DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 8-11, filed 6/5/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 16-20 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of the newly cited reference of Tanaka et al. (U.S. 2012/0228481).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 16-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hudman (U.S. 2021/0132323) in view of Tanaka et al. (U.S. 2012/0228481).
Regarding claim 16, Hudman discloses a head-mountable device (100, Fig. 1; page 2, para [0022]) comprising:
a display (106, Fig. 1; page 2, para [0022]); and
an optical assembly (112, Fig. 1; page 2, para [0023]) comprising a pair of lenses (such as 404 and 406 of 212 of 130l and 130r, Figs. 1-2 and 4A; page 3, para [0028]; page 4, para [0036]) providing a view to the display (106, Fig. 1) along an optical axis (such as optical axis 410 along 408, Figs. 1-3 and 4A; page 6, para [0045]), the pair of lenses (such as 404 and 406 of 212 of 130l and 130r, Figs. 1-2 and 4A) having surfaces that are facing each other (such as surfaces 418 and 424, Fig. 4A; page 5, para [0042]).
Hudman does not expressly disclose that the pair of lenses (such as 404 and 406 of 212 of 130l and 130r, Figs. 1-2 and 4A) have lubricious coatings on surfaces of the pair of lenses that are facing each other (such as surfaces 418 and 424, Fig. 4A; page 5, para [0042]), the lubricious coatings having an index of refraction that does not exceed an index of refraction of the pair of lenses. However, Tanaka discloses an optical lens assembly (103, Fig. 7B; page 4, para [0068]) comprising a pair of lenses (103a and 103b, Fig. 7B; page 4, para [0069]) having lubricious coatings on surfaces of the pair of lenses that are facing each other (surfaces of 103a and 103b facing each other, Fig. 7B; page 4, para [0069]), the lubricious coatings having an index of refraction that does not exceed an index of refraction of the pair of lenses, such as having the same refractive index as the pair of lenses (Fig. 7B; page 4, para [0069]) in order to suppress any reflections at an interface between the pair of lenses (Fig. 7B; page 4, para [0069]).
Therefore, before the time of the effective filing of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the pair of lenses (Hudman: such as 404 and 406 of 212 of 130l and 130r, Figs. 1-2 and 4A) of Hudman with the lubricious coatings (Tanaka: Fig. 7B; page 4, para [0069]) of Tanaka such that the lubricious coatings are on surfaces of the pair of lenses that are facing each other (Hudman: such as surfaces 418 and 424, Fig. 4A; Tanaka: surfaces of 103a and 103b facing each other, Fig. 7B; page 4, para [0069]), the lubricious coatings having an index of refraction that does not exceed an index of refraction of the pair of lenses, such as having the same refractive index as the pair of lenses (Tanaka: Fig. 7B; page 4, para [0069]) in order to obtain the benefits of suppressing any reflections at an interface between the pair of lenses as taught by Tanaka (Fig. 7B; page 4, para [0069]). Examiner notes that one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filing of the claimed invention would have been motivated to provide the lubricious coatings of Tanaka (Fig. 7B; page 4, para [0069]) on the surfaces of the pair of lenses of Hudman that are facing each other (Hudman: such as surfaces 418 and 424, Fig. 4A) in order to solve the analogous problem of suppressing any reflections at an interface between a pair of lenses by using lubricious coatings having a refractive index that is the same as the pair of lenses as taught by Tanaka (page 4, para [0069]).
Regarding claim 17, Hudman as modified by Tanaka discloses a head-mountable device with all the limitations of claim 16 above and further discloses wherein the pair of lenses (Hudman: such as 404 and 406 of 212 of 130l and 130r, Figs. 1-2 and 4A) are movable relative to each other to adjust an effective spherical correction (Hudman: page 5, para [0043]).
Regarding claim 18, Hudman as modified by Tanaka discloses a head-mountable device with all the limitations of claim 16 above and further discloses wherein the pair of lenses (Hudman: such as 404 and 406 of 212 of 130l and 130r, Figs. 1-2 and 4A) are movable relative to each other to adjust an effective cylindrical correction (Hudman: page 5, para [0043]).
Regarding claim 19, Hudman as modified by Tanaka discloses a head-mountable device with all the limitations of claim 18 above and further discloses the pair of lenses (Hudman: such as 404 and 406 of 212 of 130l and 130r, Figs. 1-2 and 4A) are rotatable about the optical axis (Hudman: 410, Fig. 4; page 6, para [0045]) of the optical assembly (Hudman: 112, Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 20, Hudman as modified by Tanaka discloses a head-mountable device with all the limitations of claim 16 above and further discloses wherein the pair of lenses (Hudman: such as 404 and 406 of 212 of 130l and 130r, Figs. 1-2 and 4A) have identical, non-rotationally symmetric surfaces oriented in a complementary configuration (Hudman: such as lenses 404 and 406 being Alvarez lenses having opposing complementary refractive surfaces, Fig. 4; page 5, para [0039]; page 4, para [0033]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-15 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art as presently searched does not disclose the head-mountable device of claim 1 (having all the combination of features including a frame; a display supported by the frame; an optical assembly providing a view to the display, the optical assembly comprising: a lens assembly being removably coupled to the frame and comprising a lens and an identifier corresponding to a type of vision correction provided by the lens assembly; and a pair of lenses moveable relative to each other to adjust an effective spherical correction; and a processor operably connected to the lens assembly via a communication interface while the lens assembly is removably coupled to the frame, the processor being configured to control movement of the pair of lenses based on the identifier of the lens assembly and a target vision correction of the optical assembly) and does not disclose the head-mountable device of claim 10 (having all the combination of features including a frame; a display supported by the frame; and an optical assembly providing a view to the display, the optical assembly comprising: a pair of lenses moveable relative to each other to adjust an effective spherical correction; a first connector on a first side of the pair of lenses for releasably engaging a first lens assembly having a first spherical correction with a positive diopter the first connector providing a communication interface with an identifier indicating a type of vision correction provided by the first lens assembly; a second connector on a second side of the pair of lenses for releasably engaging a second lens assembly having a second spherical correction with a negative diopter, the second connector providing a communication interface with an identifier indicating a type of vision correction provided by the second lens assembly; and a third connector on the second side of the pair of lenses for releasably engaging a third lens assembly having a cylindrical correction, the third connector providing a communication interface with an identifier indicating a type of vision correction provided by the third lens assembly). Claims 2-9 are allowable as being dependent on claim 1. Claims 11-15 are allowable as being dependent upon claim 10.
Conclusion
/PAUL C LEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2871