Response to Arguments
In their response dated 5/29/2026 the applicants argued that the vulcanization accelerators are not sulfenamides but sulfenamides. The applicants is correct. A non-final rejection is issued to reflect that not only sulfenimides can be utilized as accelerators in metal adhesion composition but also that they are functional equivalent of sulfenamide. Double patenting rejection will also be restated to reflect newly added claims.
Claim Interpretation
Instant claims are directed to a sulfur crosslinkable composition for metallic strength members which comprises novolac resin that is produced by reaction of phenolic compound, an aldehyde and a carbamate resin. Carbamate resin is produced by reaction of alkyl urethane with aldehyde. Although compounds disclosed in the reaction do impart structural limitation, the claims are directed to the product. The patentable weight is given to product and not process by which it is made. Consequently the novolac resin has to contain phenolic, aldehyde and carbamate functionality (urethane) but the method of reacting is open.
Instant claims are also directed to composition wherein limitation “for metallic strength members” is a recitation of intended use, and recitation of being brass-plated steel cord while definite does not limit the composition claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shaefer (US 2012/0095152) in view of Beers (US 6,120,911).
With respect to claims 1, 6, 7 and 13, Schafer discloses vulcanizable rubber composition utilized for the metal reinforcement [0028]. Schafer refers to its novolac resin as adhesion promoter (Abstract). The adhesion promoters are utilized in the teachings of Schaefer in an amount of up to 20% [0033]. The resin is a novolac resin and it is made using phenol, urethane aldehyde (carbamic resin based on butyl urethane) and formaldehyde.
Second component of the composition is an accelerator which is sulfenamide accelerator utilized in amount of 0.6 grams each or 1.2 grams total, 3 grams of novolac, 4 grams of sulfur, 3 grams of HMMM. These additives were incorporated into 183 grams of rubber composition, wherein rubber itself comprises 100 grams balance are additives. As such the total content of the accelerators is 0.59 parts.
The difference between instant invention and teachings of Schafer is use of sulfenimide as accelerator.
Beers discloses metal tire cords which are coated by rubber composition. The tire cords are also steel cords just like those of Schafer.
Beers teaches use of accelerators which allow to control the time and/or temperature required for vulcanization and to improve the properties of the rubber compound or wire coat. The accelerator can be utilized alone of in combination with second accelerator. The second accelerator is utilized in amount smaller than the first accelerator. Overall content of the accelerator is in a range of 1.25-3.75, preferably in an amount of 1.4-3.0 parts (col. 4, l. 10-17, l. 28-33).
The types of accelerators which can allow such control includes both sulfenamides and sulfenamides (col. 4, l. 17-28). Exemplary accelerator is N-t-butyl-2-benzothiazole sulfenamide (col. 5, l. 4-6). See also table 1, where the sulfenamide as primary accelerator is utilized in amount of 1.8 parts, secondary accelerator, when utilized its content is 0.3 parts. Wherein the content of the accelerators further meets newly added claim 13.
In the light of the above disclosure, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time instant invention was filed to utilize sulfenamide accelerator in lieu of sulfenamide. Both accelerators have labile sulfur-nitrogen bonds and can undergo cleavage during vulcanization process. This lability is the key for these compounds to function as accelerators. Beers also indicated that these accelerators are utilized because they allow to control time and temperature of the vulcanization process. That is because the activation of both sulfenamides and sulfenamides is temperature-sensitive. Both remain relatively inert at lower temperatures providing a long scorch time. Both help achieving faster cure rates once activation occurs improving efficiency and providing more uniform crosslink distribution. In other words, their shared chemistry makes them both effective in producing high-quality durable rubber products. Consequently two compounds are functional equivalents, which is something on of ordinary skill in the art would readily understand. Additionally, while Schafer discloses sulfenamides in the examples, in his specification [0030] Schafer is open to other accelerators, especially when they are functional equivalents.
“[A]nalysis [of whether the subject matter of claim would have been obvious] need no seek out precise teachings directed to the specific subject matter of the challenged claim, for a court to take account of the inferences and creative steps that a person of ordinary skill in the art would employ.“ KSR Int’l v. Teleflex, Inc. 127 S. Ct 1727, 1740-1741, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1396 (2007) (quoting In re Kahn, 441, F.3d 977, 988, 78 USPQ2d 1329, 1336-37 (Fed. Cir. 2006)). See DyStar Textilfarben GmBH & Co. Deutschland KG v. C.H. Patric Co., 464 F.3d 1356, 1361, 80 USPQ2d 1641, 1645 (Fed. Cir 2006) (“The motivation need not be found in the references sought to be combined, but may be found in any number of sources, including common knowledge, the prior art as a whole, or the nature of the problem itself.”; In re Bozek, 416 F.2d 1385, 1390, 163 USPQ 545, 549 (CCPA 1969)(“Having established that this knowledge was in the art, the examiner could then properly rely, as put forth by the solicitor, on a conclusion of obviousness ‘from common knowledge and common sense of the person of ordinary skill in the art without any specific hint or suggestion in a particular reference.’”); In re Hoeschelle, 406 F.2d 1403, 1406-407, 160 USPQ 809, 811-12 (CCPA 1969) (“[I]t is proper to take into account not only specific teachings of the references but also the inference which one skilled in the art would reasonable be expected to draw therefrom …”). The analysis supporting obviousness, however, should be made explicit and should “identify reason that would have prompted a person of ordinary skill in the relevant field to combine elements” in manner claimed. KSR, 127 S. Ct. at 1739, 82 USPQ2d at 1396.
With respect to claim 2, the example disclosed right above per 100 parts of rubber includes 3 parts of novolac compound, although the specification encompasses range of up to 20.
With respect to claim 3, exemplified phenolic compound is phenol (see example 1) [0036].
With respect to claim 4, alkyl urethan is butyl urethane (see example 1) [0036].
With respect to claim 5, exemplified aldehyde is formaldehyde (see example 1) [0036].
With respect to claim 8, as exemplified, composition of Schafer utilizes 3 parts of HMMM which is hexamethoxymethyl melamine.
With respect to claim 9, Schafer discloses use of organic cobalt salts, specifically salts with monobasic carboxylic acids [0030].
With respect to claim 10, recitation of brass-plated steel cord, is non limiting with respect to the composition because it refers to the substrate on which the composition is being applied to. Having said that, Schafer discloses that the composition is utilized for adhesion to metallic reinforcement, specific in [0002] that reinforcement is brass-plated steel cord.
With respect to claim 11, the composition is utilized in making tires [0030].
With respect to claim 12, specific parts of the tire include parts containing steel cord reinforcement. Tire construction is well established in the art and one of ordinary skill in the art would readily understand that in tires the parts that require steel cord reinforcement are belt and sidewalls in order to maintain strength and stability of the tire under various driving conditions.
With respect to claim 14, the novolac adhesion promoter is utilized in a range of 0.5-10 wt.%, HMMM is utilized in amount of 3grams. With 189 grams of base rubber (Table 1) [0040] and mixing stage 2 (table 2) the content of HMMM is 1.5 %.
While Schafer discloses use of organic cobalt salt [0030] he does not provide any specific range on what the content of such salt should be.
Beers discloses rubber composition with adhesion promoted which renders the rubber composition suitable for steel cord adhesion within a tire. Beers teaches that rubber composition, especially used as wire coat includes a cobalt salt which increases adhesion of rubber to metal cords (col. 7, l. 24-47). The cobalt salt is an organic cobalt salt of fatty acids and is utilized in amount of 0.5-3 parts (col. 7, l. 48-61).
In the light of the above disclosure, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time instant invention was filed, to utilize cobalt salt of Schafer in the amount disclosed by Beers. The cobalt salts of Schafer are also based on the fatty acids such as is-octanoic acid or naphthenic acid which fall within Beer’s aliphatic fatty acid having 6-30 carbon atoms or cobalt naphthenate. Use of such compounds as disclosed by Beers improves adhesion between rubber and metal cords.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-14 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 15, 26-29, 31 and 32 of co-pending Application No. 17/995112(‘112). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
Claim 15 of the co-pending application ‘112 discloses sulfur-crosslinkable rubberization mixture for metallic strength members comprising:
1.2-1.8 parts of at least one butyl carbamate-functionalized phenol-formaldehyde resin
From 1.2-1.8 parts of HMMM
0.8-1.5 parts of at least one sulfenamide accelerator, wherein second accelerator can be utilized in amount of less than 0.5 parts.
The limitations of claim 15 of ‘112 meet instant claims 1-6, 8-9, 13 and 14.
Claims 26-28 of ‘112 states that the composition is utilized in a pneumatic tire which comprises brass-plated steel cords. This meets instant claims 10-12.
With respect to claim 7, which states specific accelerator, the examiner relies on the application of ‘112 to learn the meaning of the term “other vulcanization accelerators” which practice in consistent with MPEP 804 which allows to utilize specification as a dictionary. Specification of ‘112 [0045] discloses N-t-butyl-2-benzothiazyl sulfenamide as other accelerator.
Consequently, claims of the co-pending ‘112 application fall well within much broader in scope instant invention.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Correspondence
/KATARZYNA I KOLB/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1767 June 24, 2026