DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 21-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dircks (US 2020/0373814 A1) in view of Dib et al. (US 2019/0334409 A1).
Regarding claim 21, Dircks discloses an electric machine (1), comprising:
a rotor group (2, 3) comprising a shaft (2) that is rotatable about an axis of rotation and a rotor (3) that is non-rotatably fixed to the shaft (2),
a housing group (4, 5, 16, 17) comprising a housing (5, 16, 17) and a stator (4) that is received in the housing (5),
the rotor group (2, 3) being rotatably arranged in the housing group (4, 5; FIG. 1), wherein the stator (4) is radially adjacent to the rotor (3) and encircles the rotor (3) with respect to the axis of rotation,
at least two axially extending cooling channels (S2, 54a has both axial and radial extending channels) disposed in or on the stator (4),
a first circulation chamber (33, see annotation below) axially adjacent to the stator (4) disposed at a first axial end (right side in FIG. 1) of the stator (4) and a second circulation chamber (32, see annotation below) axially adjacent to the stator (4) disposed at a second axial end (left side in FIG. 1) of the stator (4),
a flow path (2a, 32, 33, 54a, S1-S3) for guiding a coolant formed at least by the at least two cooling channels (S2, 54a) and the first and second circulation chambers (33, 32),
a coolant inlet (S1) of the flow path (2a, 32, 33, 54a, S1-S3) disposed at the first and/or second axial end of the stator (4; inlet at first axial end in FIG. 1) and a coolant outlet (S3) of the flow path (32, 33, 54a) disposed at the first and/or second axial end of the stator (4; outlet at second axial end in FIG. 1), and
wherein the at least two cooling channels (S2, 54a) extend axially through the entire stator (4; FIG. 5, 6) and can be flowed through in the flow path (2a, 32, 33, 54a, S1-S3) in parallel and/or in series with one another (FIG. 5 and 6 discloses the flow path run both parallel and in series).
Dircks does not disclose a first/second impeller disposed on a first/second end surface of the rotor that is aligned transversely to the axis of rotation, wherein the first/second impeller comprises a plurality of radially extending blades,
wherein at least two first/second vanes are disposed on the housing, wherein the at least two first/second vanes are arranged opposite to the first/second impeller blades of the rotor.
Dib discloses a first/second impeller (181, 182) disposed on a first/second end surface of the rotor (150) that is aligned transversely to the axis of rotation (X), wherein the first/second impeller (181) comprises a plurality of radially extending blades (13; FIG. 6A),
wherein at least two first/second vanes (113, 123) are disposed on the housing (110, 120), wherein the at least two first/second vanes (113, 123) are arranged opposite to the first/second impeller blades (13) of the rotor (150; FIG. 12).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to have modified Dircks in view of Dib to disclose a first/second impeller disposed on a first/second end surface of the rotor that is aligned transversely to the axis of rotation, wherein the first/second impeller comprises a plurality of radially extending blades, wherein at least two first/second vanes are disposed on the housing, wherein the at least two first/second vanes are arranged opposite to the first/second impeller blades of the rotor, for the advantages of an efficient cooling system without degrading in performance (¶ [0010]).
Regarding claim 22/21, Dircks in view of Dib was discussed above in claim 21.Dib further discloses wherein a back wall of the first/second impeller (181, 182) carries the plurality of blades (13) and extends in an axial direction away from the rotor (150) in a radially outer region of the first/second impeller (181, 182), for imparting an axial component (3000) to the flow through the first/second impeller (181, 182) away from the rotor (150).
Regarding claim 23/21, Dircks in view of Dib was discussed above in claim 21. Dircks further discloses the shaft (2) contains a shaft cavity (2a) extending parallel to the axis of rotation (FIG. 1), the coolant inlet (S1) of the flow path (2a, 32, 33, 54a, S1-S3) leading into the shaft cavity (2a) at the first axial end of the stator (4) and the shaft cavity (2a) being fluidically connected to the first and/or second circulation chamber (33; connected to the first circulation chamber) at the first and/or second axial end of the stator (located at the first axial end).
Allowable Subject Matter
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 1, the specific limitation of “the first/second axial gap (32) is minimized and an axial width of the first/second axial gap (32) is less than 2 mm” in the combination as claimed are neither anticipated nor made obvious over the prior art made of record.
Dib et al. discloses in ¶ [0114] that the first/second axial gap is between 4-5 mm, but does not disclose the axial gap is less than 2 mm.
Claims 2-3, 5-7, 10-20 are allowable for depending upon claim 1.
Conclusion
/MINKI CHANG/ Examiner, Art Unit 2834