DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7, 15 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KR 101572602 to Lee in view of KR 100614202 to Yoo.
Regarding claim 1, Lee teaches a rotating type LED signboard comprising: a case (outer housing 160); a motor disposed in the case (main body 110); a rotation plate (rotating plate 121) rotated by the motor (driver 240 or BLDC motor); a plurality of light source bars (rotation frame 130) disposed on the rotation plate (121), and including a plurality of light sources (light emitting unit 140/LED module) vertically arranged; a fixed plate (base plate 111) spaced below the rotation plate (121).
Lee does not teach a first and second infrared output device or the first and second infrared receiving device.
Yoo teaches a three-dimensional volumetric display comprising a case (transparent protective layer 230); a motor (electric motor 300); a rotation plate (upper rotating plate 210 and lower rotating plate) rotated by the motor (300); a light source bars (electronic board 100) disposed on the rotation plate (210), and including a plurality of light sources (LEDs) vertically arranged; a fixed plate (320) spaced below the rotation plate (210). Yoo also teaches a first infrared (IR) output device (video signal transmitter 410) disposed on the fixed plate; and a first IR receiving device (image signal receiver 420) disposed on the rotation plate (220) and configured to receive infrared (IR) signals respectively output from the first IR output device and the second IR output device. Yoo teaches the video signal transmitter and a video signal receiver preferably has an infrared communication.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to construct rotating type LED signboard taught by Lee with infrared input and output devices as taught by Yoo with a reasonable expectation of success to provide a means to monitor and control the rotational speed to the light source bars (electronic board 100; see abstract).
Regarding claim 2, Yoo teaches a processor (rotational speed controller 600) configured to detect a change in rotational speed of the motor based on the IR signals received by the first IR receiving device and the second IR output device, and in response to the change in rotational speed of the motor, configured to change a turn-on period of the plurality of light sources.
Regarding claim 3, Yoo teaches a processor response to detecting the change in rotational speed of the motor while displaying a first image frame, the processor is configured to change the turn-on period of the plurality of light sources based on the change in rotational speed of the motor while displaying a second image frame after the first image frame.
Regarding claim 4, Yoo teaches in response to an increase in rotational speed of the motor, the processor is configured to decrease the turn-on period of the plurality of light sources, and wherein in response to a decrease in rotational speed of the motor, the processor is configured to increase the turn-on period of the plurality of light sources.
Regarding claim 5, Yoo teaches a processor (video display controller 500) configured to generate a pixel location signal and a start signal of an image frame based on the IR signals received by the first IR receiving device and the second IR output device.
Regarding claim 6, Yoo teaches a processor (video display controller 500) configured to display an image frame, including a pixel signal, based on the IR signals received by the first IR receiving device and the second IR output device.
Regarding claim 7, Lee teaches the plurality of light source bars (rotation frame 130) are equally spaced apart from a center of the rotation plate (rotating plate 121) having a circular shape.
Regarding claim 15, Lee teaches a case (outer housing 160), which is a portion of the case corresponding to an upper portion of the rotation plate, comprises a transparent material.
Regarding claim 16, Lee teaches case (cover housing 114), which is a portion of the case corresponding to a lower portion of the rotation plate, comprises an opaque material.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8-14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 8, the prior art of record does not teach or suggest a display apparatus comprising: a case; a motor disposed in the case; a rotation plate rotated by the motor; a plurality of light source bars disposed on the rotation plate; IR receiving device and IR output devices in combination with other limitations of the claim and further wherein the plurality of light source bars are equally spaced apart from the center of the rotation plate having a circular shape, wherein the first IR receiving device and the second IR receiving device are disposed between a first light source bar, among the plurality of light source bars, and the center of the rotation plate.
Regarding claim 9, the prior art of record does not teach or suggest a display apparatus comprising: a case; a motor disposed in the case; a rotation plate rotated by the motor; a plurality of light source bars disposed on the rotation plate; IR receiving device and IR output devices in combination with other limitations of the claim and further wherein a plurality of first IR receiving devices are disposed on the rotation plate, wherein the plurality of first IR receiving devices are equally spaced apart from the center of the rotation plate having a circular shape.
Regarding claim 10, the prior art of record does not teach or suggest a display apparatus comprising: a case; a motor disposed in the case; a rotation plate rotated by the motor; a plurality of light source bars disposed on the rotation plate; IR receiving device and IR output devices in combination with other limitations of the claim and further wherein a plurality of first IR receiving devices are disposed on the rotation plate, wherein the plurality of first IR receiving devices are configured to receive the IR signal output from the first IR output device.
Regarding claim 11, the prior art of record does not teach or suggest a display apparatus comprising: a case; a motor disposed in the case; a rotation plate rotated by the motor; a plurality of light source bars disposed on the rotation plate; IR receiving device and IR output devices in combination with other limitations of the claim and further wherein a plurality of first IR output devices are disposed on the fixed plate, wherein the plurality of first IR output devices are equally spaced apart from a center of the fixed plate having a circular shape.
Regarding claim 12, the prior art of record does not teach or suggest a display apparatus comprising: a case; a motor disposed in the case; a rotation plate rotated by the motor; a plurality of light source bars disposed on the rotation plate; IR receiving device and IR output devices in combination with other limitations of the claim and further wherein a plurality of first IR output devices are disposed on the fixed plate, wherein IR signals respectively output from the plurality of first IR output devices are received by the first IR receiving device.
Regarding claim 13, the prior art of record does not teach or suggest a display apparatus comprising: a case; a motor disposed in the case; a rotation plate rotated by the motor; a plurality of light source bars disposed on the rotation plate; IR receiving device and IR output devices in combination with other limitations of the claim and further comprising a processor configured to measure a change in speed of the motor based on the IR signals received by the first IR receiving device and the second IR receiving device during a first image frame period, and to display an image, corresponding to the measured change in speed of the motor, during a second image frame period after the first image frame period.
Regarding claim 14, the prior art of record does not teach or suggest a display apparatus comprising: a case; a motor disposed in the case; a rotation plate rotated by the motor; a plurality of light source bars disposed on the rotation plate; IR receiving device and IR output devices in combination with other limitations of the claim and further comprising a processor configured to predict a maximum speed error during rotation of the motor based on the IR signals received by the first IR receiving device and the second IR receiving device, wherein a number of the first IR receiving devices is determined based on the maximum speed error.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. WO 2021040061 to Kim (filing date 2019-08-23; publication date 2021-03-04; LG ELECTRONICS INC) and EP 4036898 A1 to Woo et al. (filing date 2019-10-01; LG ELECTRONICS INC) are cited to show rotating display devices.
/CASSANDRA DAVIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3631