DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 and a2 as being anticipated by Oishi (US Pub No. 2020/0014070)
Regarding Claim 1, Oishi et al. teaches an all-solid battery comprising:
a solid electrolyte layer [3, Fig. 1, 0029];
a first electrode layer [1, Fig. 1, 0030] that is provided on a first main face of the solid electrolyte layer [3, Fig. 1, 0029]
and includes an electrode active material [1B, Fig. 1, 0048]; and
a second electrode layer [2, Fig. 1, 0048] that is provided on a second main face of the solid electrode layer [3, Fig. 1, 0029] and includes an electrode active material [2B, Fig. 1, 0048],
Oishi et al. teaches all the structural limitations of the claim; therefore, it is the view of the examiner, based on the teaching of Oishi et al., has a reasonable basis to believe that the claimed properties are inherently possessed by the device of Oishi et al. meeting the limitation of “characterized in that wherein when the all solid battery is heated with an increase rate of 20 °C/min, CO₂ of 30 mg/cm³ or more and 53 mg/cm³ or less is externally generated from the all solid battery from 550 °C to 700 °C and CO2 of 90 mg/cm³ or more and 155 mg/cm³ or less is externally generated from the all solid battery from 550 °C to 750 °C, per a unit volume (cm³) of the all solid battery.”
Regarding product and apparatus claims, when the structure recited in the reference is substantially identical to that of the claims, claimed properties or functions are presumed to be inherent. The Courts have held that it is well settled that where there is a reason to believe that a functional characteristic would be inherent in the prior art, the burden of proof then shifts to the applicant to provide objective evidence to the contrary. See In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d at 1478, 44 USPQ2d at 1478, 44 USPQ2d at 1432 (Fed. Cir. 1997) (see MPEP § 2112.01, I.).
Since the PTO does not have proper means to conduct experiments, the burden of proof is now shifted to applicants to show otherwise. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 195 USPQ 430 (CCPA 1977); In re Fitzgerald, 205 USPQ 594 (CCPA 1980).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oishi (US Pub No. 2020/0014070) in view of Yushin (US Pub No. 2020/0235420)
Regarding Claim 2, Oishi et al. is relied upon for the reasons given above, Oishi et al. is silent on characterized in that wherein the solid electrolyte layer has a cavity including CO₂ inside thereof.
Yushin et al. teaches a solid electrolyte which has cavities [pore space, 0219] in a battery [abstract].
Since Oishi et al. teaches the use of a battery with a solid electrolyte, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the invention to modify the solid electrolyte of Oishi et al. with the solid electrolyte design of Yushin et al. as it is merely the selection of a conventional engineering design and one of ordinary skill would have a reasonable expectation of success in doing so.
The combination of familiar elements is likely to be obvious when it does no more than yield predictable results. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395 – 97 (2007) (see MPEP § 2143, A.).
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oishi (US Pub No. 2020/0014070) in view of Blackburn (US Pub No. 2021/0143448)
Regarding Claim 3, Oishi et al. is relied upon for the reasons given above, Oishi et al. is silent on characterized in that wherein a thickness of the solid electrolyte layer is 5 µm or more and 30 µm or less.
Blackburn et al. teaches a solid electrolyte with a thickness of 500 nm to 40 um overlapping the claimed 5 um or more and 30 um or less [0097].
Since Oishi et al. teaches the use of a battery with a solid electrolyte, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the invention to modify the solid electrolyte of Oishi et al. with the electrolyte thickness of Blackburn et al. as it is merely the selection of a conventional engineering design and one of ordinary skill would have a reasonable expectation of success in doing so
The combination of familiar elements is likely to be obvious when it does no more than yield predictable results. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395 – 97 (2007) (see MPEP § 2143, A.).
In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). MPEP §2144.05.
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oishi (US Pub No. 2020/0014070) in view of Hu (Nano Lett. 2020, 20, 3620−3626)
Regarding Claim 4, Oishi et al. is relied upon for the reasons given above, Oishi et al. is silent on an evaluation method of an all-solid battery characterized by comprising:
evaluating the all-solid battery by detecting CO₂ externally generated from the all-solid battery when performing charging and discharging of the all-solid battery as claimed in claim 1.
Hu et al. teaches a method of measuring CO2 in the solid-state battery [page 3624, middle right and bottom right of page].
Since Oishi et al. teaches a solid-state battery, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the invention to apply the method of Hu et al. to the solid-state battery of Oishi et al. as it is merely the selection of a conventional method for testing CO2 in a solid-state battery, and one of ordinary skill would have a reasonable expectation of success in doing so.
The combination of familiar elements is likely to be obvious when it does no more than yield predictable results. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395 – 97 (2007) (see MPEP § 2143, A.).
Conclusion
/MICHAEL Y SUN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1728