DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-7 are pending.
This is in response to the amendments filed 12/30/2025.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages filed 12/30/2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-7 under 35 USC§ 102 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Oklejas, Jr, that is found to provide a flow meter on a drain pipe.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the pending claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Since applicant’s amendment necessitated the new grounds for rejections, this action has been made Final.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/22/2025 was filed after the mailing date of the prior action. The submission complies with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a preparation unit”, “a concentration control unit”, and “a flow regulating mechanism” in claim 1.
If applicant intends to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to remove the structure, materials, or acts that performs the claimed function; or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) does/do not recite sufficient structure, materials, or acts to perform the claimed function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Brammer (US 20180133665) in view of Oklejas, Jr. (US 8691086).
Regarding claim 1, Brammer disclose a device (200, see Fig. 2) for supplying liquid for semiconductor manufacturing (para.0041), comprising: a supply pipe (the pipe labeled as “DI water IN” at the top of the figure), supplying a solvent (“DI water”); a preparation unit (V6,B1), preparing liquid for semiconductor manufacturing with predetermined concentration by adding a predetermined amount of a chemical solution to the solvent (NH3 mixing into B1 with DI water, para.0059); a concentration control unit (LAH,LAL, para.0069), managing the preparation unit so that the liquid for semiconductor manufacturing has predetermined concentration of the chemical solution, wherein the supply pipe branches into a drain pipe ( the pipe from the bottom of B1 towards V11 and “drain”) connected to the supply pipe at a stage subsequent to the concentration control unit and a main pipe (the pipe from the bottom of B1 towards FR21) communicating from the drain pipe to a point of use (the outlets connected to V8), and the main pipe is provided with a first flow meter (FR21, para.0072), and the drain pipe is provided with a flow-regulating mechanism (V11) capable of responding to a measured value of the first flow meter (in that V11 is configured in a similar manner to V31/V6).
Brammer is silent to having the drain pipe being provided with a second flow meter.
Oklejas, Jr. teach the use of a drain pipe (16) provided with a flow meter (148, see Fig. 3, col. 4, lns. 30-54).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to employ a flow meter as taught by Oklejas, Jr. into the device of Brammer to have the drain pipe being provided with a second flow meter, in order measure the flow rate out of the drain pipe, and if necessary operate a pump (Oklejas, Jr. col. 7, lns. 36-43).
Regarding claim 2, Brammer disclose a flow rate of the main pipe is capable of being controlled by setting a total flow rate of the main pipe and the drain pipe to approximately a maximum usage amount at the point of use and varying a flow rate of the drain pipe by the flow-regulating mechanism (the flow rate of the main pipe is capable as such since there exists a flow path within the main pipe to permit the limitations for controlling the flow).
Regarding claim 3, Brammer disclose the flow-regulating mechanism is a valve (V11 is a “2-way valve”, para.0071), and a flow rate is regulated by regulating an opening degree of the valve (as is old and well known in the art).
Regarding claim 4, Brammer disclose the flow-regulating mechanism is a flow- regulating valve or a constant pressure valve (V11 is a “drain valve” or “2-way valve”, para.0071, where either of these valves can be considered as a regulating valve or a constant pressure valve as they may regulate flow and/or be set to maintain a constant pressure).
Regarding claim 5, Brammer disclose as a means for injecting the chemical solution, a pump (at P2) or a transportation means that pressurizes a closed tank (B1 tank) filled with a chemical solution with an inert gas (from the “gas In” conduit) and pushes out the chemical solution is used (para. 0063, P2 is a booster pump).
Regarding claim 6, Brammer disclose the chemical solution is a conductive solute (para.0070), the concentration control unit comprises a conductivity meter (at Q1,para.0072) or an absorption photometer, and an amount of the chemical solution added is capable of being controlled based on a measured value of the conductivity meter (para.0073) or the absorption photometer.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brammer ‘665 and Oklejas, Jr. (US 8691086) in view of Nakagawa et al. (US 5896874).
Regarding claim 7, Brammer and Oklejas, Jr. disclose all of the features of the claimed invention, although are silent to having that the chemical solution is a non-conductive solute, the concentration control unit comprises a TOC meter or an absorption photometer, and an amount of the chemical solution added is capable of being controlled based on a measured value of the TOC meter or the absorption photometer. Nakagawa et al. teach the use of a system having the chemical solution is a non-conductive solute (pure water), the concentration control unit comprises a TOC meter or an absorption photometer (15), and an amount of the chemical solution added is capable of being controlled based on a measured value of the TOC meter or the absorption photometer (“continuously measured by the absorption photometer 15,Col. 8,lns. 53-col.9,lns.41).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to employ a system as taught by Nakagawa et al. into the combined device of Brammer and Oklejas, Jr. to have the chemical solution is a non-conductive solute, the concentration control unit comprises a TOC meter or an absorption photometer, and an amount of the chemical solution added is capable of being controlled based on a measured value of the TOC meter or the absorption photometer, in order to have a system that provides a solution that is continuously monitored in real time that reduces downtime and increases yield productivity (Nakagawa et al., col. 11, lns. 10-32).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
https://www.uspto.gov/patents/uspto-automated-interview-request-air-form.
/CRAIG J PRICE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753