Claim Interpretation
Instant claims are directed to a sulfur crosslinkable composition for metallic strength members which comprises novolac resin that is produced by reaction of phenolic compound, an aldehyde and a carbamate resin. Carbamate resin is produced by reaction of alkyl urethane with aldehyde. Although compounds disclosed in the reaction do impart structural limitation, the claims are directed to the product. The patentable weight is given to product and not process by which it is made. Consequently the novolac resin has to contain phenolic, aldehyde and carbamate functionality (urethane) but the method of reacting is open.
Instant claims are also directed to composition wherein limitation “for metallic strength members” is a recitation of intended use, and recitation of being brass-plated steel cord while definite does not limit the composition claim.
For the nomenclature of N-tert-butyl-2-benzothiazolesulfenimide (95-31-8), this compound is also known as N-tert-butyl-3-benzothiazyl sulfenamide, t-butylbenxothioazole-2-sulfenamide, Nocceler NS, Santocure NS, TBBS. Any of these recitation will meet instant claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Or
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) or 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Schafer (US 2012/0095152).
With respect to claim 1, Schafer discloses vulcanizable rubber composition utilized for the metal reinforcement [0028]. Schafer refers to its novolac resin as adhesion promoter (Abstract). The adhesion promoters are utilized in the teachings of Schaefer in an amount of up to 20% [0033]. The resin is a novolac resin and it is made using phenol, urethane aldehyde (carbamic resin based on butyl urethane) and formaldehyde.
Second component of the composition is an accelerator which is sulfenamide accelerator utilized in amount of 0.6 grams each or 1.2 grams total, 3 grams of novolac, 4 grams of sulfur, 3 grams of HMMM. These additives were incorporated into 183 grams of rubber composition, wherein rubber itself comprises 100 grams balance are additives. As such the total content of the accelerators is 0.59 parts.
With respect to claim 2, the example disclosed right above per 100 parts of rubber includes 3 parts of novolac compound, although the specification encompasses range of up to 20.
With respect to claim 3, exemplified phenolic compound is phenol (see example 1) [0036].
With respect to claim 4, alkyl urethan is butyl urethane (see example 1) [0036].
With respect to claim 5, exemplified aldehyde is formaldehyde (see example 1) [0036].
With respect to claim 6¸ as exemplified above, total content of sulfenamide accelerator is 1.2 parts [0040].
With respect to claims 7, one of the exemplified accelerators is N-tert-butyl-2-benzothiazolesulfenimide (95-31-8), this compound is also known as N-tert-butyl-3-benzothiazyl sulfenamide as described in “claim interpretation” [0040].
With respect to claim 8, as exemplified, composition of Schafer utilizes 3 parts of HMMM which is hexamethoxymethyl melamine.
With respect to claim 9, Schafer discloses use of organic cobalt salts, specifically salts with monobasic carboxylic acids [0030].
With respect to claim 10, recitation of brass-plated steel cord, is non limiting with respect to the composition because it refers to the substrate on which the composition is being applied to. Having said that, Schafer discloses that the composition is utilized for adhesion to metallic reinforcement, specific in [0002] that reinforcement is brass-plated steel cord.
With respect to claim 11, the composition is utilized in making tires [0030].
With respect to claim 12, specific parts of the tire include parts containing steel cord reinforcement. Tire construction is well established in the art and one of ordinary skill in the art would readily understand that in tires the parts that require steel cord reinforcement are belt and sidewalls in order to maintain strength and stability of the tire under various driving conditions.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-12 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 15, 26-29, 31 and 32 of co-pending Application No. 17/995112(‘112). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
Claim 15 of the co-pending application ‘112 discloses sulfur-crosslinkable rubberization mixture for metallic strength members comprising:
1.2-1.8 parts of at least one butyl carbamate-functionalized phenol-formaldehyde resin
From 1.2-1.8 parts of HMMM
0.8-1.5 parts of at least one sulfenamide accelerator, wherein second accelerator can be utilized in amount of less than 0.5 parts.
The limitations of claim 15 of ‘112 meet instant claims 1-6, 8-9.
Claims 26-28 of ‘112 states that the composition is utilized in a pneumatic tire which comprises brass-plated steel cords. This meets instant claims 10-12.
With respect to claim 7, which states specific accelerator, the examiner relies on the application of ‘112 to learn the meaning of the term “other vulcanization accelerators” which practice in consistent with MPEP 804 which allows to utilize specification as a dictionary. Specification of ‘112 [0045] discloses N-t-butyl-2-benzothiazyl sulfenamide as other accelerator.
Consequently, claims of the co-pending ‘112 application fall well within much broader in scope instant invention.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Correspondence
/KATARZYNA I KOLB/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1767 March 7, 2026