Claims 9-16 are currently pending and examined below.
Response to amendment
This is a Final Office action in response to applicant's remarks/arguments filed on 07/28/2026.
Status of the claims:
Claims 9 and 11 have been amended.
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks pages 4-6, filed 07/28/2026, with respect to the rejections of claims 9-16 under 103) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground of rejection is made in view of Mamiya et al. (JP 2017076933 A) necessitated by the claim amendment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 9, 11, 13-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matesic et al. (US 2019/0016310 A1, “Matesic”) in view of Douglas E. Wright (US 2012/0255588 A1, “Wright”) and Mamiya et al. (JP 2017076933 A, “Mamiya”).
Regarding claim 9, Matesic teaches an optical sensor apparatus for a motor vehicle (Matesic teaches vehicle camera/sensor modules. The vehicle may include camera modules and sensor modules, including radar, LIDAR, sonar, etc. Matesic also states that coverings of camera/sensor modules may be exposed to debris and that the camera or sensor module is implemented within a spherical member. See Matesic [0037–0041] and Figs. 1–3.), comprising:
an optical lens arranged at a lens housing (Matesic teaches camera 336 having lens 426, where the lens faces, extends into, or extends past the opening in housing 314. See Matesic [0073] and Fig. 5.);
a cover configured to cover at least the optical lens (Matesic teaches transparent rotating spherical/frusto-spherical member 324. Camera 336 is fixed inside the rotating spherical member, and the transparent spherical member does not obstruct the camera view. See Matesic [0039], [0063], [0071] and Figs. 5–10.);
a bearing configured to mount the cover (Matesic teaches bearing 520, first cupping member 524, second cupping member 528, hollow driveshaft 536, and bearing housing 544. Bearing 520 encircles the hollow driveshaft 536 and allows the first cupping member 524 to rotate; the first cupping member 524 is fixed to rotating spherical member 324 so the rotating spherical member rotates with it. See Matesic [0080–0081 and Figs. 7–9.);
a drive which is configured to move at least the cover relative to the lens (Matesic teaches electric motor 328 rotating spherical member 324 while camera 336 remains fixed and does not rotate with the spherical member. Thus, the transparent cover rotates relative to the lens/camera. See Matesic [0061–0062], [0080–0085] and Figs. 3–10.); and
a cleaning agent configured to wet the cover (Matesic teaches washer fluid sprayed onto the exterior surface of rotating spherical member 324 by cleaning nozzle 320, or alternatively the bottom portion of the rotating spherical member sits within washer fluid 410 in reservoir 312. The washer fluid loosens objects and is wiped off by wiping member 340. See Matesic [0040–0041], [0060–0065], [0075–0076] and Figs. 3–6.).
Matesic fails to explicitly teach wherein the bearing is a fluid bearing that is fed with the cleaning agent.
However, Wright teaches pressurized cleaning/operating fluid passing through a rotating nozzle structure, with fluid flowing between relatively rotating shaft/housing surfaces to support and lubricate rotation. Wright states that fluid between the shaft and housing facilitates/lubricates rotation, decreases contact and wear, and eliminates the need for mechanical bearings. See Wright [0005–0006], [0025–0029], [0037–0041] and Figs. 1–6.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Matesic’s bearing 520 supporting the rotating spherical member 324 to be a fluid bearing fed with washer fluid, as taught by Wright, because Matesic already supplies washer fluid to wet and clean the rotating spherical member, and Wright teaches using operating/cleaning fluid between relatively rotating parts to support and lubricate rotation, reduce contact and wear, and eliminate the need for separate mechanical bearings or separate lubricant. The modification would have predictably improved durability and reliability of Matesic’s rotating cover assembly in a wet/dirty vehicle environment.
Matesic, in view of Wright, to explicitly teach a gap in which the cleaning agent is located is formed between the fluid bearing and the cover, and the drive is configured to rotate the cover such that the cover is cleaned by contacting the cleaning agent in the gap.
Mamiya teaches arranging cleaning liquid in the space adjacent a bearing-supported rotating optical cover such that rotation of the cover brings the cover into contact with the cleaning liquid. Mamiya teaches cleaning liquid 30 filled between housing 20 and cover glass 10, bearings 8 and 9 supporting stable rotation of cover glass 10 relative to housing 20, and rotation of cover glass 10 such that its surface is immersed in cleaning liquid 30 and cleaned thereby. See Mamiya [0032]-[0039], [0041].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the cleaning arrangement of Matesic according to Mamiya by providing the cleaning liquid in the space adjacent the rotating cover such that rotation of the cover brings the cover into contact with the cleaning liquid, because Mamiya teaches that filling the space between a housing and a rotatable optical cover with cleaning liquid and immersing the cover surface in the cleaning liquid during rotation allows dirt on the cover surface to be removed together with the cleaning liquid, thereby improving cleaning effectiveness (See Mamiya [0039]).
Regarding claim 11, Matesic, in view of Wright and Mamiya, teaches the optical sensor apparatus according to claim 9, wherein the bearing is located between the cover and a sheath (Matesic teaches the rotating spherical member 324 as the cover. Matesic also teaches that first cupping member 524 is fixed to the rotating spherical member 324, hollow driveshaft 536 is coupled to motor shaft 540, bearing 520 encircles hollow driveshaft 536, and bearing 520 sits within bearing housing 544 of housing 314. Thus, the bearing is between the rotating cover-support structure and a stationary housing/bearing housing structure. See Matesic [0080–0081] and Figs. 7–9.) at least partially surrounding the bearing (Matesic’s bearing housing 544 /housing support around bearing 520 corresponds to the claimed sheath structure surrounding the rotating-cover bearing support. Figs. 7–9 show bearing 520 received in the stationary bearing housing/support structure while the cover-connected cupping member/shaft rotates).
Regarding claim 13, Matesic, in view of Wright and Mamiya, teaches the optical sensor apparatus according to claim 12, wherein the sealant has a scraper (Matesic teaches that as rotating spherical member 324 rotates, the lower portion 420 of the sealing member may remove one or more objects from the rotating spherical member, as shown by arrow 428. That lower seal portion therefore functions as a scraper. See Fig. 5, [0074]).
Regarding claim 14, Matesic teaches an apparatus, comprising: a camera; and at least one optical sensor apparatus (Matesic teaches a vehicle may include one or more camera and sensor modules. See at least [0002], [0029], [0037]) according to claim 9 (See the rejection of claim 9).
Regarding claim 15, Matesic teaches an apparatus, comprising: a radar device; and at least one optical sensor apparatus (Matesic teaches the vehicle may include one or more (radar, Lidar), [0037], [0057]) according to claim 9 (See the rejection of claim 9).
Regarding claim 16, Matesic teaches a motor vehicle (Matesic teaches a vehicle system and external camera/sensor modules mounted on a vehicle ([0002], [0029], [0037], [0053]), comprising: at least one optical sensor apparatus according to claim 9 (See the rejection of claim 9); and at least one of a camera or a radar device (Matesic teaches camera modules and radar sensor modules. See Matesic [0053–0059] and Fig. 2.).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matesic in view of Wright, Mamiya and Rolf Monrad (US 20200261946 A1, “Monrad”).
Regarding claim 10, Matesic, in view of Wright and Mamiya, fails to explicitly the optical sensor apparatus according to claim 9, wherein the drive is formed as a fluid flow formed by the cleaning agent.
However, Monrad discloses a vehicle camera/sensor cleaning apparatus ([0088]) where the driving unit 320 is fluid driven, specifically “driven by cleaning fluid.” ([0090]- [0091]). Monrad further teaches that the outer 321 and inner 322 rotor are arranged to rotate in an annular recess 35 in the mainly disc-shaped body 30 due to supply of cleaning fluid and the inclined holes 34, 323 and 324 [0100].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Matesic’s electric-motor drive for rotating spherical member 324 to use a cleaning-fluid-flow drive, as taught by Monrad, because Matesic already provides washer fluid to the rotating spherical member for cleaning, and Monrad teaches a vehicle camera/sensor cleaning apparatus in which the driving unit is fluid driven, i.e., driven by cleaning fluid, with cleaning fluid supplied through inclined holes to rotate the rotors. This modification would have predictably used Matesic’s already-available washer-fluid supply to perform both cleaning and driving functions, thereby reducing the need for separate electric drive components while maintaining rotation of the cover for cleaning.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matesic in view of Wright, Mamiya and Robert J. Visintainer (US 20080044274 A1, “Visintainer”).
Regarding claim 12 Matesic, in view of Wright and Mamiya, fails to explicitly teach the optical sensor apparatus according to claim 11, wherein the sheath, at ends thereof close to the cover, has at least one sealant in each case.
However, Visintainer teaches exactly that structure. It describes a rotating shaft 112 supported by roller bearing elements 114, 115, 116 contained within a generally cylindrical bearing housing 120. It further teaches bearing seal assemblies 119a and 119b at opposite ends of the bearing housing 120 to isolate the shaft and bearings within the bearing housing and retain lubricant. See Fig. 1, [0016].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the Matesic’s bearing housing 544/sheath to include seal assemblies at opposite ends of the bearing housing, as taught by Visintainer, because Matesic’s rotating cover is supported by a bearing/shaft arrangement, and Visintainer teaches that bearing housings for rotating shafts commonly include seal assemblies at opposite ends to isolate the bearing region, retain lubricant/fluid, and prevent contaminants from entering the bearing housing. The modification would predictably help retain washer fluid in the fluid-bearing region and reduce dirt/debris entry into the bearing housing of the rotating cover assembly.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JEMPSON NOEL/Examiner, Art Unit 3645
/YUQING XIAO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3645