DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the low vs higher threshold transistors must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claims 4-5 and 21 objected to because of the following informalities:
Original Claim 21 is NOT presented in the claim set from 8/13/2026; the Examiner included it within the Office Action; however, appropriate correction is still required to properly include this claim.
Claims 4 and 5 recite the limitation "the pull-down block" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It appears claims 4 and 5 should depend on claim 2 from which the pull-down block is defined and will be examined as such; however, appropriate correction is still required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 6-10, 12-14 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kursun et al. (US 2004/0008056).
In regards to claim 1, Kursun discloses of a logic gate circuit, comprising: a) a logic block (for example 214) for performing logic operations between inputs (see In1-in4), said logic block being implemented using low threshold voltage transistors optimized to minimize a threshold voltage drop across a sequential transistor stack (see Figs 17-18, transistors of 1114 implemented as low threshold stacked transistors); and b) a restoration block, connected between the output of said logic block (at node 128, Dynamic) and the output of said logic gate (at node Output), for compensating for voltage level losses when said output is in a high logic state, said restoration block comprises higher threshold voltage transistors configured to suppress current leakage during switching between logic states (see Figs 17-18, shows higher threshold transistors utilized), wherein said logic block discharges a node that corresponds to said high logic state to ground, following logic operations that entail a low logic state, via an inherent current leakage path in the components implementing said logic block, wherein the logic block and the restoration block comprise transistors operable respectively at multiple threshold voltages (see Figs 17 and 18, both utilize low and higher threshold transistors).
In regards to claim 2, Kursun discloses of a logic gate according to claim 1, further comprising a pull-down block (for example see 216 or 1238, 1738) connected between said logic block and the output of said logic gate, for further discharging the voltage that corresponds to said high logic state to ground, following logic operations that entail a low logic state, in addition to discharging via the inherent current leakage path (see Figs 11, 14, 17-18).
In regards to claim 3, Kursun discloses of a logic gate according to claim 1, in which the restoration block consists of: - a standard CMOS inverter; - a standard CMOS buffer; - a combination thereof (for example see Figs 17-18, 19A-F, 20A-F).
In regards to claim 6, Kursun discloses of a logic gate according to claim 1, in which the logic block is a stack of connected transistors (see 1114), implementing an AND, OR, NOR, NAND gate, or a parallel connection of transistors implementing an AND gate, or a combination thereof (for example see Figs 11, 14, 17-18, example four-input AND gate illustrated).
In regards to claim 7, Kursun discloses of a logic gate according to claim 6, further comprising: a) a voltage source (VDD) being connected to the source or drain of a first transistor of the stack; and b) multiple voltage sources (associated with In1-In4) being connected as inputs to the gates of the transistors of said stack (see Figs 11, 14, 17-18).
In regards to claim 8, Kursun discloses of a logic gate according to claim 6, in which the logic block comprises one or more CMOS circuits in combination with a stack of transistors (see Figs 11, 14, 17-18).
In regards to claim 9, Kursun discloses of a logic gate according to claim 1, operating in combination with similar logic gates, thereby forming a logic circuit (for example see Figs 11, 14, 17-18).
In regards to claim 10, Kursun discloses of a logic gate according to claim 1, implemented as an integrated circuit in combination with CMOS gates (for example see Figs 11, 14, 17-18).
In regards to claim 12, Kursun discloses of a logic gate according to claim 1, in which multiple threshold voltages are applied to transistors implementing each block (for example see Figs 17-18).
In regards to claim 13, Kursun discloses of a logic gate according to claim 1, in which multiple power supply voltages are used (for example see Figs 17-18, several connections to VDD shown).
In regards to claim 14, Kursun discloses of a logic gate according to claim 1, in which the supply voltage is applied to the drain or source of at least one transistor implementing the logic block (see Figs 11, 14, 17-18).
In regards to claim 21, Kursun discloses of a logic gate according to claim 1, further comprising several stacked-NMOS and stacked-PMOS gates, or NMOS gates connected in parallel, PMOS gates connected in parallel, or a combination thereof (for example see Figs 11, 14, 17-18).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4-5, 11, 15-17 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kursun et al. (US 2004/0008056) in view of Balsara et al. (US 6,130,559).
In regards to claims 4 and 5, Kursun discloses of the logic gate according to claim [ as found within the explanation above.
However, Kursun does not explicitly disclose of the pull-down block is a diode; or selected from a group comprising: - a diode (e.g. a junction diode); - a transistor configured to operate as a diode; - a plurality of transistors configured to operate as a diode; - a combination of PMOS and NMOS transistors that acts as a diode.
Balsara discloses of a logic gate circuit, comprising: a) a logic block (comprised of 700, 710, 720 in Fig 7A or 800, 810, 820 in Fig 8A) for performing logic operations between inputs of said logic block; and b) a restoration block (for example comprised of 740, 750, 760, 770 in Fig 7A or comprised of 840, 850, 860, 870 in Fig 8A), connected between the output of said logic block and the output of said logic gate (see Figs 7A, 8A), for compensating for voltage level losses when said output is in a high logic state, wherein said logic block discharges a voltage node that corresponds to said high logic state to ground, following logic operations that entail a low logic state, via an inherent current leakage path in the components implementing said logic block (see Figs 7A, 8A); wherein the logic block and the restoration block comprise transistors operable respectively at multiple threshold voltages (see Figs 7A, 8A, each showing different channel widths for the transistors of the logic blocks and restoration blocks, the different channel widths result in different/multiple threshold voltages for the transistors, also P and N transistors would have different thresholds); and wherein the pull-down block is a diode or selected from the group listed above (see Figs 7A, 8A, 730, 780, 790 and 830 are all examples of diodes).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have the pull-down block being a diode as taught by Balsara for having a uni-directional current element for supplying a path to ground.
In regards to claim 11, Kursun discloses of a logic gate according to claim 1 as found within the explanation above.
However, Kursun does not explicitly disclose of wherein the body of one or more transistors implementing the logic block is connected to the ground.
Balsara discloses of a logic gate circuit, comprising: a) a logic block (comprised of 700, 710, 720 in Fig 7A or 800, 810, 820 in Fig 8A) for performing logic operations between inputs of said logic block; and b) a restoration block (for example comprised of 740, 750, 760, 770 in Fig 7A or comprised of 840, 850, 860, 870 in Fig 8A), connected between the output of said logic block and the output of said logic gate (see Figs 7A, 8A), for compensating for voltage level losses when said output is in a high logic state, wherein said logic block discharges a voltage node that corresponds to said high logic state to ground, following logic operations that entail a low logic state, via an inherent current leakage path in the components implementing said logic block (see Figs 7A, 8A); wherein the logic block and the restoration block comprise transistors operable respectively at multiple threshold voltages (see Figs 7A, 8A, each showing different channel widths for the transistors of the logic blocks and restoration blocks, the different channel widths result in different/multiple threshold voltages for the transistors, also P and N transistors would have different thresholds); and in which the body of one or more transistors implementing the logic block is connected to the ground (see Fig 1, exemplary NMOS transistor with a body 30 tied to ground Vss).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill n the art before the effective filing date to have the body of one of the transistors tied to ground as taught by Balsara for providing an enhancement mode MOSET device for utilization in a CMOS logic circuit.
In regards to claim 15, Kursun discloses of a logic gate according to claim 7 as found within the explanation above, in a voltage is applied to the gate of at least one transistor implementing the logic block.
Although one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize the value of the voltage at In1-In4 would correspond to the value of VDD, Kursun does not explicitly disclose of wherein the supply voltage is applied to the gate of at least one transistor implementing the logic block.
Balsara discloses of a logic gate circuit, comprising: a) a logic block (comprised of 700, 710, 720 in Fig 7A or 800, 810, 820 in Fig 8A) for performing logic operations between inputs of said logic block; and b) a restoration block (for example comprised of 740, 750, 760, 770 in Fig 7A or comprised of 840, 850, 860, 870 in Fig 8A), connected between the output of said logic block and the output of said logic gate (see Figs 7A, 8A), for compensating for voltage level losses when said output is in a high logic state, wherein said logic block discharges a voltage node that corresponds to said high logic state to ground, following logic operations that entail a low logic state, via an inherent current leakage path in the components implementing said logic block (see Figs 7A, 8A); wherein the logic block and the restoration block comprise transistors operable respectively at multiple threshold voltages (see Figs 7A, 8A, each showing different channel widths for the transistors of the logic blocks and restoration blocks, the different channel widths result in different/multiple threshold voltages for the transistors, also P and N transistors would have different thresholds); in which the supply voltage is applied to the gate of at least one transistor implementing the logic block (see Figs 7A, 8A and Column 7 Lines 10-13, 49-52, on a logic high, the voltage on Vin1, V-in2 equal to the supply voltage Vdd value of 2 volts).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have the supply voltage as an input voltage to one of the transistors of the logic block as taught by Balsara for providing a CMOS logic gate with a voltage swing and input voltages corresponding to the supply voltage (Vdd) of 2 volts.
In regards to claim 16, Kursun discloses of a logic gate according to claim 1 as found within the explanation above, implementing a multiple-input AND gate (for example see Figs 11, 14, 17-18)
However, Kursun does not explicitly disclose of the multiple-input AND gate with no load and no PMOS transistors.
Balsara discloses of a logic gate circuit, comprising: a) a logic block (comprised of 700, 710, 720 in Fig 7A or 800, 810, 820 in Fig 8A) for performing logic operations between inputs of said logic block; and b) a restoration block (for example comprised of 740, 750, 760, 770 in Fig 7A or comprised of 840, 850, 860, 870 in Fig 8A), connected between the output of said logic block and the output of said logic gate (see Figs 7A, 8A), for compensating for voltage level losses when said output is in a high logic state, wherein said logic block discharges a voltage node that corresponds to said high logic state to ground, following logic operations that entail a low logic state, via an inherent current leakage path in the components implementing said logic block (see Figs 7A, 8A); wherein the logic block and the restoration block comprise transistors operable respectively at multiple threshold voltages (see Figs 7A, 8A, each showing different channel widths for the transistors of the logic blocks and restoration blocks, the different channel widths result in different/multiple threshold voltages for the transistors, also P and N transistors would have different thresholds); and implementing a multiple-input AND gate with no load and no PMOS transistors (see Fig 7A, transistors 700, 710, 720 implement a 2-input AND gate).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have an multiple-input AND gate with no load and no PMOS transistors as taught by Balsara for optimizing the logic gate parameters to operate in accordance with their desired limitations.
In regards to claim 17, Kursun discloses of a logic gate according to claim 1 as found within the explanation above.
However, Kursun does not explicitly disclose of wherein the parasitic leakage current at the source of one or more transistors in the logic block serves as a pull-down circuitry.
Balsara discloses of a logic gate circuit, comprising: a) a logic block (comprised of 700, 710, 720 in Fig 7A or 800, 810, 820 in Fig 8A) for performing logic operations between inputs of said logic block; and b) a restoration block (for example comprised of 740, 750, 760, 770 in Fig 7A or comprised of 840, 850, 860, 870 in Fig 8A), connected between the output of said logic block and the output of said logic gate (see Figs 7A, 8A), for compensating for voltage level losses when said output is in a high logic state, wherein said logic block discharges a voltage node that corresponds to said high logic state to ground, following logic operations that entail a low logic state, via an inherent current leakage path in the components implementing said logic block (see Figs 7A, 8A); wherein the logic block and the restoration block comprise transistors operable respectively at multiple threshold voltages (see Figs 7A, 8A, each showing different channel widths for the transistors of the logic blocks and restoration blocks, the different channel widths result in different/multiple threshold voltages for the transistors, also P and N transistors would have different thresholds); in which the parasitic leakage at the source of one or more transistors in the logic block serves as pull-down circuity (see Figs 7A, 8A, the transistors have an internal parasitic leakage current at their sources).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have the parasitic leakage current at the source of one or more transistors in the logic block serves as a pull-down circuitry as taught by Balsara for minimizing the amount of additional circuitry elements to achieve the desired operational parameters of the logic device.
In regards to claim 19, Kursun discloses of a logic gate according to claim 1 as found within the explanation above, comprised of several stacked-NMOS gates, or NMOS gates connected in parallel or a combination thereof (see Figs 11, 14-15, 17-18)
However, Kursun does not explicitly disclose of the logic gate further comprising a circuit for sharing a pull-down diode circuit and/or a signal restoration CMOS buffer between several stacked-NMOS gates, or NMOS gates connected in parallel, or a combination thereof.
Balsara discloses of a logic gate circuit, comprising: a) a logic block (comprised of 700, 710, 720 in Fig 7A or 800, 810, 820 in Fig 8A) for performing logic operations between inputs of said logic block; and b) a restoration block (for example comprised of 740, 750, 760, 770 in Fig 7A or comprised of 840, 850, 860, 870 in Fig 8A), connected between the output of said logic block and the output of said logic gate (see Figs 7A, 8A), for compensating for voltage level losses when said output is in a high logic state, wherein said logic block discharges a voltage node that corresponds to said high logic state to ground, following logic operations that entail a low logic state, via an inherent current leakage path in the components implementing said logic block (see Figs 7A, 8A); wherein the logic block and the restoration block comprise transistors operable respectively at multiple threshold voltages (see Figs 7A, 8A, each showing different channel widths for the transistors of the logic blocks and restoration blocks, the different channel widths result in different/multiple threshold voltages for the transistors, also P and N transistors would have different thresholds); further comprising a circuit for sharing a pull-down diode circuit and/or a signal restoration CMOS buffer between several stacked-NMOS gates, or NMOS gates connected in parallel, or a combination thereof (see Figs 7A, 8A).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have a circuit sharing a pull-down diode circuit and/or signal restoration CMOS buffer as taught by Balsara for minimizing the amount of additional circuitry elements to achieve the desired operational parameters of the logic device
In regards to claim 20, Kursun discloses of a logic gate according to claim 1 as found within the explanation above.
However, Kursun does not explicitly disclose of the logic gate further comprising several stacked-PMOS gates, or PMOS gates connected in parallel, or a combination thereof.
Balsara discloses of a logic gate circuit, comprising: a) a logic block (comprised of 700, 710, 720 in Fig 7A or 800, 810, 820 in Fig 8A) for performing logic operations between inputs of said logic block; and b) a restoration block (for example comprised of 740, 750, 760, 770 in Fig 7A or comprised of 840, 850, 860, 870 in Fig 8A), connected between the output of said logic block and the output of said logic gate (see Figs 7A, 8A), for compensating for voltage level losses when said output is in a high logic state, wherein said logic block discharges a voltage node that corresponds to said high logic state to ground, following logic operations that entail a low logic state, via an inherent current leakage path in the components implementing said logic block (see Figs 7A, 8A); wherein the logic block and the restoration block comprise transistors operable respectively at multiple threshold voltages (see Figs 7A, 8A, each showing different channel widths for the transistors of the logic blocks and restoration blocks, the different channel widths result in different/multiple threshold voltages for the transistors, also P and N transistors would have different thresholds); and, further comprising several stacked-PMOS gates, or PMOS gates connected in parallel, or a combination thereof (see Fig 3, exemplary alternative of a logic gate with stacked PMOS gates).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have the logic gate comprised of several stacked-PMOS gates, or PMOS gates connected in parallel or a combination thereof as taught by Balsara for providing a well-known PMOS alternative logic gate capable of achieving the same logical operations.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kursun et al. (US 2004/0008056) in view of Balsara et al. (US 6,130,559) as applied to claim 17 above, and further in view of Oh (US 2007/0075743).
In regards to claim 18, Kursun in view of Balsara discloses of a logic gate according to claim 17 as found within the explanation above.
However, Kursun and Balsara do not explicitly disclose of the logic gate further comprising a feedback path from the input or the output of the restoration block, to control the operation of the pull-down circuit.
Oh discloses of a logic gate circuit, comprising: a) a logic block (200, 210 see Figs 2A-B) for performing logic operations between inputs of said logic block; and b) a restoration block (204, 230), connected between the output of said logic block and the output of said logic gate (see Figs 2A-B), for compensating for voltage level losses when said output being in a high logic state, wherein said logic block discharges the voltage that corresponds to said high logic state to ground, following logic operations that entail a low logic state, via an inherent current leakage path in the components implementing said logic block (see Figs 2A-B); and wherein the logic gate further comprises a feedback path from the input or output of the restoration block (204, 230) to control operation of a pull-down circuit (202, see Fig 2A).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have a feedback path from a restoration block to control a pull-down circuit of a logic gate as taught by Oh for providing a more efficient logic gate circuit with lower power consumption.
Conclusion
/JASON M CRAWFORD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2845