Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 9-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Flor et al. (US 10,931,099) in view of Liu et al. (US 20170163064).
With respect to claims 1, 9-10, 14 Flor teaches a battery management apparatus comprising:
a buck converter (see switching regulator col. 11 lines 25-30) configured to generate a driving voltage (charging voltage) based on a voltage of a battery pack (415);
a comparator (470) configured to compare a divided voltage (see voltage divider 460) generated based on the voltage of the battery pack with a reference voltage (see lower input to 470) and control an operation (see disable/enable) of the buck converter based on a result of the comparison; and
Flor does not teach the use of a detector configured to detect whether the battery pack and a target device are connected and control an operation of the comparator based on a result of the detection.
Liu teaches the use of a detector configured to detect whether the battery pack and a target device are connected (see paragraph 0011 detection of charging plug) and control an operation of the comparator (see response from U1 see paragraph 0012) based on a result of the detection (paragraph 0013).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify Flor to include the known use of a plug charging connection state to enable the voltage comparator of the disclosed buck converter for the benefit of controlling the operation of a device connected to the battery pack above the prescribed threshold and keeping the load inactive when operation is unnecessary or unsafe.
With respect to claims 2-3, 11 and 15-17 Flor teaches the comparator is further configured to generate a block signal (see UVLO status signal) for disabling the buck converter when the divided voltage is less than or equal to the reference voltage (col. 8 lines 20-65).
With respect to claims 4, 12-13 Flor teaches the battery management apparatus operates in a Under Voltage Lock OUT (see UVLO status signal) mode when the buck converter is turned off.
Claims 5-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Flor et al. (US 10,931,099) in view of Liu et al. (US 20170163064) in view of Lee et al. (US 20140210420)
With respect to claim 5 Flor teaches the battery system however does not teach the use of a photo coupled. Lee teaches the know use of a photo coupler (paragraph 39) in connection with a BMS wakeup and enable apparatus. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to further modify Flor to try the known use of a photo coupler for the predictable result providing electrical isolation between the battery and device.
With respect to claims 6-7 Flor teaches the comparator is further configured to generate an opening signal for enabling (see enable signal from UVLO comparator). Liu teaches (paragraph 0011) enabling (paragraph 0013) when the buck converter when the enable voltage is input from the detector. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify Flor to include the control seen in Liu for the benefit of causing the switching regulator to drive a voltage after connection to increase safety.
With respect to claim 8 Flor teaches the battery system however does not describe the wakeup mode. Liu teaches a battery management apparatus operates in a wake-up mode (paragraph 11-12) when the buck converter is turned on. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify Flor to include the known use of a wakeup mode for the benefit of reducing power consumption.
Conclusion
MICHAEL FIN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2836
/MICHAEL R. FIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2836