DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sanji et al (JP 2006-328166A), wherein the machine English translation is used for citation.
Regarding claims 1, 2, and 4; Sanji et al. teaches a chlorinated vinyl chloride resin obtained by introducing liquid chlorine or gaseous chlorine into a reactor while the vinyl chloride resin is suspended in an aqueous solvent [0031], and that the chlorination is carried out by exciting the bonds and chlorine of the vinyl chloride resin with heat alone or with heat and hydrogen peroxide, without ultraviolet irradiation [0037]. Sanji et al. teaches the chlorinated vinyl chloride resin (CPVC) is molded into a molded article [0042]. Sanji et al. teaches the chlorinated vinyl chloride resin is characterized by having a chlorine content of 65% or more by weight and less than 68% by weight, with -CCl₂- contained in the molecular structure at 6.2 mol% or less, -CHCl- at 58.0 mol% or more, and -CH2- at 35.8 mol% or less [0008] and a CPVC having a chlorine content of 70% or more by weight and less than 72% by weight, with -CCl--2- contained in the molecular structure at 17.0 mol% or less, and -CHCl- is contained 46 mol% or more, and -CH2- is 37 mol% or less [0024].
Sanji et al. teaches, 200 parts by weight of deionized water and 50 parts by weight of polyvinyl chloride resin with an average degree of polymerization of 1000 were supplied to a glass-lined reaction vessel with an internal volume of 300 liters, and the mixture was stirred to uniformly disperse the polyvinyl chloride resin in the deionized water. Then, the pressure was reduced to remove oxygen from the reaction vessel, and the temperature was raised to 90°C. Next, chlorine was supplied to the reaction vessel to a pressure of MPa, and the chlorination reaction was carried out while adding 0.2 wt% hydrogen peroxide at a rate of 1 part by weight per hour (320 ppm/hour) until the chlorine content of the chlorinated polyvinyl chloride resin reached 66.9 wt%. When the chlorine content of the chlorinated polyvinyl chloride resin reached 62 wt% (before 5 wt%), the amount of 0.2 wt% hydrogen peroxide added was reduced to 0.1 parts by weight per hour (200 ppm/hour), and the average chlorine consumption rate was 0.012 kg/PVC-kg 5 min; chlorination is advanced, and when it reaches 64% by weight (before 3% by weight), 0.2% by weight hydrogen peroxide added is reduced to 150 ppm/hour, and the chlorination process is advanced by adjusting the average chlorine consumption rate to 0.008 kg/kg PVC-kg・5 min, thereby obtaining a chlorinated polyvinyl chloride resin having a specific molecular structure with a chlorine content of 66.9 by weight [Ex1].
Sanji et al. does not explicitly teach a ratio (A/B) of a symmetry factor A to a symmetry factor B of 2.61 to 4.50 nor a C value calculated by instant formula (1). The Office realizes that all the claimed effects or physical properties are not positively stated by the reference. However, the reference teaches all of the claimed reagents, claimed amounts, and substantially similar processes. Therefore, the claimed effects and physical properties, i.e. symmetry factor and/or C value, would necessarily be present in a composition with all the claimed ingredients. If it is the applicants' position that this wouldn’t be the case: (1) evidence would need to be presented to support applicants' position; and (2) it would be the Offices' position that the application contains inadequate disclosure that there is no teaching as to how to obtain the claimed properties and effects with only the claimed ingredients, claimed amounts, and substantially similar processes. See In re Spada, MPEP §2112.01, I and II.
A reference may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill the art, including the non-preferred embodiments. Merck & Co. v. Biocraft Laboratories, 874 F.2d 804, 10 USPQ2d 1843 (Fed. Cir.); See MPEP §2123.
Regarding claim 3; Sanji et al. does not explicitly teach the chlorinated polyvinyl chloride resin contains added chlorine in an amount of 3.3 to 15.3% by mass. The experimental modification of this prior art in order to ascertain optimum operating conditions fails to render applicants’ claims patentable in the absence of unexpected results. See In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233; see MPEP §2144.05. At the time of the invention a person having ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to optimize the amount of chlorine added to the chlorinated polyvinyl chloride resin, and would have been motivated to do so in order to achieve a desired level or chlorination, ultimately resulting in a desired level of heat resistance (i.e. thermal stability), as suggested by Sanji et al. [0004-0005]..
Regarding claims 5 and 6; Sanji et al. teaches a molded article is manufactured from said chlorinated polyvinyl chloride resin [0007, 0042-0044].
Correspondence
/JESSICA M ROSWELL/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1767