DETAILED ACTION
Claims 16-30 are presented for examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The IDS filed on 3/12/2024 are considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 16-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “L” and “N” in claim 16 are relative terms which render the claim indefinite. The term “L” and “N” are not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. "L" and “N” render the claim indefinite because they could possibly include the number zero. Therefore, the ratio of L/N, which include the possibility of L/0 or 0/0 would render the ratio indefinite.
The term “M-ary” in claim 16 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “M” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. "M" could possibly include the number zero.
The term “L” in claim 17 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “L” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. "L" could possibly include the number zero.
The term “M-ary” in claim 17 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “M” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. "M" could possibly include the number zero.
Claim 17 recites the limitation "an implicit time marker" in the second to last line. Is this the same or different implicit time marker in line 11? There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
The term “L” and “N” in claim 19 are relative terms which render the claim indefinite. The term “L” and “N” are not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. "L" and “N” render the claim indefinite because they could possibly include the number zero. Therefore, the ratio of L/N, which include the possibility of L/0 or 0/0 would render the ratio indefinite.
The term “N” in claim 23 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “N” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. "N" could possibly include the number zero.
The term “K” in claim 23 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “K” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. "K" could possibly include the number zero.
Claim 24 recites the limitation "N transitions” in line 7. It is unclear if this N of the N transitions is the same N of the N symbols in the proceeding claims or not. Therefore, the claim language is found indefinite.
The term “M-ary” in claim 24 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “M” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. "M" could possibly include the number zero.
The term “L” and “N” in claim 30 are relative terms which render the claim indefinite. The term “L” and “N” are not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. "L" and “N” render the claim indefinite because they could possibly include the number zero. Therefore, the ratio of L/N, which include the possibility of L/0 or 0/0 would render the ratio indefinite.
Claim limitation “means” invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. The disclosure is devoid of any structure that performs the function in the claim. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 17-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lukcin et al (Hereinafter Lukcin), US 2016/0161614, in view of Pelliccioni et al (Hereinafter Pelliccioni), “De Bruijn sequences as spreading codes in extreme Doppler conditions: Analysis and results”, IEEE International Conference on Wireless for Space and Extreme Environments, IEEE, November 7 2013, pages 1-6, XP03255039.
Lukcin and Pelliccioni were cited by the applicant in the IDS.
As per claim 17, Lukcin teaches the invention including a radio transmitter configured to resolve time ambiguity in a radio navigation satellite system between said radio transmitter of said radio navigation satellite system having a first time scale and a radio receiver of said radio navigation satellite system having a second time scale (reception time in associated with transmission time), said radio transmitter being configured to transmit a radio signal to said radio receiver (pp. 0012-0014), characterized in that said radio transmitter comprising:
A sequence generating means, configured to generate an overlay sequence (pp. 0171: secondary code) comprising a set of symbols per time ambiguity interval (pp. 0172-0174: long tiered code with a duration), said set of symbols having a predetermined length L (pp. 0172-0174: secondary code length), said overlay sequence satisfying a condition of single occurrence of a subset of symbols within said set of symbols of said time ambiguity interval, each said time ambiguity interval comprising an implicit timer marker (pp. 0172-0174, 0181-0182: integer part); and
A transmitting means, configured to transmit a radio signal to said radio receiver, said radio signal comprising said overlay sequence modulated onto a primary code, said primary code being modulated on a carrier of said radio signal, said overlay sequence comprising a set of symbols per time ambiguity interval, said set of symbols having a predetermined length L, each said time ambiguity interval comprising an implicit time marker (pp. 0171-0174, 0181-0182).
Lukcin does not teach wherein said overlay sequence consists of a M-ary sequence which is based on a M-ary De Bruijn sequence. However, the use of M-ary De Bruijn sequence is well known and expected in the art. Pelliccioni teaches to implement De Bruijn sequences as sequence codes (section III). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to combine the teachings of Lukcin and Pelliccioni and improve the correct dispreading of the signals with the benefit of auto-correlating in using De Bruijn sequences.
As per claim 18, Lukcin and Pelliccioni teach the invention as claimed in claim 17. Lukcin further teaches said sequence generation means, further is configured to generate a plurality of overlay sequences, which are different from each other (pp. 0119, 0133, 0171-0174, 0181-0182).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Garcia Molina et al, US 2023/0065422
Shpak et al, US 2021/0357907
Hubbell et al, US 2017/0044602
Sutton et al, US 2011/0206091
Hart et al, US 2010/0063742
KENNY S. LIN
Examiner
Art Unit 2416
/Kenny S Lin/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2416
February 6, 2026