DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 03/06/2024 and 03/06/2024 was filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 8 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 8 recites “The heating system according to claim 1, 4” which should be corrected to “The heating system according to claim 4”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“an adjustment assembly configured to move the one or more heating targets relative to the induction heating assembly” in claim 12. In particular, the claim limitation “an adjustment assembly” is a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language “configured to move the one or more heating targets relative to the induction heating assembly” without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder “an adjustment assembly” is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim limitation “an adjustment assembly” in claim 12 invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. The specification does not include structure that performs the function of the adjustment assembly. The specification denotes that the adjustment assembly is element 210, but does not explain what components constitutes the adjustment assembly, and in the figures element 210 is presented as a box without any specified components. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph. For purposes of examination the adjustment assembly is taken to be any mechanical components that is able to “move the one or more heating targets relative to the induction heating assembly.”
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 8-11, and 15-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Batista (US20220295894A1).
Figs. 3 and 4 of Batista
Figs. 5A-C of Batista
Regarding claim 1, Batista teaches a heating system, comprising:
an induction heating assembly (16) configured to generate a varying magnetic field ([0051] providing the first and second induction coils with different configurations so that the magnetic field generated by each coil under the same applied current is different); and
a heating target assembly (14) comprising one or more heating targets ([0097] susceptor arrangement 14 comprises multiple susceptor blades),
wherein the one or more heating targets (14) are moveable relative to the induction heating assembly ([0112] radial movement of the susceptor arrangement 14),
the one or more heating targets (14) being heatable by penetration with the varying magnetic field ([0047] a “susceptor arrangement” means a conductive element that heats up when subjected to a changing magnetic field).
Regarding claim 2, Batista teaches the heating system according to claim 1,
wherein the heating target assembly (14) is flexible ([0010] each susceptor may comprise a flexible portion).
Regarding claim 3, Batista teaches the heating system according to claim 1, wherein the one or more heating targets (14) are moveable between a first position (Fig. 3) and a second position (Fig. 4, 5A-C),
the second position (Fig. 4, 5A-C) being closer to the induction heating assembly (16) than the first position (Fig. 3, [0101] susceptor 14 moves radially, which would be understood to move a portion of 14 closer to coil 16).
Regarding claim 4, Batista teaches the heating system according to claim 3, wherein the one or more heating targets (14) are:
biased towards the first position ([0109] susceptor arrangement 14, original position without insertion of element 12); and
moveable towards the second position ([0110] radial movement of the susceptors such that the aerosol-generating article 12 can be accommodated within the susceptor arrangement 14).
Regarding claim 8, Batista teaches the heating system according to claim 1, 4
further comprising a controller ([0101] controller) configured to select a drive frequency and cause the induction heating assembly to operate at the selected drive frequency ([0101] controller may be configured to control the supply of electrical energy from the power supply to the induction coil 16 or to the individual induction coils 16; which would be understood to select a drive frequency such that the coils receive electrical energy), wherein:
the controller ([0101] controller) selects the drive frequency based on the position of the one or more heating targets (14) relative to the induction heating assembly (16, [0037] resonant frequency; [0101, 0110] controller may be configured to control the supply of electrical energy from the power supply to the induction coil 16 or to the individual induction coils 16; article 12 can be accommodated within the susceptor arrangement 14).
Regarding claim 9, Batista teaches the heating system according to claim 2,
wherein at least one of the one or more heating targets (14) are rigid ([0010] a portion of the susceptor upstream of the flexible portion may be rigid to enable secure attachment of the susceptor).
Regarding claim 10, Batista teaches the heating system according to claim 2,
wherein at least one of the one or more heating targets (14) are flexible ([0010] a portion of the susceptor upstream of the flexible portion may be rigid to enable secure attachment of the susceptor)
Regarding claim 11, Batista teaches the heating system according to claim 1, wherein, in use, the one or more heating targets (14) are moved due to contact with an entity (12) being heated ([0110] flexible portion 44 enables radial movement of the susceptors such that the aerosol-generating article 12 can be accommodated within the susceptor arrangement 14).
Annotated Fig. 1 of Batista
Regarding claim 15, Batista teaches the heating system according to claim 1, wherein the induction heating assembly (16) comprises a top side facing towards the one or more heating targets (14), and a bottom side facing away from the one or more heating targets (14, Annotated Fig. 1),
wherein the varying magnetic field is asymmetric such that the magnetic field strength at the top side is substantially greater than the magnetic field strength at the bottom side ([0032] flux concentrator may concentrate the magnetic field lines to the interior of the flux concentrator thereby increasing the heating effect of the susceptor arrangement by means of the induction coil; where the concentration of magnetic field lines to the interior is understood to cause an asymmetric magnetic field).
Regarding claim 16, Batista teaches the heating system according to claim 1, wherein the induction heating assembly (16) comprises a plurality of heating zones ([0049] a first heating zone and a second heating zone) each heating zone being arranged to generate a varying magnetic field to heat a respective region of the heating target assembly (14, [0099-0102]).
Regarding claim 17, Batista teaches the heating system according to claim 16, wherein each heating zone ([0049] a first heating zone and a second heating zone) is independently controllable ([0100] the induction coils 16 may be separately controllable to enable heating of separate heating zones).
Fig. 1 of Batista
Fig. 6 of Batista
Regarding claim 18, Batista teaches the heating system according to claim 1, wherein the induction heating assembly (16) is shaped to correspond to a shape of the heating target assembly (14, Fig. 1, 6).
Regarding claim 19, Batista teaches the heating system according to claim 1, wherein the induction heating assembly (16) has a curved profile to correspond to a curved profile of the heating target assembly (14, Fig. 1, 6).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5-6 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Batista (US20220295894A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Hellmers (US12150584B2).
Regarding claim 5, Batista teaches the heating system according to claim 3, but is silent on wherein when a region of the heating target assembly is arranged in the first position, the region is heated to a lower temperature than when the region arranged in the second position.
Fig. 2 of Hellmers
Hellmers teaches wherein when a region of the heating target assembly (50) is arranged in the first position (Col. 5 lines 15-25 plate 50 to move upwardly along the axis 24 to an inoperative position), the region is heated to a lower temperature (Col. 5 lines 15-25 operative current is no longer induced in the plate 50 to heat the plate 50) than when the region arranged in the second position (Col. 5 lines 1-20 plate 50 in the lower region 44 when the plate 50 is an operative position, as shown in FIG. 2 . In this operative position, the plate 50 is located within the magnetic field delivered by the induction coil 18).
Batista and Hellmers are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of heating assemblies. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to have modified Batista to incorporate the teachings of Hellmers to have the first and second position be heated at different temperatures to allow heating to occur at a desired temperature without manual operation or complex circuitry (Hellmers Col. 1 lines 10-25).
Regarding claim 6, Batista and Hellmers teach the heating system according to claim 5, and Batista teaches the induction heating (16) assembly is configured to operate at a drive frequency ([0037] resonant frequency); and is heated resonantly when arranged in the second position ([0037] resonant frequency; [0101, 0110] controller may be configured to control the supply of electrical energy from the power supply to the induction coil 16 or to the individual induction coils 16; article 12 can be accommodated within the susceptor arrangement 14).
Batista is silent on the drive frequency is selected such that the region is heated non-resonantly when arranged in the first position.
Hellmers teaches the drive frequency is selected such that the region is heated non-resonantly when arranged in the first position (Col. 5 lines 15-25 operative current is no longer induced in the plate 50 to heat the plate 50; where operative current not being applied would be the equivalent of a non-resonant heating operation).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to have modified Batista to incorporate the teachings of Hellmers to have heating occur non-resonantly to allow heating to occur at a desired temperature without manual operation or complex circuitry (Hellmers Col. 1 lines 10-25).
Regarding claim 12, Batista teaches the heating system according to claim 1, further comprising an adjustment assembly configured to move the one or more heating targets relative to the induction heating assembly.
Hellmers teaches further comprising an adjustment assembly (54) configured to move the one or more heating targets (50) relative to the induction heating assembly (18).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to have modified Batista to incorporate the teachings of Hellmers to have an assembly that moves the heating target in order allow heating to occur at a desired temperature without manual operation or complex circuitry (Hellmers Col. 1 lines 10-25).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Batista (US20220295894A1) and Hellmers (US12150584B2) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Chen (US 20120305546).
Regarding claim 7, Batista and Helmers teach the heating system according to claim 6, but are silent on wherein: the region of the heating target assembly and the induction heating assembly form an induction system having: (i) an initial resonant frequency when arranged in the first position, and (ii) a final resonant frequency when arranged in the second position; and the drive frequency is selected such that: a difference between the final resonant frequency and the drive frequency is smaller than the difference between the initial resonant frequency and the drive frequency.
Chen teaches the region of the heating target assembly and the induction heating assembly form an induction system having: (i) an initial resonant frequency when arranged in the first position ([0044] no pan is present, understood to have a resonant frequency), and (ii) a final resonant frequency when arranged in the second position ([0044] pan is present, having a resonant frequency that is different than that of no pan present, by nature of resonant frequencies); and
the drive frequency ([0044] operating frequency) is selected such that:
a difference between the final resonant frequency and the drive frequency is smaller than the difference between the initial resonant frequency and the drive frequency ([0044-0045] operating frequency is a resonant frequency).
Batista, Hellmers, and Chen are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of heating assemblies. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to have modified Batista and Hellmers to incorporate the teachings of Chen to have the first and second positions have different resonant frequencies, where the drive frequency is closer to the second resonant frequency as heating occurring at the second position is desired and where operating at the resonant frequency is key to transferring the optimal amount of power from the induction coil to the vessel (Chen [0040]).
Claims 13 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Batista (US20220295894A1) and Hellmers (US12150584B2) as applied to claim 12 above, and further in view of Matsen (US 20160316522 A1).
Regarding claim 13, Batista and Helmers teach the heating system according to claim 12, but are silent on further comprising a controller configured to control the adjustment assembly, and thereby movement of the one or more heating targets, based on one or more criteria.
Matsen teaches further comprising a controller (140) configured to control the adjustment assembly, and thereby movement of the one or more heating targets, based on one or more criteria ([0045, 0057] controller 140 to the hydraulic actuator 160 include commands to move the first and second portions 110A, 110B of the apparatus 110 together and apart).
Batista, Hellmers, and Matsen are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of heating assemblies. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to have modified Batista and Hellmers to incorporate the teachings of Matsen to have a controller move the targets so that heating may be applied and removed according to the desired state of the heated material (Matsen [0045]).
Regarding claim 14, Batista, Hellmers, and Matsen teach the heating system according to claim 13, but Batista and Helmers are silent on wherein the one or more criteria include at least one of: a measured temperature; a user input received by the heating system; a time; and power supply constraints.
Matsen teaches wherein the one or more criteria include at least one of: a measured temperature; a user input received by the heating system; a time; and power supply constraints ([0057] after a single pulse (or multiple pulses in some embodiments) of a high-strength non-oscillating magnetic field to the heat-treated material 130 at 208, and the subsequent compression of the heat-treated material at 210 is completed and the compressive forces are removed; where a single pulse is taken to be a power supply constraint).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to have modified Batista and Hellmers to incorporate the teachings of Matsen to have a controller move the targets based on power supply constraints so that heating may be applied and removed according to the desired state of the heated material (Matsen [0045]).
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Batista (US20220295894A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Yang (CN 109309977A) with citations made to attached machine translation.
Regarding claim 20, Batista teaches the heating system according to claim 1, but is silent on wherein the induction heating assembly is flexible.
Yang teaches wherein the induction heating assembly is flexible ([0045] the formation of coil plate 100 than the traditional coil thinner, coil 20 shape is more flexible).
Batista and Yang are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of heating assemblies. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to have modified Batista to incorporate the teachings of Yang to have the induction heating assembly be flexible so it is easy to realize coils of various shapes which can greatly shorten the manufacturing time, making it suitable for production line operation and realizing mass production (Yang [0046]).
Conclusion
/ABIGAIL H RHUE/Examiner, Art Unit 3761 8/6/2026