DETAILED ACTION
The instant application having Application No. 18/689,399 filed on 03/05/2024 is presented for examination by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 15 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shanmugaraju et al. (Pub. No. 2023/0156842 A1 hereinafter Shanmugaraju) in view of ETSI TS 137 340 V15.13.0 (2021-09) (“Universal Mobile Telecommunications System (UMTS)” hereinafter NPL), and further in view of Xu et al. (Pub. No. 2022/0007443 A1 hereinafter Xu).
Regarding claim 1, Shanmugaraju teaches “an apparatus for supporting multiple bearers for a user equipment (UE)” as [(Para. 0003), With the 5G New Radio (5G-NR) wireless interface standard, 5G user equipment (UE) can support dual-connectivity (DC) split-bearer configurations that simultaneously utilize both 5G and LTE radio bearers…. (Para. 0019), With the eNodeB 103 and gNodeB 101 operating in parallel to establishes dual-connectivity with the UEs 108, the UEs 108 benefits from parallel communication links via the LTE primary cell group 112 and the 5G NR secondary cell group 110 for accessing the wireless services of the core network 130] “perform, upon detecting an addition of a secondary node in the communication network” [(Para. 0032), an eNodeB coupled to the at least one CU-UP, wherein the eNodeB comprises one or more radio points (RPs) configured as a second cell group to establish a second radio link for communicating with user equipment (UE) within the wireless coverage area].
However, Shanmugaraju does not specifically disclose with a limited Logical Channel Identifier (LCID) in a communication network, the apparatus configured to: determine a configuration mode of a bearer to be added for the UE, wherein the configuration mode is one of main cell group (MCG) mode and Secondary Cell Group (SCG)-split mode; allocate a LCID to the bearer based on the configuration mode of the bearer and one or more criteria; check whether LCIDs are available for allocating corresponding bearers requiring SCG-split mode in response to the addition of the secondary node; selectively assign the LCIDs to the corresponding bearers requiring the SCG-split mode, when the LCIDs are available for the bearers; and selectively switch a set of bearers, among the bearers, into the SCG-split mode when the LCIDs are available only for the set of bearers.
In an analogous art, NPL teaches “the apparatus configured to: determine a configuration mode of a bearer to be added for the UE, wherein the configuration mode is one of main cell group (MCG) mode and Secondary Cell Group (SCG)-split mode;” as [(Page 10, Section 4.2.2), , three bearer types exist: MCG bearer, SCG bearer and split bearer] “allocate a LCID to the bearer based on the configuration mode of the bearer and one or more criteria” [(Page 11, Section 4.2.2.-2), for SRB1 and SRB2 the logical channels are always configured at least in the MCG… each bearer (MCG, SCG and split bearer) can be terminated either in MN or in SN.].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings as in Shanmugaraju to provide an effective technique as taught by NPL to utilise resources provided by two different nodes connected via non-ideal backhaul, one providing NR access and the other one providing either E-UTRA or NR access [NPL: Section 4.1.1].
However, the combination of Shanmugaraju and NPL does not specifically disclose with a limited Logical Channel Identifier (LCID) in a communication network; check whether LCIDs are available for allocating corresponding bearers requiring SCG-split mode in response to the addition of the secondary node; selectively assign the LCIDs to the corresponding bearers requiring the SCG-split mode, when the LCIDs are available for the bearers; and selectively switch a set of bearers, among the bearers, into the SCG-split mode when the LCIDs are available only for the set of bearers.
In an analogous art, Xu teaches “with a limited Logical Channel Identifier (LCID) in a communication network;” as [(Para. 0126), In the example, the bearer suggestion format may include a logical channel identifier (LCH-ID) ]“check whether LCIDs are available for allocating corresponding bearers requiring SCG-split mode in response to the addition of the secondary node;” [(Para. 00117), The MN may transmit an RRC configuration (e.g., reconfiguration) message to the UE, e.g., indicating that the SCG bearer configuration includes a logical channel (LCH) mapped on to NR FR1 cell(s) (1240). The RRC reconfiguration message may be an example of the transmission of configuration information described above with respect to 806. The UE may communicate with the SN using NR FR1 (1250).] “selectively assign the LCIDs to the corresponding bearers requiring the SCG-split mode, when the LCIDs are available for the bearers;” [(Para. 0007), The network may select bearer configurations including a range of values for a split bearer parameter based on the information, and may transmit an indication of the selected bearer configuration to the UE, e.g., if the selected bearer configuration is used for uplink transition by the UE. The UE may exchange data with the network using the selected bearer configuration and dynamically adjusting the split bearer parameter within the range of values. In addition, the network may also select a downlink bearer configuration based on the UE transmitted information and may exchange data with the UE using the selected downlink bear configuration … (Para. 0126), the bearer suggestion format may include a logical channel identifier (LCH-ID), bearer type, split bearer threshold (note that additional or different split bearer parameters may be included, e.g., an offloading ratio)] “and selectively switch a set of bearers, among the bearers, into the SCG-split mode when the LCIDs are available only for the set of bearers” [(Para. 0126), the bearer suggestion format may include a logical channel identifier (LCH-ID), bearer type, split bearer threshold (note that additional or different split bearer parameters may be included, e.g., an offloading ratio)… (Para. 0007), The UE may exchange data with the network using the selected bearer configuration and dynamically adjusting the split bearer parameter within the range of values.].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings as in Shanmugaraju and NPL for negotiating bearer types and bearer type configurations based on information or measurements of the UE. [NPL: See Abstract].
Regarding claim 15, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 1.
Regarding claim 20, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 1.
Claims 2-14 and 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shanmugaraju in view of NPL, further in view of Xu, and further in view of Chen (CN-102118858-A hereinafter Chen).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Shanmugaraju, NPL and Xu, specifically Xu teaches “wherein allocating the LCID to the bearer based on the configuration mode of the bearer comprises: selectively allocate a LCID from a second range of LCIDs determined based on the one or more criteria, when the configuration mode is the SCG-split mode” as [(Para. 0126), the bearer suggestion format may include a logical channel identifier (LCH-ID), bearer type, split bearer threshold (note that additional or different split bearer parameters may be included, e.g., an offloading ratio)… (Para. 0007), The UE may exchange data with the network using the selected bearer configuration and dynamically adjusting the split bearer parameter within the range of values.].
However, the combination of Shanmugaraju, NPL and Xu does not specifically disclose selectively allocate a LCID from a first range of LCIDs determined based on the one or more criteria, when the configuration mode is the MCG mode.
In an analogous art, Chen teaches “selectively allocate a LCID from a first range of LCIDs determined based on the one or more criteria, when the configuration mode is the MCG mode” as [(See Abstract), wherein the LCIDs of the logical channel corresponding to the each RB in the same group are different… (Page 8), Distribution module, be used for a plurality of radio bearer RB of via node RN equipment correspondence are divided at least two groups].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings as in Shanmugaraju, NPL and Xu for improvement the assignment logic channel number and definite logic channel in order to when the service dispatching, makes the logic channel of each the RB correspondence after receiving terminal can be determined to expand [Chen: Page 7-8].
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Shanmugaraju, NPL, Xu and Chen, specifically Chen teaches “select a range from the LCID-3 to LCID-6 when LCIDs are reserved for bearer type switching” as [(Page 8), The corresponding relation of RB sign and Logic Channel Identifier is set up in described base station, and wherein Logic Channel Identifier comprises logical channel number LCID and logic channel group id] “wherein the limited LCIDs available for the UE in the communication network is LCID-3 to LCID-10,” [(See Abstract), The corresponding relation of RB sign and Logic Channel Identifier is set up in described base station, and wherein Logic Channel Identifier comprises logical channel number LCID and logic channel group id;] “and wherein the first range of LCIDs is determined based on the one or more criteria by: select a range from the LCID-3 to LCID-8 when the LCIDs are unreserved for the bearer type switching;” as [(Page 8), Distribution module, be used for a plurality of radio bearer RB of via node RN equipment correspondence are divided at least two groups, be the different group id of each set of dispense, and be the logical channel assignment logical channel number LCID of each RB correspondence in each group, the LCID difference of the logic channel of each RB correspondence in wherein same group] “and select a range from the LCID-3 to LCID-10 when the LCIDs are unreserved for the bearer type switching and a maximum four LCIDs are required at a time” [(Page 8), Distribution module, be used for a plurality of radio bearer RB of via node RN equipment correspondence are divided at least two groups, be the different group id of each set of dispense, and be the logical channel assignment logical channel number LCID of each RB correspondence in each group, the LCID difference of the logic channel of each RB correspondence in wherein same group].
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Shanmugaraju, NPL, Xu and Chen, specifically Chen teaches “wherein the limited LCIDs available for the UE in the communication network is LCID-3 to LCID-10,” as [(Page 8), The corresponding relation of RB sign and Logic Channel Identifier is set up in described base station, and wherein Logic Channel Identifier comprises logical channel number LCID and logic channel group id;] “and wherein the second range of LCIDs is determined based on the one or more criteria comprises one of: select a range from LCID-3 to LCID-10 when LCIDs are unreserved for bearer type switching; and select a range from LCIDs-7 to LCID-10 when the LCIDs are reserved for the bearer type switching” [(Page 8), Distribution module, be used for a plurality of radio bearer RB of via node RN equipment correspondence are divided at least two groups, be the different group id of each set of dispense, and be the logical channel assignment logical channel number LCID of each RB correspondence in each group, the LCID difference of the logic channel of each RB correspondence in wherein same group].
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Shanmugaraju, NPL and Xu, specifically Xu teaches “wherein when the LCIDs are reserved for the bearer type switch, allocating the LCID from the second range of LCIDs” as [(See table 0126; reserved)] “comprises: wherein the bearer of the SCG-split mode is considered as the MCG mode when the LCID is allocated from the first range of LCIDs” [(Para. 0132), The range of parameters may include a range of split threshold, a range of offloading ratios, and/or a selection of possible bearer types (e.g., MCG, SCG, and/or split), among various possibilities.].
However, the combination of Shanmugaraju, NPL and Xu does not specifically disclose perform, upon determining whether a LCID is available from the second range of LCIDs, at least one of: when the LCID is available, allocate the LCID available from the second range; and when the LCID is unavailable, allocate a LCID from the first range of LCIDs.
In an analogous art, Chen teaches “perform, upon determining whether a LCID is available from the second range of LCIDs,” as [(), LCID can identify the logic channel of each RB correspondence,] “at least one of: when the LCID is available, allocate the LCID available from the second range; and when the LCID is unavailable, allocate a LCID from the first range of LCIDs” [(), Because the embodiment of the invention not on the same group the LCID of logic channel can be identical, as long as the quantity of the logic channel of each group is not more than the quantity of available LCID, after RB is expanded, only need the quantity of increase group, the quantity that just can guarantee current LCID satisfies the demand after the RB expansion].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings as in Shanmugaraju, NPL and Xu for improvement the assignment logic channel number and definite logic channel in order to when the service dispatching, makes the logic channel of each the RB correspondence after receiving terminal can be determined to expand [Chen: Page 7-8].
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Shanmugaraju, NPL and Xu, specifically Xu teaches “wherein for checking whether the LCIDs are available for the allocating to the bearers requiring the SCG-split mode,” as [(Para. 0117), For example, the MN may inform the SN that the SCG bearer will be configured on NR FR1 cells, and the SN may acknowledge the message and/or may confirm that resources are available. The MN may transmit an RRC configuration (e.g., reconfiguration) message to the UE, e.g., indicating that the SCG bearer configuration includes a logical channel (LCH) mapped on to NR FR1 cell(s) (1240).] “the apparatus is configured to: perform, upon determining whether LCIDs are reserved for a bearer type switching, one of: determine reserved LCIDs among the LCIDs which are reserved for the bearer type switching;” [(See table 0126; reserved)]].
However, the combination of Shanmugaraju, NPL and Xu does not specifically disclose selectively compare a number of available LCIDs and a number of active bearers requiring the SCG-split mode when the LCIDs are unreserved for the bearer type switching.
In an analogous art, Chen teaches “selectively compare a number of available LCIDs and a number of active bearers requiring the SCG-split mode when the LCIDs are unreserved for the bearer type switching” as [(Page 8), Because the embodiment of the invention not on the same group the LCID of logic channel can be identical, as long as the quantity of the logic channel of each group is not more than the quantity of available LCID, after RB is expanded, only need the quantity of increase group, the quantity that just can guarantee current LCID satisfies the demand after the RB expansion].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings as in Shanmugaraju, NPL and Xu for improvement the assignment logic channel number and definite logic channel in order to when the service dispatching, makes the logic channel of each the RB correspondence after receiving terminal can be determined to expand [Chen: Page 7-8].
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Shanmugaraju, NPL and Xu, specifically Xu teache “wherein selectively assigning the LCIDs to the corresponding bearers requiring the SCG-split mode” as [(Para. 0117), For example, the MN may inform the SN that the SCG bearer will be configured on NR FR1 cells, and the SN may acknowledge the message and/or may confirm that resources are available. The MN may transmit an RRC configuration (e.g., reconfiguration) message to the UE, e.g., indicating that the SCG bearer configuration includes a logical channel (LCH) mapped on to NR FR1 cell(s) (1240).] “comprises one of: assign the reserved LCIDs to the bearers requiring the SCG-split mode when the LCIDs are reserved for the bearer type switching” [(See table 0126; reserved)].
However, the combination of Shanmugaraju, NPL and Xu does not specifically disclose selectively assign the LCIDs to the bearers requiring the SCG-split mode based on the comparison.
In an analogous art, Chen teaches “selectively assign the LCIDs to the bearers requiring the SCG-split mode based on the comparison” as [(Page 8), Because the embodiment of the invention not on the same group the LCID of logic channel can be identical, as long as the quantity of the logic channel of each group is not more than the quantity of available LCID, after RB is expanded, only need the quantity of increase group, the quantity that just can guarantee current LCID satisfies the demand after the RB expansion].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings as in Shanmugaraju, NPL and Xu for improvement the assignment logic channel number and definite logic channel in order to when the service dispatching, makes the logic channel of each the RB correspondence after receiving terminal can be determined to expand [Chen: Page 7-8].
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Shanmugaraju, NPL, Xu and Chen, specifically Chen teaches “wherein selectively assigning the LCIDs to the bearers requiring the SCG-split mode based on the comparison comprises one of: assign the LCIDs to the bearers requiring the SCG-split mode when the number of available LCIDs are greater than the number of active bearers requiring the SCG-split bearer mode; and assign the LCIDs to at least a set of bearers among the bearers requiring the SCG- split mode when the number of available LCIDs are less than the number of active bearers requiring the SCG-split bearer mode” [(Page 8), Because the embodiment of the invention not on the same group the LCID of logic channel can be identical, as long as the quantity of the logic channel of each group is not more than the quantity of available LCID, after RB is expanded, only need the quantity of increase group, the quantity that just can guarantee current LCID satisfies the demand after the RB expansion].
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Shanmugaraju, NPL, Xu and Chen, specifically Chen teaches “wherein assigning the LCIDs to the at least a set of bearers among the bearers require the SCG-split mode when the number of available LCIDs are less than the number of active bearers requiring the SCG-split bearer mode, further comprises: select the set of the bearers among the bearers requiring the SCG-split mode based on priority of the bearers and assigning the LCIDs the set of bearers;” [(Page 10), Wherein, distribution module 1 can be divided into groups to a plurality of RB earlier, to RB grouping and distribute RB group id and RB number mode and identify identical with the mode of LCID to logic channel grouping and assignment logic channel group.] “and assign the LCIDs in reverse order to the bearers requiring the SCG split mode by reconfiguring the LCIDs” [(Page 10), Set up module 2, be used to set up the corresponding relation of RB sign and Logic Channel Identifier, wherein Logic Channel Identifier comprises LCID and logic channel group id].
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Shanmugaraju, NPL, Xu and Chen, specifically Xu teaches “when the LCIDs is assigned to the set of bearers, the apparatus is configured to consider remaining bearers, among the bearers requiring the SCG-split mode, in the MCG mode” as [(Para. 0087), In the user plane, the UE may support three bearer types, e.g., MCG-bearer, SCG-bearer, and split bearer (e.g., using both the MCG and SCG)].
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Shanmugaraju, NPL and Xu, specifically Xu teaches “wherein the apparatus further configured to: perform, upon detecting an activation of QCI-1 and disabling of E-UTRAN New Radio Dual Connectivity (ENDC ), determine a number of active bearers in the SCG-split mode,” as [(Para. 0005), In some embodiments, a user equipment device (UE) may enter a dual connectivity mode of communication with a cellular network. The UE may determine a suggested uplink bearer configuration and/or a suggested downlink bearer configuration and transmit the suggested bearer configurations to the network. The network may select a bearer configuration or configurations based on the UE's suggested bearer configurations and/or other information, and may transmit an indication of the selected bearer configuration to the UE, e.g., if the selected bearer configuration is used for uplink transition by the UE. The UE may exchange data with the network using the selected bearer configuration. The network may also select a downlink bearer configuration based on the UE suggestion and exchange data with the UE using the selected downlink bear configuration] “in response to the determination; when the number of available LCIDs are greater than the number of the active bearers in the SCG-split mode, switch all the active bearers to the MCG mode;” [(Para. 0006), The network may select a bearer configuration based on the measurement report, and may transmit an indication of the selected bearer configurations to the UE. The UE may exchange data with the network using the selected bearer configuration.] “and when the number of available LCIDs are less than the number of the active bearers in the SCG-split mode, switch at least a set of the bearers among the active bearers in the SCG-split mode to the MCG mode” [(Para. 0006), The network may select a bearer configuration based on the measurement report, and may transmit an indication of the selected bearer configurations to the UE. The UE may exchange data with the network using the selected bearer configuration.].
However, the combination of Shanmugaraju, NPL and Xu does not specifically disclose determine a number of available LCIDs available.
In an analogous art, Chen teaches “determine a number of available LCIDs available” as [(Page 10), Wherein, distribution module 1 can be divided into groups to a plurality of RB earlier, to RB grouping and distribute RB group id and RB number mode and identify identical with the mode of LCID to logic channel grouping and assignment logic channel group.].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings as in Shanmugaraju, NPL and Xu for improvement the assignment logic channel number and definite logic channel in order to when the service dispatching, makes the logic channel of each the RB correspondence after receiving terminal can be determined to expand [Chen: Page 7-8].
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Shanmugaraju, NPL and Xu, specifically Xu teaches “wherein switching the at least set of the bearers among the active bearers in the SCG-split mode to the MCG mode” as [(Para. 0087), In the user plane, the UE may support three bearer types, e.g., MCG-bearer, SCG-bearer, and split bearer (e.g., using both the MCG and SCG)] “comprises: select the set of the bearers to be switched to the MCG mode based on priority of the bearers and switching the set of bearers into the MCG mode” [(Para. 0006), The network may select a bearer configuration based on the measurement report, and may transmit an indication of the selected bearer configurations to the UE. The UE may exchange data with the network using the selected bearer configuration.].
However, the combination of Shanmugaraju, NPL and Xu does not specifically disclose switch all the bearers into the MCG split mode by reconfiguring the LCIDs and assigning the LCIDs in reverse order.
In an analogous art, Chen teaches “switch all the bearers into the MCG split mode by reconfiguring the LCIDs and assigning the LCIDs in reverse order” as [(Page 10), Set up module 2, be used to set up the corresponding relation of RB sign and Logic Channel Identifier, wherein Logic Channel Identifier comprises LCID and logic channel group id].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings as in Shanmugaraju, NPL and Xu for improvement the assignment logic channel number and definite logic channel in order to when the service dispatching, makes the logic channel of each the RB correspondence after receiving terminal can be determined to expand [Chen: Page 7-8].
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Shanmugaraju, NPL, Xu and Chen, specifically Xu teaches “when the set of bearers is switched to the MCG mode, the apparatus is configured to release remaining bearers among the active bearers in the SCG- split mode” as [(Para. 0087), In the user plane, the UE may support three bearer types, e.g., MCG-bearer, SCG-bearer, and split bearer (e.g., using both the MCG and SCG)].
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Shanmugaraju, NPL, Xu and Chen, specifically Chen teaches “wherein allocating the LCID to the bearer based on the configuration mode of the bearer when UE supports eLCID comprises: select a range from the LCID-32 to LCID-38, when the configuration mode is the MCG mode” as [(Page 8), Distribution module, be used for a plurality of radio bearer RB of via node RN equipment correspondence are divided at least two groups, be the different group id of each set of dispense, and be the logical channel assignment logical channel number LCID of each RB correspondence in each group, the LCID difference of the logic channel of each RB correspondence in wherein same group] “and select a range from the LCID-3 to LCID-10, when the configuration mode is the SCG split mode” [(Page 8), Distribution module, be used for a plurality of radio bearer RB of via node RN equipment correspondence are divided at least two groups, be the different group id of each set of dispense, and be the logical channel assignment logical channel number LCID of each RB correspondence in each group, the LCID difference of the logic channel of each RB correspondence in wherein same group].
Regarding claim 16, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 2.
Regarding claim 17, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 3.
Regarding claim 18, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 6.
Regarding claim 19, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 7.
Conclusion
/NATALI PASCUAL PEGUERO/Examiner, Art Unit 2463
/ASAD M NAWAZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2463