Applicant’s filing of claims 1-10 on 3/6/24 is acknowledged. Claims 1-10 are pending and are under examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 3/6/24 was acknowledged. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
The Office asserts that terms and phrases like “configured to” and “wherein” constitute recitations of intended use language for purposes of examination. The Office asserts that in the examined claims reciting such “configured to” language, the claim language that follows such recitations does not necessarily denote structure MPEP 2173.05(g). The functional limitation was evaluated and considered, for what it fairly conveys to a person of ordinary skill in the art. Similarly, a “wherein” clause may have a limiting effect on a claim if the language limits the claim to a particular structure. MPEP 2111.04. The determination of whether a “wherein” clause is a limitation in a claim depends on the specific facts of the case. While all words in each claim are considered in judging the patentability of the claim language, including functional claim limitations, not all limitations provide a patentable distinction.
During patent examination, the examined claims must be given their broadest reasonable interpretation consistent with the specification, unless a term has been given a special definition in the specification (“BRI”). See MPEP 2111.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1 and 3-9 are rejected because it is unclear how the claimed functions of the processing device and the claim language following, “in a case where,” structurally further define the claimed dispensing apparatus. Because claims 1 and 3-9 are directed to a “device,” i.e., a structure, the limitations of the claims serve to further define the structure. Thus, it is unclear how the claimed functions of the processing device and the claim language following, “in a case where,” structurally further define the claimed invention.
Claim 10 is rejected because “by the processing device” after “comprising:” is unclear.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shibahara et al. (“Shibahara,” WO 2019/150757 A1) in view of Nishimura et al. (“Nishimura,” US Pub. No. 2018/0038879).
As to claims 1 and 10, Shibahara discloses a dispensing device configured to dispense a liquid, the device comprising: a piston (108); a first drive device (motor 102) that drives the piston; a block (tip detaching part 111 has a through hole) having a first orifice and a second orifice that are able to be fitted to the tip mounting part; a pump (See piston 108 and piston receiving portion 109) connected to the first orifice and the second orifice; and a second drive device (motor 112) that varies a relative position between the syringe and the block, wherein a processing device (control PC 901) drives the second drive device to fit the tip mounting part and the first orifice to each other. See claim interpretation above. The control PC is capable of performing the claimed functions, e.g., drives the second drive device and identifies.
Regarding claims 1 and 10, Shibahara does not specifically disclose a syringe and a pressure sensor, and a processing device that processes a detection signal of the pressure measured by the pressure sensor. Nishimura discloses a syringe 107 in e.g., [0027] et seq., a pressure sensor 152 in [0047] et seq., and a pressure detection circuit 153 in e.g., [0047] et seq. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include the syringe, pressure sensor and processing device associated with pressure sensor because it would help improve the dispensing accuracy of the apparatus. See also MPEP 2112.02 for claim 10.
As to claim 2, Shibahara in combination with Nishimura disclose the elastic member passes through the first orifice when the tip mounting part and the first orifice are fitted to each other, and is brought into close contact with the second orifice when the tip mounting part and the second orifice are fitted to each other. See Nishimura’s syringe pump in e.g., [0027] et seq.
As to claim 3-9, Shibahara in combination with Nishimura disclose the functions of the processing device. See 112 rejection and claim interpretation above.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-10 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-9 of copending Application No. 18/688807. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the copending claims and the examined claims comprise substantially the same subject matter. For example, copending claim 1 and examined claim 1 comprise a dispensing apparatus (or “device”) configured to dispense a liquid, the apparatus comprising: a piston; a first drive device that drives the piston; a syringe that has a tip mounting unit to which a dispensing tip is attached and receives the piston; a pressure sensor that measures pressure in the syringe; a processing device that processes a detection signal of the pressure measured by the pressure sensor; a block that has a hole to which the tip mounting unit is able to be fitted; and a second drive device that varies a relative position between the syringe and the block, wherein the processing device drives the second drive device to fit the tip mounting unit and the hole to each other and seal up an interior of the syringe, applies positive pressure or negative pressure into the syringe, and calculates a correction value for a dispensing command value associated with a drive amount of the first drive device based on the pressure in the syringe after the positive pressure or the negative pressure is applied. The claimed functions of the processing device are considered functional claim language, and thus, the copending and examined processing device are considered substantially the same subject matter.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
/LORE R JARRETT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1797
9/19/2026