Detailed Action
The following non-final action is in response to application 18689445 filed on 03/06/2024. The communication is the first action on the merits.
Status of Claims
Claims 1-15 and 17-20 are currently pending and have been rejected as follows.
Drawings
The drawings filed on 03/06/2024 are accepted.
Foreign Priority
Applicant’s claim to foreign priority has been acknowledged and the corresponding documents have been received.
Domestic Benefit/National Stage
Applicant’s claim to domestic benefit/national stage has been acknowledged and the corresponding documents have been received.
IDS
The IDS has been received, and the documents within it have been considered.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more limitations that use the word “means”. As explained in MPEP § 2181, subsection I, which states that claim limitations that meet the following three-prong test will be interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph:
However, examiner notes that the limitations were considered using the three-prong test, but do not invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112.
Objections
Claim 13-14 are objected to under 37 CFR 1.75(c) as being in improper form because a multiple dependent claim is recited in claim 13. See MPEP § 608.01(n). Accordingly, claims 13-14 have not been further treated on the merits.
Claim 13, lines 1-3 specify that it depends from claim 9 and any one of claims 1 to 8. Claim 9, line 6 specifies that it depends from claim 1.
Therefore, if claim 13 was rewritten to include claim 9 it would recite:
A luminaire (2), comprising
at least one LED (21);
a driver (22) configured to power the at least one LED (21); and
a casing (23), comprising
an opening (231) configured for insertion of a module (1) of claim 1 such that sensing means (11) of the module (1) is/are exposed to an exterior of the luminaire (2), and
further comprising the module (1) of any one of the claims 1 to 8 inserted in the opening (231).
Claim 13 is essentially dependent on claim 1 and any one of claims 1 to 8, which could be claim 1 and claim 2 and thus this form is equivalent to a claim that does not refer back in the alternative only (See MPEP § 608.01(n)).
This is an improper form, and thus, claims 13-14 are objected to.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-12, 15 and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sadwick (US 20190098725 A1) in view of Kim (KR 101272109 B1).
Regarding claim 1, Sadwick teaches a module (1) for a luminaire (2) comprising one or more sensing means (11) (A solid state lighting system includes a number of solid state lamps, each associated with a sensor module [Abstract, Figs. 1-2]); and at least one of a visual information output means (12) (The lighting system can be used to improve safety by identifying and guiding in dangerous situations by indicating status [0037]); (The two or more sided lighting can perform different functions… the side that has one or more color/wavelengths of light can provide indication of status or statuses [0071]); (The present invention may be used as a light source for multiple purposes including indicating a guide light by shining or flashing different colors to indicate one or more paths simultaneously, sequencing the lighting to indicate directions to follow/take/etc., turning different parts including light source parts to indicate a direction or path, etc. to follow, a status indicator by shining various colors in various locations [0130]); and a mechanical input means (13) configured for being actuated by a human operator (The present invention can have embodiments and implementations that include manual, automatic, monitored, controlled operations and combinations of these operations including switches or push buttons [0231]); (The dimming level(s) can be set by any method and combinations of methods including selector/push buttons or rotary switches [0232]); the module (1) (sensor module 10 [Fig. 1]) …a casing (23) (fluorescent troffer 18 [Fig. 1]) of the luminaire (2) (SSL/FLR 12) such that the sensing means (11) (sensor module 10 [Fig. 1] is a sensor module connected to a SSL/FLR in a fluorescent troffer that can be used for a number of sensing/indicating functions [0030]) is/are exposed to an exterior of the luminaire (2) ([See Fig. 1-2 including a SSL/FLR 12 with an associated sensor module 10, which is exposed to the exterior and connected to a SSL/FLR in a fluorescent troffer 18]).
Sadwick does not explicitly teach a sensor module that can be inserted into an opening of a casing of the luminaire such that the sensing means is still exposed to an exterior of the luminaire.
Kim teaches a sensor module that can be inserted into an opening of a casing of the luminaire such that the sensing means is still exposed to an exterior of the luminaire (See Fig. 1 where element 10 represents the main body (casing) that houses the sensor luminaire and element 13 represents the opening and closing cover so that one side is hinged to the side of the fixed body 10 to open or close the inside and the outside of the fixed body 10 through rotation. It can be seen in this Figure that sensor 30 or sensor module 70 are inside the main body, yet exposed to the exterior of the luminaire for sensing means).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Sadwick with the teachings of Kim to use a sensor module that can be inserted into an opening of a casing of the luminaire such that the sensing means is still exposed to an exterior of the luminaire to allow for a more compact lighting and sensing system.
Regarding claim 2, Sadwick teaches the module (1) wherein the sensing means (11) comprises a movement sensing means (The sensor module can automatically (and, if desired or needed, autonomously) continuously dim the intelligent LED FLR via the ambient light sensor in the DLH and turn on/off the intelligent LED FLR based on signals sent by the motion sensor in the sensor module prototype. Note light from the blue LED inside the sensor is intentionally visible and programmed to turn on when motion is detected [0030]).
Regarding claim 4, Sadwick teaches wherein the mechanical input means (13) comprises one of a pushbutton, and a switch (The present invention can have embodiments and implementations that include manual, automatic, monitored, controlled operations and combinations of these operations including switches or push buttons [0231]); (The dimming level(s) can be set by any method and combinations of methods including selector/push buttons or rotary switches [0232]).
Regarding claim 5, Sadwick teaches communication means (14) configured to communicate with the luminaire (2) (The sensor modules are configured to communicate with each other and to coordinate location-based color settings in the solid state lamps [Abstract]).
Regarding claim 6, Sadwick teaches wherein the communication means (14) is configured to communicate with a wireless communication transmitter (34) (wireless (non-limiting examples: WiFi, Bluetooth, Cellular, other communications including but not limited to those that have a unique identifier such as a WiFi address, a SIM card including eSiM cards, Bluetooth information, etc. [0028]); (one or more sensors can communicate through wireless means [0051]); (A lighting control system with wireless communications in accordance with some embodiments of the invention [0064]); (The detection of a such a fault or improper installation can be done by any method including wireless transmission and wireless sensing [0329]).
Regarding claim 7, Sadwick teaches wherein the communication means (14) comprises wireline communication means (A lighting control system with wired communications in accordance with some embodiments of the invention [0064]); (Voice, voice recognition, gesturing, motion, motion recognition, etc. can also be transmitted via wired and/or powerline communications [0250]); (Some embodiments of the invention include motion sensing for either outdoor or indoor that can wirelessly, wired and/or powerline communications set, program, control, monitor, log, respond, alert, alarm, etc. [0267]); (sensors that are either internal or external and connected by one or more of wired powerline communications [0276]); (The smart lighting, dimmers, power supplies, sensors, controls, etc. can you any type or types of wired and/or powerline communications [0321]).
Regarding claim 8, Sadwick teaches wherein the wireline communication means (14) is configured to power one or more of the sensing means (11) (Cameras and other sensors, detectors, IOT, can be embedded, incorporated, connected, separated, wired, wireless, power line communications, etc. for implementations of the present invention [0372]); (The smart lighting, dimmers, power supplies, sensors, controls, etc. can use any type or types of wired, wireless, and/or powerline communications [0321]); (A power supply/dimming control circuit can be provided to power and control the lighting panel and can be positioned in any suitable location, such as in the base. An IR receiver and/or other wired or wireless connection can be provided to link the desk lamp to other parts of an automation system, enabling the illumination level, color, on/off state to be controlled, scheduled, sequenced, etc. [0146]), and the visual information output means (12) (The lighting system can be used to improve safety by identifying and guiding in dangerous situations by indicating status [0037]); (The two or more sided lighting can perform different functions… the side that has one or more color/wavelengths of light can provide indication of status or statuses [0071]); (The present invention may be used as a light source for multiple purposes including indicating a guide light by shining or flashing different colors to indicate one or more paths simultaneously, sequencing the lighting to indicate directions to follow/take/etc., turning different parts including light source parts to indicate a direction or path, etc. to follow, a status indicator by shining various colors in various locations [0130]).
Regarding claim 9, Sadwick, as modified, would teach a luminaire (2), comprising at least one LED (21) (LED luminaire [0026]); a driver (22) configured to power the at least one LED (21) (Universal drivers can also be used to support Triac and 0 to 10 Volt dimming [0139]); and a casing (23) (Fig. 1, element 10), comprising an opening (231) configured for insertion of a module (1) of claim 1 such that sensing means (11) of the module (1) is/are exposed to an exterior of the luminaire (2) based on the explanation provided in the analysis of claim 1.
Regarding claim 10, Sadwick teaches the luminaire (2) of claim 9, further comprising a battery (24); the luminaire (2) configured for emergency lighting (Embodiments of the present invention can include batteries as part of the implementation or be powered by back-up batteries, emergency batteries, solar power directly or indirectly (using batteries, fuel cells, etc.), vibration or mechanical energy sources, uninterruptible power supplies (UPSs), emergency power sources, emergency ballasts, etc., combinations of these, etc. and can provide emergency (or other power) to charge or power cell phone(s), tablet(s), radio(s), laptops, computers, other personal device assistants, etc. during an emergency or at other times [0089] and during an emergency including, but not limited to a smoky environment or a need for more intense light, embodiments of the present invention could switch to a high energy/high power mode where more power/current was being used by the SSL and thus, in general, increasing the output lumen [0120]).
Regarding claim 11, Sadwick teaches wherein the driver (22) further comprises a power supply (221) for powering a wireline communication means (14) connectable to the luminaire (2) (Universal drivers can also be used to support Triac and 0 to 10 Volt dimming [0139]); (The present invention includes smart, feature-full SSL drivers and photo/light, noise, and/or motion sensors that are very low power and capable of sending information wirelessly (or wired) to one or more controller/monitor units or directly to the SSL power supplies and drivers or combinations of these. The smart drivers, in addition to the performance specified for the simple drivers support, among others, optional wall (Triac), 0 to 10 V, powerline (PLC), wired and wireless dimming [0108]).
Regarding claim 12, Sadwick teaches wherein the driver (22) further comprises a power converter (224) for powering the at least one LED (21) (The dimmer for dimmable drivers may use and be configured in continuous conduction mode (CCM), critical conduction mode (CRM), discontinuous conduction mode (DCM), resonant conduction modes, etc., with any type of circuit topology including but not limited to buck, boost, buck-boost, boost-buck, cuk, SEPIC, flyback, forward-converters, etc. The present invention works with both isolated and non-isolated designs including, but not limited to, buck, boost-buck, buck-boost, boost, cuk, SEPIC, flyback and forward-converters including but not limited to push-pull, single and double forward converters [0234]).
Regarding claim 15, Sadwick teaches a wireless communication transmitter (34) connected to the wireline communication means (14) (one or more sensors including but not limited to one or more of a temperature sensor(s), humidity, moisture, water, air quality sensors can be powered by the present invention and inserted into the plenum of a room, ceiling, building, etc. and communicate by wired or wireless or both means [0051]); (The present device can use combinations of wireless and wired interfaces to control and monitor; for example for a linear or other fluorescent replacement for, for example, but not limited to, T4, T5, T6, T8, T9, T10, T12, PL 4 pin and 2 pin etc., one (or more) of the replacement lamps can be wireless with wired connections from the one (or more) replacement lamp(s) to the other replacement lamps such that the one or more wireless replacement lamps acts as a master receiving and/or transmitting information, data, commands, etc. wirelessly and passing along or receiving information, data, commands, etc. from the other remaining wired slaved units [0073]).
Regarding claim 17, Sadwick teaches a system, comprising a plurality of luminaires (2) of claim 9 configured to form a wireless mesh network (3) for reporting data sensed by the respective module (1) (The consolidated control of the total system can be of any form, type, approach, method, technology, protocol, interface(s), etc. including but not limited to those discussed herein, and, for example, over a mesh network including but not limited to a Bluetooth mesh or it can be over a local area network (LAN), WiFi, etc., combinations of these, etc. [0495] where embodiments of the present invention can provide for sophisticated, advanced, low-cost wired or powerline (or optionally wireless) control and monitoring and data and status/fault logging of each and every individual driver/power supply/module and LED lighting source [0500]).
Regarding claim 18, Sadwick teaches a wireless gateway (4) configured to relay the reported data (The present device can use combinations of wireless and wired interfaces for controlling and monitoring where one or more wireless replacement lamps acts as a master receiving and/or transmitting information, data, commands, etc. wirelessly and passing along or receiving information, data, commands, etc. from the other remaining wired slaved units. In other embodiments one or more wired masters may transfer, transmit, or receive, etc. information, data, commands from other wireless equipped fluorescent lamp replacements, etc. of combinations of these [0073] where the present invention includes smart, feature-full SSL drivers and photo/light, noise, and/or motion sensors that are very low power and capable of sending information wirelessly (or wired) to one or more controller/monitor units [0108]).
Regarding claim 19, Sadwick teaches a cloud computing platform (5) configured to operate a building management system (BMS) for processing the relayed data (The present invention includes but is not limited to solutions including among others and is not limited in any way or form to a central command and control system for schools, colleges, universities, etc. where data is collected by the system can be integrated with or fed into on-line networks/systems providing those buildings and staff with relevant information to enable a real-time “all-in-one” platform for overall school safety protection [0027]).
Regarding claim 20, Sadwick teaches wherein the cloud computing platform (5) is further configured to operate a visualization platform (6) for displaying the processed data (A graphical user interface is provided in some embodiments of the present invention, for example accessible as a web page or set of web pages that can be accessed using any web browser on any device. Such a graphical user interface can display all of the data sources, all of the controllable devices, and can provide remote control of any of the controllable devices in the system. Some embodiments provide for power monitoring and logging, for example measuring/monitoring input voltage and current, power consumption including both real and apparent power consumption and power factor of a single light source in the system or other device in the system, or for groups of devices in the system…These and other such GUIs can be imported to other formats such as, but not limited to tablets (in Bluetooth or WiFi mode as well as wireless internet mode), and a vast host of other interfaces [0117]); (FIG. 12 depicts a block diagram of a solid state lighting system including smart units for processing sensor inputs, communicating with controllers or between SSL/FLR devices, etc., in accordance with some embodiments of the invention [Fig. 12]); [See Figs. 8-10 to see processed data displayed via a cloud computing visualization platform].
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sadwick (US 20190098725 A1) in view of Kim (KR 101272109 B1) further in view of Hsia (US 20210159724 A1).
Regarding claim 3, Sadwick teaches the module of claim 1, but does not explicitly teach wherein the visual information output means (12) comprises a status indicator configured to emit light in dependence of a status of the luminaire (2).
Hsia teaches wherein the visual information output means (12) comprises a status indicator configured to emit light in dependence of a status of the luminaire (2) (In FIG. 1, the emergency-operated portion 810 is depicted to be integrated into the LED luminaire 110 with the self-diagnostic circuit 720 to auto-test charging and discharging current of a rechargeable battery 800 with self-diagnostic test results displayed in a status indicator, supporting dual mode operations of the LED luminaire 110 to work not only in a normal mode but also in an emergency mode [0029]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Sadwick with the teachings of Kim and Hsia to use a visual information output means comprising a status indicator configured to emit light in dependence of a status of the luminaire to quickly verify power states and effectively monitor settings without requiring complex analysis or specialized software.
Pertinent Prior Art
US 20160183351 A1: SYSTEM, METHOD, AND APPARATUS FOR POWERING INTELLIGENT LIGHTING NETWORKS
A system, method, and apparatus for powering intelligent lighting networks. The system includes the kinds of sensors disclosed in the instant application. The power for the intelligent lighting network is supplied by Power-over-Ethernet (PoE) switches and/or Mid-Spans, which are conditioned by a powered device to distribute power tuned specifically for each, at least one light emitting diode (LED) fixture. The Power-over-Ethernet switch and/or Mid-Span with associated router and wireless access point can be used to communicate with, and power a sensor network that collects data relevant to the intelligent lighting network. Optionally, the Power-over-Ethernet switch and/or Mid-Span can be used to communicate with, and power a network of sensors that collects data relevant to the space the intelligent lighting network is operating in, or can be used to communicate with and power a network of AC wall plugs that can be turned on and off, and various switches, relays, and PLCs, RFID systems, USB hubs, etc.
US 20180317306 A1: POWER RECEPTACLE CONTROL CIRCUITRY
Power receptacle control circuitry includes load switching circuitry, communications circuitry, sensor circuitry, processing circuitry, and a memory. The sensor circuitry includes a light sensor. The processing circuitry is coupled to the load switching circuitry, the communications circuitry, the sensor circuitry, and the memory. The memory includes instructions, which, when executed by the processing circuitry cause the power receptacle control circuitry to selectively deliver power to a load via the load switching circuitry, detect a modulated light signal via the light sensor, and join a group of devices based on the modulated light signal.
Conclusion
An inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communication from the examiner should be directed to LOGAN D COONS whose telephone number is
(571) 272-2698. (via email: logan.coons@uspto.gov “without a written authorization by applicant in place, the USPTO will not respond via internet e-mail to an internet correspondence” MPEP 502.02 II). The examiner can normally be reached on M-F 9:30am – 6pm ET.
/LOGAN D COONS/Examiner, Art Unit 2857
/SHELBY A TURNER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2857