68DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 05/29/2026 is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: Note: The paragraphs cited below are from corresponding U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2025/0138525.
Claim 1 recites “storage device,” which is a generic placeholder for “means,” followed by the functional language “in which identification information of the machine body is stored.” Storage functions for claim 1 are described in the specification with respect to non-volatile memory 113. See par. [0087]. Accordingly, “storage device” is interpreted as non-volatile memory 113 and equivalents.
Claim 1 recites “communication device,” which is a generic placeholder for “means,” followed by the functional language “executes communication with ….” Communication functions are described in the specification with respect to communication device 141 with an antenna. See par. [0033]. Accordingly, “communication device” is interpreted as communication device 141 and equivalents.
Claim 2 recites “notification device,” which is a generic placeholder for “means,” followed by the functional language “that issues a notification….” Notification functions are described in the specification with respect to monitor 133 and buzzer 132. See par. [0036]. Accordingly, “notification device” is interpreted as a monitor 133 and/or a buzzer 132 and equivalents.
Claim 5 recites “storage device,” which is a generic placeholder for “means,” followed by the functional language “acquires, from the work machine, identification information of a part ….” Storage functions for claim 5 are described in the specification with respect to non-volatile memory 183. See par. [0091]. Accordingly, “storage device” is interpreted as non-volatile memory 183 and equivalents.
Claims 6 and 8 recite “determination device,” which is a generic placeholder for “means,” followed by the functional language “determines whether or not the part is a genuine product on a basis of the identification information of the part and identification information registered in advance.” Determination functions are described in the specification with respect to information controller 110 (claim 6) and management server 180 (claim 8). See pars. [0093] and [0116]. Accordingly, “determination device” is interpreted as information controller 110 or management server 180 and equivalents.
Claims 6 and 8 recite “notification device,” which is a generic placeholder for “means,” followed by the functional language “issues a notification ….” Notification functions are described in the specification with respect to monitor 133 and buzzer 132. See par. [0036]. Accordingly, “notification device” is interpreted as a monitor 133 and/or a buzzer 132 and equivalents.
Claim 7 recites “computing device,” which is a generic placeholder for “means,” followed by the functional language “computes a planned date of maintenance of the part on a basis of an operating time of the work machine from acquisition of the identification information of the part by the controller and the available time of the part, and a notification device that notifies about the planned date.” Computing device functions are described in the specification with respect to information controller 110 and management server 180. See pars. [0094] and [0118]. Accordingly, “computing device” is interpreted as information controller 110 or management server 180 and equivalents.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2010/0013594 to Komine et al. (“Komine”) in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2018/0005461 to Steketee et al. (“Steketee”), and further in view of Japanese Patent Application No. JP2020016129 to Komatsu Ltd. (“Komatsu”) (translation provided by Applicant in IDS of 01/03/2025).
Regarding claim 1:
A work machine (Working machines 10. See, e.g., Komine at pars. [0072]-[0073] and Figs. 1-3.) comprising:
a machine body (Body of working machines 10. See, e.g., Komine at pars. [0072]-[0073] and Figs. 1-3.);
a work device attached to the machine body (The example working machines 10 include a dump truck with attached bed and an excavator with an attached shovel (“work device”). See, e.g., Komine at Fig. 2.);
a monitoring device that is attached to the machine body and has a camera that shoots surroundings of the machine body (Komine discloses sensors 140-142 (“monitoring device”) that monitor the area surrounding the working machine 10. See, e.g., Komine at pars. [0081]-[0083].);
a storage device in which identification information of the machine body is stored (“[R]ewritable non-volatile storage device 111 [(“storage device”)] [stores] … the chassis number of the working machine 10 [(“identification information of the machine body”)], the user name, the operating time period, the working region, the operating history of the working machine 10 and so on may be stored in this storage device 111.” See, e.g., Komine at par. [0088].);
a controller that controls the monitoring device (Electronic controller 100 (“controller”) interfaces to the control unit 140C of reader/writer 140 (“monitoring device”). See, e.g., Komine at pars. [0081]-[0082] and [0094] and Figs. 3-4.);
a communication device that executes communication with a management server external to the work machine (Communication controller 110 (“communication device”) communicates with an external management server 11A (“external”). See, e.g., Komine at pars. [0086]-[0087].),
wherein the controller is configured to: determine whether or not identification information of a part to be attached to the machine body or the work device is included in image data acquired by the monitoring device (“[E]lectronic controller 100 decides whether or not any component 16 (for example, a fuel filter 170) has been exchanged … [if yes] then the electronic controller 100 reads in, via the reader/writer 140, the product number from the wireless tag 17 with which this component 16 is equipped.” See, e.g., Komine at pars. [0121]-[0122] and Fig. 10. Thus, Komine discloses “determine[ing] whether or not identification information of a part to be attached to the machine body or the work device is … acquired by the monitoring device.”); and
associate the identification information of the part, an acquisition date and time of the identification information of the part, an available time of the part, and the identification information of the machine body, the identification information of the machine body being stored in advance in the storage device (“[E]lectronic controller 100 transmits this product number which has been read in, and the chassis number [(“associate the identification information of the part …and the identification information of the machine body”)], to the management server 11A ….” See, e.g., Komine at par. [0122] and Fig. 10. The chassis number is stored in storage device 111. Komine at par. [0088].), and
transmit the identification information of the part, the acquisition date and time of the identification information of the part, the available time of the part, and the identification information of the machine body to the management server by the communication device when the identification information of the part is included in the image data (“[E]lectronic controller 100 transmits this product number which has been read in, and the chassis number, to the management server 11A ….” See, e.g., Komine at par. [0122] and Fig. 10. Thus, Komine discloses “transmit[ting] the identification information of the part… and the identification information of the machine body to the management server.”),
In view of Steketee:
a monitoring device that is attached to the machine body and has a camera that shoots surroundings of the machine body (As discussed above, Komine discloses sensors 140-142 (“monitoring device”) that monitor the area surrounding the working machine 10. See, e.g., Komine at pars. [0081]-[0083]. However, Komine does not explicitly disclose that the information is acquired using a camera. In the same field of endeavor parts management system of a work machine (and thus analogous art), Steketee discloses that the monitoring functions of an RFID device (which corresponds to the reader/writer 140 of Komine) can be substituted with a camera. Steketee at par. [0169]. It would have been obvious and one skilled in the art would have been motivated to include a camera (either as a substitute for or in addition to reader/writer 140) because the “camera not only recognizes the barcode, but recognizes a unique pattern in one or more of the elements of the barcode that looks black but is actually a pattern … [that] acts as a selective bit that is hard to counterfeit and hard to duplicate.” Steketee at par. [0169]. Because both Komine and Steketee relate to monitoring parts in work machines, there would have been a reasonable chance of success. MPEP §2143.I.G.);
wherein the controller is configured to: determine whether or not identification information of a part to be attached to the machine body or the work device is included in image data acquired by the monitoring device (As discussed above Komine discloses that “electronic controller 100 decides whether or not any component 16 (for example, a fuel filter 170) has been exchanged … [if yes] then the electronic controller 100 reads in, via the reader/writer 140, the product number from the wireless tag 17 with which this component 16 is equipped.” See, e.g., Komine at pars. [0121]-[0122] and Fig. 10. As discussed above, it would have been obvious to include a camera in the system of Komine. Accordingly, in the system of Komine in view of Steketee, because a camera is used, the claimed identification information will be in the image data of the camera.);
In view of Komatsu:
associate the identification information of the part, an acquisition date and time of the identification information of the part, an available time of the part, and the identification information of the machine body, the identification information of the machine body being stored in advance in the storage device (As discussed above, Komine discloses that “electronic controller 100 transmits this product number which has been read in, and the chassis number [(“associate the identification information of the part …and the identification information of the machine body”)], to the management server 11A ….” See, e.g., Komine at par. [0122] and Fig. 10. The chassis number is stored in storage device 111. Komine at par. [0088]. In addition, Komine discloses that the machine management server 10A (“controller”) transmits the product number information at the time when the component in replaced. Komine at par. [0085]. However, Komine does not explicitly disclose that the claimed associating includes an acquisition date and time of the identification information of the part and an available time of the part. In the same field of endeavor, parts management system of a work machine (and thus analogous art), Komatsu discloses that, as part of determining an appropriate time to replace component 30, replacement request unit 314 acquires the time when the component 30 is mounted to the work machine 1 or the time when the determination unit 312 determines that component 30 is in the proper state. See, e.g., Komatsu at par. [0048]. Thus, by acquiring the time the component is mounted, which also corresponds to the time the product information is transmitted, Komatsu’s acquired time will read on “an acquisition date and time of the identification information of the part” and “an available time of the part.” It would have been obvious and one skilled in the art would have incorporated the replacement request unit 314 into the controller of Komine because Komatsu recommends replacing component 30 after a lapse of a specified time. See, e.g., Komatsu at par. [0048]. Because both Komine and Komatsu relate to parts management systems for a work machine, there would have been a reasonable chance of success. See MPEP § 2143.I.G.), and
transmit the identification information of the part, the acquisition date and time of the identification information of the part, the available time of the part, and the identification information of the machine body to the management server by the communication device when the identification information of the part is included in the image data (As discussed above, Komine discloses that “electronic controller 100 transmits this product number which has been read in, and the chassis number, to the management server 11A ….” See, e.g., Komine at par. [0122] and Fig. 10. For the reasons given above, the transmitted information will also include the “acquisition date and time of the identification information of the part” and “the available time of the part.”).
Regarding claim 2, which is dependent on claim 1:
wherein the controller is further configured to determine whether or not the part is a genuine product on a basis of the identification information of the part and identification information registered in advance (Komine discloses determining whether or not the product is a genuine product based on the product number (“identification information of the part”) and product number information stored in Table T1 (“identification information registered in advance”) See, e.g., Komine at pars. [0110]-[0112] and [0124]-[0129] and Figs. 8 and 10; see also, Komine at pars. [0055]-[0070] and Fig.1.
However, while par. [0160] of Komine suggests that their “invention may be implemented in various manners,” Komine does not explicitly disclose that the determination of a genuine product can be performed in electronic controller 100 (instead of management server 11A). In a same field of endeavor, parts management system of a work machine (and thus analogous art), Komatsu discloses a determination unit 312 that determines whether a part is a genuine part. See, e.g., Komatsu at par. [0041]. Komatsu also discloses that the functions of the determination unit 312 can be performed in the work machine 1. See Komatsu at par. [0094]. Thus, based on the suggestion in Komine that the invention can be implemented in various manners (see Komine at par. [0160], it would have been obvious and one skilled in the art would have been motivated to incorporate the genuine part determination function into Komine’s electronic controller 100 located in work machine 10, as disclosed in Komatsu. Because both Komine and Komatsu relate to parts management systems for a work machine, there would have been a reasonable chance of success. See MPEP § 2143.I.G. In addition, as shown by Komatsu, one skilled in the art would have understood that adding the genuine part determining function into the work machine is a mere combination of prior art elements accordingly to known methods that would yield predictable results. See MPEP § 2143.I.G. Accordingly, the Komine in view of Komatsu renders obvious the claimed controller.
the machine body is equipped with a notification device that notifies about a result of the determination (UI unit 130 (“notification device”) outputs a warning message if the part is not genuine. See, e.g., Komine at pars. [0089] and [0126].).
Regarding claim 3, which is dependent on claim 2:
wherein the controller is further configured to: compute a planned date of maintenance of the part on a basis of an operating time of the machine body from acquisition of the identification information of the part and the available time of the part (Komatsu discloses determining whether the component 30 needs to be replaced based on the operating time of the work machine 1. See, e.g., Komatsu at pars. [0050]-[0057].); and
cause the notification device to include the planned date in the notification (Komatsu discloses notifying when the component needs to be replaced. See, e.g., Komatsu at par. [0057].).
Regarding claim 4, which depends on claim 2:
wherein the controller is further configured to: further determine whether or not the part is a part attachable to the work machine on a basis of a part number included in the identification information of the part and a part number registered in advance; and cause the notification device to issue the notification based on a result of the further determination (See analysis in claim 8 below.).
Regarding claim 5:
A parts management system of a work machine (The combination of machine management device 10A of working machine 10 and management server 11A management center 11. See, e.g., Komine at Abstract and pars. [0072]-[0074] and Figs. 2-3.) including
a monitoring device that has a camera that shoots surroundings of a machine body of the work machine (Komine discloses sensors 140-142 (“monitoring device”) that monitor the area surrounding the working machine 10 that communicates with wireless tag 17. See, e.g., Komine at pars. [0081]-[0083]. For the reasons given above with respect to claim 1, it would have been obvious to include a camera (either as a substitute for or in addition to reader/writer 140). Steketee at par. [0169].),
the parts management system (Machine management device 10A) comprising:
a storage device that acquires, from the work machine, identification information of a part attached to the machine body, the identification information being included in the image data acquired by the monitoring device, an acquisition data and time of the identification information of the part, an available time of the part, and identification information of the machine body (Komine discloses that management server 11A receives the product number (“identification information of a part attached to the machine body”) and the chassis number (“identification information of the machine body”) and stores the information in component ID management Table T1 in storage unit 320, which in combination with the management server 11A, reads on the claimed “storage device.” See, e.g., Komine at pars. [0120]-[0131] and Figs. 6, 8, 10, and 11. As discussed above in claim 1 with respect to Steketee, it would have been obvious to include a camera such that “the identification information [is] included in the image data acquired by the monitoring device.” In addition, as discussed above in claim 1 with respect to Komatsu, it would have been obvious to also include “an acquisition data and time of the identification information of the part” and “an available time “of the part the associated information.), and
stores the identification information of the part, the acquisition date and time of the identification information of the part, the available time of the part, and the identification information of the machine body in such a manner as to associate the identification information of the part, the acquisition date and time of the identification information of the part, the available time of the part, and the identification information of the machine body (Component ID Management Table T1 in storage unit 320 associates product number and chassis number. See, e.g., Komine at pars. [0103]-[0104 and Fig. 6. As discussed above in claim 1 with respect to Komatsu, it would have been obvious to also include “an acquisition data and time of the identification information of the part” and “an available time “of the part the associated information.).
Regarding claim 6, which depends on claim 5:
wherein the parts management system further comprises: a determination device that determines whether or not the part is a genuine product on a basis of the identification information of the part and identification information registered in advance (Management server 11A includes a processing unit (“determination device”) that receives the product number (“identification information of the part”) determines (see Fig. 10) whether or not the product is a genuine product based on product number information stored in Table T1 (“identification information registered in advance”). Accordingly, Komine discloses the claimed “determination device.” See, e.g., Komine at pars. [0110]-[0112] and [0124]-[0129] and Figs. 8 and 10; see also, Komine at pars. [0055]-[0070] and Fig.1.); and
a notification device that issues a notification based on a result of the determination by the determination device (UI unit 130 (“notification device”) outputs a warning message if the part is not genuine. See, e.g., Komine at pars. [0089] and [0126].).
Regarding claim 7, which depends on claim 5, Komine in view of Komatsu renders obvious:
wherein the parts management system further comprises: a controller configured to acquire the information relating to an available time of the part through the monitoring device, a computing device that computes a planned date of maintenance of the part on a basis of an operating time of the work machine from acquisition of the identification information of the part by the controller and the available time of the part; and a notification device that issues a notification including the planned date (See analysis in claim 3 above.).
Regarding claim 8, which depends on claim 5:
wherein the parts management system further comprises: a determination device that determines whether or not the part is a part attachable to the work machine on a basis of a part number included in the identification information of the part and a part number registered in advance (Management server 11A includes a processing unit (“determination device”) that determines based on the product number (“identification information of the part”) and product number information stored in Table T1 (“a part number registered in advance”) determines (see Fig. 10) whether or not the product is a genuine product. See, e.g., Komine at pars. [0110]-[0112] and [0124]-[0131] and Figs. 8, 10, and 11; see also, Komine at pars. [0055]-[0070] and Fig.1. If the received product number matches a part number registered in advance in the Table T1, then there is no warning and no limit on starting the engine 160, which indicates that the “part is a part attachable to the work machine.” See, e.g., Komine at pars. [0125]-[0126] and [0131] and Figs. 10 and 11. If the received product number does not match any part number registered in advance in the Table T1, then a warning is issued (e.g., “[p]lease exchange it for a genuine component”) and/or the starting of the engine 160 is limited, which indicates that the “part is [not] a part attachable to the work machine.” See, e.g., Komine at pars. [0125]-[0126] and [0131] and Figs. 10 and 11. Accordingly, under a broad but reasonable interpretation of the claim language, Komine discloses the claimed “determination device.”); and
a notification device that issues a notification based on a result of the determination by the determination device (UI unit 130 and controller 100 (“notification device”) outputs a warning message and/or limits the starting of engine 160 if the part is not genuine. See, e.g., Komine at pars. [0089], [0126] and [0131].).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 5, 6, and 8 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. The examiner notes that Komatsu discloses the claimed “acquisition date and time of the identification information of the part,” as discussed above.
Applicant’s amendments have overcome the §112 rejection. The §112 rejection of claim 1 has been withdrawn.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2022/0042286 to Tsuji discloses a work machine whose surrounding area is monitored by a camera.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/B.K./Examiner, Art Unit 2116
/CHAD G ERDMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2116