DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is a response to communications dated 03/05/2024. Claims 1-7, 10-16, 18-20, and 22-24 are pending in the application.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements filed 03/05/2024 and 10/21/2025 comply with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97, 1.98 and MPEP § 609. They have been considered and placed in the application file.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-7, 10-16, 18-20, ad 22-24 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-17 and 20-22 of copending Application No. 18/690,022. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because of the following rationales.
Instant Application Claim 1 Claims
‘022 Application Claim 1 Claims
A capability indication method, performed by a terminal, comprising:
A capability indication method, performed by a terminal, comprising:
sending capability indication information to a network side device, wherein the capability indication information is used for indicating whether the terminal is capable of performing multiple subscriber identity module (multi-SIM) connection switching.
sending capability information to a network side device, wherein the capability information is used for indicating a capability of the terminal to perform multiple subscriber identity module (multi-SIM) connection switching.
Rationales:
From the above claim comparison, one can see that claim 1 of the ‘022 application anticipates all recitations of claim 1 of the instant application. Alternatively, claim 1 of the instant application claims variously and essentially similar limitations as those claim 1 of the ‘022 application. There is a mere difference between the claims depicted in the bolded words. The difference appears to be using different wording but meaning is the same/similar. It is deemed obvious to those skilled in the art of claim drafting to draft claims in copending patent application using different wording but meaning is the same. A reason for doing so would be to seek a well-rounded protection for a disclose invention.
The dependent claims 2-7 and 10-13 are included in the statement of rejection but not specifically addressed in the body of the rejection have inherited the deficiencies of their parent claim and have not resolved the deficiencies. Specifically, the claims are deemed obvious over dependent claims 2-10 of '022 application for the same rationale as applied to their parent claim as above discussed.
Instant Application Claim 14 Claims
‘022 Application Claim 11 Claims
A capability determination method, performed by a network side device, comprising:
A capability determination method, performed by a network side device, comprising:
receiving capability indication information sent by a terminal; and
receiving capability information sent by a terminal; and
determining whether the terminal is capable of performing multiple subscriber identity module (multi-SIM) connection switching according to the capability indication information.
determining a capability of the terminal to perform multiple subscriber identity module (multi-SIM) connection switching according to the capability information.
Rationales:
From the above claim comparison, one can see that claim 11 of the ‘022 application anticipates all recitations of claim 14 of the instant application. Alternatively, claim 14 of the instant application claims variously and essentially similar limitations as those claim 11 of the ‘022 application. There is a mere difference between the claims depicted in the bolded words. The difference appears to be using different wording but meaning is the same/similar. It is deemed obvious to those skilled in the art of claim drafting to draft claims in copending patent application using different wording but meaning is the same. A reason for doing so would be to seek a well-rounded protection for a disclose invention.
The dependent claims 15-16, 18-19, 20 and 22 are included in the statement of rejection but not specifically addressed in the body of the rejection have inherited the deficiencies of their parent claim and have not resolved the deficiencies. Specifically, the claims are deemed obvious over dependent claims 12-17 of '022 application for the same rationale as applied to their parent claim as above discussed.
Instant Application Claim 23 Claims
‘022 Application Claim 20 Claims
A capability indication apparatus, comprising: one or more processors, wherein the one or more processors are collectively configured to:
A communication apparatus, comprising: a processor; and a memory for storing a computer program; wherein the computer program, when executed by the processor, implements operations comprising:
send capability indication information to a network side device, wherein the capability indication information is used for indicating whether a terminal is capable of performing multiple subscriber identity module (multi-SIM) connection switching.
sending capability information to a network side device, wherein the capability information is used for indicating a capability of a terminal to perform multiple subscriber identity module (multi-SIM) connection switching.
Rationales:
From the above claim comparison, one can see that claim 20 of the ‘022 application anticipates all recitations of claim 23 of the instant application. Alternatively, claim 23 of the instant application claims variously and essentially similar limitations as those claim 20 of the ‘022 application. There is a mere difference between the claims depicted in the bolded words. The difference appears to be using different wording but meaning is the same/similar. It is deemed obvious to those skilled in the art of claim drafting to draft claims in copending patent application using different wording but meaning is the same. A reason for doing so would be to seek a well-rounded protection for a disclose invention.
As per claim 24, the claim is deemed obvious over claim 21 of the ‘022 application for the same rationales applied to claim 1 as above discussed.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 11-7, 10-16, 18-20, and 22-24 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3, 6-16, 18-20, and 19-24 of copending Application No. 18/689,695. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because of the following rationales.
Instant Application Claim 1 Claims
‘695 Application Claim 14 Claims
A capability indication method, performed by a terminal, comprising:
A capability indication method, performed by a network side device, comprising:
sending capability indication information to a network side device, wherein the capability indication information is used for indicating whether the terminal is capable of performing multiple subscriber identity module (multi-SIM) connection switching.
sending capability indication information to a terminal, wherein the capability indication information is used for indicating a support capability of the network side device for the terminal to perform multiple subscriber identity module (multi-SIM) connection switching.
Rationales:
From the above claim comparison, one can see that claim 14 of the ‘695 application anticipates all recitations of claim 1 of the instant application. Alternatively, claim 1 of the instant application claims variously and essentially similar limitations as those claim 14 of the ‘695 application. There is a mere difference between the claims depicted in the bolded words. The difference appears to be using different wording but meaning is the same/similar. It is deemed obvious to those skilled in the art of claim drafting to draft claims in copending patent application using different wording but meaning is the same. A reason for doing so would be to seek a well-rounded protection for a disclose invention.
The dependent claims 2-7 and 10-13 are included in the statement of rejection but not specifically addressed in the body of the rejection have inherited the deficiencies of their parent claim and have not resolved the deficiencies. Specifically, the claims are deemed obvious over dependent claims 15-16 and 19-22 of '695 application for the same rationale as applied to their parent claim as above discussed.
Instant Application Claims 14 Claims
‘696 Application Claim 1 Claims
A capability determination method, performed by a network side device, comprising:
A capability determination method, performed by a terminal, comprising:
receiving capability indication information sent by a terminal; and
receiving capability indication information sent by a network side device; and
determining whether the terminal is capable of performing multiple subscriber identity module (multi-SIM) connection switching according to the capability indication information.
determining, according to the capability indication information, a support capability of the network side device for the terminal to perform multiple subscriber identity module (multi-SIM) connection switching.
Rationales:
From the above claim comparison, one can see that claim 1 of the ‘695 application anticipates all recitations of claim 14 of the instant application. Alternatively, claim 14 of the instant application claims variously and essentially similar limitations as those claim 1 of the ‘695 application. There is a mere difference between the claims depicted in the bolded words. The difference appears to be using different wording but meaning is the same/similar. It is deemed obvious to those skilled in the art of claim drafting to draft claims in copending patent application using different wording but meaning is the same. A reason for doing so would be to seek a well-rounded protection for a disclose invention.
The dependent claims 15-16, 18-20 and 22 are included in the statement of rejection but not specifically addressed in the body of the rejection have inherited the deficiencies of their parent claim and have not resolved the deficiencies. Specifically, the claims are deemed obvious over dependent claims 2-3 and 6-13 of '695 application for the same rationale as applied to their parent claim as above discussed.
As per claim 23, the claim appears to call for an apparatus having limitations variously and essentially mirrored functional limitations of method claim 1. Thus, it is deemed obvious over claim 14 of ‘695 application for the same rationales applied to method claim 1 as above discussed.
As per claim 24, the claim is deemed obvious over claim 24 of the ‘695 application for the same rationale applied to claim 14 as above discussed.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7, 10-16, 18-20, and 22-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Chen et al. (US 2023/0047213) (hereinafter “Chen”).
Regarding claim 1, in accordance with Chen reference entirety, Chen teaches capability indication method, performed by a terminal (Abstract and thereinafter: “A user equipment and a method for performing a multi-Subscriber Identity Module (multi-SIM) operation … assistance information message”), comprising:
sending (transmitting) capability indication information (capability information) to a network side device (first network/gNB), wherein the capability indication information (capability information) is used for indicating whether the terminal (UE) is capable of performing multiple subscriber identity module (multi-SIM) connection switching (multi-SIM operation) (para [0014]: “… transmitting, to the first network, capability information indicating that the UE supports the multi-SIM operation.” Or para [0053]: “… the UE may transmit a second RRC message (e.g., UE Capability Information message) to the network in response … .” In addition, paras [0044] to [0050], Multi-SIM Operation is disclosed to include Dual SIM Dual Standby (DSDS) mode and Dual SIM Dual Active (DSD) mode. Moreover; para [0057]: "... the UE may report its architecture for supporting the multi-SIM operation as the DSDS mode. In some implementations, for a UE with the DSDS mode, the UE may be configured to be allowed to send a network switch request. It should be noted that a "network switch request" may also be referred to as a "network switch request message", a "network switching notification" or a "network switching notification message" in the present disclosure. In some implementations, for a UE with the DSDS mode, the UE may need to send a network switch request to the first network before switching to the second network. In some implementations, for a UE with the DSDS mode, the UE may need to send a network switch request and receive a network feedback/response before switching to another network.").
Regarding claim 2, in addition to features recited in base claim 1 (see rationales discussed above), Chen also teaches wherein the terminal (UE) is provided with a plurality of SIMs (multi-SIM), and the plurality of SIMs (multi-SIM) at least comprise a first SIM and a second SIM (paras [0044] to [0050], Multi-SIM Operation is disclosed to include Dual SIM Dual Standby (DSDS) mode and Dual SIM Dual Active (DSD) mode. Moreover, para [0046]: “… DSDS: “both SIMS (including a first SIM and a second SIM) may be used for idle-mode network connection … both SIMS may be used in both the idle mode and the connected mode … .”), and the multi-SIM connection switching (multi-SIM operation) comprises switching to the second SIM for communication operation when communication operation is performed through the first SIM (para [0043] and thereinafter: “For a multi-USIM (or multi-SIM) UE, it may happen that the UE is actively communicating with a first network (referred to as “Network A” in the present disclosure) while a second network (referred to as “Network B” in the present disclosure) pages the UE. Therefore, a mechanism for the UE to notify Network A of its leaving (e.g., switching from Network A to Network B) may be needed. Methods for the multi-SIM UE to notify the connecting network of its switching from the connecting network are disclosed in the present disclosure.”).
Regarding claim 3, in addition to features recited in base claim 1 (see rationales discussed above), Chen also teaches wherein sending the capability indication information to the network side device (first network/gNB) comprises: sending the capability indication information to the network side device (first network/gNB) in a process of establishing a communication connection (MSG3) with the network side device (first network/gNB) (para [0061]: "In some implantations, a base station (e.g., a gNB) may broadcast information indicating that the base station supports the multi-SIM operation. In some implementations, a multi-SIM UE may report its status of the multi-SIM operation via MSG3 only when the status is "on". In some implementations, a multi-SIM UE may report its status of the multi-SIM operation via MSGA only when the status is "on". In some implementations, a multi-SIM UE may report its status of the multi-SIM operation via MSG3 when the status is "on" or "off'. In some implementations, a multi-SIM UE may report its status of the multi-SIM operation via MSGA when the status is "on" or "off'. The MSG3 may carry an RRC Connection Request message, an RRC Resume Request message, or an RRC Reestablishment Request message, but is not limited thereto.").
Regarding claim 4, in addition to features recited in base claim 3 (see rationales discussed above), Chen also teaches wherein the network side device (gNB) comprises an evolved UMTS terrestrial radio access network (E-UTRAN) network side device (E-UTRAN is discussed in para [0031] and thereinafter), and the capability indication information is carried in at least one of: RRCConnectionSetupComplete signaling; RRCConnectionResumeComplete signaling; or RRCConnectionReestablishmentComplete signaling (para [0061]: "In some implantations, a base station (e.g., a gNB) may broadcast information indicating that the base station supports the multi-SIM operation. In some implementations, a multi-SIM UE may report its status of the multi-SIM operation via MSG3 only when the status is "on". In some implementations, a multi-SIM UE may report its status of the multi-SIM operation via MSGA only when the status is "on". In some implementations, a multi-SIM UE may report its status of the multi-SIM operation via MSG3 when the status is "on" or "off'. In some implementations, a multi-SIM UE may report its status of the multi-SIM operation via MSGA when the status is "on" or "off'. The MSG3 may carry an RRC Connection Request message, an RRC Resume Request message, or an RRC Reestablishment Request message, but is not limited thereto.").
Regarding claim 5, in addition to features recited in base claim 3 (see rationales discussed above), Chen also teaches wherein the network side device comprises a new radio (NR) network side device (para [0031] and thereinafter 5G NR Radio Access Network (RAN) is discussed), and the capability indication information is carried in at least one of: RRCSetupComplete signaling; RRCResumeComplete signaling; or RRCReestablishmentComplete signaling (para [0061]: "In some implantations, a base station (e.g., a gNB) may broadcast information indicating that the base station supports the multi-SIM operation. In some implementations, a multi-SIM UE may report its status of the multi-SIM operation via MSG3 only when the status is "on". In some implementations, a multi-SIM UE may report its status of the multi-SIM operation via MSGA only when the status is "on". In some implementations, a multi-SIM UE may report its status of the multi-SIM operation via MSG3 when the status is "on" or "off'. In some implementations, a multi-SIM UE may report its status of the multi-SIM operation via MSGA when the status is "on" or "off'. The MSG3 may carry an RRC Connection Request message, an RRC Resume Request message, or an RRC Reestablishment Request message, but is not limited thereto."
Regarding claim 6, in addition to features recited in base claim 2 (see rationales discussed above), Chen also teaches receiving a capability reporting request (network request) sent by the network side device (gNB) (para [0052]: “… a multi-SIM UE may inform a network (or the corresponding base station) about its capability of supporting the multi-SIM operation. In some implementations, a multi-SIM UE may inform a network (or the corresponding base station) about its capability of supporting the multi-SIM operation via a network request. In some implementations, a multi-SIM UE may inform a network (or the corresponding base station) about its architecture (or type of RF chain) for supporting the multi-SIM operation. In some implementations, a multi-SIM UE may inform a network (or the corresponding base station) about its architecture for supporting the multi-SIM operation via a network request … .”); and sending a capability of the terminal (UE) to perform the multi-SIM connection switching to the network side device (gNB) (para [0057]: "For example, the UE may report its architecture for supporting the multi-SIM operation as the DSDS mode. In some implementations, for a UE with the DSDS mode, the UE may be configured to be allowed to send a network switch request. It should be noted that a "network switch request" may also be referred to as a "network switch request message", a "network switching notification" or a "network switching notification message" in the present disclosure. In some implementations, for a UE with the DSDS mode, the UE may need to send a network switch request to the first network before switching to the second network. In some implementations, for a UE with the DSDS mode, the UE may need to send a network switch request and receive a network feedback/response before switching to another network.").
Regarding claim 7, in addition to features recited in base claim 6 (see rationales discussed above), Chen also teaches wherein the capability of the terminal (UE) to perform multi-SIM connection switching (multi-SIM operation) comprises whether the terminal (UE) is capable of performing the multi-SIM connection switching (multi-SIM operation) in case that a first condition (prohibit timer T1) is satisfied (conditions for stopping prohibit timer T1), wherein the first condition comprises at least one of: the first SIM leaves a connected state; or the first SIM remains in the connected state; wherein the first SIM leaves the connected state comprises at least one of: the first SIM leaves the connected state based on an access stratum; or the first SIM leaves the connected state based on a non-access stratum; wherein the first SIM remains in the connected state comprises at least one of: the first SIM remains in the connected state based on an access stratum; or the first SIM remains in the connected state based on a non-access stratum (paras [0044] to [0050], Multi-SIM Operation is disclosed to include Dual SIM Dual Standby (DSDS) mode and Dual SIM Dual Active (DSD) mode. Furthermore; para [0057]: "For example, the UE may report its architecture for supporting the multi-SIM operation as the DSDS mode. In some implementations, for a UE with the DSDS mode, the UE may be configured to be allowed to send a network switch request. It should be noted that a "network switch request" may also be referred to as a "network switch request message", a "network switching notification" or a "network switching notification message" in the present disclosure. In some implementations, for a UE with the DSDS mode, the UE may need to send a network switch request to the first network before switching to the second network. In some implementations, for a UE with the DSDS mode, the UE may need to send a network switch request and receive a network feedback/response before switching to another network." In addition; para [0071]: "In some implementations, a configuration of network switch requests may include a prohibit timer T1 to prevent the UE from frequently transmitting a network switch request message. The prohibit timer T1 may be configured in a reconfiguration (e.g., otherConfig IE, network switch related IE, or ReleaseRequestConfig IE). The otherConfig IE may contain a configuration related to miscellaneous other configurations. The ReleaseRequestConfig IE may be a configuration for the UE to report assistance information to inform the gNB of the UE's preference to leave the RRC_CONNECTED state or to leave the RRC_ INACTIVE state (e.g., if the UE is performing small data transmission in the RRC_INACTIVE state) and/or to inform the gNB of the network switch." Also see para [0072] and thereinafter for discussion about configuration of prohibit timer T1 and conditions for stopping prohibit timer T1).
Regarding claim 10, in addition to features recited in base claim 6 (see rationales discussed above), Chen also teaches wherein sending the capability of the terminal (UE) to perform the multi-SIM connection switching (multi-SIM operation) to the network side device (gNB) comprises: determining a second condition according to the capability reporting request; and when the terminal (UE) has the capability to perform the multi-SIM connection switching (multi-SIM) in case that the second condition is satisfied, sending the capability of the terminal (UE) to perform the multi-SIM connection switching (multi-SIM) to the network side device (gNB) (para [0072]: "In some implementations, the UE may start (or restart) the prohibit timer Tl upon transmitting the network switch request, upon receiving a rejection message in response to the network switch request, upon receiving an acknowledgment/acceptance message in response to the network switch request, or upon the prohibit timer T1 being reconfigured. In some implementations, the UE may stop the prohibit timer T1 under at least one of the following conditions: when the UE initiates an RA procedure in another network (or corresponding base station); when the UE successfully connects to another network (or corresponding base station); when the UE successfully completes the RA procedure to another network (or corresponding base station); when the UE transmits the MSG5 to another network (or corresponding base station); when the UE transitions to the RRC_IDLE state or the RRC_INACTIVE state (related to the network with which the prohibit timer T1 is associated); when the associated configuration of network switch requests is set to release (or is not set to setup); when an RRC reestablishment procedure is initiated; when an RRC resume procedure is initiated; and when the prohibit timer T1 is reconfigured or released. In some implementations, the multi-SIM UE may be allowed to transmit another network switch request when the prohibit timer T1 expires.").
Regarding claim 11, in addition to features recited in base claim 6 (see rationales discussed above), Chen also teaches receiving configuration signaling sent by the network side (gNB); and determining a configuration for reporting information about the multi-SIM connection switching (multi-SIM operation) to the network side device (gNB) according to the configuration signaling (paras [0059] to [0064], the discussion of how a multi-SIM UE inform a network about its status of the multi-SIM operation via a network request via configuration signaling messages (i.e., MSG3, MSGA, and MSG5 etc.).
Regarding claim 12, in addition to features recited in base claim 11 (see rationales discussed above), Chen also teaches wherein the configuration comprises at least one of: whether to allow the terminal (UE) to report the information about the multi-SIM connection switching (multi-SIM operation) (para [0057]: “… the UE may be configured to be allowed to send a network switch request … .” Also see para [0058]: “… the UE may not be configured to be allowed to send a network switch request … .”); whether to allow the terminal to report information about multi-SIM connection switching satisfying a third condition (para [0059]: “… a multi-SIM UE may inform a network (or the corresponding base station) about its status of the multi-SIM operation … multi-SIM operation is changed … multi-SIM operation status is on (active) first … its multi-SIM operation status is off (inactive) now”); a duration of a blocking timer (prohibit timer T1) for the terminal (UE) to report the information about the multi-SIM connection switching (para [0071] and thereinafter configuration of prohibit timer T1 is discussed); a fourth condition for the terminal to use the blocking timer (prohibit timer T1) to block reporting information about the multi-SIM connection switching (multi-SIM operation) (para [0071] to [0072], prohibit timer T1 and its configuration are discussed); or a support capability of the network side device (gNB) for the terminal (UE) to perform the multi-SIM connection switching (multi-SIM operation) (para [0061]: "In some implantations, a base station (e.g., a gNB) may broadcast information indicating that the base station supports the multi-SIM operation ... .". It is also noted that the claim is drafted in an alternative format not requiring all recitations but one of the recitations).
Regarding claim 13, in addition to features recited in base claim 11 (see rationales discussed above), Chen also teaches reporting the information about the multi-SIM connection switching (multi-SIM operation) to the network side device (gNB) according to the configuration (para [0057]: "For example, the UE may report its architecture for supporting the multi-SIM operation as the DSDS mode ... ." Or para [0058]: "For example, the UE may report its architecture for supporting the multi-SIM operation as the DSDA mode ... ." Or para [0059]: "In some implementations, a multi-SIM UE may inform a network (or the corresponding base station) about its status of the multi-SIM operation ... ." Furthermore; para [0060] In some implementations, a multi-SIM UE may inform a network (or the corresponding base station) about its status of the multi-SIM operation via a network request ... .").
Regarding claim 14, in accordance with Chen reference entirety, Chen teaches a capability determination method, performed by a network side device (gNB), comprising: receiving capability indication information (capability) sent by a terminal (UE) (para [0052]: "In some implementations, a multi-SIM UE may inform a network (or the corresponding base station) about its capability of supporting the multi-SIM operation ... ."); and determining whether the terminal (UE) is capable of performing multiple subscriber identity module (multi-SIM) connection switching (multi-SIM operation) according to the capability indication information (capability) (para [0068]: "In some implementations, a network (or the corresponding base station) may configure/indicate ( e.g., via an indication) to a multi-SIM UE (e.g., based on the reported UE capability, the reported UE status of the multi-SIM operation, or the UE mode (e.g., DSDS or DSDA)) whether the UE is allowed to transmit a network switch request ... .").
Regarding claim 15, in addition to features recited in base claim 14 (see rationales discussed above), Chen also teaches wherein the terminal (UE) is provided with a plurality of SIMs (multi-SIM), and the plurality of SIMs (multi-SIM) at least comprise a first SIM and a second SIM (paras [0044] to [0050], Multi-SIM Operation is disclosed to include Dual SIM Dual Standby (DSDS) mode and Dual SIM Dual Active (DSD) mode. Moreover, para [0046]: “… DSDS: “both SIMS (including a first SIM and a second SIM) may be used for idle-mode network connection … both SIMS may be used in both the idle mode and the connected mode … .”), and the multi-SIM connection switching (multi-SIM operation) comprises switching to the second SIM for communication operation when communication operation is performed through the first SIM (para [0043] and thereinafter: “For a multi-USIM (or multi-SIM) UE, it may happen that the UE is actively communicating with a first network (referred to as “Network A” in the present disclosure) while a second network (referred to as “Network B” in the present disclosure) pages the UE. Therefore, a mechanism for the UE to notify Network A of its leaving (e.g., switching from Network A to Network B) may be needed. Methods for the multi-SIM UE to notify the connecting network of its switching from the connecting network are disclosed in the present disclosure.”).
Regarding claim 16, in addition to features recited in base claim 14 (see rationales discussed above), Chen also teaches sending a capability reporting request to the terminal (UE), wherein the capability reporting request is used for requesting the terminal (UE) to report a capability of the terminal (UE) to perform the multi-SIM connection switching (multi-SIM operation), and the capability reporting request carries a second condition, wherein the second condition is used to indicate that the capability of the terminal (UE) to perform the multi-SIM connection switching (multi-SIM operation) is reported when the terminal (UE) has the capability to perform the multi-SIM connection switching (multi-SIM operation) in case that the second condition is satisfied (para [0053]: "In one implementation, if the UE receives a first RRC message (e.g., UE Capability Enquiry message) including information related to "Multi-SIM request" from a network, the UE may transmit a second RRC message (e.g., UE Capability Information message) to the network in response. The second RRC message (e.g., UE Capability Information message) may indicate whether the UE supports the multi-SIM operation. The RRC entity of the UE may submit the second RRC message to lower layers for transmission to the network." Moreover; para [0056]: "In some implementations, a multi-SIM UE may inform a network (or the corresponding base station) about its mode (e.g., DSDS or DSDA) for supporting the multi-SIM operation. In some implementations, a multi-SIM UE may inform a network (or the corresponding base station) about its mode (e.g., DSDS or DSDA) for supporting the multi-SIM operation via a network request.").
Regarding claim 18, in addition to features recited in base claim 16 (see rationales discussed above), Chen also teaches receiving the capability (UE Capability Information message) of the terminal (UE) to perform multi-SIM connection switching (multi-SIM operation) reported by the terminal (UE) (para [0053]: "In one implementation, if the UE receives a first RRC message (e.g., UE Capability Enquiry message) including information related to "Multi-SIM request" from a network, the UE may transmit a second RRC message (e.g., UE Capability Information message) to the network in response. The second RRC message (e.g., UE Capability Information message) may indicate whether the UE supports the multi-SIM operation.”).
Regarding claim 19, in addition to features recited in base claim 18 (see rationales discussed above), Chen also teaches sending configuration signaling to the terminal (UE), wherein the configuration signaling (MSGA/MSGB/MSG3/MSG4/MSG5) is used for indicating a configuration for the terminal (UE) to report information about the multi-SIM connection switching (multi-SIM operation) to the network side device (gNB) (paras [0061] to [0064]: "In some implantations, a base station (e.g., a gNB) may broadcast information indicating that the base station supports the multi-SIM operation. In some implementations, a multi-SIM UE may report its status of the multi-SIM operation via MSG3 only when the status is "on". In some implementations, a multi-SIM UE may report its status of the multi-SIM operation via MSGA only when the status is "on". In some implementations, a multi-SIM UE may report its status of the multi-SIM operation via MSG3 when the status is "on" or "off'. In some implementations, a multi-SIM UE may report its status of the multi-SIM operation via MSGA when the status is "on" or "off'. The MSG3 may carry an RRC Connection Request message, an RRC Resume Request message, or an RRC Reestablishment Request message, but is not limited thereto." Other signaling messages are also discussed in paras [0062] to [0072]).
Regarding claim 20, in addition to features recited in base claim 19 (see rationales discussed above), Chen also teaches wherein sending the configuration signaling to the terminal comprises: determining whether a capability of multi-SIM connection switching (multi-SIM operation) supported by the network side device (gNB) matches the capability of the terminal (UE) to perform the multi-SIM connection switching (multi-SIM operation) (para [0061]: "In some implantations, a base station (e.g., a gNB) may broadcast information indicating that the base station supports the multi-SIM operation. In some implementations, a multi-SIM UE may report its status of the multi-SIM operation via MSG3 only when the status is "on". In some implementations, a multi-SIM UE may report its status of the multi-SIM operation via MSGA only when the status is "on". In some implementations, a multi-SIM UE may report its status of the multi-SIM operation via MSG3 when the status is "on" or "off'. In some implementations, a multi-SIM UE may report its status of the multi-SIM operation via MSGA when the status is "on" or "off'. The MSG3 may carry an RRC Connection Request message, an RRC Resume Request message, or an RRC Reestablishment Request message, but is not limited thereto."); wherein the capability determination method further comprises: determining that the capability of multi-SIM connection switching supported by the network side device (gNB) matches the capability of the terminal (UE) to perform the multi-SIM connection switching (multi-SIM operation), and sending the configuration signaling to the terminal (UE) (para [0069]: "The indication indicating that the UE is allowed to transmit the network switch request may be explicit or implicit. For example, a multi-SIM UE may consider itself as being configured/allowed to transmit a network switch request (which is to inform the network of the UE's switching from the network) if permission is included in an RRC message (explicit indication), such as an RRC Reconfiguration message, but is not limited thereto. For example, the multi-SIM UE may consider itself as being configured/allowed to transmit the network switch request if the network broadcasts its support of the multi-SIM operation (implicit indication). For example, the multi-SIM UE may consider itself as being configured/allowed to transmit the network switch request if a configuration of network switch requests is set to setup. For example, the multi-SIM UE may consider itself as not being configured to transmit the network switch request if a configuration of network switch requests is set to release (or is not set to setup).").
Regarding claim 22, in addition to features recited in base claim 19 (see rationales discussed above), Chen also teaches wherein the configuration comprises at least one of: whether to allow the terminal to report the information about the multi-SIM connection switching; whether to allow the terminal to report information about multi-SIM connection switching satisfying a third condition; a duration of a blocking timer for the terminal to report the information about the multi-SIM connection switching; a fourth condition for the terminal to use the blocking timer to block reporting information about the multi-SIM connection switching; or a support capability of the network side device (gNB) for the terminal (UE) to perform the multi-SIM connection switching (multi-SIM operation) (para [0069]: "The indication indicating that the UE is allowed to transmit the network switch request may be explicit or implicit. For example, a multi-SIM UE may consider itself as being configured/allowed to transmit a network switch request (which is to inform the network of the UE's switching from the network) if permission is included in an RRC message (explicit indication), such as an RRC Reconfiguration message, but is not limited thereto. For example, the multi-SIM UE may consider itself as being configured/allowed to transmit the network switch request if the network broadcasts its support of the multi-SIM operation (implicit indication). For example, the multi-SIM UE may consider itself as being configured/allowed to transmit the network switch request if a configuration of network switch requests is set to setup. For example, the multi-SIM UE may consider itself as not being configured to transmit the network switch request if a configuration of network switch requests is set to release (or is not set to setup).").
Regarding claim 23, in accordance with Chen reference entirety, Chen teaches a capability indication apparatus (Abstract and thereinafter: “A user equipment and a method for performing a multi-Subscriber Identity Module (multi-SIM) operation … assistance information message.” And FIG. 4 and corresponding description in para [0132]), comprising: one or more processors (FIG. 4; processor 428), wherein the one or more processors (FIG. 4; processor 428) are collectively configured to:
sending (transmitting) capability indication information (capability information) to a network side device (first network/gNB), wherein the capability indication information (capability information) is used for indicating whether the terminal (UE) is capable of performing multiple subscriber identity module (multi-SIM) connection switching (multi-SIM operation) (para [0014]: “… transmitting, to the first network, capability information indicating that the UE supports the multi-SIM operation.” Or para [0053]: “… the UE may transmit a second RRC message (e.g., UE Capability Information message) to the network in response … .” In addition, paras [0044] to [0050], Multi-SIM Operation is disclosed to include Dual SIM Dual Standby (DSDS) mode and Dual SIM Dual Active (DSD) mode. Moreover; para [0057]: "... the UE may report its architecture for supporting the multi-SIM operation as the DSDS mode. In some implementations, for a UE with the DSDS mode, the UE may be configured to be allowed to send a network switch request. It should be noted that a "network switch request" may also be referred to as a "network switch request message", a "network switching notification" or a "network switching notification message" in the present disclosure. In some implementations, for a UE with the DSDS mode, the UE may need to send a network switch request to the first network before switching to the second network. In some implementations, for a UE with the DSDS mode, the UE may need to send a network switch request and receive a network feedback/response before switching to another network.").
As per claim 24, the claim is anticipated by Chen for the same rationales applied to method claim 14 as discussed above and in reference to FIG. 4 and description in para [0132]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Khairmode et al. (US 2017/0156050).
Apple Inc, MUSIM Network Switching, 3GPP TSG-RAN WG2 Meeting # 115 Electronic, 7 pages, August 09 to August 28, 2021.
Applicant is encouraged to submit a written authorization for Internet communications (PTO/SB/439, http://www.uspto.gov/sites/default/files/documents/sb0439.pdf) in the instant patent application to authorize the examiner to communicate with the applicant via email. The authorization will allow the examiner to better practice compact prosecution. The written authorization can be submitted via one of the following methods only: (1) Central Fax which can be found in the Conclusion section of this Office action; (2) regular postal mail; (3) EFS WEB; or (4) the service window on the Alexandria campus. EFS web is the recommended way to submit the form since this allows the form to be entered into the file wrapper within the same day (system dependent). Written authorization submitted via other methods, such as direct fax to the examiner or email, will not be accepted. See MPEP § 502.03.
/FRANK DUONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2474 March 5, 2026