DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . This Office Action is responsive to the Applicant' s communication filed February 23, 2026. In view of this communication, 1-6, 9-12, 14-19, and 21-24 are now pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Page 10, ¶ 3, filed February 23, 2026, with respect to the specification have been fully considered and are persuasive. The objection of November 24, 2025 has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see Page 13, ¶ 1 – Page 14, ¶ 1, filed February 23, 2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 under U.S.C. 102(a)(1) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Salter et al. (US 10784745 B2, hereafter referred to as Salter).
Applicant's arguments, see Page 14, ¶ 5 – Page 15, ¶ 3, filed February 23, 2026, with respect to claim 2 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding Claim 2, in response to applicant’s argument that there is no teaching, suggestion, or motivation to combine the references, the examiner recognizes that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). In this case, Dircks et al. (US 20200373814 A1) discloses a first cooling channel, a second cooling channel, and a third cooling channel for a stator, and Salter et al. (US 10784745 B2) discloses details of a second cooling channel for a stator, and discloses a reason for doing so, including an improvement to cooling efficiency (C1L53-55: “There is therefore a need for an improved way of cooling an electrical machine that combines good cooling efficiency, mechanical simplicity and low noise.”).
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 12 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-4, 10-12, 14-15, and 21-23 of this application is patentably indistinct from claims 1-3, 11-12, 14-16, and 22 of Application No. 18/689,423. Pursuant to 37 CFR 1.78(f), when two or more applications filed by the same applicant or assignee contain patentably indistinct claims, elimination of such claims from all but one application may be required in the absence of good and sufficient reason for their retention during pendency in more than one application. Applicant is required to either cancel the patentably indistinct claims from all but one application or maintain a clear line of demarcation between the applications. See MPEP § 822.
Claims 1-6, 9-12, 14-19, and 21-23 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3, 11-12, 14-16, and 22 of copending Application No. 18/689,423 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they claim substantially the same subject matter (see below).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Element of Present Application
Corresponding Claim Language of Application 18/689,423
RE Claim 1: An electric machine, comprising:
Claim 1 recites: An electric machine, comprising:
a rotor group including a shaft rotatable about an axis of rotation and a rotor non-rotatably fixed to the shaft
a rotor group comprising a shaft that is rotatable about an axis of rotation and a rotor that is non-rotatably fixed to the shaft
a housing group including a housing and a stator received in the housing;
a housing group comprising a housing and a stator that is received in the housing
the rotor group rotatably arranged in the housing group, the stator disposed radially adjacent to the rotor and encircling the rotor with respect to the axis of rotation
the rotor group being rotatably arranged in the housing group, wherein the stator is radially adjacent to the rotor and encircles the rotor with respect to the axis of rotation
at least two axially extending cooling channels formed in and/or on the stator;
at least two axially extending cooling channels disposed in or on the stator,
a first circulation chamber disposed axially adjacent to the stator at a first axial end of the housing;
a first circulation chamber axially adjacent to the stator disposed at a first axial end of the stator
a second circulation chamber disposed axially adjacent to the stator at a second axial end of the housing;
and a second circulation chamber axially adjacent to the stator disposed at a second axial end of the stator,
a flow path for guiding a coolant, the flow path defined at least by the at least two cooling channels, the first circulation chamber, and the second circulation chamber;
a flow path for guiding a coolant formed at least by the at least two cooling channels and the first and second circulation chambers,
a coolant inlet of the flow path disposed at one of the first axial end and the second axial end of the housing; a coolant outlet of the flow path disposed at one of the first axial end and the second axial end of the housing;
a coolant inlet of the flow path disposed at the first and/or second axial end of the stator and a coolant outlet of the flow path disposed at the first and/or second axial end of the stator
and wherein the at least two cooling channels extend axially through the entire stator and are flowed through in the flow path in parallel and/or in series with one another.
wherein the at least two cooling channels extend axially through the entire stator and can be flowed through in the flow path in parallel and/or in series with one another,
RE Claim 2:
Claim 2 recites:
the stator includes at least two stator teeth alternated with at least two stator slots;
the stator contains at least two stator teeth alternated with at least two stator slots
each stator tooth of the at least two stator teeth and/or each stator slot of the at least two stator slots is assigned a channel group including at least one of the at least two cooling channels.
each stator tooth and/or each stator slot is assigned a channel group comprising at least one of the at least two cooling channels,
RE Claim 3:
Claim 2 recites:
wherein at least one of the at least two cooling channels is formed: between two adjacent stator teeth of the at least two stator teeth of the stator; in a stator tooth of the at least two stator teeth of the stator; on a stator tooth of the at least two stator teeth of the stator; in a yoke of the stator; and/or on an outside of the stator.
and at least one of the at least two cooling channels is disposed between the two adjacent stator teeth of the stator and/or in the stator tooth of the stator and/or on the stator tooth of the stator and/or in a yoke of the stator and/or on an outside of the stator,
RE Claim 4:
Claim 3 recites:
wherein: the shaft includes a shaft cavity extending parallel to the axis of rotation; the coolant inlet of the flow path extends into the shaft cavity at the first axial end of the housing; and the shaft cavity is fluidically connected to the first circulation chamber and/or the second circulation chamber at the first axial end and/or the second axial end of the housing.
wherein :the shaft contains a shaft cavity extending parallel to the axis of rotation, the coolant inlet of the flow path leading into the shaft cavity at the first axial end of the stator and the shaft cavity being fluidically connected to the first and/or second circulation chamber at the first and/or second axial end of the stator, or the coolant inlet is disposed in the housing at the first and/or second axial end of the stator and leads into the first and/or second circulation chamber,
RE Claim 10:
Claim 11 recites:
wherein the at least two impeller blades of the impeller are backwardly inclined.
wherein the first/second impeller blades of the first/second impeller are backswept.
RE Claim 11:
Claim 12 recites:
wherein the impeller includes a tangentially outwardly directed impeller outlet and a negative attack angle.
wherein: the first/second impeller contains a tangentially outwardly directed first/second impeller outlet and a negative attack angle,
RE Claim 12:
Claim 14 recites
at least one flow barrier element is arranged on the at least two impeller blades of the impeller; and the at least one flow barrier element is aligned transversely to the axis of rotation, is formed on an axial end of the at least two impeller blades of the impeller, and faces the delimiting surface.
a disc-shaped first/second flow barrier aligned transversely to the axis of rotation arranged in the first and/or second circulation chamber.
Claim 15 recites:
wherein the first/second flow barrier represents a first/second delimiting surface for the first/second impeller of the rotor.
RE Claim 14:
Claim 14 recites:
a disc-shaped flow barrier aligned transversely to the axis of rotation and arranged in the first circulation chamber and/or the second circulation chamber,
further comprising a disc-shaped first/second flow barrier aligned transversely to the axis of rotation arranged in the first and/or second circulation chamber.
wherein the flow barrier defines the delimiting surface for the impeller of the rotor.
Claim 15 recites:
wherein the first/second flow barrier represents a first/second delimiting surface for the first/second impeller of the rotor.
RE Claim 15:
Claim 16 recites:
the housing includes a dividing element; and the dividing element is arranged in and divides one of the first circulation chamber and the second circulation chamber into at least two sub-chambers fluidically connected to each other.
wherein the housing comprises a first/second dividing element, wherein the first/second dividing element is arranged in the first and/or second circulation chamber and divides the first and/or second circulation chamber into at least two first/second chambers fluidically connected to each other.
RE Claim 21:
Claim 5 recites:
an impeller arranged at an axial end of the rotor, the impeller including: a back wall oriented transversely to the axis of rotation; and a plurality of impeller blades projecting axially from the back wall.
wherein a back wall of the first/second impeller carries the plurality of blades and extends in an axial direction away from the rotor in a radially outer region of the first/second impeller, for imparting an axial component to the flow through the first/second impeller away from the rotor.
RE Claim 22:
Claim 22 recites:
the back wall of the impeller has a surface facing the axial end plate of the housing; and the surface includes an angular region configured to direct the coolant axially away from the rotor.
wherein a back wall of the first/second impeller carries the plurality of blades and extends in an axial direction away from the rotor in a radially outer region of the first/second impeller, for imparting an axial component to the flow through the first/second impeller away from the rotor.
Claims 2-6, 9-12, 14-19, and 21-23 are rejected due to their dependence on claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 22 recites the limitation "the axial end plate" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-5, 17, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dircks et al. (US 20200373814 A1, hereafter referred to as Dircks) in view of Salter et al. (US 10784745 B2, hereafter referred to as Salter).
Regarding Claim 1, Dircks discloses (see Figures 1-2, and 4) an electric machine (1, ¶ [035]), comprising:
a rotor group including a shaft (2, ¶ [0035]) rotatable about an axis of rotation and a rotor (3, ¶ [0035]) non-rotatably fixed to the shaft (2, ¶ [0035]);
a housing group including a housing (5, ¶ [0035]) and a stator (4, ¶ [0035]) received in the housing (5, ¶ [0035]);
the rotor group rotatably arranged in the housing group, the stator (4, ¶ [0035]) disposed radially adjacent to the rotor (3, ¶ [0035]) and encircling the rotor (3, ¶ [0035]) with respect to the axis of rotation;
an axially extending cooling channel (S2, ¶ [0043]) formed in and/or on the stator (4, ¶ [0035]);
a first circulation chamber (S1, ¶ [0044]) disposed axially adjacent to the stator (4, ¶ [0035]) at a first axial end of the housing (5, ¶ [0035]);
a second circulation chamber (S3, ¶ [0045]) disposed axially adjacent to the stator (4, ¶ [0035]) at a second axial end of the housing (5, ¶ [0035]);
a flow path (S1-3) for guiding a coolant, the flow path (S1-3) defined at least by the cooling channel (S2, ¶ [0043]), the first circulation chamber (S1, ¶ [0044]), and the second circulation chambers (S3, ¶ [0045]);
a coolant inlet (Annotated Figure 1) of the flow path (S1-3) disposed at one of the first axial end and the second axial end of the housing (5, ¶ [0035]);
a coolant outlet (16b, ¶ [0045]) of the flow path disposed at one of the first axial end and the second axial end of the housing (5, ¶ [0035]); and
wherein the cooling channel (S2, ¶ [0043]) extends axially through the entire stator (4, ¶ [0035]) and are flowed through in the flow path in parallel and/or in series with one another.
Dircks does not explicitly disclose at least two axially extending cooling channels formed in and/or on the stator.
However, Salter, in the same field of technology, does disclose (see Figures 2-3, and 8) at least two axially extending cooling channels (36, C8L44-47) formed in and/or on the stator (12, C8L26).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the machine disclosed by Dircks such that at least two axially extending cooling channels are formed in and/on on the stator, as disclosed by Salter, in order to improve cooling efficiency (C1L53-55: “There is therefore a need for an improved way of cooling an electrical machine that combines good cooling efficiency, mechanical simplicity and low noise.”).
Regarding Claim 2/1, Dircks in view of Salter has been discussed above.
Dircks does not explicitly disclose that the stator includes at least two stator teeth alternated with at least two stator slots; and each stator tooth of the at least two stator teeth and/or each stator slot of the at least two stator slots is assigned a channel group including at least one of the at least two cooling channels.
However, Salter, in the same field of technology, does disclose (see Figures 2-3 and 8) that the stator (12, C8L26) includes at least two stator teeth (6, C8L36) alternated with at least two stator slots (4, C8L17); and each stator tooth (6, C8L36) of the at least two stator teeth (6, C8L36) and/or each stator slot (4, C8L17) of the at least two stator slots (4, C8L17) is assigned a channel group including at least one of the at least two cooling channels (36, C8L44-47: “Each void 34 extends through a stator tooth 28 and defines a cooling passageway 36 through which a cooling liquid (e.g., water) flows during operation of the electrical machine.”).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the machine disclosed by Dircks such that the stator includes at least two stator teeth alternated with at least two stator slots; and each stator tooth of the at least two stator teeth and/or each stator slot of the at least two stator slots is assigned a channel group including at least one of the at least two cooling channels, as disclosed by Salter, in order to improve cooling efficiency (C1L53-55: “There is therefore a need for an improved way of cooling an electrical machine that combines good cooling efficiency, mechanical simplicity and low noise.”).
Regarding Claim 4/1, Dircks in view of Salter has been discussed above.
Additionally, Dircks discloses (see Figure 1 above) that the shaft (2, ¶ [0035]) includes a shaft cavity (2a, ¶ [0042]) extending parallel to the axis of rotation; the coolant inlet (Annotated Figure 1) of the flow path (S1-3) extends into the shaft cavity (2a, ¶ [0042]) at the first axial end of the housing (5, ¶ [0035]); and the shaft cavity (2a, ¶ [0042]) is fluidically connected to the first circulation chamber (S1, ¶ [0044]) and/or the second circulation chamber (S3, ¶ [0045]) at the first axial end and the second axial end of the housing (5, ¶ [0035]).
Regarding Claim 5/1, Dircks in view of Salter has been discussed above.
Additionally, Dircks discloses (see Figure 1 above) that all cooling channels (S2, ¶ [0043]) of the at least two cooling channels (S2, ¶ [0043]) in the stator (4, ¶ [0035]) fluidically connect the first circulation chamber (S1, ¶ [0044]) with the second circulation chamber (S3, ¶ [0045]) and are flowable through parallel to each other in the flow path (S1-3).
Regarding Claim 17/1, Dircks in view of Salter has been discussed above.
Additionally, Dircks discloses that the coolant inlet (Annotated Figure 1) is formed in the housing (5, ¶ [0035]) adjacent to the first axial end and/or the second axial end of the housing (5, ¶ [0035]) and extends into the first circulation chamber (S1, ¶ [0044]) and/or the second circulation chamber (S3, ¶ [0045]).
Regarding Claim 19, Dircks discloses (see Figures 1-2, and 4 above) an electric machine (1, ¶ [035]), comprising:
a housing group including a housing (5, ¶ [0035]) and a stator (4, ¶ [0035]) arranged in the housing (5, ¶ [0035]);
a rotor group including a shaft (2, ¶ [0035]) rotatable about an axis of rotation and a rotor (3, ¶ [0035]) non-rotatably connected to the shaft (2, ¶ [0035]), the rotor group rotatably arranged in the housing group, the stator (4, ¶ [0035]) disposed radially adjacent to the rotor (3, ¶ [0035]) and encircling the rotor (3, ¶ [0035]) with respect to the axis of rotation;
an axially extending cooling channel (S2, ¶ [0043]) disposed in and/or on the housing (5, ¶ [0035]);
a first circulation chamber (S1, ¶ [0044]) disposed axially adjacent to the stator (4, ¶ [0035]) at a first axial end of the housing (5, ¶ [0035]);
a second circulation chamber (S3, ¶ [0045]) disposed axially adjacent to the stator (4, ¶ [0035]) at a second axial end of the housing (5, ¶ [0035]);
a coolant inlet (Annotated Figure 1) disposed adjacent to the first axial end of the housing (5, ¶ [0035]);
a coolant outlet (16b, ¶ [0045]) disposed adjacent to one of the first axial end and the second axial end of the housing (5, ¶ [0035]); and
a coolant flow path (S1-3) extending through the coolant inlet (Annotated Figure 1), the cooling channel (S2, ¶ [0043]), the first circulation chamber (S1, ¶ [0044]), the second circulation chamber (S3, ¶ [0045]), and the coolant outlet (16b, ¶ [0045]);
wherein the cooling channel (S2, ¶ [0043]) extends axially through the entire stator (4, ¶ [0035]).
Dircks does not explicitly disclose at least two axially extending cooling channels formed in and/or on the stator.
However, Salter, in the same field of technology, does disclose (see Figures 2-3, and 8) at least two axially extending cooling channels (36, C8L44-47) formed in and/or on the stator (12, C8L26).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the machine disclosed by Dircks such that at least two axially extending cooling channels are formed in and/or on the stator, as disclosed by Salter, in order to improve cooling efficiency (C1L53-55: “There is therefore a need for an improved way of cooling an electrical machine that combines good cooling efficiency, mechanical simplicity and low noise.”).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dircks in view of Salter as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view Heidelberg et al. (EP 0342554 B1, hereafter referred to as Heidelberg), and Grabherr et al. (US 20200295616 A1, hereafter referred to as Grabherr).
Regarding Claim 3/2/1, Dircks has been discussed above.
Additionally, Dircks discloses (see Figure 1 above) that at least one of the at least two cooling channels (S2, ¶ [0043]) is formed: on an outside of the stator (4, ¶ [0035]).
Dircks does not explicitly disclose that at least one of the at least two cooling channels is formed: between two adjacent stator teeth of the at least two stator teeth of the stator; in a stator tooth of the at least two stator teeth of the stator; on a stator tooth of the at least two stator teeth of the stator; in a yoke of the stator;
However, Salter, in the same field of technology, does disclose (see Figure 3) that at least one of the at least two cooling channels (36, C8L47-48) is formed: in a stator tooth (6, C8L36) of the at least two stator teeth (6, C8L36) of the stator (12, C8L26).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the machine disclosed by Dircks such that at least one of the at least two cooling channels is formed: in a stator tooth of the at least two stator teeth of the stator, as disclosed by Salter, in order to cool the stator laminations (C10L54-56: “In other words, the cooling liquid is circulated through the cooling passageways 36 to cool the stator laminations 1,”)
Dircks in view of Salter does not disclose that at least one of the at least two cooling channels is formed: between two adjacent stator teeth of the at least two stator teeth of the stator; on a stator tooth of the at least two stator teeth of the stator; in a yoke of the stator;
However, Heidelberg, in the same field of technology, does disclose (see Figure 2) that at least one of the at least two cooling channels (31/32, Page 3, ¶ 7) is formed: on a stator tooth (8, Page 3, ¶ 7) of the at least two stator teeth of the stator (4, Page 3, ¶ 7); in a yoke (Annotated Figure 2) of the stator (4, Page 3, ¶ 7);
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the machine disclosed by Dircks in view of Salter such that that at least one of the at least two cooling channels is formed: on a stator tooth of the at least two stator teeth of the stator; in a yoke of the stator, as disclosed by Heidelberg, in order to improve cooling without increasing the cost of the machine (Page 1, ¶ 5: “The invention has for its object to make an electrical machine with particularly effective, but structurally inexpensive cooling available.”)
Dircks in view of Salter and Heidelberg does not disclose that at least one of the at least two cooling channels is formed: between two adjacent stator teeth of the at least two stator teeth of the stator.
However, Grabherr, in the same field of technology, does disclose (see Figure 3) that at least one of the at least two cooling channels (19, ¶ [0066]) is formed: between two adjacent stator teeth (8, ¶ [0056]) of the at least two stator teeth (8, ¶ [0056]) of the stator (2, ¶ [0055]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the machine disclosed by Dircks in view of Salter and Heidelberg such that at least one of the at least two cooling channels is formed: between two adjacent stator teeth of the at least two stator teeth of the stator, as disclosed by Grabherr, in order to provide a space saving method of cooling the stator (¶ [0006]-[0007]).
Claims 6 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dircks in view of Salter as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Hasenkamp et al. (DE 102009029716 A1, hereafter referred to as Hasenkamp).
Regarding Claim 6/1, Dircks in view of Salter has been discussed above.
Dircks in view of Salter does not disclose at least two impeller blades are arranged on a surface of the rotor aligned transversely to the axis of rotation and facing the first axial end or the second axial end of the housing; a delimiting surface is disposed in the housing, is aligned transversely to the axis of rotation, and faces the at least two impeller blades; and the at least two impeller blades and the delimiting surface are disposed spaced apart from each other and together form an impeller of the rotor.
However, Hasenkamp, in the same field of technology, does disclose (see Figures 1-2) at least two impeller blades (Annotated Figure 2) are arranged on a surface of the rotor (7, Page 3, ¶ 8) aligned transversely to the axis of rotation (D, Page 3, ¶ 9) and facing the first axial end or the second axial end of the housing (9, Page 3, ¶ 9); a delimiting surface (Annotated Figure 1) is disposed in the housing (9, Page 3, ¶ 9), is aligned transversely to the axis of rotation (D, Page 3, ¶ 9), and faces the at least two impeller blades (Annotated Figure 2); and the at least two impeller blades (Annotated Figure 2) and the delimiting surface are disposed spaced apart from each other and together form an impeller (25, Page 4, ¶ 8) of the rotor (3, Page 3, ¶ 8).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the machine disclosed by Dircks in view of Salter such that at least two impeller blades are arranged on a surface of the rotor aligned transversely to the axis of rotation and facing the first axial end or the second axial end of the housing; a delimiting surface is disposed in the housing, is aligned transversely to the axis of rotation, and faces the at least two impeller blades; and the at least two impeller blades and the delimiting surface are disposed spaced apart from each other and together form an impeller of the rotor, as disclosed by Hasenkamp, in order to inexpensively remove heat from the stator (Page 2, ¶ 2).
Regarding Claim 10/6/1, Dircks in view of Salter and Hasenkamp has been discussed above.
Additionally, Hasenkamp discloses (see Figure 2 above) that the at least two impeller blades (Annotated Figure 2) of the impeller (25, Page 4, ¶ 8) are backwardly inclined (the impeller blades trend in a counterclockwise direction towards their radial ends, see Figure 2).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the machine disclosed by Dircks in view of Salter and Hasenkamp Hasenkamp such that that the at least two impeller blades of the impeller are backwardly inclined, as further disclosed by Hasenkamp, in order to inexpensively remove heat from the stator (Page 2, ¶ 2).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dircks in view of Hasenkamp as applied to claim 6 above, and further in view of Peng et al. (CN 110855043 A, hereafter referred to as Peng).
Regarding Claim 9/6/1, Dircks in view of Salter, Hasenkamp has been discussed above.
Dircks in view of Hasenkamp does not disclose at least two vanes are disposed on the delimiting surface; and the at least two vanes are arranged opposite the at least two impeller blades of the rotor.
However, Peng, in the same field of technology, does disclose (see Figure 10) at least two vanes (Annotated Figure 10) are disposed on the delimiting surface (131b1, Page 9, ¶ 2); and the at least two vanes (Annotated Figure 10) are arranged opposite the at least two impeller blades (111a, Page 8, ¶ 2) of the rotor (11a, Page 8, ¶ 1).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the machine disclosed by Dircks in view of Salter and Hasenkamp such that at least two vanes are disposed on the delimiting surface; and the at least two vanes are arranged opposite the at least two impeller blades of the rotor, as disclosed by Peng, in order to remove heat from the motor (Page 2, ¶ 1: “Therefore, how the motor to generate excessive heat can be eliminated is a problem is extremely important.”)
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dircks in view of Hasenkamp as applied to claim 6 above, and further in view of Hou et al. (CN 108448763 A, hereafter referred to as Hou).
Regarding Claim 11/6/1, Dircks in view of Salter and Hasenkamp has been discussed above.
Dircks in view of Salter and Hasenkamp does not disclose that the impeller contains includes a tangentially outwardly directed impeller outlet and a negative attack angle.
However, Hou, in the same field of technology, does disclose (see Figures 3) that the impeller (Figure 3) contains includes a tangentially outwardly directed impeller outlet (Annotated Figure 3) and a negative attack angle (Page 5, ¶ 4: “As shown in FIG. 3, the radiating blade 2 is in discharging state, blade angle of the radiating blade 2 is negative corner”).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the machine disclosed by Dircks in view of Salter and Hasenkamp such that the impeller contains includes a tangentially outwardly directed impeller outlet and a negative attack angle, as disclosed by Hou, in order to improve the heat radiating effect of the motor (Abstract: “the interior of the motor rotor is provided with a radiating blade, accelerating the flow of the motor surrounding flow to cool the motor main body so that in condition of not increasing structure complexity and obviously weight obtained under the forced draft cooling effect, improves the radiating effect of the motor.”)
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dircks in view of Salter as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Ye et al. (CN 100433509 C, hereafter referred to as Ye).
Regarding Claim 15/1, Dircks in view of Salter has been discussed above.
Dircks in view of Salter does not disclose that the housing includes a dividing element; and the dividing element is arranged in the and divides one of the first circulation chamber and the second circulation chamber into at least two sub-chambers fluidically connected to each other.
However, Ye, in the same field of technology, does disclose a dividing element (11, Page 4, ¶ 6); and the dividing element (11, Page 4, ¶ 6) is arranged in the and divides one of the first circulation chamber (Annotated Figure 2) and the second circulation chamber (Annotated Figure 2) into at least two sub-chambers fluidically connected to each other
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the machine disclosed by Dircks in view of Salter such that the housing includes a dividing element; and the dividing element is arranged in the and divides one of the first circulation chamber and the second circulation chamber into at least two sub-chambers fluidically connected to each other, as disclosed by Ye, in order to direct the flow of coolant towards the stator windings (Page 4, ¶ 8: “the driving air flow line is outer diameter of the fan blade 8 side end part of the stator winding 10 to end cap 14 inner surface, a vent hole 12, 8 inside diameter side of fan blade, fan blade 8 of the outer diameter side”).
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dircks in view of Salter and Hasenkamp as applied to claim 6 above, and further in view of Ye et al. (CN 100433509 C, hereafter referred to as Ye).
Regarding Claim 14/6/1, Dircks in view of Salter and Hasenkamp has been discussed above.
Dircks in view of Salter and Hasenkamp does not explicitly disclose a disc-shaped flow barrier aligned transversely to the axis of rotation and arranged in the first circulation chamber and/or the second circulation chamber, wherein the flow barrier defines the delimiting surface for the impeller of the rotor.
However, Ye, in the same field of technology, does disclose a disc-shaped flow barrier (11, Page 4, ¶ 6) aligned transversely to the axis of rotation and arranged in the first circulation chamber (Annotated Figure 2) and/or the second circulation chamber (Annotated Figure 2), wherein the flow barrier (11, Page 4, ¶ 6) defines the delimiting surface for the impeller of the rotor (2, Page 4, ¶ 2) (Page 4, ¶ 8: “the design formed by the inner fan blades 8 and ring 11 of front plate 2 and rotor end face (including the conductive ring 7) is composed of impeller”).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the machine disclosed by Dircks in view of Salter and Hasenkamp with a disc-shaped flow barrier aligned transversely to the axis of rotation and arranged in the first circulation chamber and/or the second circulation chamber, wherein the flow barrier defines the delimiting surface for the impeller of the rotor, as disclosed by Ye, in order to direct the flow of coolant towards the stator windings (Page 4, ¶ 8: “the driving air flow line is outer diameter of the fan blade 8 side end part of the stator winding 10 to end cap 14 inner surface, a vent hole 12, 8 inside diameter side of fan blade, fan blade 8 of the outer diameter side”).
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dircks in view of Salter and Heidelberg as applied to claim 6 above, and further in view of Eroldi et al. (CN 105186783 A, hereafter referred to as Eroldi).
Regarding Claim 16/6/1, Dircks in view of Salter and Heidelberg has been discussed above.
Dircks in view of Salter and Heidelberg does not disclose that the impeller includes an impeller outlet; a flow barrier is disposed in the first circulation chamber and/or the second circulation chamber; and a circumferential rim and/or a circumferential labyrinth seal are arranged on the flow barrier and surround the impeller outlet.
However, Eroldi, in the same field of technology, does disclose (see Figure 9) that the impeller (Annotated Figure 9) includes an impeller outlet (Annotated Figure 9); a flow barrier (43, Page 8, ¶ 4) is disposed in the first circulation chamber (Annotated Figure 9) and/or the second circulation chamber (Annotated Figure 9); and a circumferential rim and/or a circumferential labyrinth seal (430, Page 8, ¶ 4) are arranged on the flow barrier (43, Page 8, ¶ 4) and surround the impeller outlet (Annotated Figure 9).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the machine disclosed by Dricks in view of Salter and Heidelberg such that the impeller includes an impeller outlet; a flow barrier is disposed in the first circulation chamber and/or the second circulation chamber; and a circumferential rim and/or a circumferential labyrinth seal are arranged on the flow barrier and surround the impeller outlet, as disclosed by Eroldi, in order to prevent coolant from spreading away from the intended area (Page 8, ¶ 4: “Here, inside the stator cavity 20 effectively seals the chamber 50 or inside of the chamber cover 500. the distance is at the non drive end of the generator brake disc 43 and stator 222 of the labyrinth seal 430. effectively, no air can be transferred between the stator inner cavity 20 and inside the engine room 500, and no air can escape to the exterior from the stator internal cavity 20.”).
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dircks in view of Salter as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Brandl et al. (US 20130270939 A1, hereafter referred to as Brandl).
Regarding Claim 18/1, Dircks in view of Salter has been discussed above.
Dircks in view of Salter does not explicitly disclose an outlet chamber disposed adjacent to the first axial end and/or the second axial end of the housing and surrounding the axis of rotation and the first circulation chamber and/or the second circulation chamber, wherein: a subset of the at least two cooling channels fluidically connect the first circulation chamber with the second circulation chamber; and a remainder of the at least two cooling channels fluidically connect the second circulation chamber and/or the first circulation chamber with the outlet chamber such that the subset and the remainder of the at least two cooling channels are flowable through in series with one another in the flow path.
However, Brandl, in the same field of technology, does disclose (see Figure 1) an outlet chamber (Annotated Figure 1) disposed adjacent to the first axial end and/or the second axial end of the housing (3, ¶ [0031]) surrounding the axis of rotation (5, ¶ [0032]) and at least one of the first circulation chamber (12, [0047]) and the second circulation chamber (Annotated Figure 1), wherein: a subset of the at least two cooling channels (4, ¶ [0031]) fluidically connect the first circulation chamber (12, [0047]) with the second circulation chamber (Annotated Figure 1); and a remainder of the at least two cooling channels (4, ¶ [0031]) fluidically connect at least one of the second circulation chamber (Annotated Figure 1) and the first circulation chamber (12, [0047]) with the outlet chamber (Annotated Figure 1) such that the subset and the remainder of the at least two cooling channels (4, ¶ [0031]) are flowable through in series with one another in the flow path.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the machine disclosed by Dircks in view of Salter such that an outlet chamber disposed at least one of the first axial end and the second axial end of the stator surrounding the axis of rotation and at least one of the first circulation chamber and the second circulation chamber, wherein: a subset of the at least two cooling channels fluidically connect the first circulation chamber with the second circulation chamber; and a remainder of the at least two cooling channels fluidically connect at least one of the second circulation chamber and the first circulation chamber with the outlet chamber such that the subset and the remainder of the at least two cooling channels are flowable through in series with one another in the flow path, as disclosed by Brandl, in order to efficiently simplify cooling of a machine (¶ [0010]: “The object of the present invention is to design an electric machine of the type referred to in the introduction in such a way that an efficient cooling of the electric machine is realized in a simple manner.”).
Claims 21-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dircks in view of Salter as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Froehlich et al. (DE 102012218696 A1, hereafter referred to as Froehlich).
Regarding Claim 21/1, Dircks in view of Salter has been discussed above.
Dircks in view of Salter does not disclose an impeller arranged at an axial end of the rotor, the impeller including: a back wall oriented transversely to the axis of rotation; and a plurality of impeller blades projecting axially from the back wall.
However, Froehlich, in the same field of technology, does disclose (see Figures 3 and 8) an impeller (11, Page 5, ¶ 5) arranged at an axial end of the rotor (2, Page 5, ¶ 4), the impeller (11, Page 5, ¶ 5) including: a back wall (13, Page 5, ¶ 6) oriented transversely to the axis of rotation; and a plurality of impeller blades (13, Page 5, ¶ 6) projecting axially from the back wall (13, Page 5, ¶ 6).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the electric machine disclosed by Dircks in view of Salter such that an impeller is arranged at an axial end of the rotor, the impeller including: a back wall oriented transversely to the axis of rotation; and a plurality of impeller blades projecting axially from the back wall, as disclosed by Froehlich, in order to assist in cooling the electric machine during operation (Page 2, ¶ 5: “In this rotating electrical machine, which may be designed in particular as an electric motor or as a generator, a cooling air circuit is provided, which cools both the winding heads by means of the winding head chambers formed under the winding head windings guided air as well as a cooling of the rotor and stator by running in the same circuit Cooling air provides.”).
Regarding Claim 22/21/1, Dircks in view of Salter and Froehlich has been discussed above.
Additionally, Froehlich discloses (see Figures 3, 7, and 10) that the back wall (13, Page 5, ¶ 6) of the impeller (11, Page 5, ¶ 5) has a surface facing the axial end plate (Annotated Figure 10) of the housing (5, Page 5, ¶ 3); and the surface includes an angular region (visible in Figure 3) configured to direct the coolant axially away from the rotor (2, Page 5, ¶ 4).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the electric machine disclosed by Dircks in view of Salter such that an impeller is arranged at an axial end of the rotor, the impeller including: a back wall oriented transversely to the axis of rotation; and a plurality of impeller blades projecting axially from the back wall, as further disclosed by Froehlich, in order to assist in cooling the electric machine during operation (Page 2, ¶ 5: “In this rotating electrical machine, which may be designed in particular as an electric motor or as a generator, a cooling air circuit is provided, which cools both the winding heads by means of the winding head chambers formed under the winding head windings guided air as well as a cooling of the rotor and stator by running in the same circuit Cooling air provides.”).
Regarding Claim 23/22/21/1, Dircks in view of Salter and Froehlich has been discussed above.
Additionally, Froehlich discloses (see Figure 9) that in at least a region, an axial thickness of the back wall (13, Page 5, ¶ 6) of the impeller (11, Page 5, ¶ 5) increases in a radially outward direction (see Figure 9).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the electric machine disclosed by Dircks in view of Salter such that in at least a region, an axial thickness of the back wall of the impeller increases in a radially outward direction, as further disclosed by Froehlich, in order to assist in cooling the electric machine during operation (Page 2, ¶ 5: “In this rotating electrical machine, which may be designed in particular as an electric motor or as a generator, a cooling air circuit is provided, which cools both the winding heads by means of the winding head chambers formed under the winding head windings guided air as well as a cooling of the rotor and stator by running in the same circuit Cooling air provides.”).
Claim 24 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dircks in view of Salter and Froehlich et al. (DE 102012218696 A1, hereafter referred to as Froehlich).
Regarding Claim 24, Dircks discloses (see Figures ) an electric machine (1, ¶ [0035]), comprising: a housing group including a housing (5, ¶ [0035]) and a stator (4, ¶ [0035]) arranged in the housing (5, ¶ [0035]); a rotor group including a shaft (2, ¶ [0035]) rotatable about an axis of rotation and a rotor (3, ¶ [0035]) non-rotatably connected to the shaft (2, ¶ [0035]), the rotor group rotatably arranged in the housing group, the stator (4, ¶ [0035]) disposed radially adjacent to the rotor (3, ¶ [0035]) and encircling the rotor (3, ¶ [0035]) with respect to the axis of rotation; an axially extending cooling channel (S2, ¶ [0043]) disposed in and/or on the stator (4, ¶ [0035]); a first circulation chamber (S1, ¶ [0044]) disposed axially adjacent to the stator (4, ¶ [0035]) at a first axial end of the housing (5, ¶ [0035]); a second circulation chamber (S3, ¶ [0045]) disposed axially adjacent to the stator (4, ¶ [0035]) at a second axial end of the housing (5, ¶ [0035]); a coolant inlet (Annotated Figure 1) disposed adjacent to the first axial end of the housing (5, ¶ [0035]); a coolant outlet (16b, ¶ [0045]) disposed adjacent to one of the first axial end and the second axial end of the housing (5, ¶ [0035]); a coolant flow path (S1-3) extending through the coolant inlet (Annotated Figure 1), the cooling channel (S2, ¶ [0043]), the first circulation chamber (S1, ¶ [0044]), the second circulation chamber (S3, ¶ [0045]), and the coolant outlet (16b, ¶ [0045]);
Dircks does not disclose at least two axially extending cooling channels formed in and/or on the stator; and an impeller arranged axially between the rotor and an axial end plate of the housing; wherein the impeller includes i) a back wall and ii) a plurality of impeller blades projecting from a surface of the back wall facing the axial end plate of the housing; and wherein the surface includes an angular region configured to direct the coolant axially away from the rotor.
However, Salter, in the same field of technology, does disclose (see Figures 2-3, and 8) at least two axially extending cooling channels (36, C8L44-47) formed in and/or on the stator (12, C8L26).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the machine disclosed by Dircks such that at least two axially extending cooling channels are formed in and/or on the stator, as disclosed by Salter, in order to improve cooling efficiency (C1L53-55: “There is therefore a need for an improved way of cooling an electrical machine that combines good cooling efficiency, mechanical simplicity and low noise.”).
Dircks in view of Salter does not disclose an impeller arranged axially between the rotor and an axial end plate of the housing; wherein the impeller includes i) a back wall and ii) a plurality of impeller blades projecting from a surface of the back wall facing the axial end plate of the housing; and wherein the surface includes an angular region configured to direct the coolant axially away from the rotor.
However, Froehlich, in the same field of technology, does disclose (see Figures 3 and 8) an impeller (11, Page 5, ¶ 5) arranged axially between the rotor (2, Page 5, ¶ 4) and an axial end plate (Annotated Figure 10) of the housing; wherein the impeller includes i) a back wall (13, Page 5, ¶ 6) and ii) a plurality of impeller blades (13, Page 5, ¶ 6) projecting from a surface of the back wall (13, Page 5, ¶ 6) facing the axial end plate (Annotated Figure 10) of the housing; and wherein the surface includes an angular region (visible in Figure 3) configured to direct the coolant axially away from the rotor (2, Page 5, ¶ 4).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the electric machine disclosed by Dircks in view of Salter with an impeller arranged axially between the rotor and an axial end plate of the housing; wherein the impeller includes i) a back wall and ii) a plurality of impeller blades projecting from a surface of the back wall facing the axial end plate of the housing; and wherein the surface includes an angular region configured to direct the coolant axially away from the rotor, as disclosed by Froehlich, in order to assist in cooling the electric machine during operation (Page 2, ¶ 5: “In this rotating electrical machine, which may be designed in particular as an electric motor or as a generator, a cooling air circuit is provided, which cools both the winding heads by means of the winding head chambers formed under the winding head windings guided air as well as a cooling of the rotor and stator by running in the same circuit Cooling air provides.”).
Conclusion
/C.F.M./Examiner, Art Unit 2834
/ALEXANDER A SINGH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834