DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 4-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kwok et al. (US 2011/0248930).
Per claim 1. Kwok discloses a tactile feedback apparatus, comprising:
a pressable portion (e.g. touch location on display) on which a pressing action is performed by a pressing portion ;
a detection unit (202) that detects an external force acting on the pressable portion or detects a position of the pressing portion with respect to the pressable portion [para. 011 and 023];
a vibration actuator (120) that applies vibration to the pressing portion [para. 024 and 027]; [Fig. 2]
a storage unit (110) that stores waveform information for driving the vibration actuator SO as to provide the pressing portion with a specific tactile sensation [para. 027]; and
a control unit (processor 102) that causes the vibration actuator to vibrate based on the waveform information at a specific point in time in the pressing action, the specific point in time
being based on the external force or the position detected by the detection unit [para. 027].
Per claim 4. Kwok further discloses the control unit causes the vibration actuator to
vibrate during a period in which the external force acting on the pressable portion is increasing
[para. 023 and 30] and further cited "The type of tactile feedback, the magnitude of the force, and
the duration of time during which tactile feedback is provided may vary based on the touch
location." [para. 027].
Per claim 5. Kwok further discloses "When the force value meets the depression force threshold, the tactile feedback is provided by applying an actuation signal to charge and discharge the piezo actuators 120 to vibrate the touch-sensitive display 118. The applied force to
the touch-sensitive display 118 is reduced as the user removes their finger from the touch-sensitive display 118. When the force value meets the release force threshold, the vibration is discontinued." [para. 034]. Which means, the vibration actuated period, during a period the finger is being touched the display (e.g. from an initial time when finger force applied on sensor
location until force reduces or decreases while finger removes from sensor completely). That constitutes of the control unit causes the vibration actuator to vibrate during a period obtained by combining a period during which the external force acting on the pressable portion from the
pressing portion is decreasing and a fixed period from a point in time at which the pressing portion is separated from (e.g. removed) the pressable portion (depression threshold, Paragraph 24).
Per claim 6. Kwok further discloses the control unit includes a tactile sensation setting
unit (e.g. a look-up table in a memory 110) that adjusts vibration of the vibration actuator based on the waveform information [para. 027].
Per claim 7. Kwok further discloses the waveform information is waveform information
for driving the vibration actuator (e.g. magnitude of the force) so as to provide the pressing portion with a tactile sensation simulating human skin [para. 34] .
Per claim 8. The limitations of a tactile feedback apparatus are similar to those in claim 1 above, that the rejection would be in the same manner.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2, 3 and 10-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 9 is allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: None of the prior art of record disclose alone, or in combination, the claimed “…wherein the specific point in time is determined based on the external force or the position detected by the detection unit and corresponding to a predicted timing or one of a period in which the external force acting on the pressable portion is increasing or a fixed period immediately after the external force acting on the pressable portion disappears, the predicted timing being a timing at which the pressing portion is predicted, using the detected position, to come into contact with the pressable portion. (Claim 9).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed September 3, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Kwok fails to disclose “waveform information” stored in the storage unit. The Applicant indicates, “Kwok in paragraph [0027] merely mentions memory storing haptic feedback data but is silent on specific waveform types.”
It should be noted that claim 1 discloses “ 1. (Original) A tactile feedback apparatus, comprising: a pressable portion on which a pressing action is performed by a pressing portion; a detection unit that detects an external force acting on the pressable portion or detects a position of the pressing portion with respect to the pressable portion; a vibration actuator that applies vibration to the pressing portion; a storage unit that stores waveform information for driving the vibration actuator so as to provide the pressing portion with a specific tactile sensation; and a control unit that causes the vibration actuator to vibrate based on the waveform information at a specific point in time in the pressing action, the specific point in time being based on the external force or the position detected by the detection unit.”
Nowhere within the claim does it mention specific types of waverform as argued. Therefore, the waveform stored in Kwok, as addressed in the Non-Final (and current) actions is maintained. Further, Kwok [0027] discloses “The memory 106 may store, for example, data representing the haptic feedback to be provided by the actuator(s)…”This language encompasses not only the type of feedback (e.g., vibration, pulse, click), but also the waveform or signal information required to generate such effects, as the actuator cannot operate without a driving signal.
Kwok does not disclose vibration at a “specific point in time in the pressing action”.
Kwok expressly discloses providing tactile feedback at a specific point in time during a pressing action—namely, when the force applied to the pressable portion (touchscreen) reaches or exceeds a predefined threshold.
Kwok, paragraph [0025]:“In some embodiments, the haptic feedback is provided when the force applied to the touch-sensitive surface exceeds a predetermined threshold.”
Kwok, paragraph [0028]:“The processor may be configured to detect when the force applied by the user’s finger exceeds a threshold and, in response, control the actuator to provide haptic feedback.”
This means tactile feedback is not delivered continuously or generically, but is triggered at a distinct, detectable event within the pressing action—specifically, the moment the threshold is crossed. This event constitutes a “specific point in time in the pressing action” as claimed.
Further, the timing is determined by data from the detection unit (force sensor), just as required by the claim.
Kwok’s vibration actuator configuration does not meet the claimed requirement.
Kwok’s actuators (e.g., 120, [0024],[0027]) are fixed to the display, applying vibration indirectly through the touch surface.
This structural difference produces anticipation, as Kwok does not disclose vibration to the pressing portion.
Kwok, paragraph [0022]:
“The actuator(s) may be configured to provide tactile feedback to the user’s finger via the touch-sensitive surface.”
Kwok, paragraph [0024]:
“The actuator(s) may be any suitable actuator(s), such as a piezoelectric actuator, that can provide tactile feedback to the user’s finger through the touch-sensitive surface.”
Kwok, Fig. 1–2:
Show the actuator(s) mechanically coupled to the touch-sensitive surface, which is the “pressable portion” being pressed by the user.
Thus, the actuator in Kwok applies vibration to the pressable portion (the touchscreen surface), and the user’s finger receives this vibration when pressing the surface. This arrangement directly corresponds to the claim requirement of a “vibration actuator that applies vibration to the pressing portion.”
Regarding claim 2, With respect to dependent claim 2, Kwok does not teach or suggest “wherein vibration actuator moves in accordance with the pressing portion that is performing pressing action.”
Claim 2 is now objected to, and including allowable subject matter, as overcoming the prior art Kwok.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DAVETTA W GOINS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2689