisition device 100 is implemented as a camera”, para 29) comprises an imager chip (“The image capture sensor can, for example, be implemented as a camera chip”, para 16), which is mounted to the circuit board (control unit 150 has a feed unit 155 which supplies electrical energy to heating element 135, para 42, control unit has an interface which is an integrated circuit, para 24 and hence the control unit is considered a circuit board) (the camera chip is a part of the circuit).
Regarding Claim 14, Winkler teaches an electronic vehicle guidance system (“The invention relates to an optical unit for an image acquisition device for a vehicle, an image acquisition device, a method for manufacturing an optical unit and a method for operating an optical unit according to the preamble of the independent claims. The present invention also relates to a computer program”, para 1, this indicates an electronic vehicle guidance system) comprising a camera according to claim 1.
Regarding Claim 15, Winkler teaches (fig 1-2) a method for heating a lens module (lens housing 125 with lens 110, para 29) of a camera (“image acquisition device 100 is implemented as a camera”, para 29) for a motor vehicle (vehicle, para 1), the method comprising:
arranging a heater element (heating element 135, “the heating element 135 can, for example, have an integrated power supply”, para 29) at a surface of a lens holder body (retaining element 130 which is shaped to hold the lens 110 on the lens housing 125, para 29, “the retaining element 130 holds the lens 110 on the lens housing 125”, para 30), which is mechanically connected to the lens module (lens housing 125 with lens 110, para 29) (as in fig 1),
wherein the surface faces away from the lens module (lens housing 125 with lens 110, para 29); and
heating the lens holder body (retaining element 130) is heated by the heater element (heating element 135), and wherein heat is transferred from the heated lens holder body (retaining element 130 ) to the lens module (“the holding element 130 has the most comprehensive contact possible with the lens 110 and the lens housing 125”, para 30, “By choosing the material, the retaining element 130 can conduct the heat emitted by the heating element 135 to the lens 110”, para 32).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Winkler et al (DE 102019203378) in view of Kim et al (US 2018/0176431 A1).
Regarding Claim 3, Winkler teaches the camera according to claim 2.
However, Winkler does not teach
wherein the heater element is arranged between the circuit board and the lens holder body
Winkler and Kim are related as heater elements in cameras.
Kim teaches (fig 1),
wherein the heater element (heater element 500, para 40) is arranged between the circuit board (printer circuit board 400, para 40) and the lens holder body (holder 200, para 40) (as in fig 1)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the placement of heater element of Winkler to the placement between circuit board and lens holder of Kim for the purpose of using a technique which needs occupation of only a small area (para 12).
Claim(s) 4-6, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Winkler et al (DE 102019203378) in view of Mleczko et al (US 2017/0302829 A1).
Regarding Claim 4, Winkler teaches the camera according to claim 2.
However, Winkler does not teach
wherein the supply circuitry comprises a supply contact, the heater element comprises a heater contact and the camera comprises a connector element which connects the heater contact electrically to the supply contact.
Winkler and Mleczko are related as heater elements in cameras.
Mleczko teaches (fig 1),
wherein the supply circuitry (printer circuit board 24, para 20) comprises a supply contact (inner pin, the heater element comprises a heater contact and the camera (imaging system or vision system, camera, 12, para 19) comprises a connector element (connecting pins 32b, para 23) which connects the heater contact (electrical conductive element, para 23) electrically to the supply contact (“The pins extend through the body portion 32a so as to provide direct electrical connection between the inner pin portions that electrically connect to circuitry at the PCB and the outer pin portions that electrically connect to electrically conductive elements or terminals of the vehicle connector”, para 23).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the camera module of Winkler to include the connector element of Mleczko for the purpose of enhanced heat transfer (para 29).
Regarding Claim 5, Winkler-Mleczko teaches the camera according to claim 4.
However, Winkler does not teach
wherein the connector element is configured as a spring connector.
Winkler and Mleczko are related as heater elements in cameras.
Mleczko teaches (fig 1),
wherein the connector element (connecting pins 32b, para 23) which connects the heater contact (electrical conductive element, para 23) is configured as a spring connector (spring-loaded pins, para 23).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the camera module of Winkler to include the spring connector element of Mleczko for the purpose of using common elements for enhanced heat transfer (para 29).
Regarding Claim 6, Winkler-Mleczko teaches the camera according to claim 4
wherein the heater element (heating element 135, para 29, Winkler) is configured as a resistive heater element (“The heating element 135 is implemented, for example, as a heating film or heating wire”, para 35, this indicates it is a resistive element which uses electricity to produce heat)
Claim(s) 10, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Winkler et al (DE 102019203378) in view of Park et al (KR 20180085195 A).
Regarding Claim 10, Winkler teaches the camera according to claim 1,
wherein the heater element (heating element 135, “the heating element 135 can, for example, have an integrated power supply”, para 29) is thermally connected to the at least one lens via the lens holder body (retaining element 130 which is shaped to hold the lens 110 on the lens housing 125, para 29) and the lens housing (lens housing 125) (“By choosing the material, the retaining element 130 can conduct the heat emitted by the heating element 135 to the lens 110”, para 32).
However, Winkler does not teach
wherein the lens housing comprises a further metal material; and
Winkler and Park are related as heater elements in cameras.
Park teaches (fig 1),
wherein the lens housing (lens barrel 200, para 46) comprises a further metal material (metal, para 46); and
wherein the heater element (heating element 600, para 42) is thermally connected to the at least one lens via the further metal material (metal, para 46).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the lens housing of Winkler to include further metal of Park for the purpose of high thermal conductivity (para 46).
Claim(s) 11, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Winkler et al (DE 102019203378) in view of Li et al (US 2020/0076997 A1).
Regarding Claim 11, Winkler teaches the camera according to claim 9
However, Winkler does not teach
wherein the lens housing comprises an external thread and the lens holder body comprises an internal thread or the lens housing comprises an internal thread and the lens holder body comprises an external thread; and wherein the lens holder body is fastened to the lens housing via the internal thread and the external thread.
Winkler and Li are related as lens housings in cameras.
Li teaches (fig 1),
wherein the lens housing (lens barrel 50, para 17) comprises an external thread (external thread 58, para 17) and the lens holder body (lens holder 30, para 17) comprises an internal thread (internal thread 36, para 17).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the lens housing of Winkler to include threaded lens housing and lens holder of Li for the purpose of using a setup to reduce any clamping or high turning resistance (Abstract, para 2-3).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Kumar et al (US 2019/0113743 A1) teaches a camera for a vehicle including a housing and a lens barrel and a heating element outside the lens barrel. However, Kumar does not teach thermal connection between housing, barrel and heating element.
/JYOTSNA V DABBI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872 3/5/2026