Response to Arguments
In their response dated 9/23/2026 applicants made no amendment. The applicant’s argued combination of Schaefer and Beers. Specifically, applicants argued that Schaefer utilizes selects two sulfenamides accelerators for use with its specialized carbamate functional novolac resin. Beers utilizes sulfenamide which office action views as functional equivalent. Applicants further stated following:
The examiner would like to first clarify that both sulfenamides and sulfenamides are organosulfur accelerators not phenolic resin accelerators. They are used to vulcanize rubber. Sulfenamides and sulfenamides act on the same S-N cleavage and sulfur transfer while imide structure can additionally alter activation temperature and kinetics. One of ordinary skill in the art would readily understand that. This was clearly explained in the obviousness statement on page 5 of the non-final office action, and specifically BEERs was cited for his reason why one accelerator is preferred over the other.
With respect to presence of phenolic resin vs. novolac carrying carbamate functionality, phenolic resin remains largely inert at lower temperature. S-N cleavage in the accelerator activates methylol in the resin forming dual crosslinking system . Novolac resin carrying alkyl urethane functionality also participates in crosslinking of the rubber also forming dual crosslinking system. Both result in adhesion of rubber to metal cords.
Both sulfenamides and sulfenamides are delayed response accelerators which depend on temperature, however as it was also indicated in the office action sulfenImide is used because it controls cure and becomes rapid once processing temperatures are reached.
Having said that, while use of novolac with urethane linkages may have effect on the properties of the vulcanized rubber, this is not what applicants claim. Applicants claim sulfur-crosslinkable mixture, which is mixture of components that is inert and has no reactivity unless activation temperatures and processing temperatures are reached. Changing claims to crosslinked rubber composition will be shift of invention. Pursuing tire claims in an RCE may be a good idea because this is where the composition is cured however, argued Table 1 lacks clear results that would truly distinguish the instant invention over comparative data. It is just a suggestion that can be discussed during, for example, an interview.
Please note that claim 13 is rejected along with instant claim 1. Including two accelerators when one of them can actually be sulfenamide of Schafer. While applicants argue that this claims is not addressed as a whole and does not account for the coupled nature of a direct adhesion, the rejection does not have to take adhesion into consideration because claims are directed to a rubber mixture that is not vulcanized. By itself as a mixture without proper crosslinking there is no adhesion as none of the reactive components are activated and reacted. In the rejection of record the examiner will address claim 13 separately, however this is not viewed as new grounds of rejection because the same obviousness will be utilized. The claim will be only separated for applicant’s.
Examiner further disagrees on applicants statement that Beers does not supply direction for using TBSI. The examiner utilized his position on using sulfenimides in an obviousness statement. Specifically, Beers discloses sulfenamide as well as sulfenamides which means that the two are equally suitable for vulcanization and will efficiently vulcanize rubber, regardless of the adhesive polymer.
Applicants further argued comparative data in claim 1, which is not commensurate with the scope of instant independent claim 1, this is because claim 1 teaches uncrosslinked mixture. Composition disclosed in table 1 is crosslinked. Yes, properties of vulcanized rubber composition will be different just by virtue of it being vulcanized, but that is not the scope of the claims. Consequently, instant claims directed to crosslinkable composition cannot be compared to the results of crosslinked composition comprising components such as specific rubber, age inhibitors, zinc oxide, silica, plasticizers, processing aids, silane coupling agent and 80:20 ratio of natural rubber to polybutadiene. All these components contribute to the properties of the crosslinked composition. Claim 1 only requires novolac resin with sulfenamide accelerator. That’s it.
In view of the above disclosure, all rejections of record are maintained and if applicants wishes to discuss this and interview is always welcome. In fact, interview is highly solicited to discuss Table 1, cured product because is it difficult to see any trends or unexpected results that would distinguish the instant invention from the composition of, for example, comparative example 1, where the oxygen aged property as discussed under the table 1 is the same as the inventive composition and utilizes sulfenamide accelerator. In fact, other properties are also very comparable for both sulfenamide and sulfenamide.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shaefer (US 2012/0095152) in view of Beers (US 6,120,911).
With respect to claims 1, 6, and 7, Schafer discloses vulcanizable rubber composition utilized for the metal reinforcement [0028]. Schafer refers to its novolac resin as adhesion promoter (Abstract). The adhesion promoters are utilized in the teachings of Schaefer in an amount of up to 20% [0033]. The resin is a novolac resin and it is made using phenol, urethane aldehyde (carbamic resin based on butyl urethane) and formaldehyde.
Second component of the composition is an accelerator which is sulfenamide accelerator utilized in amount of 0.6 grams each or 1.2 grams total, 3 grams of novolac, 4 grams of sulfur, 3 grams of HMMM. These additives were incorporated into 183 grams of rubber composition, wherein rubber itself comprises 100 grams balance are additives. As such the total content of the accelerators is 0.59 parts.
The difference between instant invention and teachings of Schafer is use of sulfenimide as accelerator.
Beers discloses metal tire cords which are coated by rubber composition. The tire cords are also steel cords just like those of Schafer.
Beers teaches use of accelerators which allow to control the time and/or temperature required for vulcanization and to improve the properties of the rubber compound or wire coat. The accelerator can be utilized alone or in combination with second accelerator. The second accelerator is utilized in smaller amount than the first accelerator. Overall content of the accelerator is in a range of 1.25-3.75, preferably in an amount of 1.4-3.0 parts (col. 4, l. 10-17, l. 28-33).
The types of accelerators which can allow such control includes both sulfenamides and sulfenamides (col. 4, l. 17-28). Exemplary accelerator is N-t-butyl-2-benzothiazole sulfenamide (col. 5, l. 4-6). See also table 1, where the sulfenamide as primary accelerator is utilized in amount of 1.8 parts, secondary accelerator, when utilized its content is 0.3 parts. Wherein the content of the accelerators further meets newly added claim 13.
In the light of the above disclosure, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time instant invention was filed to utilize sulfenamide accelerator in lieu of sulfenamide. Both accelerators have labile sulfur-nitrogen bonds and can undergo cleavage during vulcanization process. This lability is the key for these compounds to function as accelerators. Beers also indicated that these accelerators are utilized because they allow to control time and temperature of the vulcanization process. That is because the activation of both sulfenamides and sulfenamides are temperature-sensitive. Both remain relatively inert at lower temperatures providing a long scorch time. Both help achieving faster cure rates once activation occurs improving efficiency and providing more uniform crosslink distribution. In other words, their shared chemistry makes them both effective in producing high-quality durable rubber products. Consequently, two compounds are functional equivalents, which is something on of ordinary skill in the art would readily understand. Additionally, while Schafer discloses sulfenamides in the examples, in his specification [0030] Schafer is open to other accelerators, especially when they are functional equivalents.
“[A]nalysis [of whether the subject matter of claim would have been obvious] need no seek out precise teachings directed to the specific subject matter of the challenged claim, for a court to take account of the inferences and creative steps that a person of ordinary skill in the art would employ.“ KSR Int’l v. Teleflex, Inc. 127 S. Ct 1727, 1740-1741, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1396 (2007) (quoting In re Kahn, 441, F.3d 977, 988, 78 USPQ2d 1329, 1336-37 (Fed. Cir. 2006)). See DyStar Textilfarben GmBH & Co. Deutschland KG v. C.H. Patric Co., 464 F.3d 1356, 1361, 80 USPQ2d 1641, 1645 (Fed. Cir 2006) (“The motivation need not be found in the references sought to be combined, but may be found in any number of sources, including common knowledge, the prior art as a whole, or the nature of the problem itself.”; In re Bozek, 416 F.2d 1385, 1390, 163 USPQ 545, 549 (CCPA 1969)(“Having established that this knowledge was in the art, the examiner could then properly rely, as put forth by the solicitor, on a conclusion of obviousness ‘from common knowledge and common sense of the person of ordinary skill in the art without any specific hint or suggestion in a particular reference.’”); In re Hoeschelle, 406 F.2d 1403, 1406-407, 160 USPQ 809, 811-12 (CCPA 1969) (“[I]t is proper to take into account not only specific teachings of the references but also the inference which one skilled in the art would reasonable be expected to draw therefrom …”). The analysis supporting obviousness, however, should be made explicit and should “identify reason that would have prompted a person of ordinary skill in the relevant field to combine elements” in manner claimed. KSR, 127 S. Ct. at 1739, 82 USPQ2d at 1396.
With respect to claim 2, the example disclosed right above per 100 parts of rubber includes 3 parts of novolac compound, although the specification encompasses range of up to 20.
With respect to claim 3, exemplified phenolic compound is phenol (see example 1) [0036].
With respect to claim 4, alkyl urethan is butyl urethane (see example 1) [0036].
With respect to claim 5, exemplified aldehyde is formaldehyde (see example 1) [0036].
With respect to claim 8, as exemplified, composition of Schafer utilizes 3 parts of HMMM which is hexamethoxymethyl melamine.
With respect to claim 9, Schafer discloses use of organic cobalt salts, specifically salts with monobasic carboxylic acids [0030].
With respect to claim 10, recitation of brass-plated steel cord, is non limiting with respect to the composition because it refers to the substrate on which the composition is being applied to. Having said that, Schafer discloses that the composition is utilized for adhesion to metallic reinforcement, specific in [0002] that reinforcement is brass-plated steel cord.
With respect to claim 11, the composition is utilized in making tires [0030].
With respect to claim 12, specific parts of the tire include parts containing steel cord reinforcement. Tire construction is well established in the art and one of ordinary skill in the art would readily understand that in tires the parts that require steel cord reinforcement are belt and sidewalls in order to maintain strength and stability of the tire under various driving conditions.
With respect to claim 13, Schafer discloses novolac resin which is condensation product of an aldehyde and an alkyl urethan and novolac (Abstract) wherein alkyl urethane is butyl urethane, other components include phenol, aldehyde and carbamate resin (example 1). Second component is hexamethoxymethyl melamine (HMMM). The vulcanization accelerators are not limited by the disclosure of Schefer [0030, 0039] , which would allow one of ordinary skill in the art to look for suitable options to vulcanize rubber. While example discloses mixture of two sulfenamide accelerators, the examples do not limit the invention as a whole.
Beers discloses another tire composition which comprises phenolic type resins as methylene acceptors and HMMM as methylene donors, in a composition that is utilized to improve adhesion of the rubber to metal tire cords of the tire.
Beers teaches use of accelerators which allow to control the time and/or temperature required for vulcanization and to improve the properties of the rubber compound or wire coat. The accelerator can be utilized alone or in combination with second accelerator (col. 4, l. 10-25). The second accelerator is utilized in smaller amounts than the first accelerator. Overall content of the accelerator is in a range of 1.25-3.75, preferably in an amount of 1.4-3.0 parts (col. 4, l. 10-17, l. 28-33). This content is dictated by the ratio of sulfur donor to total accelerator present.
The types of accelerators which can allow such control includes both sulfenamides and sulfenamides (col. 4, l. 17-28). Exemplary accelerator is N-t-butyl-2-benzothiazole sulfenimide (col. 5, l. 4-6). See also table 1, where the sulfenamide as primary accelerator is utilized in amount of 1.8 parts, secondary accelerator, when utilized its content is 0.3 parts. Wherein the content of the accelerators further meets claim 13.
In the light of the above disclosure, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time instant invention was filed to utilize sulfenamide accelerator in lieu of sulfenamide. Both accelerators have labile sulfur-nitrogen bonds and can undergo cleavage during vulcanization process. This lability is the key for these compounds to function as accelerators. Beers also indicated that these accelerators are utilized because they allow to control time and temperature of the vulcanization process. That is because the activation of both sulfenamides and sulfenamides is temperature-sensitive. Both remain relatively inert at lower temperatures providing a long scorch time. Both help achieving faster cure rates once activation occurs improving efficiency and providing more uniform crosslink distribution. In other words, their shared chemistry makes them both effective in producing high-quality durable rubber products. Consequently, two compounds are functional equivalents, which is something on of ordinary skill in the art would readily understand. Additionally, while Schafer discloses sulfenamides in the examples, in his specification [0030] Schafer is open to other accelerators, especially when they are functional equivalents.
With respect to claim 14, the novolac adhesion promoter is utilized in a range of 0.5-10 wt.%, HMMM is utilized in amount of 3grams. With 189 grams of base rubber (Table 1) [0040] and mixing stage 2 (table 2) the content of HMMM is 1.5 %.
While Schafer discloses use of organic cobalt salt [0030] he does not provide any specific range on what the content of such salt should be.
Beers discloses rubber composition with adhesion promoted which renders the rubber composition suitable for steel cord adhesion within a tire. Beers teaches that rubber composition, especially used as wire coat includes a cobalt salt which increases adhesion of rubber to metal cords (col. 7, l. 24-47). The cobalt salt is an organic cobalt salt of fatty acids and is utilized in amount of 0.5-3 parts (col. 7, l. 48-61).
In the light of the above disclosure, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time instant invention was filed, to utilize cobalt salt of Schafer in the amount disclosed by Beers. The cobalt salts of Schafer are also based on the fatty acids such as is-octanoic acid or naphthenic acid which fall within Beer’s aliphatic fatty acid having 6-30 carbon atoms or cobalt naphthenate. Use of such compounds as disclosed by Beers improves adhesion between rubber and metal cords.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-14 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 15, 26-29, 31 and 32 of co-pending Application No. 17/995112(‘112). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
Claim 15 of the co-pending application ‘112 discloses sulfur-crosslinkable rubberization mixture for metallic strength members comprising:
1.2-1.8 parts of at least one butyl carbamate-functionalized phenol-formaldehyde resin
From 1.2-1.8 parts of HMMM
0.8-1.5 parts of at least one sulfenamide accelerator, wherein second accelerator can be utilized in amount of less than 0.5 parts.
The limitations of claim 15 of ‘112 meet instant claims 1-6, 8-9, 13 and 14.
Claims 26-28 of ‘112 states that the composition is utilized in a pneumatic tire which comprises brass-plated steel cords. This meets instant claims 10-12.
With respect to claim 7, which states specific accelerator, the examiner relies on the application of ‘112 to learn the meaning of the term “other vulcanization accelerators” which practice in consistent with MPEP 804 which allows to utilize specification as a dictionary. Specification of ‘112 [0045] discloses N-t-butyl-2-benzothiazyl sulfenamide as other accelerator.
Consequently, claims of the co-pending ‘112 application fall well within much broader in scope instant invention.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Correspondence
/KATARZYNA I KOLB/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1767 October 9, 2026