DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed 03/05/2024, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Re claims 5 and 17, it is unclear if “an electrode of the direct-current busbar” is the same or different as “the neutral point of the direct-current busbar”. For purposes of examination, it will be interpreted as the neutral point of the direct-current busbar.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20, as best understood, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Guan et al. (“Guan”, US 2013/0176014).
Re claim 1, Guan teaches a bidirectional energy storage converter [Fig 4], comprising: at least one bridge arm, wherein each bridge arm comprises: a first switching circuit [402, 403, 406], wherein a first end of the first switching circuit is connected to a positive electrode [DC+] of a direct-current busbar, and a second end of the first switching circuit is connected to a neutral point [NP] of the direct-current busbar; a second switching circuit [404, 405, 407], wherein a first end of the second switching circuit is connected to the neutral point [NP] of the direct-current busbar, and a second end of the second switching circuit is connected to a negative electrode [DC-] of the direct-current busbar; and a third switching circuit [420, 421], wherein a first end of the third switching circuit is connected to a third end of the second switching circuit [at B], a second end of the third switching circuit is connected to a third end of the first switching circuit [at A], and a third end [at C] of the third switching circuit is connected to an alternating-current busbar [PH].
Re claim 2, Guan teaches wherein the first switching circuit comprises: a first switching assembly [402], wherein a first end of the first switching assembly is connected to the positive electrode of the direct-current busbar; a second switching assembly [403], wherein a first end of the second switching assembly is connected to a second end of the first switching assembly [at F], and a second end of the second switching assembly is connected to the neutral point of the direct-current busbar; and a third switching assembly, [406] wherein a first end of the third switching assembly is connected to the second end of the first switching assembly, and a second end of the third switching assembly is connected to the second end of the third switching circuit [at A, Fig 4].
Re claim 3, Guan teaches wherein, the first switching assembly comprises: a first switching tube [V1], wherein a first end of the first switching tube is connected to the positive electrode of the direct-current busbar; and a first diode [diode of V1 shown in Fig 4], wherein a negative electrode of the first diode is connected to the first end of the first switching tube, and a positive electrode of the first diode is connected to a second end of the first switching tube [at F]; the second switching assembly comprises: a second switching tube [V7], wherein a first end of the second switching tube is connected to the second end of the first switching tube [at F], and a second end of the second switching tube is connected to the neutral point of the direct-current busbar [at E]; and a second diode [diode of V7 shown in Fig 4], wherein a negative electrode of the second diode is connected to the first end of the second switching tube [at F], and a positive electrode of the second diode is connected to the second end of the second switching tube [at E]; and the third switching assembly comprises: a third switching tube [V3], wherein a first end of the third switching tube is connected to the second end of the first switching tube [at F], and a second end of the third switching tube is connected to the second end of the third switching circuit [at A]; and a third diode [diode of V3 shown in Fig 4], wherein a negative electrode of the third diode is connected to the first end of the third switching tube [at F], and a positive electrode of the third diode is connected to the second end of the third switching tube [at A].
Re claim 4, Guan teaches wherein the second switching circuit comprises :a fourth switching assembly [404], wherein a first end of the fourth switching assembly is connected to the neutral point of the direct-current busbar [at E]; a fifth switching assembly [405], wherein a first end of the fifth switching assembly is connected to a second end of the fourth switching assembly [at E], and a second end of the fifth switching assembly is connected to the negative electrode of the direct-current busbar [DC-]; and a sixth switching assembly [407], wherein a first end of the sixth switching assembly is connected to the first end of the third switching circuit [at B], and a second end of the sixth switching assembly is connected to the second end of the fourth switching assembly [at G].
Re claim 5, Guan teaches wherein, the fourth switching assembly comprises: a fourth switching tube [V8], wherein a first end of the fourth switching tube is connected to an electrode of the direct-current busbar [at E]; and a fourth diode [diode of V8 shown in Fig 4], wherein a negative electrode of the fourth diode is connected to the first end of the fourth switching tube [at E], and a positive electrode of the fourth diode is connected to a second end of the fourth switching tube [at G]; the fifth switching assembly comprises: a fifth switching tube [V2], wherein a first end of the fifth switching tube is connected to the second end of the fourth switching tube [at G], and a second end of the fifth switching tube is connected to the negative electrode of the direct-current busbar [DC-]; and a fifth diode [diode of V2 shown in Fig 4], wherein a negative electrode of the fifth diode is connected to the first end of the fifth switching tube [at G], and a positive electrode of the fifth diode is connected to the second end of the fifth switching tube [at DC-]; and the sixth switching assembly comprises: a sixth switching tube [V4], wherein a first end of the sixth switching tube is connected to the second end of the fourth switching tube [at G], and a second end of the sixth switching tube is connected to the first end of the third switching circuit [at B]; and a sixth diode [diode of V4 shown in Fig 4], wherein a positive electrode of the sixth diode is connected to the first end of the sixth switching tube [at G], and a negative electrode of the sixth diode is connected to the second end of the sixth switching tube [at B].
Re claim 6, Guan teaches wherein the third switching circuit comprises: a seventh switching assembly [421], wherein a first end of the seventh switching assembly is connected to the third end of the second switching circuit [at B], and a second end of the seventh switching assembly is connected to the alternating-current busbar [at C]; and an eighth switching assembly [420], wherein a first end of the eighth switching assembly is connected to a second end of the seventh switching assembly [at C], and a second end of the eighth switching assembly is connected to the first end of the first switching circuit [at A].
Re claim 7, Guan teaches wherein, the seventh switching assembly comprises: a seventh switching tube [V6], wherein a first end of the seventh switching tube is connected to the second switching circuit [at B], and a second end of the seventh switching tube is connected to the alternating-current busbar [at C]; and a seventh diode [diode of V6], wherein a negative electrode of the seventh diode is connected to the first end of the seventh switching tube [at B], and a positive electrode of the seventh diode is connected to a second end of the seventh switching tube [at C]; and the eighth switching assembly comprises: an eighth switching tube [V5], wherein a first end of the eighth switching tube is connected to the second end of the seventh switching tube [at C], and a second end of the eighth switching tube is connected to the first switching circuit [at A]; and an eighth diode [diode of V5], wherein a negative electrode of the eighth diode is connected to the first end of the eighth switching tube [at C], and a positive electrode of the eighth diode is connected to the second end of the eighth switching tube [at A].
Re claim 8, Guan teaches a first capacitor [400], wherein, a first end of the first capacitor is connected to the positive electrode of the direct-current busbar [DC+]; and a second capacitor [401], wherein a first end of the second capacitor is connected to a second end of the first capacitor and the neutral point of the direct-current busbar [NP], and a second end of the second capacitor is configured to connect to the negative electrode of the direct-current busbar [DC-].
Re claim 9, Guan teaches a third capacitor [41], wherein the first end of the third capacitor is connected to the first end of the third switching circuit [at B] and the second end of the third capacitor is connected to the second end of the third switching circuit [at A].
Re claim 10, Guan teaches an energy storage system [4], comprising: the bidirectional energy storage converter according to claim 1 any one of claims 1 to 9 [Fig 4].
Re claim 11, Guan teaches a first capacitor [400], wherein a first end of the first capacitor is connected to the positive electrode of the direct-current busbar [DC+]; and a second capacitor [401], wherein a first end of the second capacitor is connected to a second end of the first capacitor and the neutral point of the direct-current busbar [NP], and a second end of the second capacitor is configured to connect to the negative electrode of the direct-current busbar [DC-].
Re claim 12, Guan teaches a first capacitor [400], wherein a first end of the first capacitor is connected to the positive electrode of the direct-current busbar [DC+]; and a second capacitor [401], wherein a first end of the second capacitor is connected to a second end of the first capacitor and the neutral point of the direct-current busbar [NP], and a second end of the second capacitor is configured to connect to the negative electrode of the direct-current busbar [DC-].
Re claim 13, Guan teaches a third capacitor [41], wherein the first end of the third capacitor is connected to the first end of the third switching circuit [at B] and the second end of the third capacitor is connected to the second end of the third switching circuit [at A].
Re claim 14, Guan teaches wherein the first switching circuit comprises: a first switching assembly [402], wherein a first end of the first switching assembly is connected to the positive electrode of the direct-current busbar; a second switching assembly [403], wherein a first end of the second switching assembly is connected to a second end of the first switching assembly [at F], and a second end of the second switching assembly is connected to the neutral point of the direct-current busbar; and a third switching assembly, [406] wherein a first end of the third switching assembly is connected to the second end of the first switching assembly, and a second end of the third switching assembly is connected to the second end of the third switching circuit [at A, Fig 4].
Re claim 15, Guan teaches wherein, the first switching assembly comprises: a first switching tube [V1], wherein a first end of the first switching tube is connected to the positive electrode of the direct-current busbar; and a first diode [diode of V1 shown in Fig 4], wherein a negative electrode of the first diode is connected to the first end of the first switching tube, and a positive electrode of the first diode is connected to a second end of the first switching tube [at F]; the second switching assembly comprises: a second switching tube [V7], wherein a first end of the second switching tube is connected to the second end of the first switching tube [at F], and a second end of the second switching tube is connected to the neutral point of the direct-current busbar [at E]; and a second diode [diode of V7 shown in Fig 4], wherein a negative electrode of the second diode is connected to the first end of the second switching tube [at F], and a positive electrode of the second diode is connected to the second end of the second switching tube [at E]; and the third switching assembly comprises: a third switching tube [V3], wherein a first end of the third switching tube is connected to the second end of the first switching tube [at F], and a second end of the third switching tube is connected to the second end of the third switching circuit [at A]; and a third diode [diode of V3 shown in Fig 4], wherein a negative electrode of the third diode is connected to the first end of the third switching tube [at F], and a positive electrode of the third diode is connected to the second end of the third switching tube [at A].
Re claim 16, Guan teaches wherein the second switching circuit comprises :a fourth switching assembly [404], wherein a first end of the fourth switching assembly is connected to the neutral point of the direct-current busbar [at E]; a fifth switching assembly [405], wherein a first end of the fifth switching assembly is connected to a second end of the fourth switching assembly [at E], and a second end of the fifth switching assembly is connected to the negative electrode of the direct-current busbar [DC-]; and a sixth switching assembly [407], wherein a first end of the sixth switching assembly is connected to the first end of the third switching circuit [at B], and a second end of the sixth switching assembly is connected to the second end of the fourth switching assembly [at G].
Re claim 17, Guan teaches wherein, the fourth switching assembly comprises: a fourth switching tube [V8], wherein a first end of the fourth switching tube is connected to an electrode of the direct-current busbar [at E]; and a fourth diode [diode of V8 shown in Fig 4], wherein a negative electrode of the fourth diode is connected to the first end of the fourth switching tube [at E], and a positive electrode of the fourth diode is connected to a second end of the fourth switching tube [at G]; the fifth switching assembly comprises: a fifth switching tube [V2], wherein a first end of the fifth switching tube is connected to the second end of the fourth switching tube [at G], and a second end of the fifth switching tube is connected to the negative electrode of the direct-current busbar [DC-]; and a fifth diode [diode of V2 shown in Fig 4], wherein a negative electrode of the fifth diode is connected to the first end of the fifth switching tube [at G], and a positive electrode of the fifth diode is connected to the second end of the fifth switching tube [at DC-]; and the sixth switching assembly comprises: a sixth switching tube [V4], wherein a first end of the sixth switching tube is connected to the second end of the fourth switching tube [at G], and a second end of the sixth switching tube is connected to the first end of the third switching circuit [at B]; and a sixth diode [diode of V4 shown in Fig 4], wherein a positive electrode of the sixth diode is connected to the first end of the sixth switching tube [at G], and a negative electrode of the sixth diode is connected to the second end of the sixth switching tube [at B].
Re claim 18, Guan teaches wherein the third switching circuit comprises: a seventh switching assembly [421], wherein a first end of the seventh switching assembly is connected to the third end of the second switching circuit [at B], and a second end of the seventh switching assembly is connected to the alternating-current busbar [at C]; and an eighth switching assembly [420], wherein a first end of the eighth switching assembly is connected to a second end of the seventh switching assembly [at C], and a second end of the eighth switching assembly is connected to the first end of the first switching circuit [at A].
Re claim 19, Guan teaches wherein, the seventh switching assembly comprises: a seventh switching tube [V6], wherein a first end of the seventh switching tube is connected to the second switching circuit [at B], and a second end of the seventh switching tube is connected to the alternating-current busbar [at C]; and a seventh diode [diode of V6], wherein a negative electrode of the seventh diode is connected to the first end of the seventh switching tube [at B], and a positive electrode of the seventh diode is connected to a second end of the seventh switching tube [at C]; and the eighth switching assembly comprises: an eighth switching tube [V5], wherein a first end of the eighth switching tube is connected to the second end of the seventh switching tube [at C], and a second end of the eighth switching tube is connected to the first switching circuit [at A]; and an eighth diode [diode of V5], wherein a negative electrode of the eighth diode is connected to the first end of the eighth switching tube [at C], and a positive electrode of the eighth diode is connected to the second end of the eighth switching tube [at A].
Re claim 20, Guan teaches a first capacitor [400], wherein, a first end of the first capacitor is connected to the positive electrode of the direct-current busbar [DC+]; and a second capacitor [401], wherein a first end of the second capacitor is connected to a second end of the first capacitor and the neutral point of the direct-current busbar [NP], and a second end of the second capacitor is configured to connect to the negative electrode of the direct-current busbar [DC-].
Conclusion
Examiner's Note:
Examiner has cited particular columns and line numbers in the references applied to the claims above for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant in preparing responses, to fully consider the references in their entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner.
In the case of amending the claimed invention, Applicant is respectfully requested to indicate the portion(s) of the specification which dictate(s) the structure relied on for proper interpretation and also to verify and ascertain the metes and bounds of the claimed invention.
/LaKaisha Jackson/
Examiner, Art Unit 2838