DETAILED ACTION
This office action in response to an application filing received March 6, 2024. The preliminary amendment received March 6, 2024 has been entered. The Application Data Sheet received on March 6, 2024 has been considered.
Claims 12-13 and 15-16 are amended.
Claims 17-20 are newly added.
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed March 6, 2024 and April 29, 2024 has been considered.
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because it contains legal phraseology (i.e. Disclosure). A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“a time detection module configured to detect a time deviation value …; a code block calculation module configured to calculate a total number of code blocks …; and a code block insertion module configured to control the designated device to insert code blocks …” in claim 14, lines 2, 4 and 6.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3 and 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LIU, CN110266612A (see the English translated copy), (hereinafter LIU), in view of Liu et al., US 11212068 B1, (hereinafter Liu).
Regarding claim 1 and 14-16, LIU teaches a method for sending a cell stream, comprising (see ¶ [0056] - ¶ [0061], As shown in Figure 1A, this embodiment provides a data transmission method, including):
calculating a total number of code blocks corresponding to the time deviation value (see ¶ [0074], e.g., At this time, when determining the predetermined interval or predetermined number of code blocks, the number of code blocks to be inserted between idle blocks can be determined based on the maximum time deviation value and transmission rate of the network device.); and
controlling the designated device to insert code blocks of a preset type into the cell stream to be sent according to the calculated number of code blocks (see ¶ [0122], e.g., Optionally, the insertion module may be specifically used to insert one of the free blocks in the bitstream at predetermined intervals of code blocks. For example, if the bandwidth of a time slot is 5 Gbit/s, then a predetermined number of 5,000 codeblocks or slightly less than 5,000 code blocks can be inserted into an idle block for rate adjustment.),
however, it does not explicitly teach detecting a time deviation value between an actual time of sending a cell in a designated device and a reference time; and so as to adjust the actual time of sending the cell in the designated device to the reference time.
Liu teaches, detecting a time deviation value between an actual time of sending a cell in a designated device and a reference time (Fig. 6, e.g., element 300, 306, 308, Col. 11, lines 49-60, e.g., determining an actual transmission time when the specific part of the signal is transmitted (step 306); and causing adjustment of a clock based on a time error derived from a difference between the presentation time and the actual transmission time (step 308)); and
so as to adjust the actual time of sending the cell in the designated device to the reference time (see Fig. 6, e.g., element 300, 306, 308, Col. 11, lines 49-60, FIG. 6 is a flowchart of a process 300 for Differential Clock Recovery (DCR) using a global reference time. The process 300 includes, at an egress node, synchronizing with a global reference time (step 302);… and causing adjustment of a clock based on a time error derived from a difference between the presentation time and the actual transmission time (step 308).).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to have modified actual time of sending the cell in the designated device of LIU to incorporate the teachings of Liu to include detecting a time deviation value between an actual time of sending a cell in a designated device and a reference time; and so as to adjust the actual time of sending the cell in the designated device to the reference time. Doing so would facilitate in achieving removing underrun or overrun causing packet loss or packet variation, out of range of the application requirements as suggested by Liu (see Col. 12, lines 56-65, e.g., The DCR algorithm is used to recover a clock 70 at the demapper 58 so that a stream output over a radio interface can match the input of a clock 72 at the mapper 52, so that there is no underrun or overrun causing packet loss or packet variation, out of range of the application requirements. For the DCR algorithm, there is a need to convey a timestamp, from the timestamper functionality 68 on the mapper 52, to the demapper 58, such that the clocks 70, 72 have a common reference).
Regarding claim 2, LIU as combined with Liu teaches the limitations of Claim 1.
LIU does not teach but Liu teaches, wherein the detecting a time deviation value between an actual time of sending a cell in a designated device and a reference time comprises:
according to the reference time, selecting a cell with a preset sequence number in the designated device as a reference cell to be subjected to a time comparison;
determining a time comparison period according to the reference time; and in each time comparison period (see Col. 14, lines 52-59, e.g., The process 650 can further include including a sequence number in an orderInfo field in the RoE frame in addition to the timestamp in the payload (step 662); see Col. 9, lines 43-59, e.g., The connections between the RoE demapper 58 and the DCR control functionality 62 include a reference bit presentation time, a reference bit transmitted (Tx), and a flow enable. The flow enable is asserted when the global reference time matches the reference bit presentation time of the packet at the head of a demapper queue. The reference bit Tx is asserted when a reference bit is transmitted to the transceiver 60. The reference bit presentation time is the value of the presentation time from the packet at the head of the demapper queue),
perform the time comparison to detect the time deviation value between an actual time of sending the reference cell and the reference time (see Col. 2, lines 31-40, e.g., an egress node includes circuitry configured to synchronize with a global reference time, receive a signal including a presentation time for when a specific part of the signal is to be transmitted, wherein the presentation time was determined by an ingress node with reference to the global reference time, determine an actual transmission time when the specific part of the signal is transmitted, and cause adjustment of a clock based on a time error derived from a difference between the presentation time and the actual transmission time).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to have modified actual time of sending the cell in the designated device of LIU to incorporate the teachings of Liu to include detecting a time deviation value between an actual time of sending a cell in a designated device and a reference time. Doing so would facilitate in achieving removing underrun or overrun causing packet loss or packet variation, out of range of the application requirements as suggested by Liu (see Col. 12, lines 56-65, e.g., The DCR algorithm is used to recover a clock 70 at the demapper 58 so that a stream output over a radio interface can match the input of a clock 72 at the mapper 52, so that there is no underrun or overrun causing packet loss or packet variation, out of range of the application requirements. For the DCR algorithm, there is a need to convey a timestamp, from the timestamper functionality 68 on the mapper 52, to the demapper 58, such that the clocks 70, 72 have a common reference).
Regarding claim 3, LIU as combined with Liu teaches the limitations of Claim 2.
LIU does not teach but Liu teaches, wherein the reference time comprises any one of following time values obtained by a preset time acquisition method:
a time value of a Global Clock corresponding to the cell,
an occurrence time value of a pulse having a global clock attribute, and
a desired value of the time of sending the cell (see Col. 2, lines 54-67 - Col. 3, lines 1-8, e.g., an ingress node includes circuitry configured to synchronize with a global reference time, receive a signal for transmission to the egress node and detect a reference therein with respect to the global reference time, determine a presentation time for when the reference in the signal is to be transmitted from the egress node, and transmit the signal to the egress node with the presentation time included therein for the egress node to adjust its clock based on a time error derived from a difference between the presentation time and an actual transmission time… and wherein the presentation time can be when the egress node should transmit the reference);
wherein the time comparison period is a time duration between two consecutive reference times (see Col. 9, lines 43-59, e.g., The connections between the RoE demapper 58 and the DCR control functionality 62 include a reference bit presentation time, a reference bit transmitted (Tx), and a flow enable. The flow enable is asserted when the global reference time matches the reference bit presentation time of the packet at the head of a demapper queue. The reference bit Tx is asserted when a reference bit is transmitted to the transceiver 60. The reference bit presentation time is the value of the presentation time from the packet at the head of the demapper queue); and
the preset time acquisition method comprises using any one of: a calibration of a 1588 function supported by the designated device, a Global Positioning System clock signal, or an external clock source (see Col. 7, lines 61-64, Accordingly, the process 30 further includes synchronizing a global reference time between the nodes 20, 22, such as via Precision Time Protocol (PTP) (IEEE 1588), a Global Navigation Satellite System (GNSS), etc.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to have modified sending the cell in the designated device of LIU to incorporate the teachings of Liu to include detecting a time deviation value between an actual time of sending a cell in a designated device and a reference time. Doing so would facilitate in achieving common time reference, removing underrun or overrun causing packet loss or packet variation, out of range of the application requirements as suggested by Liu (see Col. 12, lines 49-64, e.g., The objective of the DCR control functionality 62 and the timestamper functionality 68 and is to provide a common time reference (e.g., SyncE and PTP 1588 ToD). The DCR algorithm is used to recover a clock 70 at the demapper 58 so that a stream output over a radio interface can match the input of a clock 72 at the mapper 52, so that there is no underrun or overrun causing packet loss or packet variation, out of range of the application requirements.).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 4-13 and 17-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 20100226466 A1 issued to Hardacker et al.
US 11916662 B2 issued to Gorshe et al.
US 20200287998 A1 issued to Gorshe et al.
US 20220255719 A1 issued to XU et al.
/POONAM SHARMA/Examiner, Art Unit 2472
/KEVIN T BATES/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2472