Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 3/17/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Specifically, the Applicant argues in their remarks that Lines does not “harvest, collect, or return energy” with respect to the independent claims. However, this runs counter to the explicitly recited feature in Lines in at least paragraph 46 “alternatively, where the stacked axial flux electrical machine assembly is a generator.” Further still, any motor has an inherent ability to run in reverse as a generator. For at least the foregoing reasons, the above-cited assertion that Lines fails and the rejection is maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 9-17, and 19-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lines et al (US 20220094229 A1) in view of Takahashi et al (US 20180166933 A1) in view of Hao et al (US 20190326790 A1).
With respect to Claim 1, Lines teaches an apparatus for rotating a shaft (fig. 3, shaft 3), the apparatus comprising: an inner ring (fig. 4, first connection means 15); an outer ring (fig. 4, second connection means 16); a plurality of electromagnets positioned between the inner ring and the outer ring (fig. 4A, conductive elements 120); a plurality of planar collector coils positioned around the inner ring (fig. 4A, phase connections 151-153) and configured to harvest electrical energy from rotation of the shaft (paragraph 46 “Alternatively, where the stacked axial flux electrical machine assembly is a generator”).
Lines does not teach “a battery electrically connected to the plurality of electromagnets and to the planar collector coils; wherein the plurality of planar collector coils recharge the battery with the electrical energy; a control system operatively connected to the battery and the plurality of electromagnets.”
Takahashi teaches a battery electrically connected to the plurality of electromagnets and to the planar collector coils (fig. 21, battery); a control system operatively connected to the battery and the plurality of electromagnets (fig. 21, control device 138).
Takahashi does not teach “wherein the plurality of planar collector coils recharge the battery with the electrical energy.”
Hao teaches wherein the plurality of planar collector coils recharge the battery with the electrical energy (paragraph 27 “] The first electric machine 20 may also be configured to operate in a generation mode to convert rotational motion of various driveline 11 components into electrical power for storage in the traction battery 22”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the motor of Lines with the battery and control system of Takahashi with the rechargeable battery of Hao in order to power the motor in a controlled manner such that the work produced could be used to drive devices as directed.
With respect to claim 2, Lines in view of Takahashi in view of Hao teaches the above-mentioned limitations. Lines further teaches a disc secured to the inner ring (fig. 9A, star connection 154).
With respect to claim 10, Lines in view of Hao teaches the above-mentioned limitations but does not teach “the shaft is configured to assist in generating movement for the vehicle.”
Takahashi teaches the shaft is configured to assist in generating movement for the vehicle (paragraph 141 “The front wheels 132 are connected to the rotating electrical machine 1 via the drive shafts 134 and 135 and the differential gear 136.” ).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the motor of Lines with the multiple part housing of Takahashi with the rechargeable battery of Hao in order to enclose the motor in a system such that motor can be utilized in a defined system with controlled inputs and defined outputs to move a vehicle.
With respect to claim 3, Lines in view of Takahashi teaches the above-mentioned limitations, but does not teach “a human machine interface in operative communication with the control system wherein the human machine interface is configured to receive as input from an operator a revolutions per minute for operation of a power generator.”
Hao teaches a human machine interface in operative communication with the control system wherein the human machine interface is configured to receive as input from an operator a revolutions per minute for operation of a power generator (paragraph 29 “The controller 36 may further be in communication with one or more sensors arranged at driver input pedal(s) 38 to receive signals indicative of specific pedal position, which may reflect acceleration demand by the driver. The driver input pedal(s) 38 may include an accelerator pedal and/or a brake pedal. In alternative embodiments such as a self-driving autonomous vehicle, acceleration demand may be determined sans driver interaction by a computer either on-board the vehicle 10 or external to the vehicle.” The Examiner is interpreting the acceleration as requiring a change in RPM’s).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the motor of Lines with the battery and control system of Takahashi with the human interface of Hao in order to use the motor as a driver for a vehicle.
With respect to claim 4, Lines in view of Takahashi teaches the above-mentioned limitations but does not teach “the human machine interface is further configured to receive as input from an operator a torque value for the power generator.”
Hao teaches the human machine interface is further configured to receive as input from an operator a torque value for the power generator (paragraph 29 “The controller 36 may further be in communication with one or more sensors arranged at driver input pedal(s) 38 to receive signals indicative of specific pedal position, which may reflect acceleration demand by the driver. The driver input pedal(s) 38 may include an accelerator pedal and/or a brake pedal. In alternative embodiments such as a self-driving autonomous vehicle, acceleration demand may be determined sans driver interaction by a computer either on-board the vehicle 10 or external to the vehicle.” The Examiner is interpreting the acceleration as requiring a change in RPM’s).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the motor of Lines with the battery and control system of Takahashi with the human interface of Hao in order to use the motor as a driver for a vehicle
With respect to claim 11, Lines teaches the above-mentioned limitations but does not teach “wherein the vehicle is a ship.”
Takahashi teaches wherein the vehicle is a ship (paragraph 151 “According to the rotating electrical machine 1, since the circulating current can be suppressed, in particular, reduction in vibration/noise can be achieved while realizing rotation performance such as a high output, a high torque, or the like. For this reason, use as a high torque and high output driving source and use as a large generator in fields in which large torque or output density is required, for example, a wide range of fields such as machine tools, ships, automobiles, robots, or the like, can also be expected.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the motor of Lines with the multiple part housing of Takahashi with the rechargeable battery of Hao in order to enclose the motor in a system such that motor can be utilized in a defined system with controlled inputs and defined outputs to move a ship.
With respect to claim 12, Lines teaches the above-mentioned limitations but does not teach “the control system receives as input a torque value for the power generator.”
Takahashi teaches as input a torque value for the power generator (paragraph 29 “The controller 36 may further be in communication with one or more sensors arranged at driver input pedal(s) 38 to receive signals indicative of specific pedal position, which may reflect acceleration demand by the driver. The driver input pedal(s) 38 may include an accelerator pedal and/or a brake pedal. In alternative embodiments such as a self-driving autonomous vehicle, acceleration demand may be determined sans driver interaction by a computer either on-board the vehicle 10 or external to the vehicle.” The Examiner is interpreting the acceleration as requiring a change in RPM’s).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the motor of Lines with the battery and control system of Takahashi with the human interface of Hao in order to use the motor as a driver for a vehicle.
With respect to claim 13, Lines teaches a system configured for managing rotation of a shaft associated with a power generator (fig. 3, shaft 3), the system comprising: a stator assembly (fig. 1 stator assembly 1), the stator assembly comprising: an inner ring (fig. 4, first connection means 15), an outer ring (fig. 4, second connection means 16), a plurality of electromagnets positioned between the inner ring and the outer ring (fig. 4A, conductive elements 120), and a plurality of planar collector coils positioned on a face of the inner ring (fig. 4A, phase connections 151-153); a rotor assembly (fig. 2a, two rotors 2a, 2b), and configured to harvest electrical energy from rotation of a rotor assembly for recharging a battery (paragraph 46 “Alternatively, where the stacked axial flux electrical machine assembly is a generator” Examiner is interpreting this energy as useable for charging) the rotor assembly comprising: a disc (fig. 2A, two rotors 2a, 2b), a rotor ring secured to the disc (fig. 4A, phase connections 151-153), and a plurality of permanent magnets secured around the rotor ring (fig. 2a, permanent magnets 21-24).
Lines does not teach “a battery electrically connected to the plurality of planar collector coils such that the plurality of planar coils charge the battery; a control system operatively connected to the plurality of electromagnets and the battery and wherein the control system is configured to increase a speed of rotation of the rotor assembly, maintain the speed of rotation of the rotor, and decrease the speed of rotation of the rotor assembly and a human machine interface in operative communication with the control system wherein the human machine interface is configured to receive as input from an operator a revolutions per minute for operation of the power generator.”
Takahashi teaches a battery (fig. 21, battery 137); a control system operatively connected to the plurality of electromagnets and the battery (fig. 21, control device 138).
Takahashi does not teach “[the battery] electrically connected to the plurality of planar collector coils such that the plurality of planar coils charge the battery; wherein the control system is configured to increase a speed of rotation of the rotor assembly, maintain the speed of rotation of the rotor, and decrease the speed of rotation of the rotor assembly and a human machine interface in operative communication with the control system wherein the human machine interface is configured to receive as input from an operator a revolutions per minute for operation of the power generator.”
Hao teaches the battery] electrically connected to the plurality of planar collector coils such that the plurality of planar coils charge the battery (paragraph 27 “] The first electric machine 20 may also be configured to operate in a generation mode to convert rotational motion of various driveline 11 components into electrical power for storage in the traction battery 22”) wherein the control system is configured to increase a speed of rotation of the rotor assembly, maintain the speed of rotation of the rotor, and decrease the speed of rotation of the rotor assembly (paragraph 29 “The controller 36 may further be in communication with one or more sensors arranged at driver input pedal(s) 38 to receive signals indicative of specific pedal position, which may reflect acceleration demand by the driver. The driver input pedal(s) 38 may include an accelerator pedal and/or a brake pedal. In alternative embodiments such as a self-driving autonomous vehicle, acceleration demand may be determined sans driver interaction by a computer either on-board the vehicle 10 or external to the vehicle.”) and a human machine interface in operative communication with the control system wherein the human machine interface is configured to receive as input from an operator a revolutions per minute for operation of the power generator (paragraph 29 “The controller 36 may further be in communication with one or more sensors arranged at driver input pedal(s) 38 to receive signals indicative of specific pedal position, which may reflect acceleration demand by the driver. The driver input pedal(s) 38 may include an accelerator pedal and/or a brake pedal. In alternative embodiments such as a self-driving autonomous vehicle, acceleration demand may be determined sans driver interaction by a computer either on-board the vehicle 10 or external to the vehicle.” The Examiner is interpreting the acceleration as requiring a change in RPM’s).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the motor of Lines with the battery of Takahashi and control system of Hao in order to power the motor in a controlled manner such that the work produced could be used to drive devices as directed.
With respect to claim 14, Lines in view of Takahashi in view of Hao teaches the above-mentioned limitations. Lines further teaches a sensor electrically connected to the control system for determining rotation rate of the rotor assembly (paragraph 194 “An encoder assembly 7 that includes an encoder mount 71, an on-axis position encoder 72 and an associated encoder sensor magnet 73 is also shown.”).
With respect to claim 15, Lines in view of Takahashi teaches the above-mentioned limitations but does not teach “the human machine interface is further configured to receive as input from an operator a torque value for the power generator.”
Hao teaches the human machine interface is further configured to receive as input from an operator a torque value for the power generator (paragraph 29 “The controller 36 may further be in communication with one or more sensors arranged at driver input pedal(s) 38 to receive signals indicative of specific pedal position, which may reflect acceleration demand by the driver. The driver input pedal(s) 38 may include an accelerator pedal and/or a brake pedal. In alternative embodiments such as a self-driving autonomous vehicle, acceleration demand may be determined sans driver interaction by a computer either on-board the vehicle 10 or external to the vehicle.” The Examiner is interpreting the acceleration as requiring a change in RPM’s).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the motor of Lines with the battery of Takahashi and control system of Hao in order to power the motor in a controlled manner such that the work produced could be used to drive devices as directed.
With respect to claim 16, Lines teaches the above-mentioned limitations but does not teach “the control system receives as input a torque value for the power generator.”
Takahashi teaches as input a torque value for the power generator (paragraph 29 “The controller 36 may further be in communication with one or more sensors arranged at driver input pedal(s) 38 to receive signals indicative of specific pedal position, which may reflect acceleration demand by the driver. The driver input pedal(s) 38 may include an accelerator pedal and/or a brake pedal. In alternative embodiments such as a self-driving autonomous vehicle, acceleration demand may be determined sans driver interaction by a computer either on-board the vehicle 10 or external to the vehicle.” The Examiner is interpreting the acceleration as requiring a change in RPM’s).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the motor of Lines with the battery of Takahashi and control system of Hao in order to power the motor in a controlled manner such that the work produced could be used to drive devices as directed.
With respect to claim 17, Lines teaches the above-mentioned limitations but does not teach “a housing encasing the stator assembly, the rotor assembly, the battery, and the control system.”
Takahashi teaches a housing (fig. 21, vehicle 130) encasing the stator assembly, the rotor assembly (fig. 21, electric machine 1), the battery (fig. 21, battery 137) and the control system (fig. 21, control device 138)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the motor of Lines with the multiple part housing of Takahashi with the rechargeable battery of Hao in order to enclose the motor in a system such that motor can be utilized in a defined system with controlled inputs and defined outputs to move a vehicle.
With respect to claim 20, Lines teaches the above-mentioned limitations but does not teach “an electric vehicle comprising the system of claim 13”
Takahashi teaches an electric vehicle comprising the system of claim 13 (fig. 21, vehicle 130).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the motor of Lines with the multiple part housing of Takahashi with the rechargeable battery of Hao in order to enclose the motor in a system such that motor can be utilized in a defined system with controlled inputs and defined outputs to move a vehicle.
With respect to claim 21, Lines teaches the above-mentioned limitations but does not teach “wherein the vehicle is a ship.”
Takahashi teaches wherein the vehicle is a ship (paragraph 151 “According to the rotating electrical machine 1, since the circulating current can be suppressed, in particular, reduction in vibration/noise can be achieved while realizing rotation performance such as a high output, a high torque, or the like. For this reason, use as a high torque and high output driving source and use as a large generator in fields in which large torque or output density is required, for example, a wide range of fields such as machine tools, ships, automobiles, robots, or the like, can also be expected.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the motor of Lines with the multiple part housing of Takahashi with the rechargeable battery of Hao in order to enclose the motor in a system such that motor can be utilized in a defined system with controlled inputs and defined outputs to move a ship.
With respect to claim 22, Lines teaches an electric power generator having a shaft (fig. 1, motor 100 and shaft 3); a system operatively connected to the electric power generator to rotate the shaft (fig. 1, stator 1), the system comprising: an inner ring (fig. 4, first connection means 15); an outer ring (fig. 4, second connection means 16)): a plurality of electromagnets positioned between the inner ring and the outer ring (fig. 4A, conductive elements 120); a plurality of planar collector coils positioned around the inner ring (fig. 4A, phase connections 151-153) and configured to harvest electrical energy from rotation of the shaft (paragraph 46 “Alternatively, where the stacked axial flux electrical machine assembly is a generator”).
Lines does not teach “a vehicle body; a battery electrically connected to the plurality of planar coils such that the plurality of planar collector coils charge the battery; a control system operatively connected to the battery and the plurality of electromagnets.”
Takahashi teaches a vehicle body (fig. 21, vehicle 130); a battery electrically connected to the plurality of planar coils (fig. 21, battery 137); a control system operatively connected to the battery and the plurality of electromagnets (fig. 21, control device 138).
Takahashi does not teach “wherein the plurality of planar collector coils recharge the battery with the electrical energy”
Hao teaches wherein the plurality of planar collector coils recharge the battery with the electrical energy (paragraph 27 “] The first electric machine 20 may also be configured to operate in a generation mode to convert rotational motion of various driveline 11 components into electrical power for storage in the traction battery 22”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the motor of Lines with the battery and control system of Takahashi with the rechargeable battery of Hao in order to power the motor in a controlled manner such that the work produced could be used to drive devices as directed.
With respect to claim 23, Lines in view of Takahashi teaches the above-mentioned limitations but does not teach “the human machine interface is further configured to receive as input from an operator a torque value for the power generator.”
Hao teaches the human machine interface is further configured to receive as input from an operator a torque value for the power generator (paragraph 29 “The controller 36 may further be in communication with one or more sensors arranged at driver input pedal(s) 38 to receive signals indicative of specific pedal position, which may reflect acceleration demand by the driver. The driver input pedal(s) 38 may include an accelerator pedal and/or a brake pedal. In alternative embodiments such as a self-driving autonomous vehicle, acceleration demand may be determined sans driver interaction by a computer either on-board the vehicle 10 or external to the vehicle.” The Examiner is interpreting the acceleration as requiring a change in RPM’s).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the human machine interface of Takahashi with the rechargeable battery of Hao in order to power the motor in a controlled manner such that the work produced could be used to drive devices as directed.
Claims 5-8 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lines in view of Takahashi in view of Hao in further view of Al-khayat (US 20070040465 A1).
With respect to claim 5, Lines teaches the above-mentioned limitations but does not teach “a housing comprising a first assembly, a second assembly, and third assembly and wherein the first assembly is hinged to the second assembly, and the third assembly is hinged to the second assembly.”
Takahashi teaches a housing (fig. 21, vehicle 130) comprising a first assembly (fig. 21, vehicle body 131), a second assembly (fig. 21, electric machine 1), and third assembly (fig. 21, control device 138 and battery 137) and the third assembly is hinged to the second assembly (see figure 21, second and third assemblies are connected, the Examiner is interpreting hinged as connected as the battery and computer are linked via at least some wiring which may be at least partially flexible).
Takahashi nor Hao teaches “wherein the first assembly is hinged to the second assembly, and the third assembly is hinged to the second assembly.”
Al-khayat teaches and wherein the first assembly is hinged to the second assembly (fig. 2, paragraph 20 “A housing 16 on the trailer 11 has an opening 17 (see FIG. 2) which is closed by a hinged cover 18 and which provides access to the interior of the housing 16 when that cover 18 is open.”),
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the motor of Lines with the multiple part housing of Takahashi with the rechargeable battery of Hao with the hinged door of Al-Khayat in order to enclose the motor in a system such that motor can be utilized in a defined system with controlled inputs and defined outputs to move a vehicle.
With respect to claim 6, Lines in view of Takahashi in view of Hao teaches the above-mentioned limitations but does not teach “wherein the first assembly comprises a door with a window.”
Al-Khayat teaches wherein the first assembly comprises a door with a window (fig. 2, paragraph 20 “A housing 16 on the trailer 11 has an opening 17 (see FIG. 2) which is closed by a hinged cover 18 and which provides access to the interior of the housing 16 when that cover 18 is open.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the motor of Lines with the vehicle of Takahashi with the rechargeable battery of Hao with the hinged door of Al-Khayat in order to allow users access to motor to inspect the internal works for maintenance.
With respect to claim 7, Lines in view of Takahashi in view of Hao in view of Al-Khayat teaches the above-mentioned limitations. Lines further teaches the second assembly comprises the inner ring (fig. 4, first connection means 15), the outer ring (fig. 4, second connection means 16), the plurality of electromagnets (fig. 4A, conductive elements 120), and the plurality of planar connector coils (fig. 4A, phase connections 151-153).
With respect to claim 8, Lines in view of Al-Khayat teaches the above-mentioned limitations but does not teach “the third assembly comprises the battery and a computer associated with the control system.”
Takahashi teaches the third assembly comprises the battery (fig. 21, battery 137) and a computer associated with the control system (fig. 21, control device 138).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the human machine interface of Takahashi with the rechargeable battery of Hao in order to power the motor in a controlled manner such that the work produced could be used to drive devices as directed.
With respect to claim 18, Lines teaches the above-mentioned limitations but does not teach “the housing comprises a door assembly, the door assembly hinged to an electromagnetic stator and permanent magnet drive assembly, and a control computer and start-up battery assembly hinged to the electromagnetic stator and permanent magnet drive assembly wherein the control system comprises the control computer, wherein the control computer and the battery are both housed in the control computer and start-up battery assembly.”
Takahashi teaches the housing comprises a door assembly, and a control computer and start-up battery assembly hinged to the electromagnetic stator (fig. 21, control device 138 and battery 137 are connected to electric machine 1) and permanent magnet drive assembly wherein the control system comprises the control computer (fig. 21, a control device 138. The Examiner is interpreting the control device and including a computer due to the plurality of electromagnetic control functions disclosed in at least figure 21), wherein the control computer and the battery are both housed in the control computer and start-up battery assembly (fig. 21, battery 137 and control device 138).
Takahashi nor Hao teaches “the door assembly hinged to an electromagnetic stator and permanent magnet drive assembly.”
Al-Khayat teaches the door assembly hinged to an electromagnetic stator and permanent magnet drive assembly (fig. 2, paragraph 20 “A housing 16 on the trailer 11 has an opening 17 (see FIG. 2) which is closed by a hinged cover 18 and which provides access to the interior of the housing 16 when that cover 18 is open.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the motor of Lines with the multiple part housing of Takahashi with the rechargeable battery of Hao with the hinged door of Al-Khayat in order to enclose the motor in a system such that motor can be utilized in a defined system with controlled inputs and defined outputs to move a vehicle.
With respect to claim 19, Lines in view of Takahashi in view of Hao teaches the above-mentioned limitations but does not teach “a window in the door”
Al-Khayat teaches a window in the door (fig. 2, paragraph 20 “A housing 16 on the trailer 11 has an opening 17 (see FIG. 2) which is closed by a hinged cover 18 and which provides access to the interior of the housing 16 when that cover 18 is open.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the motor of Lines with the vehicle of Takahashi with the rechargeable battery of Hao the hinged door of Al-Khayat in order to allow users access to motor to inspect the internal works for maintenance.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lines in view of Takahashi in further view of Al-Khayat in further view of Hao.
With respect to claim 9, Lines in view of Takahashi teaches the above-mentioned limitations but does not teach “a human machine interface in operative communication with the control system.”
Hao teaches a human machine interface in operative communication with the control system (paragraph 29 “The controller 36 may further be in communication with one or more sensors arranged at driver input pedal(s) 38 to receive signals indicative of specific pedal position, which may reflect acceleration demand by the driver. The driver input pedal(s) 38 may include an accelerator pedal and/or a brake pedal. In alternative embodiments such as a self-driving autonomous vehicle, acceleration demand may be determined sans driver interaction by a computer either on-board the vehicle 10 or external to the vehicle.” The Examiner is interpreting the acceleration as requiring a change in RPM’s).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the motor of Lines with the battery and control system of Takahashi with the hinged door of Al-Khayat with the human interface of Hao in order to use the motor as a driver for a vehicle.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/R.O.S./ Examiner, Art Unit 2834
/CHRISTOPHER M KOEHLER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2834