DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-13 are pending and are currently under consideration for patentability under 37 CFR 1.104. Previous 35 USC 112 Rejections have been withdrawn in light of Applicant’s amendments.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 02/06/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding Applicant’s argument that “Banik does not disclose that the proximal end 672 is secured within a lumen of the distal end of the shaft by adhesive” (pg. 7 of Remarks), the Examiner respectfully disagrees. Claim 1 recites “the insertion tube adhered to the connecting”. The term “adhered” is defined by Merriam-Webster as to hold fast or stick by or as if by gluing, suction, grasping, or fusing. The Examiner interpreted the term “adhered” to be broader than securing with an adhesive. Further, Banik discloses the proximal end (672, figure 9a) of the transition guide (670, figure 9a) is secured within a lumen of the distal end of the shaft ([0165] | see figures 8-9).
Regarding Applicant’s argument that “Therefore, Bakos does not disclose the feature “the bending section provided with a first engaging portion…as recited in independent claim 1” (pg. 8 of Remarks), the Examiner respectfully disagrees. In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Regarding Applicant’s argument that “Furthermore, neither Banik nor Bakos discloses a method for connecting the bending section and the insertion tube by simultaneously using engage portions between the bending section and the connecting tube and adhesive connection between the insertion tube and the connecting tube” (pg. 8 of Remarks), the Examiner respectfully disagrees. First, a method for connecting… is not claimed. Second, the Examiner interpreted the term “adhered” to be broader than securing with an adhesive (see explanation above).
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a first engaging portion” and “a second engaging portion” in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 5, the limitation “at least two engaging holes at least comprise a first engaging hole and a second engaging hole…the second engaging post is engaged with the second engaging hole” is unclear. Claim 2 recites “at least two first engaging portions and at least two second engaging portions…are in one-to-one correspondence with the at least two second engaging portions”. It is unclear if the at least two engaging holes are separate or the same features to the at least two first engaging portions or at least two second engaging portions in claim 2. Claim 6 is rejected due to their dependency on claim 5.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 7-8, 10-11, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Banik (US 2005/0119527), in view of Bakos (US 2010/0160735).
Regarding claim 1, Banik discloses a connecting structure (see figure 2) for a bending section (articulation joint 30, figure 2) and an insertion tube (shaft 24, figure 2), comprising: a connecting tube (670, figure 9a) sleeved with the bending section (distal end 676 is secured within a proximal end of the articulation joint 654, figures 8-9; [0165]), and the insertion tube adhered to the connecting tube (proximal end 672 that is secured within a lumen of the distal end of the shaft, figures 8-9; [0165]). Banik is silent regarding the bending section provided with a first engaging portion, and the first engaging portion being located in a circumferential direction of the bending section; the connecting tube provided with a second engaging portion, the second engaging portion being located in a circumferential direction of the connecting tube, the first engaging portion being engaged with the second engaging portion to enable the bending section to be connected to the connecting tube.
Bakos teaches a device (10, figure 1) with a steering platform (14, figure 1) and an elongate shaft (12, figure 1). The steering platform can be removable from the elongate shaft due to a coupling mechanism. The coupling mechanism may include threads (26, figures 3-4) on an outer surface of the steering platform’s proximal end (14a’, figure 3) that are configured to mate with threads on an inner surface of the distal end of the elongate shaft ([0061]). The threads can be radially continuous around an outer surface of the steering platforms proximal end ([0061]). Alternatively, one or more coupling mechanism can be used to removably couple the elongate shaft and the steering platform, such as a snap fit using interlocking protrusions and indentations, an adhesive, etc. ([0061]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of filing to modify the bending section and connecting tube with one or more coupling mechanisms (snap fit…adhesive [0061]) as taught by Bakos. Doing so would allow the bending section to be removable from the connecting tube (removable from…[0061]). The modified structure would have the bending section provided with a first engaging portion (this element is interpreted under 35 USC 112f as an engaging hole or post | snap fit using interlocking protrusions and indentations [0061]; Bakos), and the first engaging portion being located in a circumferential direction of the bending section (radially continuous around an outer surface of the proximal end…[0061]; Bakos | interpreted there to be protrusions or indentations that are located circumferentially in the bending section); the connecting tube provided with a second engaging portion (this element is interpreted under 35 USC 112f as an engaging hole or post | snap fit using interlocking protrusions and indentations [0061]; Bakos), the second engaging portion being located in a circumferential direction of the connecting tube (radially continuous around an outer surface [0061]; Bakos | interpreted there to be protrusions or indentations that are located circumferentially in the connecting tube), the first engaging portion being engaged with the second engaging portion (indentations and protrusions…[0061]) to enable the bending section to be connected to the connecting tube (to removably couple…[0061]).
Regarding claim 2, Bakos further teaches at least two first engaging portions and at least two second engaging portions are provided (interlocking protrusions and indentations [0061]; Bakos | interpreted there to be at least two protrusions or indentations), the at least two first engaging portions are spaced apart along the circumferential direction of the bending section (radially continuous around an outer surface [0061]; Bakos | interpreted there to be protrusions or indentations that are located circumferentially in the bending section), the at least two second engaging portions are spaced apart along the circumferential direction of the connecting tube (radially continuous around an outer surface [0061]; Bakos | interpreted there to be protrusions or indentations that are located circumferentially in the connecting tube), and the at least two first engaging portions are in one-to-one correspondence with the at least two second engaging portions (snap fit…[0061]).
Regarding claim 3, Bakos further teaches the first engaging portion is an engaging post (interlocking protrusions or indentations [0061]; Bakos), the second engaging portion is an engaging hole (interlocking protrusions or indentations [0061]; Bakos), and a cross-sectional profile of the engaging post is matched with a shape of an opening of the engaging hole (snap fit using interlocking…[0061]); or the first engaging portion is an engaging hole (interlocking protrusions or indentations [0061]; Bakos), the second engaging portion is an engaging post (interlocking protrusions or indentations [0061]; Bakos), and a shape of an opening of the engaging hole is matched with a cross-sectional profile of the engaging post (snap fit using interlocking…[0061]).
Regarding claim 4, Bakos further teaches the engaging post is provided with a guiding inclined surface (interpreted as the surface of the interlocking protrusion [0061]; Bakos) configured to guide the engaging post to enter the engaging hole.
Regarding claim 7, Banik and Bakos further disclose the bending section is provided with a first annular connecting portion (proximal end of the articulation joint 654, figure 8; [0165] Banik) connected to the bending section and extending along an axial direction of the bending section (proximal end of the articulation joint 654 [0165]), the first engaging portion is located in a circumferential direction of the first annular connecting portion (the modified structure would have the first engaging portion in the first annular connection portion | radially continuous around an outer surface of the proximal end…[0061]; Bakos | interpreted there to be protrusions or indentations that are located circumferentially in the first annular connecting portion), the connecting tube is provided with a second annular connecting portion (676, figure 9a, Banik) connected to the connecting tube and extending along an axial direction of the connecting tube (see figure 9a), the second engaging portion is located in a circumferential direction of the second annular connecting portion (radially continuous around an outer surface of the proximal end…[0061]; Bakos | interpreted there to be protrusions or indentations that are located circumferentially in the second annular connection portion), an outer diameter of the second annular connecting portion is less than an inner diameter of the first annular connecting portion (see 676, figure 9a | secured within…[0165]; Banik), the first annular connecting portion is sleeved on the second annular connecting portion (secured within…[0165]; Banik), the connecting tube is engaged with the first annular connecting portion ([0165]; Banik), and an outer wall of the connecting tube is in smooth transition with an outer wall of the first annular connecting portion (see figures 8-9a; [0165] | the outer wall of 674 would be continuous with the outer wall of 654).
Regarding claim 8, Bakos further teaches a sealant is coated between the outer wall of the second annular connecting portion and the inner wall of the first annular connecting portion (one or more coupling mechanisms…an adhesive [0061]; Bakos).
Regarding claim 10, Banik and Bakos further disclose the bending section is provided with a first annular connecting portion (proximal end of the articulation joint 654, figure 8; [0165]; Banik) connected to the bending section and extending along an axial direction of the bending section (proximal end of 654, figure 8; [0165]), the first engaging portion is located in a circumferential direction of the first annular connecting portion (the modified structure would have the first engaging portion in the first annular connection portion | radially continuous around an outer surface of the proximal end…[0061]; Bakos | interpreted there to be protrusions or indentations that are located circumferentially in the first annular connecting portion), the connecting tube is provided with a second annular connecting portion (676, figure 9a, Banik) connected to the connecting tube and extending along an axial direction of the connecting tube (see figure 9a; Banik), the second engaging portion is located in a circumferential direction of the second annular connecting portion (radially continuous around an outer surface of the proximal end…[0061]; Bakos | interpreted there to be protrusions or indentations that are located circumferentially in the second annular connection portion). Banik and Bakos are silent regarding an outer diameter of the first annular connecting portion is less than an inner diameter of the second annular connecting portion, the second annular connecting portion is sleeved on the first annular connecting portion, the bending section is engaged with the second annular connecting portion, and an outer wall of the bending section is in smooth transition with an outer wall of the second annular connecting portion.
Bakos further teaches the coupling mechanism is formed on an outer surface of the proximal end of the steering platform (see 14a’, figure 3), which are configured to mate with the coupling mechanism on an inner surface of the distal end of the elongate shaft (see figures 3 vs 4).
It would have been obvious to modify the structure to have proximal end of the bending section to be inserted into the distal end of the connecting tube as further taught by Bakos (see figures 3 vs. 4). Doing so would be another way to couple the bending section to the connecting tube (coupling thereto…[0061]; Bakos). The modified structure would have an outer diameter of the first annular connecting portion is less than an inner diameter of the second annular connecting portion (see proximal end 14a’, figure 3 of Bakos), the second annular connecting portion is sleeved on the first annular connecting portion (outer surface…inner surface…[0061]; Bakos | 676, figure 9a of Banik would be sleeved on the first annular connecting portion), the bending section is engaged with the second annular connecting portion ([0061] Bakos | [0165]; Banik), and an outer wall of the bending section is in smooth transition with an outer wall of the second annular connecting portion (see figures 8-9a; [0165] Banik | the outer wall of 674 would be continuous with the outer wall of 654).
Regarding claim 11, Bakos further teaches a sealant is coated between the outer wall of the first annular connecting portion and the inner wall of the second annular connecting portion (one or more coupling mechanisms…an adhesive [0061]; Bakos).
Regarding claim 13, Banik discloses an endoscope (see figure 2; Banik) comprising the connecting structure for the bending section and the insertion tube according to claim 1 (see claim 1 above).
Claim(s) 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Banik (US 2005/0119527) and Bakos (US 2010/0160735) as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Qvist (US 2020/0196835).
Regarding claim 5, Bakon further teaches at least two of the engaging portions at least comprise a first engaging post and a second engaging post (interlocking protrusions and indentations [0061]; Bakos | interpreted there to be at least two protrusions or indentations), at least two engaging holes at least comprise a first engaging hole and a second engaging hole (interlocking protrusions and indentations [0061]; Bakos | interpreted there to be at least two protrusions or indentations), the first engaging post is engaged with the first engaging hole (snap fit…interlocking [0061]), the second engaging post is engaged with the second engaging hole (snap fit…interlocking [0061]). Banik and Bakos are silent regarding a cross-sectional profile of the first engaging post is different from a cross-sectional profile of the second engaging post, and a shape of an opening of the first engaging hole is different from a shape of an opening of the second engaging hole.
Qvist teaches an insertion tube (3, figure 1a) with a bending section (4, figure 2) and a flexible tube (7, figure 2). The proximal end segment (43, figure 2) of the bending section (4, figure 2) has through-holes (91a-b, figure 4b). Protrusions (8a-b, figure 4b) extend into the through-holes to mechanically affix the proximal end segment and the flexible tube ([0157]). The shape of at least one, potentially all, of the depressions or through-holes may be selected from the group consisting of: circular, oval, square, triangular…or any other suitable shape ([0020]).
It would have been obvious to modify the shape and cross-sectional profile of the posts and holes to be any suitable shape as taught by Qvist ([0020]). Doing so would provide alternative shapes for the posts and corresponding holes ([0020]). The modified structure would have a cross-sectional profile of the first engaging post is different from a cross-sectional profile of the second engaging post (shape of at least one…circular, oval…[0020]; Qvist | interpreted different shapes may be chosen for each post), and a shape of an opening of the first engaging hole is different from a shape of an opening of the second engaging hole (shape of at least one…circular, oval…[0020]; Qvist | interpreted different shapes may be chosen for each hole).
Regarding claim 6, Qvist further teaches the cross-sectional profile of the first engaging post is oblong-shaped extending along an axial direction of the bending section (oval…[0020]; Qvist), and the opening of the first engaging hole is oblong- shaped extending along an axial direction of the connecting tube (oval…[0020]), the cross-sectional profile of the second engaging post is circular (circular…[0020]), and the opening of the second engaging hole is circular (circular…[0020]).
Claim(s) 9 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Banik (US 2005/0119527) and Bakos (US 2010/0160735) as applied to claims 7 and 10 above, and further in view of Suigetsu (US 2009/0093679).
Regarding claim 9, Banik further discloses the connecting tube is further provided with a third annular connecting portion (672, figure 9a; Banik) connected to the connecting tube and extending along the axial direction of the connecting tube (see figure 9a), the second annular connecting portion and the third annular connecting portion are located at opposite ends of the connecting tube (see figure 9a), respectively, the insertion tube is provided with a fourth annular connecting portion connected to the insertion tube and extending along the axial direction of the insertion tube (a proximal end 672 that is secured within a lumen of the distal end of the shaft [0165]). Banik and Bakos is silent regarding an outer diameter of the fourth annular connecting portion is less than an inner diameter of the third annular connecting portion, the third annular connecting portion is sleeved on the fourth annular connecting portion, the insertion tube is engaged with the third annular connecting portion, the outer wall of the insertion tube is in smooth transition with an outer wall of the third annular connecting portion, and a structural adhesive is coated between the outer wall of the fourth annular connecting portion and the inner wall of the third annular connecting portion.
Suigetsu teaches an endoscope (1, figure 1) with an insertion section (2, figure 1). The insertion section has a flexible tube portion (4, figure 1) and a bending portion (5, figure 1). The bending portion (5, figure 5) is coupled with the flexible tube portion (4, figure 5) using two protruding portion (411, figure 5) that are fitted into the two opening portions (312, figure 5). The distal end of the flexible tube portion has a joint portion (410, figure 5) that is inserted into the node ring (31c, figure 5), which is at the proximal end of the bending portion ([0095]).
It would have been obvious to modify the structure to have the distal end portion of the insertion tube to be inserted into the proximal end of the connecting tube as taught by Suigetsu (see figure 5; [0095]). Doing so would be another way to couple the connecting tube and insertion tube together (coupled with…[0094]-[0095]). The modified structure would have an outer diameter of the fourth annular connecting portion is less than an inner diameter of the third annular connecting portion (outer diameter of the joint portion 410 is substantially the same as an inner diameter of the node ring 31c…inserted into…[0095]; figure 5; Suigetsu), the third annular connecting portion is sleeved on the fourth annular connecting portion (joint portion 410 is inserted into…[0095]), the insertion tube is engaged with the third annular connecting portion (672…distal end of the shaft [0165]; Banik), the outer wall of the insertion tube is in smooth transition with an outer wall of the third annular connecting portion (see figures 8-9a; [0165] | the modified outer wall of the insertion tube would be continuous with the outer wall of 674), and a structural adhesive is coated between the outer wall of the fourth annular connecting portion and the inner wall of the third annular connecting portion (one or more coupling mechanisms…an adhesive [0061]; Bakos).
Regarding claim 12, Banik further discloses the connecting tube is further provided with a third annular connecting portion (672, figure 9a; Banik) connected to the connecting tube and extending along the axial direction of the connecting tube (see figure 9a), the second annular connecting portion and the third annular connecting portion are located at opposite ends of the connecting tube (see figure 9a), respectively, the insertion tube is provided with a fourth annular connecting portion connected to the insertion tube and extending along the axial direction of the insertion tube (a proximal end 672 that is secured within a lumen of the distal end of the shaft [0165]). Banik and Bakos are silent regarding an outer diameter of the fourth annular connecting portion is less than an inner diameter of the third annular connecting portion, the third annular connecting portion is sleeved on the fourth annular connecting portion, the insertion tube is engaged with the third annular connecting portion, the outer wall of the insertion tube is in smooth transition with an outer wall of the third annular connecting portion, and a structural adhesive is coated between the outer wall of the fourth annular connecting portion and the inner wall of the third annular connecting portion.
Suigetsu teaches an endoscope (1, figure 1) with an insertion section (2, figure 1). The insertion section has a flexible tube portion (4, figure 1) and a bending portion (5, figure 1). The bending portion (5, figure 5) is coupled with the flexible tube portion (4, figure 5) using two protruding portion (411, figure 5) that are fitted into the two opening portions (312, figure 5). The distal end of the flexible tube portion has a joint portion (410, figure 5) that is inserted into the node ring (31c, figure 5), which is at the proximal end of the bending portion ([0095]).
It would have been obvious to modify the structure to have distal end portion of the insertion tube to be inserted into the proximal end of the connecting tube as taught by Suigetsu (see figure 5; [0095]). Doing so would be another way to couple the connecting tube and insertion tube together (coupled with…[0094]-[0095]). The modified structure would have an outer diameter of the fourth annular connecting portion is less than an inner diameter of the third annular connecting portion (outer diameter of the joint portion 410 is substantially the same as an inner diameter of the node ring 31c…inserted into…[0095]; figure 5; Suigetsu), the third annular connecting portion is sleeved on the fourth annular connecting portion (joint portion 410 is inserted into…[0095]), the insertion tube is engaged with the third annular connecting portion (672…distal end of the shaft [0165]; Banik), the outer wall of the insertion tube is in smooth transition with an outer wall of the third annular connecting portion (see figures 8-9a; [0165]; Banik | the modified outer wall of the insertion tube would be continuous with the outer wall of 674), and a structural adhesive is coated between the outer wall of the fourth annular connecting portion and the inner wall of the third annular connecting portion (one or more coupling mechanisms…an adhesive [0061]; Bakos).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
PAMELA F. WU
Examiner
Art Unit 3795
June 2, 2026
/RYAN N HENDERSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3795