DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 have been presented for examination and are rejected.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55 and of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy was filed on 03/05/2024.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 09/11/2024 IDS Considered. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: acquire, associate, output in claim 14 and 15 are similarly being interpreted to invoke 112(f).
" processor is further configured to" in claims 1, 2 and 3
" the processor is further configured to switch " in claim 6
" the power tool is configured to directly " in claim 6
" the power tool is configured to communicate " in claims 6, 8 and 9
" power tool that is configured to communicate " in claim 8
" a processor and configured to" in claim 13
" processor is further configured to wait " in claim 14
“processor is further configured to” in claim 18
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4-11, 13 and 15-20 are rejected Under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by Zeiler et al. (US 20130109375 hereinafter Zeiler).
With respect to claims 1, 11 and 13 Zeiler teaches a power tool (Zeiler, see FIG. 1 and paragraph [0058] Power tools can include drills, circular saws, jig saws, band saws, reciprocating saws, screw drivers, angle grinders, straight grinders, hammers, multi-tools, impact wrenches, rotary hammers, impact drivers, angle drills, pipe cutters, grease guns, and the like) comprising:
a body (Zeiler, see FIG. 1, 105, 605, also body (i.e., equivalent to body of power tools) discloses in paragraph [0057] the tool 105 is a battery-operated power drill that includes a tool controller 145, tracking unit 150, sensors 155, battery 160, and a motor 165);
an actuator coupled to the body (Zeiler, see FIG. 1 and paragraphs [0057, 0117] the motor 165 (i.e., equivalent to an actuator) may be a brushless motor, a brushed motor, a permanent-magnet motor, an AC motor, a DC motor, or another type of motor);
an antenna coupled to the body (Zeiler, see FIGS. 1, 2 and paragraph [0062] The tracking unit 150 of tool 105 includes one or more antennas 185 for communication with the satellite 110, cellular network antenna 115), and
an electronic controller coupled to the body and in communication with the antenna (Zeiler, see FIG. 1 and paragraph [0057] The tool controller 145 selectively applies power from the battery 160 to the motor 165 to cause the motor 165 to rotate in response to depression of a trigger 170. Paragraph [0062] discloses the tool controller 145 communication with the tracking unit 150 of tool 105 includes one or more antennas 185 for communication with the satellite 110 ), the electronic controller including a processor (Zeiler, see FIG. 2 and paragraph [0205] controllers 145, 220, 640, 700, 868, and 907 may be implemented as a general purpose processor, digital signal processor) and configured to:
in response to an event, establish communication with a mesh network that includes the power tool and an additional power tool (Zeiler, see FIG. 10 and paragraphs [0109-0113] the tool monitoring system 600 further enables a user to communicate (i.e., interpreted as being equivalent to an event ) with the tools 605 via the key fob 610 (i.e., establish communication). The tool monitoring system 600 has shifted the longer range, cellular communication capability from the tools 105 to the gateway 615, and utilizes a shorter-range, lower cost, lower power ISM band communication network to allow the tools 605, fobs 610, and the gateway 615 to communicate with one another(i.e., interpreted as being equivalent establish communication). Paragraphs [0112-0113] further discloses the ISM network may be configured as a mesh network implementing a store and forward protocol. Thus, the other tools 605 (i.e., equivalent to additional power tool) and fobs 610 may serve as bridges to the gateway 615, effectively increasing the maximum communication range between tools 605 (i.e., 605a, 605b, 605c), fobs 610, and gateways 615. Also, see FIG. 11A, 11B and paragraph [0115] establish communication between power tool 605 a, 605b and 605c within the ISM network may be configured as a mesh network);
transmit, via the mesh network, tool information to the additional power tool (Zeiler, see FIG. 10 and paragraphs [0109-0112] the tools 605 (i.e., 605a, 605b, 605c) and fobs 610 have a transmit power over the ISM network 616 of approximately +10 dbm to balance energy efficiency and communication range, while the gateway 615 has a transmit power over the ISM network 616 of approximately +27 dbm to increase communication range. The ISM network may be configured as a mesh network implementing a store and forward protocol. Thus, the other tools 605 and fobs 610 may serve as bridges to the gateway 615, effectively increasing the maximum communication range between tools 605, fobs 610, and gateways 615); and
cease communication with the mesh network after transmitting the tool information to the additional power tool (Zeiler, see paragraphs [0122-0123] the tools 605 (i.e., 605a, 605b, 605c), fobs 610, and gateways 615 may further include a real time clock for synchronizing communications over the ISM network 616. For instance, the real time clock may be used by the ISM devices to determine precisely when to transmit and when to receive transmissions (e.g., for time multiplexed communications). In some instances, particular ISM devices are assigned receive and transmit time windows, which allows the devices to reduce power consumption as they may power down or enter a standby mode during periods in which the devices are not receiving or transmitting data (i.e., interpreted as being equivalent to cease communication after transmitting the tool information )).
With respect to claim 2 Zeiler teaches the power tool, wherein the processor is further configured to:
wait a period of time after ceasing communication with the mesh network; establish communication with another mesh network that includes the power tool and the additional power tool after waiting the period of time (Zeiler, see paragraphs [0122-0123] the tools 605 (i.e., 605a, 605b, 605c), fobs 610, and gateways 615 may further include a real time clock for synchronizing communications over the ISM network 616. For instance, the real time clock may be used by the ISM devices to determine precisely when to transmit and when to receive transmissions (e.g., for time multiplexed communications). In some instances, particular ISM devices are assigned receive and transmit time windows, which allows the devices to reduce power consumption as they may power down or enter a standby mode during periods in which the devices are not receiving or transmitting data. Furthermore, a list of time assignments for one or more ISM devices may be maintained by one or more of the ISM devices. For instance, one of the gateways 615 may maintain a list of time assignments of all ISM devices on the network 616).
transmit, via the another mesh network, additional tool information to the additional power tool (Zeiler, see paragraph [0130] FIG. 11A, tools 605a-c and the fob 610 communicating over a store-and-forward mesh network is shown. In FIG. 11A, the fob 610 outputs a message addressed to tool 605c, but tool 605c is outside of the range of the initial transmission of the fob 610. However, tool 605a is within range and receives the message. Tool 605a temporarily stores the message, recognizes that the message is not intended for the tool 605a, and re-transmits the message. Tool 605b receives the forwarded message and, similarly, forwards the message. Tool 605c then receives the forwarded message and recognizes that the forwarded message was addressed to itself (tool 605c). The tool 605c then outputs a response addressed to the fob 610, which follows the same path through tools 605b and 605a back to the fob 610); and
cease communication with the another mesh network after transmitting the additional tool information to the additional power tool (Zeiler, see paragraph [0063] if the transmissions are high priority, for instance, to indicate a possible theft of the tool 105, the transmissions are not delayed until rotation of the motor 165 ceases. Additionally, if the motor 165 rotates for a prolonged, uninterrupted period, particularly if the battery 160 is low, the transmissions of the tracking unit 150 are not delayed until rotation of the motor 165 ceases. Paragraphs [0122-0123] further discloses the tools 605 (i.e., 605a, 605b, 605c), fobs 610, and gateways 615 may further include a real time clock for synchronizing communications over the ISM network 616. For instance, the real time clock may be used by the ISM devices to determine precisely when to transmit and when to receive transmissions (e.g., for time multiplexed communications). In some instances, particular ISM devices are assigned receive and transmit time windows, which allows the devices to reduce power consumption as they may power down or enter a standby mode during periods in which the devices are not receiving or transmitting data).
With respect to claim 4 Zeiler teaches the power tool, wherein ceasing communication with the mesh network includes the power tool leaving the mesh network (Zeiler, see paragraphs [0122-0123] the tools 605 (i.e., 605a, 605b, 605c), fobs 610, and gateways 615 may further include a real time clock for synchronizing communications over the ISM network 616… Particular ISM devices are assigned receive and transmit time windows, which allows the devices to reduce power consumption as they may power down or enter a standby mode during periods in which the devices are not receiving or transmitting data. Furthermore, a list of time assignments for one or more ISM devices may be maintained by one or more of the ISM devices. For instance, one of the gateways 615 may maintain a list of time assignments of all ISM devices on the network 616).
With respect to claim 5 Zeiler teaches the power tool, wherein the power tool is not capable of communicating using a cellular communication protocol (Zeiler, see paragraphs [0067-0068] the controller 220 then outputs the tool data to the cellular unit 205. The cellular unit 205, via the cellular antenna 190, is operable to convert the position data to an appropriate format and transmit the position data to a remote cellular device, such as smart phone 120, via the cellular network antenna 115. In some instances, the remote cellular device is a base station that converts the cellular transmission to another communication protocol, such as an Internet-compatible protocol, WLAN, Bluetooth, etc., for transmission to a remote monitoring device (e.g., smart phone 120, PC 135, or server 140). … the controller 220 outputting the tool data via the cellular unit 205, the controller 220 may also output the tool data via the WLAN unit 210. The WLAN unit 210 converts the tool data to a WLAN-compatible format and transmits the tool data to a remote device, such as a tool monitoring server 140, PC 135, or internet-enabled smart phone 120, via the wireless router 130).
With respect to claim 6 Zeiler teaches the power tool, wherein the processor is further configured to switch between a first wireless communicating mode and a second wireless communication model, wherein the power tool is configured to directly communicate with one or more wireless communication devices in the first communication mode, and wherein the power tool is configured to communicate via the mesh network in the second communication mode (Zeiler, see paragraph [0067] the controller 220 then outputs the tool data to the cellular unit 205. The cellular unit 205, via the cellular antenna 190, is operable to convert the position data to an appropriate format and transmit the position data to a remote cellular device, such as smart phone 120, via the cellular network antenna 115. In some instances, the remote cellular device is a base station that converts the cellular transmission to another communication protocol, such as an Internet-compatible protocol, WLAN, Bluetooth, etc., for transmission to a remote monitoring device (e.g., smart phone 120, PC 135, or server 140)).
With respect to claim 7 Zeiler teaches the power tool, wherein at least one of the first wireless communication mode or the second wireless communication mode includes the power tool communicating according to a Bluetooth wireless protocol (Zeiler, see paragraph [0067] the remote cellular device is a base station that converts the cellular transmission to another communication protocol, such as an Internet-compatible protocol, WLAN, Bluetooth, etc., for transmission to a remote monitoring device (e.g., smart phone 120, PC 135, or server 140)).
With respect to claim 8 Zeiler teaches the power tool, wherein the additional power tool is a gateway power tool that is configured to communicate with a wireless communication device using a first communication protocol, and wherein the power tool is configured to communicate with the gateway power tool over the mesh network using a second communication protocol (Zeiler, see FIG. 14 and paragraph [0144] The ISM case 670 may then act as a pass-through for power and communications that would normally be provided to the smart phone 120 via the female port 679. The case 670 communicates with the smart phone 120 via a wireless connection, such as Bluetooth.RTM. Paragraph [0155] The gateway 615 provides an interface between the ISM network 616 and the cellular network 617. Communications from the ISM network 616 destined for a device of the cellular network 617 (e.g., the smart phone 120) are received by the controller 700 via the ISM band antenna 710 and ISM unit 715. The controller 700 converts the communications to a cellular protocol and transmits the message to the cellular network 617 via the cellular antenna 730 and cellular unit 735. Communications from the cellular network 617 destined for a device of the ISM network 616 (e.g., the tools 605 or fobs 610) are received by the controller 700 via the cellular antenna 730 and cellular unit 735. The controller 700 converts the communications to an ISM protocol and transmits the message to the ISM network 616 via ISM band antenna 710 and ISM unit 715).
With respect to claim 9 Zeiler teaches the power tool, wherein the additional power tool is a gateway power tool that is configured to communicate with a wireless communication device using a cellular communication protocol (Zeiler, see paragraphs [0006-0007] the wireless network module is configured to wirelessly communicate with a wireless network having at least one power tool device. The cellular module is configured to wirelessly communicate via a cellular network. The translation module is coupled to the wireless network module and the cellular module. Additionally, the translation module is configured to provide translated communications received from the wireless network via the wireless network module to the cellular module for output to the cellular network, and translated communications received from the cellular network via the cellular module to the wireless network module for output to the wireless network).
With respect to claims 10 and 19 Zeiler teaches the power tool, wherein the tool information includes at least one of:
a tool identification of a respective tool (Zeiler, see paragraphs [0018, 0022] The remote tool database stores tool identification information. Paragraph [0129] In addition to populating the tool database 285, the communication may be used for tool identification, tool locating, geo-fencing, and other tool management and status monitoring);
a total amount of time during operation of a respective tool;
a total amount of time during actuation of an actuator of the respective tool;
a total number of driving operations for an actuator of the respective tool:
a location of the respective tool; or
an amount of time available for operation for a power tool relative to a battery level for the power tool.
With respect to claim 15 Zeiler teaches the gateway power tool, wherein receiving tool information from the additional power tool utilizes a first communication protocol, and wherein transmitting the tool information to the wireless communication device utilizes a second communication protocol different from the first communication protocol (Zeiler, see FIG. 14 and paragraph [0144] The ISM case 670 may then act as a pass-through for power and communications that would normally be provided to the smart phone 120 via the female port 679. The case 670 communicates with the smart phone 120 via a wireless connection, such as Bluetooth.RTM. Paragraph [0155] The gateway 615 provides an interface between the ISM network 616 and the cellular network 617. Communications from the ISM network 616 destined for a device of the cellular network 617 (e.g., the smart phone 120) are received by the controller 700 via the ISM band antenna 710 and ISM unit 715. The controller 700 converts the communications to a cellular protocol and transmits the message to the cellular network 617 via the cellular antenna 730 and cellular unit 735. Communications from the cellular network 617 destined for a device of the ISM network 616 (e.g., the tools 605 or fobs 610) are received by the controller 700 via the cellular antenna 730 and cellular unit 735. The controller 700 converts the communications to an ISM protocol and transmits the message to the ISM network 616 via ISM band antenna 710 and ISM unit 715).
With respect to claim 16 Zeiler teaches the gateway power tool, wherein the first communication protocol is a Bluetooth communication protocol, and wherein the second communication protocol is a cellular communication protocol (Zeiler, see paragraph [0067] the remote cellular device is a base station that converts the cellular transmission to another communication protocol, such as an Internet-compatible protocol, WLAN, Bluetooth, etc., for transmission to a remote monitoring device (e.g., smart phone 120, PC 135, or server 140)).
With respect to claim 17 Zeiler teaches the gateway power tool, wherein the antenna is a first antenna, and further comprising a second antenna coupled to the body that is different from the first antenna, wherein the first communication protocol utilizes the first antenna, and wherein the second communication protocol utilizes the second antenna (Zeiler, see paragraphs [0189-0191] the external portion 1012 includes a mounting board 1013 and antennas 1016 mounted thereon. As shown in greater detail in FIG. 28, the antennas 1016 include the GPS antenna 720, the cellular antenna 730, a second cellular antenna 1017, and the ISM antenna 710 (see FIG. 14). The GPS antenna 720 receives GPS signals from the GPS satellite 110. The cellular antenna 730 and second cellular antenna 117 communicate with one or more cellular networks (e.g., network 115). The second cellular antenna 117 is optional and may be used as a redundant antenna to assist in communications with the cellular network 115. In some instances, the second cellular antenna 117 may be tuned slightly different than the cellular antenna 730. The ISM antenna 710 communicates with the ISM network 616, which may include, for example, one or more gateways 615, batteries 902, tools 605, fobs 610, and/or pucks 886).
With respect to claim 18 Zeiler teaches the gateway power tool, wherein the processor is further configured to:
establish a direct communication channel with a wireless communication device; and transmit the tool information to the wireless communication device using the direct communication channel (Zeiler, see FIG. 14 and paragraph [0144] The ISM case 670 may then act as a pass-through for power and communications that would normally be provided to the smart phone 120 via the female port 679. The case 670 communicates with the smart phone 120 via a wireless connection, such as Bluetooth.RTM. Paragraph [0155] The gateway 615 provides an interface between the ISM network 616 and the cellular network 617. Communications from the ISM network 616 destined for a device of the cellular network 617 (e.g., the smart phone 120) are received by the controller 700 via the ISM band antenna 710 and ISM unit 715. The controller 700 converts the communications to a cellular protocol and transmits the message to the cellular network 617 via the cellular antenna 730 and cellular unit 735. Communications from the cellular network 617 destined for a device of the ISM network 616 (e.g., the tools 605 or fobs 610) are received by the controller 700 via the cellular antenna 730 and cellular unit 735. The controller 700 converts the communications to an ISM protocol and transmits the message to the ISM network 616 via ISM band antenna 710 and ISM unit 715).
With respect to claim 20 Zeiler teaches the power tool, wherein the gateway power tool is at least one of a power supply, a crimper, a cutter, a saw, a jackhammer, a coring drill, or a concrete vibrator (Zeiler, see paragraph [0058] Power tools can include drills, circular saws, jig saws, band saws, reciprocating saws, screw drivers, angle grinders, straight grinders, hammers, multi-tools, impact wrenches, rotary hammers, impact drivers, angle drills, pipe cutters, grease guns, and the like).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 14 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zeiler et al. (US 20130109375 hereinafter Zeiler) in view of Fauteux et al. (EP 3687024 hereinafter Fauteux).
With respect to claims 3, 12 and 19 Zeiler teaches the power tool, wherein the processor is further configured to:
wait a period of time after ceasing communication with the mesh network (Zeiler, see paragraph [0063] if the motor 165 is rotating, transmissions from the tracking unit 150 are delayed until rotation has ceased. However, if the transmissions are high priority, for instance, to indicate a possible theft of the tool 105, the transmissions are not delayed until rotation of the motor 165 ceases. Additionally, if the motor 165 rotates for a prolonged, uninterrupted period, particularly if the battery 160 is low, the transmissions of the tracking unit 150 are not delayed until rotation of the motor 165 ceases);
cease communication with the mesh network after transmitting the additional tool information to the additional power tool (Zeiler, see paragraphs [0122-0123] The tools 605 (i.e., 605a, 605b, 605c), fobs 610, and gateways 615 may further include a real time clock for synchronizing communications over the ISM network 616. For instance, the real time clock may be used by the ISM devices to determine precisely when to transmit and when to receive transmissions (e.g., for time multiplexed communications). In some instances, particular ISM devices are assigned receive and transmit time windows, which allows the devices to reduce power consumption as they may power down or enter a standby mode during periods in which the devices are not receiving or transmitting data).
Zeiler yet fails to explicitly disclose reestablish communication with the mesh network after waiting the period of time; transmit, via the mesh network, additional tool information to the additional power tool.
However, Fauteux discloses reestablish communication with the mesh network after waiting the period of time; transmit, via the mesh network, additional tool information to the additional power tool (Fauteux, see [0117] an operation protocol may be implemented such that any overlapping communications in one specific power tool may allow a specific communication interface 514 to be temporarily disabled until such time that it is suitable for reactivation. An example of this arrangement may be that when a power drill is in operation, the communication interface 514 in the battery 506 may be temporarily switched off from further wireless communication and thus allowing the communication interface 514 of the MCU 504 to handle all of the necessary communications. However, the wireless communication of the battery's 506 communication interface 514 may then be reactivated once the battery 506 is disconnected from the power tool).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to combine the teaching of Zeiler with the teaching of Fauteux to provide the systems and methods for Electrical device for a power system. Any overlapping communications in one specific power tool may allow a specific communication interface to be temporarily disabled until such time that it is suitable for reactivation, which allows the devices to reduce power consumption. The device exchanges information associated with operation of each device by connecting multiple devices with a communication network, and operates multiple devices based on exchange of information or an operational state of devices within a network, where the combination of elements according to known methods would yield a predictable result.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. This includes:
PG. Pub. US 20190222957 Distribution box for powering various tools and items by construction workers, has translation controller enabling communications between wireless unit and external network, and physical attachment portion securing gateway device to box.
PG. Pub. US 20220314819 Battery system for outdoor power equipment, has sub electrical connector that is configured to mate with main electrical connector and electrically couple terminals to electrically couple battery assembly to equipment interface.
PG. Pub. US 20170222382 Adapter for electrically connecting power tool battery pack with power tool and tool battery pack charger, has wireless communication circuit for receiving data from computing device, and controller for performing action according to data.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892 Notice of References Cited.
07/26/2025
/ELIZABETH KASSA/Examiner, Art Unit 2457
/ARIO ETIENNE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2457