DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 3/6/2024 has been entered and considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Regarding claim 8, the claim recites “based on the slot within the active time related to the SL DRX being included in a resource pool other than the predefined resource pool, the monitoring related to the SCI is skipped.” However, claim 6 from which claim 8 depends requires “monitoring related to the SCI is performed in a slot within an active time related to the SL DRX.” Claim 8 thus appears to state that the limitations of claim 6 are skipped (i.e., not performed), which impermissibly broadens the scope of claim 6. Claim 8 is thus indefinite. For the purpose of this examination, the Examiner will interpret claim 8 as not skipping the performance of the monitoring required by claim 6.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-12 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Di Girolamo et al. (US 2023/0014303, Di Girolamo hereinafter). Regarding claims 1 and 12, Di Girolamo teaches a method and a second user equipment (UE) supporting sidelink discontinuous reception (SL DRX) in a wireless communication system (A user equipment (UE) may support sidelink discontinuous reception (SL DRX); Di Girolamo; Figs. 5, 8-17, and 26F; [0135]-[0137], [0480]), the second UE comprising: one or more transceivers (The UE may be comprised a transceiver; Di Girolamo; Figs. 5, 8-17, and 26F; [0480]); one or more processors controlling the one or more transceivers (The UE may be comprised a processor controlling the transceiver; Di Girolamo; Figs. 5, 8-17, and 26F; [0480]); and one or more memories operably connected to the one or more processors (The UE may be comprised a memory connected to the processor; Di Girolamo; Figs. 5, 8-17, and 26F; [0480]), wherein the one or more memories store instructions for performing operations based on being executed by the one or more processors, wherein the operations include: receiving configuration information related to a resource pool for sidelink communication from a base station (Resource pools for sidelink (SL) transmission are described as potentially being preconfigured (i.e., predefined). As can be seen in at least paragraph [0168], resource pools may be associated with an SL DRX configuration and the SL DRX configuration may be provided through dedicated signaling over the Uu interface. As can be seen in at least Fig. 5, a Uu interface is an interface with a serving cell/base station); Di Girolamo; Figs. 5 and 8-17; [0135]-[0137], [0145], [0168]); receiving sidelink control information (SCI) from a first user equipment (UE) (The UE (e.g., UE 201 in Fig. 5) is described as having one or more simultaneous SL communications, and such SL communication includes monitoring for sidelink control information (SCI)/physical sidleink control channel (PSCCH) from other UEs during DRX slots. The UE may thus be interpreted as receiving sidelink control information (SCI) from a first user equipment (UE); Di Girolamo; Figs. 5 and 8-17; [0135]-[0137], [0145]); and receiving data based on the SCI from the first UE (The UE is described as monitoring the SCI/PSCCH to determine if there is any sidelink traffic (i.e., data) addressed to it, and such sidelink traffic is described as potentially being unicast, groupcast, or broadcast. The UE may thus be interpreted as receiving data based on the SCI from the first UE; Di Girolamo; Figs. 5 and 8-17; [0135]-[0137], [0145]); wherein the SCI is received through monitoring performed based on configuration related to the SL DRX (The UE monitors for the SCI based at least on the DRX configuration; Di Girolamo; Figs. 5 and 8-17; [0135]-[0137], [0145]), and wherein an operation related to the SL DRX is performed only for a slot belonging to a predefined resource pool among slots belonging to resource pools based on the configuration information (Looking to Applicant’s specification for guidance regarding this limitation, paragraph [352] of Applicant’s specification appears to use language similar to the claim language and references Figs. 14-20 of Applicant’s specification. Figs. 14-20 of Applicant’s specification appear to be directed to monitoring slots for at least one SL resource pool during an “active time.” Paragraph [361] of Applicant’s specification also states that the monitoring related to the SCI may be performed only for the active time related to the SL DRX. Di Girolamo describes resource pools for SL transmission as potentially being preconfigured (i.e., predefined). Operation(s) related to SL DRX (e.g., monitoring for SCI, SL transmission, SL reception) are also described as being performed only in slot(s) for such resource pools during an ON or ACTIVE time based on the configuration (see, e.g., at least paragraph [0151]). An operation related to the SL DRX may thus be interpreted as being performed only for a slot belonging to a predefined resource pool among slots belonging to resource pools based on the configuration information; Di Girolamo; Figs. 5 and 8-17; [0135]-[0137], [0145], [0151], [0168], [0172]). Regarding claim 2, Di Girolamo teaches the limitations of claim 1. Di Girolamo further teaches the configuration information includes information for at least one of i) a resource pool in which the SL DRX is supported and/or ii) a resource pool in which the SL DRX is not supported (At least resource pools in which SL DRX is supported are described as being configured; Di Girolamo; Figs. 5 and 8-17; [0135]-[0137], [0145], [0168]), and wherein the resource pool in which the SL DRX is supported includes i) a first resource pool related to sidelink discovery and ii) a second resource pool related to sidelink communication (Both sidelink discovery and SL communication are described as being performed during resource pool(s) supporting SL DRX, and thus the resource pool in which the SL DRX is supported may be interpreted as including i) a first resource pool related to sidelink discovery and ii) a second resource pool related to sidelink communication; Di Girolamo; Figs. 5 and 8-17; [0135]-[0137], [0145]-[0149], [0168], [0172]). Regarding claim 3, Di Girolamo teaches the limitations of claim 2. Di Girolamo further teaches the predefined resource pool is the first resource pool or the second resource pool (Resource pools for SL transmission are described as potentially being preconfigured (i.e., predefined), and thus the first resource pool and/or the second resource pool may be interpreted as a predefined resource pool; Di Girolamo; Figs. 5 and 8-17; [0135]-[0137], [0145], [0168], [0172]). Regarding claim 4, Di Girolamo teaches the limitations of claim 3. Di Girolamo further teaches based on the second UE being a remote UE that performs the sidelink discovery (UEs performing SL communication are described as performing SL discovery, and thus the claimed second UE may be interpreted as a remote UE that performs sidelink discovery; Figs. 5 and 8-17; [0135]-[0137], [0145], [0168], [0172]), the predefined resource pool is the first resource pool (Resource pools for SL transmission are described as potentially being preconfigured (i.e., predefined), and thus the first resource pool and/or the second resource pool may be interpreted as a predefined resource pool; Di Girolamo; Figs. 5 and 8-17; [0135]-[0137], [0145], [0168], [0172]). Regarding claim 5, Di Girolamo teaches the limitations of claim 3. Di Girolamo further teaches based on the second UE being a receiving user equipment (Rx UE) performing the sidelink communication (UEs performing SL communication are described as receiving SL transmissions, and thus the claimed second UE may be interpreted as a receiving UE; Figs. 5 and 8-17; [0135]-[0137], [0145], [0168], [0172]), the predefined resource pool is the second resource pool (Resource pools for SL transmission are described as potentially being preconfigured (i.e., predefined), and thus the first resource pool and/or the second resource pool may be interpreted as a predefined resource pool; Di Girolamo; Figs. 5 and 8-17; [0135]-[0137], [0145], [0168], [0172]). Regarding claim 6, Di Girolamo teaches the limitations of claim 3. Di Girolamo further teaches monitoring related to the SCI is performed in a slot within an active time related to the SL DRX (SL communication includes monitoring for SCI/PSCCH from other UEs during DRX slots in the ON (or active) period; Di Girolamo; Figs. 5 and 8-17; [0135]-[0137], [0145], [0151]). Regarding claim 7, Di Girolamo teaches the limitations of claim 6. Di Girolamo further teaches based on the slot within the active time related to the SL DRX being included in the predefined resource pool, the monitoring related to the SCI is performed (Resource pools for SL transmission are described as being comprised of slots and also as potentially being preconfigured (i.e., predefined). Monitoring for SCI is described as being performed on slot(s) during the ON/active period for such resource pool(s); Di Girolamo; Figs. 5 and 8-17; [0135]-[0137], [0145], [0151], [0168], [0172]). Regarding claim 8, Di Girolamo teaches the limitations of claim 6. Di Girolamo further teaches based on the slot within the active time related to the SL DRX being included in a resource pool other than the predefined resource pool, the monitoring related to the SCI is skipped (Resource pools for SL transmission are described as being comprised of slots and also as potentially being preconfigured (i.e., predefined), and thus at least one resource pool may be interpreted as being a resource pool other than the predefined resource pool. As was also discussed in the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejection above, claim 8 appears to impermissibly broaden the scope of claim 6 by skipping the monitoring required by claim 6, and thus claim 8 is being interpreted as requiring the limitations of claim 6. SL communication includes monitoring for SCI/PSCCH from other UEs during DRX slots in the ON (or active) period; Di Girolamo; Figs. 5 and 8-17; [0135]-[0137], [0145], [0151], [0168], [0172]). Regarding claim 9, Di Girolamo teaches the limitations of claim 6. Di Girolamo further teaches the active time includes a time duration in which preconfigured SL DRX timer is run (Tracking of the on/active time may include using at least drx-InactivityTimerSL, drx-onDurationTimerSL, drx-and RetransmissionTimerSL; Di Girolamo; Figs. 5 and 8-17; Table 1; [0008], [0112]-[0114], [0305]-[0307]), and wherein the preconfigured SL DRX timer includes at least one of i) SL DRX Onduration timer, ii) SL DRX Inactivity timer, and/or iii) SL DRX Retransmission timer (Tracking of the on/active time may include using at least drx-InactivityTimerSL, drx-onDurationTimerSL, drx-and RetransmissionTimerSL; Di Girolamo; Figs. 5 and 8-17; Table 1; [0008], [0112]-[0114], [0305]-[0307]). Regarding claim 10, Di Girolamo teaches the limitations of claim 2. Di Girolamo further teaches the predefined resource pool is based on a resource pool that includes a slot in which the SCI is received among the resource pools based on the configuration information (Resource pools for SL transmission are described as being comprised of slots and also as potentially being preconfigured (i.e., predefined). The UE is also described as monitoring for/receiving SCI in slots of resource pools. A resource pool (i.e., a predefined resource pool) may thus be interpreted as being based on a resource pool that includes a slot in which the SCI is received among the resource pools based on the configuration information; Di Girolamo; Figs. 5 and 8-17; [0135]-[0137], [0145], [0151], [0168], [0172]). Regarding claim 11, Di Girolamo teaches the limitations of claim 1. Di Girolamo further teaches a number of configuration related to the SL DRX applied to the predefined resource pool is limited to one (Resource pools for SL transmission are described as being comprised of slots and also as potentially being preconfigured (i.e., predefined). A resource pool (i.e., the predefined resource pool) may be interpreted as having only one SL DRX configuration; Di Girolamo; Figs. 5 and 8-17; [0135]-[0137], [0145], [0151], [0168], [0172]). Regarding claim 16, Di Girolamo teaches a first user equipment (UE) transmitting sidelink data in a wireless communication system (A user equipment (UE) may perform sidelink (SL) communication, which may include the transmission of SL data; Di Girolamo; Figs. 5, 8-17, and 26F; [0135]-[0137], [0480]), the first UE comprising: one or more transceivers (The UE may be comprised a transceiver; Di Girolamo; Figs. 5, 8-17, and 26F; [0480]); one or more processors controlling the one or more transceivers (The UE may be comprised a processor controlling the transceiver; Di Girolamo; Figs. 5, 8-17, and 26F; [0480]); and one or more memories operably connected to the one or more processors (The UE may be comprised a memory connected to the processor; Di Girolamo; Figs. 5, 8-17, and 26F; [0480]), wherein the one or more memories store instructions for performing operations based on being executed by the one or more processors, wherein the operations include: receiving configuration information related to a resource pool for sidelink communication from a base station (Resource pools for sidelink (SL) transmission are described as potentially being preconfigured (i.e., predefined). As can be seen in at least paragraph [0168], resource pools may be associated with an SL DRX configuration and the SL DRX configuration may be provided through dedicated signaling over the Uu interface. As can be seen in at least Fig. 5, a Uu interface is an interface with a serving cell/base station); Di Girolamo; Figs. 5 and 8-17; [0135]-[0137], [0145], [0168]); transmitting sidelink control information (SCI) to a second user equipment (UE) (UEs are described as having one or more simultaneous SL communications, and such SL communication includes monitoring for sidelink control information (SCI)/physical sidleink control channel (PSCCH) from other UEs during DRX slots. The UE may thus be interpreted as transmitting sidelink control information (SCI) from to a second user equipment (UE); Di Girolamo; Figs. 5 and 8-17; [0135]-[0137], [0145]); and transmitting data based on the SCI to the second UE (UEs is described as monitoring the SCI/PSCCH to determine if there is any sidelink traffic (i.e., data) addressed to it, and such sidelink traffic is described as potentially being unicast, groupcast, or broadcast. The UE may thus be interpreted as transmitting data based on the SCI to the second UE; Di Girolamo; Figs. 5 and 8-17; [0135]-[0137], [0145]); wherein the SCI is transmitted in a time duration in which monitoring of the second UE is performed based on configuration related to sidelink discontinuous reception (SL DRX) (UEs (i.e., the second UE) monitor for the SCI based at least on DRX configuration information; Di Girolamo; Figs. 5 and 8-17; [0135]-[0137], [0145]), and wherein the time duration in which monitoring of the second UE is performed includes only slot belonging to a predefined resource pool among slots belonging to preconfigured resource pools (Looking to Applicant’s specification for guidance regarding this limitation, paragraph [352] of Applicant’s specification appears to use language similar to the claim language and references Figs. 14-20 of Applicant’s specification. Figs. 14-20 of Applicant’s specification appear to be directed to monitoring slots for at least one SL resource pool during an “active time.” Paragraph [361] of Applicant’s specification also states that the monitoring related to the SCI may be performed only for the active time related to the SL DRX. Di Girolamo describes resource pools for SL transmission as potentially being preconfigured (i.e., predefined). Operation(s) related to SL DRX (e.g., monitoring for SCI, SL transmission, SL reception) are also described as being performed only in slot(s) for such resource pools during an ON or ACTIVE time based on the configuration (see, e.g., at least paragraph [0151]). The time duration in which monitoring of the second UE is performed may thus be interpreted as being performed only for slot(s) belonging to a predefined resource pool among slots belonging to preconfigured resource pools; Di Girolamo; Figs. 5 and 8-17; [0135]-[0137], [0145], [0151], [0168], [0172]).
Conclusion
/ERIC MYERS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2474