DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Shanley [US PATENT No.: US 5,574,213].
With regards to claim 1, Shanley discloses a pipe inspection system (2, apparatus having multiple conduit means (pipes and valves) Fig. 1, Col. 2, lines 47-67) arranged upstream from a pneumatic equipment (24, source as air as a pressure medium using most any commercially available air compressors will form a highly suitable source 24 for many applications, Fig. 1, Col. 3, lines 60-67) in a direction in which compressed air flows in order to inspect whether there is a compressed air leakage location at an inspection target portion of a pipe that supplies the compressed air to the pneumatic equipment (Fig. 1 illustrates where 24, the source as air as a pressure medium with regards to the air flow as indicated by arrows via pipes such as 144, 148, inlet, & 152, outlet at inspection target 12, vessel, Col. 6, lines 47-65), the pipe inspection system comprising: a first branch pipe (148) that branches from the pipe at a location upstream from the inspection target portion and merges into the pipe (148, inlet, where the branch pipe is suitable for being connected to a pipe via 156, coupling, Fig. 1, Col. 6, lines 47-65): a fluorescent solvent supply portion that is provided for the first branch pipe and supplies a fluorescent solvent to the inspection target portion (the apparatus 2 will include a source 22 of liquid dye in flow communication with the third conduit means 8. Although any dye which can be made visible or detectable can be used, it is preferred that the liquid dye is luminescent, more preferably, fluorescent, Col. 3, Lines 31-38): a second branch pipe (152) that branches from the pipe at a location downstream from the inspection target portion(152, inlet, where the branch pipe is suitable for being connected to a pipe via 158, coupling, Fig. 1, Col. 6, lines 47-65): and a fluorescent solvent collection portion (the spent test fluid conduit means 152 further comprises a liquid knock out means 162 operatively associated with the spent test fluid conduit means for the recovery of liquid dye, Fig. 1, Col. 7, lines 1-13) that is provided for the second branch pipe and collects the fluorescent solvent from the inspection target portion (Fig. 1, Col. 6, lines 47-67), wherein the second branch pipe and the fluorescent solvent collection portion are arranged upstream from the pneumatic equipment (Fig. 1, Col. 6, lines 47-67).
With regards to claim 2, Shanley discloses the fluorescent solvent supply portion includes a mist generator that turns the fluorescent solvent to mist, and supplies the mist of the fluorescent solvent to the inspection target portion (Col. 4, lines 17-31).
With regards to claim 3, Shanley discloses the fluorescent solvent is an aqueous solution or an aqueous emulsion of fluorescent agent (Fig. 1, Col. 3, lines 31-45).
With regards to claim 4, Shanley discloses a first valve that is provided for the pipe between a point where the first branch pipe branches and a point where the first branch pipe merges; a second valve that is provided upstream of the fluorescent solvent supply portion in the first branch pipe; a third valve that is provided in the pipe downstream of a point where the second branch pipe branches; and a fourth valve that is provided upstream of the fluorescent solvent collection portion in the second branch pipe (valves 84 and 86 and arranged upstream of the fluorescent solvent supply portion and a valve 160 arranged upstream of the fluorescent solvent collection portion (see Fig. 1).
With regards to claim 5, Shanley discloses a discharge portion (166, bottom outlet, for the exhaust of the liquid dye, Fig. 1) that is provided downstream of the fluorescent solvent collection portion in the second branch pipe and is open to the atmosphere (Fig. 1, Col. 6, 47-67).
With regards to claim 6, Shanley discloses a black light that irradiates the inspection target portion with ultraviolet light (Black light, Col. 3, lines 37-45).
Conclusion
/FRANCIS C GRAY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2852