DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the following must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s).
“a plurality of magnets” and “a cooling system” of claims 1 and 8
“a junction surface” of claims 2 and 10
“a leading edge of the impeller” of claims 3 and 12
“a non-contacting stationary nozzle” of claims 5, 15, 16, and 19
No new matter should be entered.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
Paragraph 0003, “the cooling duct if used to deliver” should be changed to “the cooling duct is used to deliver”
Paragraph 0005, “at least alter-native” should be changed to “at least alternative”
Paragraph 0006, “by the object of independent claim” should be changed to “by the object of the independent claim”
Paragraph 0027, “the assembly of 1B” should be changed to “the assembly of the supporting body 1B”
Paragraph 0028, “wherein a details of channels” should be changed to “wherein the details of channels”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claims 5, 6, 11, 15, 16, and 19 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 5, 15, 16, 19, “releaseable” should be changed to “releasable”
Claims 6, 11, “in regards to the position the channels” should be changed to “in regards to the position of the channels”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2, 6, 10, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 2 and 10 recitation of “a junction surface” is unclear making the claim vague and indefinite. The claim fails to define the term and the specification is silent when it comes to providing details of the junction surface and its function. The junction surface is also not shown in the figures making it difficult for the Examiner to determine exactly what the junction surface could entail. What is a junction surface?
For examining purposes the Examiner is interpreting the junction surface as the surface where the shaft core and the supporting body make contact.
Claims 6 and 12 recitation of “a datum feature” is unclear making the claim vague and indefinite. The claim fails to clearly define the datum feature and the specification discloses the same language as the claim when reciting the datum feature. The figures appear to show the datum feature as a type of guide or pathway for the release or exit of the coolant. What is a datum feature?
For examining purposes the Examiner is interpreting the datum feature as a guide or pathway for the coolant to be released.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 6-11, 13, 17, 18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Balzer (US 9,287,747).
Regarding claim 1, Balzer discloses a rotor (5 of Figure 1-2) for an electric motor, comprising:
a hollow shaft (7 of Figure 1; 39 of Figure 2; Col. 3:27-31) and a laminated rotor core (6 of Figure 1-2), the laminated rotor core including a plurality of magnets (18 of Figure 1-2) and an impeller (24, 25 of Figure 1; Col. 3:51-57, vanes of blower) for a coolant flow utilization,
the hollow shaft including an inlet aperture (20, 23 – B-Side of Figure 1) for introducing the coolant directly into a main cavity of the hollow shaft (Col. 4:27-30, main cavity is area between 29 and 33 of Figure 1), and channels (29, 33 of Figure 1-2) through which the coolant is released out of the hollow shaft, wherein outlet apertures (23 – A-Side of Figure 1) of the channels are aligned with an intake area of the impeller for propelling the coolant through a cooling system.
Regarding claim 2, Balzer discloses wherein the hollow shaft comprises a shaft core (7 of Figure 1; 39 of Figure 2; Col. 3:27-31) and a supporting body (28 of Figure 1), wherein at least some of the channels (29, 33 of Figure 1-2) are provided in an area of a junction surface between the shaft core and the supporting body.
Regarding claim 4, Balzer discloses wherein the impeller has blades (38 of Figure 2).
Regarding claim 6, Balzer discloses wherein the supporting body (28 of Figure 1) comprises a datum feature (see 35 USC 112(b) above) for positioning the rotor core (6 of Figure 1-2) and the impeller (24, 25 of Figure 1; Col. 3:51-57, vanes of blower) in regards to the position of the channels (29, 33 of Figure 1-2) for releasing the coolant out of the hollow shaft (7 of Figure 1; 39 of Figure 2; Col. 3:27-31).
Regarding claim 7, Balzer discloses wherein the inlet aperture (20, 23 – B-Side of Figure 1) is arranged radially inwardly of the channels (29, 33 of Figure 1-2), and an inner wall of the main cavity (Col. 4:27-30, main cavity is area between 29 and 33 of Figure 1) extends over a curved or inclined section towards a maximum diameter of the main cavity.
Regarding claim 8, Balzer discloses a synchronous electric motor, comprising a rotor (5 of Figure 1-2), the rotor including:
a hollow shaft (7 of Figure 1; 39 of Figure 2; Col. 3:27-31) and a laminated rotor core (6 of Figure 1-2);
the laminated rotor core including a plurality of magnets (18 of Figure 1-2) and an impeller (24, 25 of Figure 1; Col. 3:51-57, vanes of blower) for a coolant flow utilization,
the hollow shaft including an inlet aperture (20, 23 – B-Side of Figure 1) for introducing the coolant directly into a main cavity of the hollow shaft (Col. 4:27-30, main cavity is area between 29 and 33 of Figure 1), and channels (29, 33 of Figure 1-2) through which the coolant is released out of the hollow shaft, wherein outlet apertures (23 – A-Side of Figure 1) of the channels are aligned with an intake area of the impeller for propelling the coolant through a cooling system.
Regarding claim 9, Balzer discloses wherein the hollow shaft comprises a shaft core (7 of Figure 1; 39 of Figure 2; Col. 3:27-31) and a supporting body (28 of Figure 1).
Regarding claim 10, Balzer discloses wherein at least some of the channels (29, 33 of Figure 1-2) are provided in an area of a junction surface between the shaft core and the supporting body.
Regarding claim 11, Balzer discloses wherein the supporting body (28 of Figure 1) comprises a datum feature (see 35 USC 112(b) above) for positioning the rotor core (6 of Figure 1-2) and the impeller (24, 25 of Figure 1; Col. 3:51-57, vanes of blower) in regards to the position of the channels (29, 33 of Figure 1-2) for releasing the coolant out of the hollow shaft (7 of Figure 1; 39 of Figure 2; Col. 3:27-31).
Regarding claim 13, Balzer discloses wherein the impeller has blades (38 of Figure 2).
Regarding claims 17, 20, Balzer discloses wherein the inlet aperture (20, 23 – B-Side of Figure 1) is arranged radially inwardly of the channels (29, 33 of Figure 1-2).
Regarding claim 18, Balzer discloses wherein an inner wall of the main cavity (Col. 4:27-30, main cavity is area between 29 and 33 of Figure 1) extends over a curved or inclined section towards a maximum diameter of the main cavity.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 12, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Balzer (US 9,287,747), in view of Wakita (JP 2011-254571 A).
Regarding claims 3, 12, 14, Balzer discloses all of the elements of the current invention as mentioned above, however does not explicitly disclose wherein the outlet apertures (23 – A-Side of Figure 1) of the channels (29, 33 of Figure 1-2) are aligned with a leading edge of the impeller (24, 25 of Figure 1; Col. 3:51-57, vanes of blower) (claims 3, 12);
wherein blades (38 of Figure 2) include curved blades (claim 14).
Wakita discloses wherein the outlet apertures (13b of Figure 1-5) of the channels (13 of Figure 1-5) are aligned with a leading edge of the impeller (19 of Figure 1-5) (claims 3, 12);
wherein blades include curved blades (19 of Figure 1-5) (claim 14).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing of the claimed invention to have the outlet of the channels of Balzer be aligned with the leading edge of the impeller and have the blades curved, as taught by Wakita, to direct the cooling fluid discharged from the outlets [Wakita: Para. 0021].
Claims 5, 15, 16, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Balzer (US 9,287,747), in view of Piazza Galarza (US 2020/0076257).
Regarding claims 5, 15, Balzer discloses further comprising the coolant is releasable into the shaft (7 of Figure 1; 39 of Figure 2; Col. 3:27-31) (claim 5 and 15);
Regarding claims 16, 19, Balzer discloses further comprising the coolant is releasable into an area of the inlet aperture (20, 23 – B-Side of Figure 1) (claim 16 and 19).
Balzer does not explicitly disclose a non-contacting stationary nozzle.
Piazza Galarza discloses a non-contacting stationary nozzle (132 of Figure 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing of the claimed invention to have a non-contacting stationary nozzle in the generator of Balzer, as taught by Piazza Galarza, for the added benefit of increasing heat dissipation efficiency, distributing fluids evenly, and enabling precise temperature and humidity control.
Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Rippel (US 2015/0035393) discloses a rotor for an electric machine comprising a hollow shaft with channels for coolant flow.
Conclusion
/Charles Reid Jr./ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834